Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-9, filed March 21, 2026 with respect to the
rejection(s) of claims 1 and 9 under U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
A new ground(s) of rejection is necessitated by the amendment. Sander in view of
Li. Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1 and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. US 2023/0099805 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Zhou) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. US 2014/0262129 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Li).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses temperature control system (fig. 1A, fluid coolant system 118, par. [0037]) for an electronic device (fig. 1A, IC chips 102, par. [0029]) testing apparatus (fig. 1A, test system 100, par. [0029]), comprising: a test socket (fig. 1A, 2, test socket 114, 200, par. [0029] [0039]), (fig. 3, elm. 300, par. [0041]) including a chip slot (fig. 2, 3, elm. 204, 308, par.[0039], [0041]), at least one fluid inlet portion (fig. 1A, 2, inflow pathway 122, inlet 206, par. [0032], [0039]) and at least one fluid outlet portion (fig. 1A, outflow pathway 126, outlet 208, par. [0032], [0039]), the at least one fluid inlet portion and the at least one fluid outlet portion being communicated with the chip slot (see fig. 3, 204, chamber 310, par. [0039], [0041]); a temperature-controlling fluid supply device (fig. 1A, inflow pump 124, par. [0032]), communicated with the at least one fluid inlet portion of the test socket; and a temperature-controlling fluid recovery device (fig. 1A, outflow pump 128, par. [0036]), communicated with the at least one fluid outlet portion of the test socket (see fig. 1A, par. [0032], [0036]), a controller (fig. 1A, 118, par. [0037]), which is electrically connected to the test socket, wherein when an electronic device is tested, the electronic device (102) is accommodated in the chip slot of the test socket, the controller controls (118) the temperature-controlling fluid supply device to supply a temperature-controlling liquid fluid (see fig. 1A, liquid coolant, par. [0032], [0036]) to the chip slot (see fig. 3, chamber 310, par. [0041]) through the at least one fluid inlet portion and controls the temperature-controlling fluid recovery device (fig. 1A, outflow pump 128, par. [0036]), to draw the temperature-controlling liquidfig. 8, steps. 804-812, par.[0051]- [0052]).
Zhou does not disclose the temperature-controlling fluid supply device and the temperature-controlling fluid recovery device; and a purge gas supply device, which is electrically connected to the controller and communicated with the at least one fluid inlet portion of the test socket, the controller controls the temperature-controlling fluid supply device to supply a temperature-controlling liquid to the chip slot through the at least one fluid inlet portion
Li discloses the temperature-controlling fluid supply device (fig. 1, elm. 206, par. [0017]) and the temperature-controlling fluid recovery device (fig. 4, fluid reservoir 202 to house the fluid delivered to and removed from the fluid chamber, par. [0017]); and a purge gas supply device (fig. 4, elm. 208, par. [0018]), which is electrically connected to the controller (see fig. 4) and communicated with the at least one fluid inlet portion (see fig. 1-2, 4, elm. 28, par. [0013], [0015]) of the test socket (see fig. 4), the controller controls the temperature-controlling fluid supply device to supply a temperature-controlling liquid (fig. 4, fluid reservoir 202 to house the fluid delivered, pump 204 is used to deliver the fluid. Temperature and pressure flow controls and monitoring 206 include controls for measuring and regulating the pressure of the fluid, par. [0017]) to the chip slot (fig. 4, 200, par. [0017]) through the at least one fluid inlet portion (see fig. 4) and controls the temperature-controlling fluid recovery device to draw the temperature-controlling liquid from the chip slot of the test socket (see fig. 4, purge the fluid from the chamber, par. [0018]) through the at least one fluid outlet portion (see fig. 1-2, 4, elm. 30, par. [0013], [0015]) when a test of the electronic device is completed (after the testing is competed, [0018]), the controller controls the temperature- controlling