DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claims 18 and 20 stand rejected under Section 102 in view of Leem. Claims 1-9, 14-18, and 20 stand rejected under Section 103 in view of Kusunoki and Leem. Claims 10, 11, and 13 stand rejected under Section 103 in view of Kusunoki, Leem, Song, and Kubota. Claims 12 and 19 stand rejected under Section 103 in view of Kusunoki, Leem, Song, Kubota, Song ’022, and Park. Claim 19 stands rejected under Section 112(b). Claim 19 stands objected to. The specification and drawings stand objected to.
Applicants amended claims 1, 9, 10, 14, 18, and 19, and canceled claim 8. Applicants provided amendments to the specification. Applicants argue that the application is in condition for allowance.
Turning first to the drawing objection: Applicants’ amendment to the specification addresses the previously noted drawing objection and is accepted and entered. No new matter has been added. The previously noted drawing objection is withdrawn.
Specification: Applicants’ amendment addresses the previously noted specification objection and is accepted and entered. No new matter has been added. The previously noted specification objection is withdrawn.
Claim objection: Applicants’ amendment to claim 19 addresses the previously noted claim objection and is accepted and entered. No new matter has been added. The previously noted claim objection is withdrawn.
Section 112(b) rejection: Applicants’ amendment addresses the previously noted Section 112(b) rejection and is accepted and entered. No new matter has been added. The previously noted Section 112(b) rejection is withdrawn.
Section 102 rejections: Applicants’ amendments overcome the previously noted Section 102 rejections. These rejections are withdrawn.
Section 103 rejections: Applicants’ amendment overcome the previously noted Section 103 rejections. However, additional art has been identified which, when combined with previously cited Section 102 or Section 103 art, renders obvious the claims (except claim 9), as discussed in the next section. As to the rejection of claim 9, applicants’ arguments are persuasive. After further search, the Office has determined that claim 9 is allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 15, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusunoki, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2022/0327857, Figures 11A, 11B, and further in view of Leem, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2015/0287946, Figures 4-6 and Park, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2020/0152703.
Kusunoki, Figures 11A, 11B:
Regarding claim 1: Kusunoki Figures 11A and 11B disclose a sensor-embedded display panel (100C), comprising: a light emitting element (190) on a substrate (151), the light emitting element (190) including a light emitting layer (193), and a photosensor (110) on the substrate (151), the photosensor (110) including a photosensitive layer (183), the photosensitive layer (183) extending at least partially in parallel with the light emitting layer (193) along an in-plane direction of the substrate (151), wherein the light emitting element (190) and the photosensor (110) each include a separate portion of a first common auxiliary layer (112) extending continuously as a single first piece of material under each of the light emitting layer (193) and the photosensitive layer (183); and a separate portion of a second common auxiliary layer (114) extending continuously as a single second piece of material on each of the light emitting layer (193) and the photosensitive layer (183) includes a light absorbing semiconductor. Kusunoki specification ¶¶ 271-291. Kusunoki does not disclose that the photosensitive layer includes a light absorbing semiconductor having a HOMO energy level having a difference of less than about 1.0 eV from a HOMO energy level of the first common auxiliary layer and a LUMO energy level having a difference of less than about 1.0 eV from a LUMO energy level of the second common auxiliary layer, and that the photosensitive layer does not include any counterpart semiconductor for any pn junction with the light absorbing semiconductor. Kusunoki does not disclose that the light absorbing semiconductor is an organic light absorbing material, and wherein the organic light absorbing material is represented by Chemical Formula 1:
[Chemical Formula 1]
wherein, in Chemical Formula 1, X is O, S, Se, Te, SO, SO2, CRbRc, or SiRdRe, Ar is a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 arylene group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 heterocyclic group, or fused rings thereof, Ar1a and Ar2a are each independently a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 aryl(ene) group or a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 heteroaryl(ene) group, R1a to R3a and Rb to Re are each independently hydrogen, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C30 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C30 alkoxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 aryl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 heteroaryl group, a halogen, a cyano group, or any combination thereof, and Ar1a, Ar2a, R1a, and R2a are each independently present, or two adjacent ones of Ar1a, Ar2a, R1a, and R2a are linked to each other to form a ring.
Leem Figures 4-6, directed to an organic photoelectronic device and image sensor, discloses a photosensor (400), the photosensor (400) including a photosensitive layer (30a), wherein the photosensitive layer (30a) includes a light absorbing semiconductor having a HOMO energy level having a difference of less than about 1.0 eV from a HOMO energy level of the a hole buffer layer (30b) and a LUMO energy level having a difference of less than about 1.0 eV from a LUMO energy level of the electron buffer layer (30c), and wherein the photosensitive layer (30a) does not include any counterpart semiconductor for any pn junction with the light absorbing semiconductor. Leem specification ¶¶ 77-92. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Kusunoki to include the Leem photosensor design because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose.
