DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-16) in the reply filed on 03/31/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/31/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al. (US 2024/0381678) hereinafter “Yamazaki” in view of Chen et al. (US 2021/0305332) hereinafter “Chen”.
Regarding claim 1, Fig. 1A of Yamazaki teaches a display panel (Paragraph 0001) comprising: a first unit pixel (See Picture 1 below); and a second unit pixel (See Examiner’s Note below) disposed adjacent to the first unit pixel in a first direction (Left to right direction), wherein the first unit pixel includes: a first light receiving device (Top right Item 150); a (1-1)-th light emitting device (Top Left Item 130G) and a (1-2)-th light emitting device (Bottom Right Item 130G), each emitting first color light (Green) and disposed in a first diagonal direction (Top left to Bottom right direction) from the first light receiving device (Item 150), the first light receiving device (Item 150) disposed between the (1-1)-th light emitting device (Top Left Item 130G) and the (1-2)-th light emitting device (Bottom Right Item 130G); a (1-3)-th light emitting device (Top Right Item 130G) and a (1-4)-th light emitting device (Bottom Left Item 130G), each emitting the first color light (Green) and disposed in a second diagonal direction (Bottom Left to the Top Right direction) intersecting the first diagonal direction (Top Left to the Bottom Right direction) from the first light receiving device (Item 150), the first light receiving device (Item 150) disposed between the (1-3)-th light emitting device (Top Right Item 130G) and the (1-4)-th light emitting device (Bottom Left Item 130G); a (1-5)-th light emitting device (Top Left Item 130B) and a (1-6)-th light emitting device (Top Right Item 130B), each emitting second color light (Blue), disposed in the first direction (Left to Right direction) from the first light receiving device (Item 150), and interposed between two of the (1-1)-th light emitting device (Top Left Item 130G) to the (1-4)-th light emitting device (Bottom Left Item 130G), which are arranged in a second direction (Up and down direction) intersecting the first direction (Left to right direction), the first light receiving device (Item 150) disposed between the (1-5)-th light emitting device (Top Left Item 130B) and the (1-6)-th light emitting device (Top Right Item 130B); and a (1-7)-th light emitting device (Top Right Item 130R) and a (1-8)-th light emitting device (Bottom Right Item 130R), each emitting third color light (Red), disposed in the second direction (Up and down direction) from the first light receiving device (Item 150), and interposed between two of the (1-1)-th light emitting device (Top Left Item 130G) to the (1-4)-th light emitting device (Bottom Left Item 130G), which are arranged in the first direction (Left to Right direction), the first light receiving device (Item 150) disposed between the (1-7)-th light emitting device (Top Right Item 130R) and the (1-8)-th light emitting device (Bottom Right Item 130R), the second unit pixel includes: a second light receiving device; a (2-1)-th light emitting device and a (2-2)-th light emitting device, each emitting the first color light and disposed in the first diagonal direction from the second light receiving device, the second light receiving device disposed between the (2-1)-th light emitting device and the (2-2)-th light emitting device; a (2-3)-th light emitting device and a (2-4)-th light emitting device, each emitting the first color light and disposed in the second diagonal direction from the second light receiving device, the second light receiving device disposed between the (2-3)-th light emitting device and the (2-4)-th light emitting device; a (2-5)-th light emitting device and a (2-6)-th light emitting device, each emitting the second color light, disposed in the second direction from the second light receiving device, and interposed between two of the (2-1)-th light emitting device to the (2-4)-th light emitting device, which are arranged in the first direction, the second light receiving device disposed between the (2-5)-th light emitting device and the (2-6)-th light emitting device; and a (2-7)-th light emitting device and a (2-8)-th light emitting device, each emitting the third color light, disposed in the first direction from the second light receiving device, and interposed between two of the (2-1)-th light emitting device to the (2-4)-th light emitting device, which are arranged in the second direction, the second light receiving device disposed between the (2-7)-th light emitting device and the (2-8)-th light emitting device (Where the second pixel unit would have the same configuration as the first pixel unit; See Picture 1 below for location of the second pixel unit; See Examiner’s Note below), the (1-2)-th light emitting device is disposed more adjacent to the second unit pixel than the (1-1)-th light emitting device (Top Left Item 130G), and the (2-4)-th light emitting device is disposed most adjacent to the (1-2)-th light emitting device among the light emitting devices in the second unit pixel.