fluid supply device to stop supplying the temperature-controlling liquid to the chip slot (valve 208 may be used to regulate delivery and purging of the fluid, par. [0018]), controls the purge gas supply device to supply a purge gas to the chip slot (a gas such as air is run through the system to purge the fluid from the chamber, par. [0018]), and controls the temperature-controlling fluid recovery device to continue drawing the temperature-controlling liquid from the chip slot of the test socket (fig. 4, valve 208 may be used to regulate delivery and purging of the fluid, par. [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a system include a testing mechanism assembly that comprises various components including a fluid chamber, fluid reservoir for fluid delivered to and removed from the fluid chamber, temperature and pressure flow controls and monitoring controls for measuring and regulating the pressure of the fluid as well as the temperature of the fluid, as taught in Li in modifying the system of Zhou, The motivation would be to control the temperature of an electronic device (see Li :abs, par. [0010]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou and Li discloses the temperature control system of claim 3, Zhou discloses further comprising a filter module (fig. 5, filtration system 138, par. [0041]), a heat exchanger (fig. 5, chiller 130, par. [0045]]), a temperature-controlling fluid tank (fig. 5, reservoir 120, par. [0032]), and a fluid circulation channel, (fig. 5, inflow pathway 122, outflow pathway 126, par. [0032], [0034]), wherein the fluid circulation channel is communicated between the temperature-controlling fluid supply device (fig. 1A, elm. 124, par. [0037]) and the temperature-controlling fluid recovery device (fig. 1A, outflow pump 128, par. [0036]), and the filter module, the heat exchanger and the temperature-controlling fluid tank are communicated with the fluid circulation channel (fig. 5, par. [0044]- [0045]).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou and Li discloses temperature control system of claim 1, Zhou discloses further comprising a docking plate (fig. 3 upper portion of elm.305, [0042]), which is disposed on an upper surface of the test socket (fig. 1A, test socket 114, par. [0029]) and includes a fluid inlet channel (fig. 3, elm. 322, par. [0042]) and a fluid outlet channel (fig. 3, elm. 324, par. [0042]) wherein the temperature-controlling fluid supply device (fig. 1A, inflow pump 124, par. [0032]) and the at least one fluid inlet portion (fig. 1A, inflow pathway 122, par. [0032]) are communicated with two ends of the fluid inlet channel respectively, the temperature-controlling fluid recovery device (fig. 1A, outflow pump 128, par. [0036]) and the at least one fluid outlet portion are communicated with two ends of the fluid outlet channel respectively (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou discloses a temperature control method (fig. 1A, fluid coolant system 118, par. [0037]) for an electronic device-testing apparatus (fig. 1A, test sites 108, par. [0029]), comprising the steps of:(A) supplying a temperature-controlling liquid (see fig. 1A, liquid coolant, par. [0032], [0036]) to a chip slot (fig. 2, chamber 204, par. [0039]), of a test socket (fig. 1A, test socket 114, par. [0029]), by a temperature-controlling fluid supply device (fig. 1A, inflow pump 124, par. [0032]), an electronic device (fig. 1A, IC chips 102, par. [0029]) being accommodated in the chip slot, and a fluid-accommodating space being defined by a lower surface of the electronic device and the chip slot (see fig. 3, elm. 310, par. [0041]); (B) making the temperature-controlling liquid flow through the fluid-accommodating space (see fig. 3, elm. 310, par. [0041]); (C) drawing the temperature-controlling liquid from the chip slot by a temperature- controlling fluid recovery device (fig. 1A, outflow pump 128, par. [0036]).
Zhou does not disclose (D) after the test is completed, stopping, by the temperature-controlling fluid supply device, the supplying of the temperature-controlling liquid to the chip slot, supplying, by a purge gas supply device, a purge gas to the chip slot, and continuing, by the temperature-controlling fluid recovery device, drawing the temperature-controlling liquid from the chip slot.
