DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because there is no mention of newly provided Figs 11A and 11B in the brief description of the drawings.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
housing comprising an insertion end configured to be inserted into at least one of the socket openings of the information communication device and extend into the information communication device when inserted into the at least one of the socket openings of the information communication device, and an exposed end portion configured to extend out of the information communication device when the pluggable device is inserted into the at least one of the socket openings of the information communication device, as in claim 27
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 22-24, 27, 29-31, 33-35, 37-39, 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota et al. (US 2004/0221604 – hereinafter, “Ota”) in view of Taguchi (US 2014/0268561) and further in view of Butterbaugh et al. (US 9,591,784 – hereinafter, “Butterbaugh”).
With respect to claim 20, Ota teaches (In Figs 5-6) a pluggable device comprising: a housing (1); a circuit board (2); a heat emitting element (3); and a liquid cooling part (21) comprising two pipe joints (24, 25) fastened to a housing wall of the housing (24 and 25 are fixed on the rear face of the housing to allow for easy connection to the supply and drain tubes (26, 27), ¶ 0085, “the supply/drain tubes 26 and 27 can be connected to the supply/drain joints 24 and 25 of the server module 62 when the server module 62 is installed into the rack cabinet 10”), wherein the two pipe joints are configured to be respectively connected to a liquid discharge pipe joint (27) and a liquid inlet pipe joint (26) of a liquid cooling heat dissipation part (52), and wherein the circuit board (2), the heat emitting element (3), and the liquid cooling part (21) are sequentially stacked in the housing (1, see Fig 5).
Ota fails to specifically teach or suggest that the housing comprising an insertion end configured to be inserted into a socket opening of a panel of an information communication device and extend into the information communication device when inserted into the socket opening, and an exposed end portion configured to extend out of the information communication device when the pluggable device is inserted into the information communication device, and that the liquid cooling part comprises a substrate, a heat pipe located in the substrate, the substrate has a plate structure made of a high thermal conductivity material, the circuit board, the heat emitting element, and the substrate are sequentially stacked in the housing, wherein the heat emitting element is disposed between the circuit board and the substrate.
Taguchi, however, teaches (In Fig 2) a liquid cooling part which comprises a substrate (20), a heat pipe (R) located in the substrate and the substrate has a plate structure (See Fig 2) made of a high thermal conductivity material (¶ 0017, “The case 20 may be made of aluminium or copper”), a circuit board (PR), a heat emitting element (6), and the substrate (20) are sequentially stacked, wherein the heat emitting element (6) is disposed between the circuit board (PR) and the substrate (20 – see Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Taguchi with that of Ota, such that the liquid cooling part of Ota comprises a substrate, a heat pipe located in the substrate and the substrate has a plate structure made of a high thermal conductivity material, the circuit board, the heat emitting element, and the substrate are sequentially stacked in the housing, wherein the heat emitting element is disposed between the circuit board and the substrate, as taught by Taguchi, since doing so would provide a relatively flat surface in contact with the heat emitting element that is capable of transmitting heat to the liquid flowing through the liquid cooling part of Ota.
Regarding the limitations that the housing comprising an insertion end configured to be inserted into a socket opening of a panel of an information communication device and extend into the information communication device when inserted into the socket opening, and an exposed end portion configured to extend out of the information communication device when the pluggable device is inserted into the information communication device, Butterbaugh teaches (In Figs 1A, 1B) a housing (130A) comprising an insertion end (160A) configured to be inserted into a socket opening (Opening of 170A) of a panel (155) of an information communication device (105) and extend into the information communication device (105) when inserted into the socket opening (See Fig 1B), and an exposed end portion (127) configured to extend out of the information communication device when a pluggable device is inserted into the information communication device (See Figs 1A, 1B, 127 extends outside of the frame (105) when 103A is fully inserted into the frame).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Butterbaugh with that of Ota, such that, in Ota the housing comprising an insertion end configured to be inserted into a socket opening of a panel of an information communication device and extend into the information communication device when inserted into the socket opening, and an exposed end portion configured to extend out of the information communication device when the pluggable device is inserted into the information communication device, as taught by Butterbaugh, since doing so would provide a place for the housing of Ota to attach to the information communication device which is easily accessible by a technician (Having a portion of the housing (1) of Ota extend outside of the information communication device makes it easy to fasten/unfasten the housing from the information communication device).
