DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Applicants’ filing on June 18, 2026. Claims 1-20 were previously pending, of which claims 1-20 have been amended, no claims have been cancelled, and no claims have been newly added. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are currently pending and are being examined below.
Response to Arguments
With respect to Applicant's remarks, see pages 11-13 filed on June 18, 2026; Applicant’s “Amendment and Remarks” have been fully considered. Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
With respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103, applicant's arguments and amendments have been fully considered and they are persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to execute instructions stored in the one or more memories to cause the control system to: detect a coupling of a first work implement; determine that none of the plurality of configurations stored in the one or more memories corresponds to the first work implement; create, based on determining that none of the plurality of configurations corresponds to the first work implement, a new configuration for the first work implement, wherein the new configuration is based on user input) are persuasive and the claims overcome the prior art rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as detailed in the office action below. However, upon further search the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 has been maintained with a new basis in view of the amended claims, as presented in the Final Rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The factual inquiries for establishing A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber et al., US 2017/0275851 Al (Hereinafter, “Huber”), in view of Meyer et al., US2020/0181880 A1, (Hereinafter, “Meyer”)(See PTO-892 from August 20, 2025), in further view of Yun et al., KR20210100827A (Hereinafter “Yun”).
Regarding Claim 1, 9, and 17, Huber discloses the following limitation(s):
A machine (10) comprising: a first machine control component (42,44); and a control system (100) comprising: one or more memories (116) storing a plurality of configurations, wherein each configuration configures individual input elements of the first machine control component to control movements or operations of a respective work implement; and one or more processors, coupled to (110) the one or more memories and configured to execute instructions stored in the one or more memories to cause the control system to: See Fig. 1,3, and [0037], “A circle 22 and blade 30 assembly is mounted to the main frame 12 in front of the operator cabin 14 by a drawbar 32 and a lifter bracket 34, which in certain embodiments may be pivotal with respect to the main frame 12 or otherwise movable into different orientations. Blade shift actuators 24 may be mounted between the circle 22 and the blade 30 for extension of the blade 30 in either sideways direction. Blade lift actuators 26 may be mounted between the circle 22 and the lifter bracket 34 to raise, lower and tilt (side-to-side) the circle 22, and thereby the blade 30”. Also, see [0040], “The controller 50 ( or others) may be configured as a computing device with associated processor devices and one or more memories architectures, as a hard-wired computing circuit ( or circuits), as a programmable circuit, as a hydraulic, electrical or electro-hydraulic controller, or otherwise. As such, the controller 50 may be configured to execute various computational and control functionality with respect to the work vehicle 10 (or other machinery)” + [0030]-[0034] here teaches the different control schemes (i.e. a plurality of configurations) for controlling the vehicle/implements, + [0050] which further teaches the control schemes/configurations.
Huber discloses a reconfigurable work machine, but does not explicitly disclose configuring to work implements. However, Meyer teaches:
detect a coupling of the first work implement; See at least [0052], “FIG. 8 … The identification device 605 … may emit an identification signal 607 prior to, during, or after the attachment 105 couples to the work machine 100. In a first block 610 of the method, the controller 240 of the work machine 100 will wait or standby until attachment change criteria are met.”
determine that none of the plurality of configurations stored in the one or more memories corresponds to the first work implement; See at least [0052], “The controller 240 shall have preprogrammed criteria to help the controller determine when a new attachment 105 has been coupled to the work machine 100. Also [0054], “In block 640, the method may further include the controller 240 automatically adjusting specific vehicle settings based on the type of attachment 105 coupled to the work machine 100. The machine settings may be stored in memory 280, and comprise default setting configurations based on the attachment type. The work machine settings may include, and are not limited to, movement command configurations for the joystick, hydraulic flow, rim-pull, machine mode, idle speed, display, etc.”
configure the first machine control component based on the new configuration; See [0052], “Referring to FIG. 8, with continued reference to FIGS. 1-5, a method 600 for configuring a controller 240 based on the attachment 105, wherein the method comprises an identification device 605 (shown in FIGS. 2 and 5A) communicatively coupled to the attachment 105,” And [0054], “controller 240 automatically adjusting specific vehicle settings based on the type of attachment 105 coupled to the work machine 100. The machine settings may be stored in memory 280.”
receive, based on configuring the first machine control component, a signal; and control, based on the signal, the first work implement. See at least [0054], “the start movement command configuration at startup of the work machine may be the movement command configuration most recently used and stored in memory 280.”
As both are in the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Huber’s device with the work implement attachments disclosed in Meyer with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to reconfigure based on work implements, see Meyer [0004].