Li discloses (D) after the test is completed, stopping (after the testing is competed, [0018]), by the temperature-controlling fluid supply device (fig. 1, elm. 206, par. [0017]), the supplying of the temperature-controlling liquid (fig. 4, fluid reservoir 202 to house the fluid delivered, pump 204 is used to deliver the fluid. Temperature and pressure flow controls and monitoring 206 include controls for measuring and regulating the pressure of the fluid, par. [0017]) to the chip slot (fig. 4, 200, par. [0017]), supplying, by a purge gas supply device (fig. 4, elm. 208, par. [0018]), a purge gas to the chip slot (gas such as air is run through the system to purge the fluid from the chamber, par. [0018]), and continuing, by the temperature-controlling fluid recovery device (fig. 4, fluid reservoir 202 to house the fluid delivered to and removed from the fluid chamber, par. [0017]), drawing the temperature-controlling liquid from the chip slot.
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Li as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hayashi et al. US 2006/0244472 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Hayashi).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou and Li discloses the temperature control system of claim 1, , Zhou discloses wherein the at least one fluid inlet portion (fig. 1A, inflow pathway 122, par. [0032]) includes at least one fluid inlet recess (fig. 3, inlets 322, par. [0042]), and the at least one fluid outlet portion (fig. 1A, outflow pump 128, par. [0036]) includes at least one fluid outlet recess (fig. 3, inlets 324, par. [0042]); bottom surface of the at least one fluid inlet recess is flush with a bottom surface of the chip slot (see fig. 3, par. [0042]); a bottom surface of the at least one fluid outlet recess is lower than the bottom surface of the chip slot in a thickness direction of the test socket (see fig. 2, elm. 204, par. [0039]).
Changing the location of at least one fluid inlet from the location shown by Zhou and Li to a location on the bottom surface of the at least one fluid inlet recess is flush with a bottom surface of the chip slot; a bottom surface of the at least one fluid outlet recess is lower than the bottom surface of the chip slot in a thickness direction of the test socket absent any criticality, is only considered to be an obvious modification of the Hayashi device that a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would be able to provide using routine experimentation since the courts have held that there is no invention in shifting the position if the operation of the device would not be thereby modified. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and MPEP 2144.04 VI.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Li as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mamodia et al. US 2017/0176516 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Mamodia).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou and Li discloses the temperature control system of claim 1, Zhou discloses further comprising a pressing head (see fig. 3, par. [0041]), which is arranged above the test socket (see fig. 3, elm. 300, par. [0041].
Zhou and Li do not disclose the pressing head including a thermal control unit, wherein when the electronic device is tested, the pressing head approaches the test socket and is pressed against the electronic device, the thermal control unit regulates a temperature of the electronic device to a specific temperature.
Mamodia discloses the pressing head (fig. 4, TCU head, par. [0032]), including a thermal control unit (fig. 4, TCU head 324, par. [0032]), wherein when the electronic device (see fig. 4, DUT, par. [0032]), is tested, the pressing head approaches the test socket (see fig. 4, par. [0032]), and is pressed against the electronic device (par. [0032]), the thermal control unit regulates a temperature of the electronic device to a specific temperature (par. [0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide integrated circuit test using a thermal test or processing head, as taught in Mamodia in modifying the apparatus of Zhou and Li. The motivation would be to provide different amounts of thermal expansion. (see Mamodia: par. [0014]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record does not teach or support, in combination with the rest of the limitations in the claim, comprising a liquid-gas solenoid valve, the liquid-gas solenoid valve including two inlet ends and an outlet end and being electrically connected to the controller, the temperature-controlling fluid supply device and the purge gas supply device being communicated with the two inlet ends respectively, the outlet end being communicated with the at least one fluid inlet portion of the test socket, wherein when the electronic device is tested, the controller controls the liquid-gas solenoid valve so that the temperature-controlling fluid supply device is communicated with the outlet end; when the test of the electronic device is completed, the controller controls the liquid-gas solenoid valve so that the purge gas supply device is communicated with the outlet end.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/COURTNEY G MCDONNOUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 7/22/2026