With respect to claim 22, Ota further teaches that the two pipe joints (24, 25) of the liquid cooling part are both located at the insertion end of the housing (See Fig 5, 24 and 25 are located at the rear of the housing which is an insertion end of the device).
With respect to claim 23, Ota as modified by Taguchi teaches the limitations of claim 22 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest a thermal interface material disposed between the heat emitting element and the liquid cooling part.
Having a thermal interface material disposed between a heat emitting element and a liquid cooling part has been taken as a matter of fact.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place a thermal interface material between a heat emitting element and a liquid cooling part since doing so would facilitate heat transfer between the heat emitting element and the liquid cooling part thus providing for better cooling of the heat emitting element.
With respect to claim 24, Ota further teaches that the heat emitting element (3) is at least one of a main function component (¶ 0088, “CPU”), a control chip, or a power management part of the pluggable device.
With respect to claim 27, Ota teaches (In Figs 5-7) a system comprising: an information communication device comprising: a subrack (10); interface components (Openings that accommodate housings (1)) located in the subrack (See Fig 5), and a liquid cooling heat dissipation part (52) located in the subrack and comprising a liquid discharge pipe joint (Joint at end of 27 that connects to 25) and a liquid inlet pipe joint (Joint at end of 26 that connects to 24) configured to be respectively connected to two pipe joints (24, 25) of a liquid cooling part (21) of a pluggable device (server module) configured to be inserted into the interface components; and the pluggable device, wherein the pluggable device comprises: a housing (1), a circuit board (2), a heat emitting element (3), and the liquid cooling part (21) comprising the two pipe joints (24, 25) fastened to a housing wall of the housing (24 and 25 are affixed to the rear wall of the housing 1), wherein the two pipe joints are configured to be respectively connected to the liquid discharge pipe joint and the liquid inlet pipe joint of the liquid cooling heat dissipation part (See Fig 5), and wherein the circuit board (2), the heat emitting element (3), and the liquid cooling part (21) are sequentially stacked in the housing (See Fig 5).
Ota fails to specifically teach or suggest wherein the socket openings of the interface components are located on a panel of the subrack, the housing comprising an insertion end configured to be inserted into at least one of the socket openings of a panel of an information communication device and extend into the information communication device when inserted into the at least one of the socket openings of the information communication device, and an exposed end portion configured to extend out of the information communication device when the pluggable device is inserted into the at least one of the socket openings of the information communication device, and that the liquid cooling part comprises a substrate, and a heat pipe located in the substrate, and wherein the substrate has a plate structure made of a high thermal conductivity material, the circuit board, the heat emitting element, and the substrate are sequentially stacked in the housing, wherein the heat emitting element is disposed between the circuit board and the substrate.
Taguchi, however, teaches (In Fig 2) a liquid cooling part which comprises a substrate (20), a heat pipe (R) located in the substrate and the substrate has a plate structure (See Fig 2) made of a high thermal conductivity material (¶ 0017), a circuit board (PR), a heat emitting element (6), and the substrate (20) are sequentially stacked, the heat emitting element (6) is disposed between the circuit board (PR) and the substrate (20, see Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Taguchi with that of Ota, such that the liquid cooling part of Ota comprises a substrate, a heat pipe located in the substrate and the substrate has a plate structure made of a high thermal conductivity material, the circuit board, the heat emitting element, and the substrate are sequentially stacked in the housing, the heat emitting element is disposed between the circuit board and the substrate, as taught by Taguchi, since doing so would provide a relatively flat surface in contact with the heat emitting element that is capable of transmitting heat to the liquid flowing through the liquid cooling part of Ota.