While Yamazaki teaches repeating units (pixel units) having the claimed configuration, should the Applicant not understand a portion of a subpixel to be distinguished from another portion of a subpixel (i.e. (1-2)th light emitting device and (1-4)th light emitting device being respective fourths of a subpixel) Yamazaki would not explicitly teach where the subpixels shared by multiple repeating units are divided into smaller same colored subpixels such that each subpixel in each repeating unit is an individual unique subpixel.
Fig. 5 of Chen teaches where a large green area subpixel comprises multiple individual subpixels (Items G) such that pixel units have individual unique subpixels.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have single colored areas of subpixels shared by respective pixel units be individual unique subpixels such that each subpixel in each repeating unit is an individual unique subpixel because increasing the number of subpixels and reducing the area of the subpixels under the same total area is known to improve the resolution (Chen Paragraph 0080).
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner notes that Fig. 1A shows a portion of the display panel such that the whole display panel anticipated by Yamazaki would have the same pixel unit, identified in Picture 1 below, repeated throughout, where a second, a third and fourth pixel unit in full would be present in the display panel.
Picture 1 (Labeled version of Yamazaki Fig. 1A)
Regarding claim 2, Fig. 1A of Yamazaki further teaches wherein the (1-6)-th light emitting device (Top Right Item 130G) is disposed more adjacent to the second unit pixel than the (1-5)-th light emitting device (Top Left Item 130B), and one of the (2-7)-th light emitting device and the (2-8)-th light emitting device is disposed most adjacent to the (1-6)-th light emitting device, among the light emitting devices in the second unit pixel (Where the second pixel unit would have the same configuration as the first pixel unit such that the configuration claimed is read upon; See Picture 1 above).
Regarding claim 3, Fig. 1A of Yamazaki further teaches wherein a number of the first light receiving device (Item 150) is 1/4 times of a number of the light emitting devices emitting the first color light (Item 130G) in the first unit pixel (See Picture 1 above).
Regarding claim 4, Fig. 1A of Yamazaki further teaches wherein the (1-1)-th light emitting device (Top Left Item 130G) is spaced apart from the first light receiving device (Item 150) by a first spacing, the (1-5)-th light emitting device (Top Left Item 130B) is spaced apart from the first light receiving device (Item 150) by a second spacing, the (1-7)-th light emitting device (Top Right Item 130R) is spaced apart from the first light receiving device (Item 150) by a third spacing, and the first spacing is greater than the second spacing and the third spacing.
Regarding claim 5, Fig. 1A of Yamazaki further teaches wherein the (1-1)-th light emitting device (Top Left Item 130G) to the (1-4)-th light emitting device (Bottom Right Item 130G) are spaced apart from the first light receiving device by the first spacing.
Regarding claim 6, Fig. 1A of Yamazaki further teaches wherein distances between centers of most adjacent ones of the first light receiving device (Item 150) and the (1-1)-th light emitting device (Top Left Item 130G) to the (1-8)-th light emitting device (Bottom Right Item 130R) are same, in the first unit pixel.
Regarding claim 7, Fig. 1A of Yamazaki further teaches wherein the (1-5)-th light emitting device (Top Left Item 130B) and the (1-6)-th light emitting device (Top Right Item 130B) are symmetrical to each other with respect to the first light receiving device (Item 150).
Regarding claim 8, Fig. 1A of Yamazaki further teaches wherein the (1-7)-th light emitting device (Top Right Item 130R) and the (1-8)-th light emitting device (Bottom Right Item 130R) are symmetrical to each other with respect to the first light receiving device (Item 150).
Regarding claim 9, Fig. 1A of Yamazaki further teaches wherein a number of the first light receiving device (Item 150) is 1/2 times of a number of the light emitting devices emitting the second color light (Blue) in the first unit pixel.