Park, directed to similar subject matter, discloses a photoconversion layer (30) which may comprise at least one p-type semiconductor and/or at least one n-type semiconductor, each of which is an independently light absorbing material. Park specification ¶¶ 81, 82. In order for the single-layer material to function, the single-layer photosensitive layer must comprise an electron donating moiety and an electron accepting moiety. See Kusunoki specification ¶¶ 119-135; Leem specification ¶¶ 11-13. Park’s p-type semiconductor meets this requirement. Park specification ¶ 83. Thus, Park discloses that one of these materials may be used in light absorption. Park discloses that the light absorbing semiconductor is an organic light absorbing material, and wherein the organic light absorbing material is represented by Chemical Formula 1:
[Chemical Formula 1]
wherein, in Chemical Formula 1, X is O, S, Se, Te, SO, SO2, CRbRc, or SiRdRe, Ar is a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 arylene group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 heterocyclic group, or fused rings thereof, Ar1a and Ar2a are each independently a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 aryl group or a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 heteroaryl group, R1a to R3a and Rb to Re are each independently hydrogen, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C30 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C30 alkoxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 aryl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 heteroaryl group, a halogen, a cyano group, and Ar1a and Ar2a are each independently present, or two adjacent ones of Ar1a and Ar2a are linked to each other to form a ring. Id. ¶¶ 84-97. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify the combination to include the Park material because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose. Once combined, the materials of the hole buffer layer and electron buffer layer would be adjusted, if needed, to meet the relative LUMO and HOMO requirements of Leem. For these reasons, claim 1 is obvious.
Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim 1: The combination discloses that the photosensitive layer (30a) is a single layer formed of a single continuous phase of the light absorbing semiconductor. See Leem specification ¶ 79.
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claim 1: The combination discloses that the photosensitive layer (30a) is formed of the light absorbing semiconductor. Id.
Regarding claim 4, which depends from claim 1: The combination discloses an energy bandgap of the photosensitive layer (30a) is narrower than each of an energy bandgap of the first common auxiliary layer (30b) and an energy bandgap of the second common auxiliary layer (30c). See id. ¶¶ 67-69, 71-73.
Regarding claim 5, which depends from claim 1: The combination discloses the light absorbing semiconductor is configured to selectively absorb light of a red wavelength spectrum, a green wavelength spectrum, a blue wavelength spectrum, an infrared wavelength spectrum, or any combination thereof. Id. ¶ 62.
Regarding claim 6, which depends from claim 1: The combination discloses that the photosensitive layer (183) and the second common auxiliary layer (114) are in contact with each other. See Kusunoki Figure 11A.
Regarding claim 7, which depends from claim 1: The combination discloses that the photosensitive layer (183) and the first common auxiliary layer (112) are in contact with each other. See id.
Regarding claim 15, which depends from claim 1: The combination discloses that the sensor-embedded display panel comprises: a display area (at light emitting elements (190)) configured to display a color, and a non-display area (at photosensor (110)) excluding the display area, wherein the light emitting element is in the display area and the photosensor is in the non-display area. See Kusunoki Figures 11A, 11B.
Regarding claim 17: The combination discloses an electronic device comprising the sensor-embedded display panel of claim 1. Kusunoki specification ¶¶ 271-272.
Regarding claim 18: Kusunoki discloses a photosensor (PD), comprising: an anode (191); a hole auxiliary layer (112) on the anode (191); a photosensitive layer (183) on the hole auxiliary layer (112); an electron auxiliary layer (114) on the photosensitive layer (183), the electron auxiliary layer (114) being in contact with the photosensitive layer (183); and a cathode (115) on the electron auxiliary layer (114). Kusunoki specification ¶¶ 271-291. Kusunoki does not disclose that the photosensitive layer is a single photosensitive layer, wherein the single photosensitive layer includes a single light absorbing semiconductor having a HOMO energy level having a difference of less than about 1.0 eV from a HOMO energy level of the hole auxiliary layer and a LUMO energy level having a difference of less than about 1.0 eV from a LUMO energy level of the electron auxiliary layer, and wherein the single photosensitive layer does not include any counterpart semiconductor for any pn junction with the single light absorbing semiconductor. Kusunoki does not disclose that the single light absorbing semiconductor is an organic light absorbing material, the organic light absorbing material is represented by Chemical Formula 1:
[Chemical Formula 1]
wherein, in Chemical Formula 1, X is O, S, Se, Te, SO, SO2, CRbRc, or SiRdRe, Ar is a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 arylene group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 heterocyclic group, or fused rings thereof, Ar1a and Ar2a are each independently a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 aryl(ene) group or a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 heteroaryl(ene) group, R1a to R3a and Rb to Re are each independently hydrogen, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C30 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C30 alkoxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 aryl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 heteroaryl group, a halogen, a cyano group, or any combination thereof, and Ar1a, Ar2a, R1a, and R2a are each independently present, or two adjacent ones of Ar1a, Ar2a, R1a, and R2a are linked to each other to form a ring.