Regarding the limitations that the socket openings of the interface components are located on a panel of the subrack, the housing comprising an insertion end configured to be inserted into at least one of the socket openings of a panel of an information communication device and extend into the information communication device when inserted into the at least one of the socket openings of the information communication device, and an exposed end portion configured to extend out of the information communication device when the pluggable device is inserted into the at least one of the socket openings of the information communication device, Butterbaugh teaches socket openings (Openings of 170A, 170B) of interface components are located on a panel (155) of a subrack, a housing (130A) comprising an insertion end (End by 160A, 160B) configured to be inserted into at least one of the socket openings of the panel (155) of an information communication device (105) and extend into the information communication device when inserted into the at least one of the socket openings of the information communication device (See Fig 1B), and an exposed end portion (127) configured to extend out of the information communication device (105) when the housing (130a) is inserted into the at least one of the socket openings of the information communication device (See Fig 1B, 127 extends outside of 105 when 160A, 160B are mated with 170A, 170B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Butterbaugh with that of Ota, such that, in Ota the socket openings of the interface components are located on a panel of the subrack, the housing comprising an insertion end configured to be inserted into at least one of the socket openings of a panel of an information communication device and extend into the information communication device when inserted into the at least one of the socket openings of the information communication device, and an exposed end portion configured to extend out of the information communication device when the pluggable device is inserted into the at least one of the socket openings of the information communication device, as taught by Butterbaugh, since doing so would provide a place for the housing of Ota to attach to the information communication device which is easily accessible by a technician (Having a portion of the housing (1) of Ota extend outside of the information communication device makes it easy to fasten/unfasten the housing from the information communication device).
With respect to claim 29, Ota as modified by Taguchi and Butterbaugh teaches the limitations of claim 27 as per above and Ota further teaches that the two pipe joints (24, 25) of the liquid cooling part are both located at a position of the housing at the insertion end of the housing of the pluggable device (24 and 25 are located on an insertion end of the pluggable device).
With respect to claim 30, Ota as modified by Taguchi and Butterbaugh teaches the limitations of claim 29 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest a thermal interface material disposed between the heat emitting element and the liquid cooling part.
It has been taken as a matter of fact of having a thermal interface material disposed between a heat emitting element and a liquid cooling part.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place a thermal interface material between a heat emitting element and a liquid cooling part since doing so would facilitate heat transfer between the heat emitting element and the liquid cooling part thus providing for better cooling of the heat emitting element.
With respect to claim 31, Ota as modified by Taguchi and Butterbaugh teaches the limitations of claim 29 as per above and Ota further teaches that the heat emitting element (3) is at least one of a main function component (¶ 0088, “CPU”), a control chip, or a power management part of the pluggable device.
With respect to claim 33, Ota teaches (In Figs 5-7) a heat dissipation system comprising: an information communication device (10); a liquid cooling heat dissipation part (52); and a pluggable device (server module), wherein the pluggable device comprises a housing (1), a circuit board (2), a heat emitting element (3), and a liquid cooling part (21), the circuit board, the heat emitting element, and the liquid cooling part are sequentially stacked in the housing (See Fig 5), and two pipe joints (24, 25) of the liquid cooling part are both fastened to a housing wall of the housing (See Fig 5, 24 and 25 are affixed to the rear wall of the housing), the pluggable device is inserted into interface components (Slots) of the information communication device (10), and the two pipe joints of the pluggable device are respectively connected to a liquid discharge pipe joint (Joint at end of 27 which connects to 25) and a liquid inlet pipe joint (Joint at end of 26 which connects to 24) of the liquid cooling heat dissipation part (21).
Ota fails to specifically teach or suggest that the housing comprising an insertion end configured to be inserted into a socket opening of a panel of an information communication device and extend into the information communication device when inserted into the socket opening, and an exposed end portion configured to extend out of the information communication device when the pluggable device is inserted into the information communication device and that the liquid cooling part comprises a substrate, a heat pipe located in the substrate the substrate has a plate structure made of a high thermal conductivity material, the circuit board, the heat emitting element, and the substrate are sequentially stacked in the housing, the heat emitting element is disposed between the circuit board and the substrate.