Regarding claim 14, Fig. 1A of Yamazaki further teaches a third unit pixel disposed adjacent to the first unit pixel in the second direction; and a fourth unit pixel disposed adjacent to the second unit pixel in the second direction, wherein the third unit pixel includes: a third light receiving device; a (3-1)-th light emitting device and a (3-2)-th light emitting device, each emitting the first color light and disposed in the first diagonal direction from the third light receiving device, the third light receiving device disposed between the (3-1)-th light emitting device and the (3-2)-th light emitting device; a (3-3)-th light emitting device and a (3-4)-th light emitting device, each emitting the first color light and disposed in the second diagonal direction from the third light receiving device, the third light receiving device disposed between the (3-3)-th light emitting device and the (3-4)-th light emitting device; a (3-5)-th light emitting device and a (3-6)-th light emitting device, each emitting the second color light, disposed in the second direction from the third light receiving device, and interposed between two of the (3-1)-th light emitting device to the (3-4)-th light emitting device, which are arranged in the first direction, the third light receiving device disposed between the (3-5)-th light emitting device and the (3-6)-th light emitting device; and a (3-7)-th light emitting device and a (3-8)-th light emitting device, each emitting the third color light, disposed in the first direction from the third light receiving device, and interposed between two of the (3-1)-th light emitting device to the (3-4)-th light emitting device, which are arranged in the second direction, the third light receiving device disposed between the (3-7)-th light emitting device and the (3-8)-th light emitting device, and the fourth unit pixel includes: a fourth light receiving device; a (4-1)-th light emitting device and a (4-2)-th light emitting device, each emitting the first color light and disposed in the first diagonal direction from the fourth light receiving device, the fourth light receiving device disposed between the (4-1)-th light emitting device and the (4-2)-th light emitting device; a (4-3)-th light emitting device and a (4-4)-th light emitting device, each emitting the first color light and disposed in the second diagonal direction from the fourth light receiving device, the fourth light receiving device disposed between the (4-3)-th light emitting device and the (4-4)-th light emitting device; a (4-5)-th light emitting device and a (4-6)-th light emitting device, each emitting the second color light, disposed in the first direction from the fourth light receiving device the fourth light receiving device between the (4-5)-th light emitting device and the (4-6)-th light emitting device, and interposed between two of the (4-1)-th light emitting device to the (4-4)-th light emitting device, which are arranged in the second direction, the fourth light receiving device disposed between the (4-5)-th light emitting device and the (4-6)-th light emitting device; and a (4-7)-th light emitting device and a (4-8)-th light emitting device, each emitting the third color light, disposed in the second direction from the fourth light receiving device, and interposed between two of the (4-1)-th light emitting device to the (4-4)-th light emitting device, which are arranged in the first direction, the fourth light receiving device disposed between the (4-7)-th light emitting device and the (4-8)-th light emitting device (See Picture 1 above; See also Examiner’s Note below).
Examiner’s Note: While not shown in full in Fig. 1A of Yamazaki (and Picture 1 above) the Examiner notes that the configuration of the third and fourth pixel units have the same configuration as the first pixel unit shown in full above such that Fig. 1A of Yamazaki reads on the claim language.
Regarding claim 15, Fig. 1A of Yamazaki further teaches wherein the (3-3)-th light emitting device is disposed more adjacent to the fourth unit pixel than the (3-4)-th light emitting device, and one of the (4-1)-th light emitting device and the (4-2)-th light emitting device is disposed most adjacent to the (3-3)-th light emitting device, among the light emitting devices in the fourth unit pixel (See Picture 1 above; See also Examiner’s Note below).
Examiner’s Note: While not shown in full in Fig. 1A of Yamazaki (and Picture 1 above) the Examiner notes that the configuration of the third and fourth pixel units have the same configuration as the first pixel unit shown in full above such that Fig. 1A of Yamazaki reads on the claim language.
Regarding claim 16, Fig. 1A of Yamazaki further teaches wherein one of the light emitting devices, which is most adjacent to light emitting devices emitting the second light (Blue) in the first unit pixel to the fourth unit pixel, emits the first color light (Green) or third color light (Red).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al. (US 2024/0381678) hereinafter “Yamazaki” in view of Chen et al. (US 2021/0305332) hereinafter “Chen” and in further view of Han et al. (US 2022/0037418) hereinafter “Han”.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Yamazaki and Chen teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except wherein each of the (1-1)-th light emitting device to the (1-8)-th light emitting device includes a first electrode, a hole transfer region, an auxiliary layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transfer region, and a second electrode sequentially stacked, and each of the first and second light receiving devices includes a first electrode, a hole transfer region, an auxiliary layer, a light receiving layer, an electron transfer region, and a second electrode sequentially stacked.