Huber and Meyer teach a reconfigurable work machine, but does not explicitly disclose configuring a new work implement based on user input responsive to detecting that none of the plurality of configurations correspond to the first work implement. However, Yun teaches a work machine including the following: create, based on determining that none of the plurality of configurations corresponds to the first work implement, a new configuration for the first work implement, wherein the new configuration is based on user input; See [0048], “If the image processing unit (120) fails to detect an attachment that matches the captured attachment image, the control unit (140) displays a screen requesting input of an attachment setting value through the display unit (160), stores the setting value input through the input unit (170) as the setting value of the attachment, and controls the driving unit with the input equipment setting value.
As both are in the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Huber and Meyer’s device with the creating new work implement controls taught in Yun with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow equipment setting values to be easily set by receiving input from the user and to allow for the system to adapt to and work with unrecognized/new implements, see Yun [0066].
Regarding Claim 2, 10, and 18, Huber discloses the following limitations dependent on claims 1, 9 and 17:
wherein, the instructions further cause the control system to: create the first configuration based on one or more of data received from a remote source or inputs received locally at the machine; receive, from a remote source or locally at the machine, the user input; store the new configuration in the one or more memories. See [0052], “the control system 100 may be configured to automatically detect or recognize when the interface devices are mounted or have been changed, and then initialize the newly mounted interface devices for use. Viewing FIG. 3 as physically and operatively connecting the Device A interface devices 42a, 44a, for example, as explained above, control input signals from the interface devices 42a, 44a are received by the UI module 104 after which the IDR module 108 identifies the physical presence or connection of one of interface devices 42a, 44a and identifies the type of interface device (e.g., Device A) that is mounted to the control system 100”. Also, in[0054], “In certain embodiments, the controller 50 may be configured to modify one or more parameters of the input signals from one or more control inputs. The controller 50 may accomplish such signal modification at the IDC module 110 by processing control algorithms stored in the data store 116 or at another location”.
Huber discloses a reconfigurable work machine, but does not explicitly disclose configuring to work implements. However, Meyer teaches a work machine controller including the following: See [0052], “Referring to FIG. 8, with continued reference to FIGS. 1-5, a method 600 for configuring a controller 240 based on the attachment 105 … the method may further include the controller 240 recognize the attachment 105. The controller 240 shall be able to recognize the attachment 105 based on communication from identification signal 607 (e.g. Bluetooth). Alternatively, the operator may select the attachment 105 through a pop-up menu on a display screen on the control panel 270 aggregating all identification signals received, or a pre-populated list from memory 280.”
As both are in the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Huber’s device with the work implement attachments disclosed in Meyer with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to reconfigure based on work implements, see Meyer [0004].
Regarding Claim 3, 11, and 19, Huber does not disclose work implement signals. However, Meyer teaches the following limitations dependent on claims 1, 9 and 17:
wherein the signal is received from the first machine control component. In [0052], “ the method comprises an identification device 605 (shown in FIGS. 2 and 5A) communicatively coupled to the attachment 105, is shown. The identification device 605, preferably located somewhere on the attachment 605, may emit an identification signal 607 prior to, during, or after the attachment 105 couples to the work machine 100”.
As both are in the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Huber’s device with the work implement attachments disclosed in Meyer with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to have easily configurable attachments, see Meyer [0004].
Regarding Claim 4, 12, and 20, Huber discloses the following limitation dependent on claims 1, 9 and 17:
further comprising a second machine control component, wherein the instructions further cause the control system to configure the second machine control component based on the new configuration. See [0044], “Referring also to FIG. 3, an example control system 100, shown as a simplified schematic diagram, may be embedded within the controller 50. FIG. 3 shows an example two-device operator interface system. It will be understood, however, that the control system may be configured to include or coordinate with a single interface device or with three or more such devices.” Also [0047], “The input data from the interface devices 42, 44 may include any of various control inputs, including, for example, the control inputs discussed with regard to the example interface devices detailed below. It will be understood that the control system 100 may be configured for use with any electronic interface device that has been adapted to couple to the system and is suitable to control the various (electric, electro-hydraulic, electro-pneumatic, etc.) valves and actuators used to position and otherwise control the vehicle and implement components. Generally, the controls may be of any suitable type (e.g., push-buttons, toggles, rockers, rollers, single-or multi-axis joysticks and so on) providing a single, dedicated control operation or providing multi-operational control. The control inputs may provide a single control input signal for each time it is actuated, or it may provide multiple control input signals either sequenced in series or in parallel. ”
Regarding Claim 5 and 13, Huber discloses the following limitation dependent on claims 4 and 12:
wherein the first machine control component comprises a first plurality of input elements, the first work implement is configured to move along a first axis, the new configuration configures two of the first plurality of input elements to control movement along the first axis, and a location of the two of the first plurality of input elements corresponds to the first axis. In Figs 7A/B and [0065], “The right-hand joystick device 44a, in the illustrated example, has a blade pitch control input 190 and an
auxiliary implement control input 192 ( e.g., for a scarifier attachment) located at a forward area of the grip. The blade pitch control input 190 and the implement control input 192 may each be a proportional roller type switch with a paddle and that is spring-biased to return to center (i.e., a neutral input position). For example, when the operator moves the roller control of the blade pitch control input 190 forward (away from the operator), the controller 50 may cause the blade actuator(s) to tilt an upper edge of blade 30 forward with respect to its lower edge. Moving the roller control in the opposite direction (toward the operator) may cause the blade 30 to tilt the upper edge rearward with respect to its lower edge.” Note: while this is controlled by the joystick it also contains multiple buttons for the implement control, as cited in [0067] and Fig. 7A/B. It would be obvious to exchange the control of any of those collections of buttons to a preferred axis control.