Leem Figures 4-6, 15, and 16 disclose a photosensor (400), comprising: an anode (10); a hole auxiliary layer (30b) on the anode (10); a single photosensitive layer (30a) on the hole auxiliary layer (30b); an electron auxiliary layer (30c) on the single photosensitive layer (30a), the electron auxiliary layer (30c) being in contact with the single photosensitive layer (30a); and a cathode (20) on the electron auxiliary layer (30c), wherein the single photosensitive layer (30a) includes a single light absorbing semiconductor having a HOMO energy level having a difference of less than about 1.0 eV from a HOMO energy level of the hole auxiliary layer (30b) and a LUMO energy level having a difference of less than about 1.0 eV from a LUMO energy level of the electron auxiliary layer (30c), and wherein the single photosensitive layer (30a) does not include any counterpart semiconductor for any pn junction with the single light absorbing semiconductor. Leem specification ¶¶ 77-92. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify the Kusunoki combination to include the Leem design because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose.
Park, directed to similar subject matter, discloses a photoconversion layer (30) which may comprise at least one p-type semiconductor and/or at least one n-type semiconductor, each of which is an independently light absorbing material. Park specification ¶¶ 81, 82. In order for the single-layer material to function, the single-layer photosensitive layer must comprise an electron donating moiety and an electron accepting moiety. See Kusunoki specification ¶¶ 119-135; Leem specification ¶¶ 11-13. Park’s p-type semiconductor meets this requirement. Park specification ¶ 83. Thus, Park discloses that one of these materials may be used in light absorption as a single layer. Park discloses that the light absorbing semiconductor is an organic light absorbing material, and wherein the organic light absorbing material is represented by Chemical Formula 1:
[Chemical Formula 1]
wherein, in Chemical Formula 1, X is O, S, Se, Te, SO, SO2, CRbRc, or SiRdRe, Ar is a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 arylene group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 heterocyclic group, or fused rings thereof, Ar1a and Ar2a are each independently a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 aryl group or a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 heteroaryl group, R1a to R3a and Rb to Re are each independently hydrogen, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C30 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C30 alkoxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 aryl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 heteroaryl group, a halogen, a cyano group, and Ar1a and Ar2a are each independently present, or two adjacent ones of Ar1a and Ar2a are linked to each other to form a ring. Id. ¶¶ 84-97. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify the combination to include the Park material because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose. Once combined, the materials of the hole buffer layer and electron buffer layer would be adjusted, if needed, to meet the relative LUMO and HOMO requirements of Leem. For these reasons, claim 18 is obvious.
Regarding claim 20: Kusunoki discloses an electronic device comprising the photosensor of claim 18. Kusunoki specification ¶¶ 271-272.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusunoki, Leem, and Park, and further in view of Kusunoki Figure 6H and 10A.
Regarding claim 14, which depends from claim 1: The combination, Kusunoki Figure 11B, discloses wherein the light emitting element comprises a first light emitting element, a second light emitting element, and a third light emitting element (190), and the photosensor (110) is configured to absorb light that is emitted from at least one of the first, second, or third light emitting elements (190). The combination is silent as to whether the first light emitting element, the second light emitting element, and third light emitting element are configured to emit light of different wavelength spectra from each other, and the details relating to the light being reflected by a recognition target and converting the absorbed light into an electrical signal.
Kusunoki Figure 6H, in an arrangement that is similar to Kusunoki Figure 11B, discloses the light emitting element comprises a first light emitting element, a second light emitting element, and a third light emitting element configured to emit light of different wavelength spectra from each other. Kusunoki specification ¶¶ 149-151. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify the combination to include the Kusunoki Figure 6H design because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose.
Kusunoki discussed, in relation to a similar embodiment in Kusunoki Figure 10A, that the photosensor is configured to absorb light that is emitted from at least one of the first light emitting element, the second light emitting element, or the third light emitting element and then reflected by a recognition target as an absorbed light, and convert the absorbed light into an electrical signal. Id. ¶ 248. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify the combination’s design so that the photosensor is configured to absorb light that is emitted from at least one of the first light emitting element, the second light emitting element, or the third light emitting element and then reflected by a recognition target as an absorbed light, and convert the absorbed light into an electrical signal because the modification would permit the photosensor to function as a sensor.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusunoki Leem, and Park, and further in view of Kusunoki Figure 11C and 6J.