Taguchi, however, teaches (In Fig 2) a liquid cooling part which comprises a substrate (20), a heat pipe (R) located in the substrate and the substrate has a plate structure (See Fig 2) made of a high thermal conductivity material (¶ 0017), a circuit board (PR), a heat emitting element (6), and the substrate (20) are sequentially stacked, the heat emitting element (6) is disposed between the circuit board (PR) and the substrate (20, see Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Taguchi with that of Ota, such that the liquid cooling part of Ota comprises a substrate, a heat pipe located in the substrate and the substrate has a plate structure made of a high thermal conductivity material, the circuit board, the heat emitting element, and the substrate are sequentially stacked in the housing, the heat emitting element is disposed between the circuit board and the substrate, as taught by Taguchi, since doing so would provide a relatively flat surface in contact with the heat emitting element that is capable of transmitting heat to the liquid flowing through the liquid cooling part of Ota.
Regarding the limitations that the housing comprising an insertion end configured to be inserted into a socket opening of a panel of an information communication device and extend into the information communication device when inserted into the socket opening, and an exposed end portion configured to extend out of the information communication device when the pluggable device is inserted into the information communication device, Butterbaugh teaches (In Figs 1A, 1B) a housing (130A) comprising an insertion end (160A) configured to be inserted into a socket opening (Opening of 170A) of a panel (155) of an information communication device (105) and extend into the information communication device (105) when inserted into the socket opening (See Fig 1B), and an exposed end portion (127) configured to extend out of the information communication device when a pluggable device is inserted into the information communication device (See Figs 1A, 1B, 127 extends outside of the frame (105) when 103A is fully inserted into the frame).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Butterbaugh with that of Ota, such that, in Ota the housing comprising an insertion end configured to be inserted into a socket opening of a panel of an information communication device and extend into the information communication device when inserted into the socket opening, and an exposed end portion configured to extend out of the information communication device when the pluggable device is inserted into the information communication device, as taught by Butterbaugh, since doing so would provide a place for the housing of Ota to attach to the information communication device which is easily accessible by a technician (Having a portion of the housing (1) of Ota extend outside of the information communication device makes it easy to fasten/unfasten the housing from the information communication device).
With respect to claim 34, Ota further teaches that the liquid cooling heat dissipation part (52) is located in a subrack (40 + 60) of the information communication device (10); and the liquid discharge pipe joint (Joint at end of 27 which connects to 25) and the liquid inlet pipe joint (Joint at end of 26 which connects to 24) of the liquid cooling heat dissipation part are located on a panel (60) of the subrack.
With respect to claim 35, Ota further teaches that the liquid cooling heat dissipation part (52) is located in an equipment room in which the information communication device (10) is located (Since the liquid cooling heat dissipation part is located in the information communication device, each will be located in the same equipment room).
With respect to claim 37, Ota further teaches that the two pipe joints (24, 25) of the liquid cooling part are both located at the insertion end of the housing of the pluggable device (24 and 25 are located on an insertion end of the pluggable device).
With respect to claim 38, Ota as modified by Taguchi teaches the limitations of claim 37 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest a thermal interface material disposed between the heat emitting element and the liquid cooling part.
Having a thermal interface material disposed between a heat emitting element and a liquid cooling part has been taken as a matter of fact.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place a thermal interface material between a heat emitting element and a liquid cooling part since doing so would facilitate heat transfer between the heat emitting element and the liquid cooling part thus providing for better cooling of the heat emitting element.
With respect to claim 39, Ota further teaches that the heat emitting element (3) is at least one of a main function component (¶ 0088, “CPU”), a control chip, or a power management part of the pluggable device.
With respect to claim 41, Ota as modified by Taguchi teaches the limitations of claim 20 and Ota further teaches the liquid cooling heat dissipation device part (52).
Claim 21, 28, 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota in view of Taguchi in view of Butterbaugh and further in view of Dӧrrich et al. (US 7,466,549 – hereinafter, “Dӧrrich”).