Regarding Claim 6 and 14, Huber discloses the following limitations dependent on claims 5 and 13:
wherein the first work implement is further configured to move along a second axis, and wherein the new configuration configures another two of the first plurality of input elements to control movement along the second axis, and a location of the another two of the first plurality of input elements corresponds to the second axis. See [0061], “The joystick devices 42a, 44a may be configured for pivotal movement about X and Y axes, for example, the "X" axis may be aligned with the side-to-side direction of the work vehicle 10, and the "Y" axis may be aligned with the fore-aft direction of the work vehicle 10, generally perpendicular to the side-to-side direction”.
Regarding Claim 7 and 15, Huber discloses the following limitations dependent on claims 5 and 13:
wherein the second machine control component comprises a second plurality of input elements, the first work implement is configured to move along a second axis, and wherein the new configuration configures two of the second plurality of input elements to control movement along the second axis, and a location of the two of the second plurality of input elements corresponds to the second axis. In [0066], “Like the left-hand joystick device 42a, the above control inputs are mounted to a single, multi-axis pivoting joystick 204. Pivoting the joystick 204 about the Y axis may generate a blade shift input to the controller 50 for moving the blade 30 laterally left and right. For example, pivoting the joystick 204 to the left of the Y axis may provide a left blade shift control input, and pivoting the joystick 204 to the
right of the Y axis may provide a right blade shift control input. Pivoting the joystick 204 about the X axis may control the height of the right end of the blade 30 ( e.g., by raising and lowering the right side of the circle 22)”.
Regarding Claim 8 and 16, Huber discloses the following limitations dependent on claims 7 and 15:
wherein the first work implement is configured to: move along a third axis corresponding to a first side of the first work implement; move along a fourth axis corresponding to a second side of the first work implement,
In [0063], “Specifically now, referring to FIGS. 7 A and 7B, the left-hand joystick device 42a has a circle shift control 170 and an auxiliary implement control 172 (e.g., for a ripper attachment) located at a forward area of the grip. The circle shift control 170 and the implement control 172 may each be a proportional roller type switch with a protruding "paddle" feature and that is spring-biased to return to center (i.e., a neutral input position). By way of example, when the operator moves the roller control of the circle shift control 170 forward (away from the operator), the controller 50 may actuate the circle shift actuator (not shown) to pivot the lifter bracket 34 about the main frame 12 to swing the circle 22,
and thereby the blade 30, out to the operator's right side. Moving the roller control in the opposite direction (toward the operator) may swing the circle 22, and the blade 30, to the operator's left side”.
In [0064], “As noted, the above control inputs are mounted to a single, multi-axis pivoting joystick 184”.
wherein the machine further comprises a cab, and wherein a location of the first machine control component in the cab corresponds to the first side and a location of the second machine control component corresponds to the second side, wherein the new configuration configures at least a portion of the first plurality of input elements to control movement along the third axis, and wherein the new configuration configures at least a portion of the second plurality of input elements to control movement along the fourth axis. See [0038], “ The operator cabin 14 provides an enclosure for an operator seat 38 and an operator console for mounting various control devices ( e.g., steering wheel, accelerator and brake pedals), communication equipment and other instruments used in the operation of the work vehicle 10. The operator cabin 14 has a control interface including an operator control display 40, providing graphical (or other) input controls and feedback, and a control input interface
device, such as including left and right operator control interface devices 42, 44, which may be mounted in the operator cabin 14 at each side of the operator seat 38, as described in detail below. In certain embodiments, as also described in detail below, the interface devices 42, 44 may be joystick controls, such as multi-axis joysticks with numerous control inputs (e.g., buttons, rollers, switches, joystick movements, etc.) on each joystick for controlling numerous machine and implement functions, or they may be banks of multiple individual single-or dual-axis joysticks, where each joystick controls only one or two functions”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.K.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3669 /KENNETH M DUNNE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669