Regarding claim 16, which depends from claim 15: The combination is silent as to the colors and the arrangement of the colors of the light emitting elements.
Kusunoki Figure 11C discloses an alternate pixel arrangement to that shown in Kusunoki Figure 11B. Kusunoki specification ¶ 282. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify the combination to include the Kusunoki Figure 11C design because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose.
Kusunoki Figure 6J, with a similar arrangement as that shown in Kusunoki Figure 11C, discloses that the light emitting element comprises a first light emitting element (R) configured to emit light of a red wavelength spectrum, a second light emitting element (G) configured to emit light of a green wavelength spectrum, and a third light emitting element (B) configured to emit light of a blue wavelength spectrum. Kusunoki specification ¶¶ 149-151. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify the combination to include the Kusunoki Figure 6J design because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose. Once combined, the combination, Kusunoki Figures 6J and 11C, discloses that the display area comprises a plurality of first subpixels (R) comprising the first light emitting element and configured to display light of the red wavelength spectrum, a plurality of second subpixels (G) comprising the second light emitting element and configured to display light of the green wavelength spectrum, and a plurality of third subpixels (B) comprising the third light emitting element and configured to display light of the blue wavelength spectrum, and the photosensor (PD) is between at least two subpixels of a first subpixel (R) of the plurality of first subpixels, a second subpixel (G) of the plurality of second subpixels, or a third subpixel (B) of the plurality of third subpixels.
Claims 10, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusunoki, Leem, and Park, and further in view of Song, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0076267, Figure 3, and Kubota, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2024/0074272, Figure 5B.
Regarding claim 10, which depends from claim 1: The combination discloses a first pixel electrode (Kusunoki Figure 11A, right pixel electrode (191)) included in the light emitting element (190), the first pixel electrode (right pixel electrode (191)) being under the first common auxiliary layer (112), a second pixel electrode (left pixel electrode (191)) included in the photosensor (110), the second pixel electrode (left pixel electrode (191)) being under the first common auxiliary layer (112), and a common electrode (115) facing the first pixel electrode (right pixel electrode (191)) and the second pixel electrode (left pixel electrode (191)), respectively, the common electrode (115) being configured to apply a common voltage to the light emitting element (190) and the photosensor (110). The combination is silent as to whether the common electrode comprises a semi-transmissive layer forming a microcavity with the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode, respectively.
Song Figure 3, directed to similar subject matter, discloses a common electrode (800) that is a semi-transmissive layer and forms a microcavity with the pixel electrodes (100). Song specification ¶¶ 59-102. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify the combination to include the Song Figure 3 design because the modification would improve the light emission output.
Kubota Figure 5B, directed to similar subject matter, discloses the adjustment of hole transport layers (282R, 282G, 282B, 282PD) in light-emitting elements an in the photosensor to improve light output in the light-emitting elements and light reception in the photosensor. Kubota specification ¶¶ 158-205. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify the combination to include the Kubota Figure 5B design because the modification would improve the light emission output and reception. Id.
Regarding claim 11, which depends from claim 10: The combination discloses an optical auxiliary layer (corresponding to optical auxiliary layers (410, 420, 430) in Song Figure 3’s light emitting elements, based on the adjustment in thickness in the photosensor in Kubota Figure 5B) between the photosensitive layer (183) and the first common auxiliary layer (112). See Song Figure 3; Kubota Figure 5B.
Regarding claim 13, which depends from claim 11: The combination discloses the photosensitive layer (183/30a) is configured to selectively absorb light of a first wavelength spectrum that is one of a red wavelength spectrum, a green wavelength spectrum, a blue wavelength spectrum, an infrared wavelength spectrum, or any combination thereof (green spectrum, Leem specification ¶ 22), and the optical auxiliary layer has a thickness which configures the photosensor to have a resonance wavelength belonging to the first wavelength spectrum. See Song specification ¶¶ 59-102; Kubota specification ¶¶ 158-205.
Claims 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusunoki, Leem, Park, Song, and Kubota, and further in view of Song, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0159022 [hereinafter “Song ’022”] and Park, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2016/0020258 [hereinafter “Park ’258”].
Regarding claim 12, which depends from claim 11: The combination is silent as to whether the optical auxiliary layer is thicker than the photosensitive layer. However, the microcavity design thickness, in conjunction with the thickness of other layers in the light-emitting device or photosensor, will depend on the wavelength of the emitted or received light. See Song ’022 specification ¶ 6.