With respect to claims 21, 28 and 36, Ota as modified by Taguchi and Butterbaugh teach the limitations of claims 20, 27 and 33, respectively, as per above but fail to specifically teach or suggest the limitations of claims 21, 28, and 36.
Dӧrrich, however, teaches (In Figs 1-2) two pipe joints of a liquid cooling part are both located at a position of a housing (40) at an exposed end portion of the housing (Col. 2, ll. 35-37, “The distributor 30, the same as the server 40, is accessible through the opened front 18 of the receiving housing 10.”, Col. 2, ll. 44-50, “As FIG. 2 shows, connecting lines 42, 43 can be connected to the distributor connectors 31 by couplings, which can be connected and disconnected in a dripless manner. The connecting lines 42, 43 are conducted in pairs to respective computer units 41 and are connected there, also in a dripless connectable and disconnectable manner, to a cooling circuit on the inside of the computer.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dӧrrich with that of Ota, such that, in Ota two pipe joints of the liquid cooling part are both located at a position of the housing at the exposed end portion of the housing, as taught by Dӧrrich since doing so would make it easier to disconnect the housing from the liquid discharge and inlet pipe joints. Further, having the two pipe joints accessible at the exposed end portion of the housing will make it easier to inspect for leaks.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota in view of Taguchi in view of Butterbaugh and further in view of Dunwoody et al. (US 9,380,728 – hereinafter, “Dunwoody”).
With respect to claim 32, Ota as modified by Taguchi and Butterbaugh teaches the limitations of claim 27 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest the limitations of claim 32.
Dunwoody, however, teaches a liquid discharge pipe joint (132) and a liquid inlet pipe joint (130) of a liquid cooling heat dissipation part are both located on the panel (125) of the subrack (See Fig 5b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dunwoody with that of Ota, such that, in Ota, the liquid discharge pipe joint and the liquid inlet pipe joint are all located on a back panel of the subrack, as taught by Dunwoody, since doing so would allow for the pipe joints to be located near the rear of the subrack making them easier to access during assembly and maintenance.
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota in view of Taguchi in view of Butterbaugh and further in view of Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (hereinafter, “AAPA”).
With respect to claim 42, Ota as modified by Taguchi and Butterbaugh teaches the limitations of claim 20 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest that the pluggable device is an optical module.
AAPA, however, teaches (In 0003 of the present written description) a pluggable device which is an optical module.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of AAPA with that of Ota, such that the pluggable module of Ota is an optical module, as taught by AAPA, since doing so would allow the pluggable module of Ota to communicate optically with other devices.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the Applicant’s remarks that “The cited art does not teach or suggest these limitations” (Present remarks page 10), while the Examiner does not necessarily agree that Ota does not teach the amended limitations of claim 20 (The amended limitations of claim 20 use “configured to” language and the claim is not believed to require any of the particular structural elements or arrangements after this language), in the interest of advancing prosecution, a new grounds rejection to claim 20 is provided above in view of Ota, Taguchi, and Butterbaugh, where Butterbaugh is believed to resolve any potential deficiencies in Ota and Taguchi. Indeed, Butterbaugh teaches (In Figs 1A, 1B) a housing (130A) comprising an insertion end (160A) configured to be inserted into a socket opening (Opening of 170A) of a panel (155) of an information communication device (105) and extend into the information communication device (105) when inserted into the socket opening (See Fig 1B), and an exposed end portion (127) configured to extend out of the information communication device when a pluggable device is inserted into the information communication device (See Figs 1A, 1B, 127 extends outside of the frame (105) when 103A is fully inserted into the frame).
Accordingly, claim 20 is believed to be prima facie obvious in view of Ota, Taguchi, and Butterbaugh.
Independent claims 27 and 33 have been amended to recite limitations the same as or similar to those noted above with respect to claim 20 and Butterbaugh is similarly believed to remedy any potential deficiencies of Ota and Taguchi in these claims.
Accordingly, claims 27 and 33 are also believed to be prima facie obvious in view of Ota, Taguchi, and Butterbaugh.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY PAPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835