Fig. 15 of Han teaches a display panel comprising a red subpixel (Item RED), a blue subpixel (Item BLUE), a green subpixel (Item GREEN) and a light receiving device (Item OPD), where each of the red, blue and green subpixels includes a first electrode (Item AND), a hole transfer region (Item HIL), an auxiliary layer (Item HTL), a light emitting layer (Item EML), an electron transfer region (Combination of Items ETL and EIL), and a second electrode (Item CAT) sequentially stacked, and each of the light receiving devices includes a first electrode (Item AND), a hole transfer region (Item HIL), an auxiliary layer (Item HTL), a light receiving layer (Item ACT-OPD), an electron transfer region (Combination of Items ETL and EIL), and a second electrode (Item CAT) sequentially stacked.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each of the (1-1)-th light emitting device to the (1-8)-th light emitting device includes a first electrode, a hole transfer region, an auxiliary layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transfer region, and a second electrode sequentially stacked, and each of the first and second light receiving devices includes a first electrode, a hole transfer region, an auxiliary layer, a light receiving layer, an electron transfer region, and a second electrode sequentially stacked because this allows the display panel to also serve as a fingerprint recognition device (Han Paragraph 0007).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Yamazaki, Chen and Han teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except wherein the auxiliary layer of each of the (1-1)-th light emitting device to the (1-4)-th light emitting device and the auxiliary layer of each of the first and second light receiving device are integral with each other.
Fig. 15 of Han further teaches the auxiliary layer (Item HTL) of each of the red, green and blue subpixels (Items RED, GREEN and BLUE, respectively) and the auxiliary layer (Item HTL) of each of the light receiving devices (Item OPD) are integral with each other.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the auxiliary layer of each of the (1-1)-th light emitting device to the (1-4)-th light emitting device and the auxiliary layer of each of the first and second light receiving device are integral with each other because this allows the auxiliary layer for the light emitting devices and light receiving devices to be formed simultaneously (Han Paragraph 0066).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Yamazaki, Chen and Han teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except wherein the auxiliary layer of each of the (1-5)-th light emitting device and the (1-6)-th light emitting device or the auxiliary layer of each of the (1-7)-th light emitting device and the (1-8)-th light emitting device, and the auxiliary layer of each the first and second light receiving device are integral with each other.
Fig. 15 of Han further teaches where the auxiliary layer (Item HTL) of each of the light emitting devices (Items RED, GREEN or BLUE, respectively), and the auxiliary layer (Item HTL) of each the light receiving devices (Items OPD) are integral with each other.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the auxiliary layer of each of the (1-5)-th light emitting device and the (1-6)-th light emitting device or the auxiliary layer of each of the (1-7)-th light emitting device and the (1-8)-th light emitting device, and the auxiliary layer of each the first and second light receiving device are integral with each other because this allows the auxiliary layer for the light emitting devices and light receiving devices to be formed simultaneously (Han Paragraph 0066).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al. (US 2024/0381678) hereinafter “Yamazaki” in view of Chen et al. (US 2021/0305332) hereinafter “Chen” and Han et al. (US 2022/0037418) hereinafter “Han” and in further view of Shin (US 2024/0040850) hereinafter “Shin”.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Yamazaki, Chen and Han teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except a pixel defining layer having an opening part exposing the first electrode of each of the (1-1)-th light emitting device to the (1-8)-th light emitting device.
Shin teaches a pixel defining layer (Item 420) having an opening part exposing a first electrode (Item 410A) of each light emitting device (Item 430).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a pixel defining layer having an opening part exposing the first electrode of each of the (1-1)-th light emitting device to the (1-8)-th light emitting device because the pixel defining layer defines the emission portion of a subpixel (Shin Paragraph 0074) and the opening allows electrical contact between the anode and emission layers in a subpixel.
Yamazaki does not teach wherein the opening part exposing the first electrode of at least one of the (1-1)-th light emitting device to the (1-8)-th light emitting device has a substantially octagonal shape in a plan view.
Shin teaches where first, second and third subpixels may have an octagonal shape in a plan view (Paragraph 0079).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the opening part exposing the first electrode of at least one of the (1-1)-th light emitting device to the (1-8)-th light emitting device has a substantially octagonal shape in a plan view because an octagon is a known shape of a subpixel (Shin Paragraph 0079) and changes in shape is a matter of choice (See MPEP 2144.04 (I)(B)(IV)(B) “In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant)”).
Conclusion
/ERIC K ASHBAHIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891