Park ’258, directed to an organic photodiode, discloses a thickness of the green light-absorption layer (30) as being between 1-500 nm, preferably between 5-300 nm. Park ’258 specification ¶¶ 77-78. If the thickness is closer to the lower end of the range, 5 nm, but 300 nm total is needed for resonance, then a thicker optical auxiliary layer will be needed to account for the difference in thickness needed for the device to have resonance. For instance, if the thickness is 5 nm, a thickness of 295 nm in another layer would be used to account for the difference, and this is 59 times (295 nm/5 nm) larger than the absorption layer. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Lastly, applicants state that “a thickness of the optical auxiliary layer 550 may be thicker than that of the photosensitive layer 330, for example, about twice to about 20 times, about 3 times to about 15 times, or about 5 times to about 10 times thicker than that of the photosensitive layer 330, but is not limited thereto.” (emphasis added). Thus, the requirement that the optical auxiliary layer be thicker than the photosensitive layer is not patentably significant. For these reasons, claim 12 is an obvious variant over the prior art.
Regarding claim 19, which depends from claim 18: The combination is silent as to the presence of an optical auxiliary layer between the single photosensitive layer and the hole auxiliary layer, wherein the optical auxiliary layer is thicker than the single photosensitive layer. As discussed in the rejections of claims 10 and 11, the discussion being incorporated by reference, one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify the combination to include an optical auxiliary layer between the single photosensitive layer and the hole auxiliary layer because the optical auxiliary layer could be used to optimize the receipt of light to the sensor. See Song specification ¶¶ 59-102; Kubota specification ¶¶ 158-205.
As discussed with respect to claim 12, the microcavity design thickness, in conjunction with the thickness of other layers in the light-emitting device or photosensor, will depend on the wavelength of the emitted or received light. See Song ’022 specification ¶ 6.
Park ’258, directed to an organic photodiode, discloses a thickness of the green light-absorption layer (30) as being between 1-500 nm, preferably between 5-300 nm. Park ’258 specification ¶¶ 77-78. If the thickness is closer to the lower end of the range, 5 nm, but 300 nm total is needed for resonance, then a thicker optical auxiliary layer will be needed to account for the difference in thickness needed for the device to have resonance. For instance, if the thickness is 5 nm, a thickness of 295 nm in another layer would be used to account for the difference, and this is 59 times (295 nm/5 nm) larger than the absorption layer. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Lastly, applicants state that “a thickness of the optical auxiliary layer 550 may be thicker than that of the photosensitive layer 330, for example, about twice to about 20 times, about 3 times to about 15 times, or about 5 times to about 10 times thicker than that of the photosensitive layer 330, but is not limited thereto.” (emphasis added). Thus, the requirement that the optical auxiliary layer be thicker than the photosensitive layer is not patentably significant. For these reasons, claim 19 is an obvious variant over the prior art.
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leem Figures 4-6, 15, and 16, and further in view of Park.
Regarding claim 18: Leem Figures 4-6, 15, and 16 disclose a photosensor (400), comprising: an anode (10); a hole auxiliary layer (30b) on the anode (10); a single photosensitive layer (30a) on the hole auxiliary layer (30b); an electron auxiliary layer (30c) on the single photosensitive layer (30a), the electron auxiliary layer (30c) being in contact with the single photosensitive layer (30a); and a cathode (20) on the electron auxiliary layer (30c), wherein the single photosensitive layer (30a) includes a single light absorbing semiconductor having a HOMO energy level having a difference of less than about 1.0 eV from a HOMO energy level of the hole auxiliary layer (30b) and a LUMO energy level having a difference of less than about 1.0 eV from a LUMO energy level of the electron auxiliary layer (30c), and wherein the single photosensitive layer (30a) does not include any counterpart semiconductor for any pn junction with the single light absorbing semiconductor. Leem specification ¶¶ 77-92. Leem does not disclose that the single light absorbing semiconductor is an organic light absorbing material, the organic light absorbing material is represented by Chemical Formula 1:
[Chemical Formula 1]
wherein, in Chemical Formula 1, X is O, S, Se, Te, SO, SO2, CRbRc, or SiRdRe, Ar is a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 arylene group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 heterocyclic group, or fused rings thereof, Ar1a and Ar2a are each independently a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 aryl(ene) group or a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 heteroaryl(ene) group, R1a to R3a and Rb to Re are each independently hydrogen, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C30 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C30 alkoxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 aryl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 heteroaryl group, a halogen, a cyano group, or any combination thereof, and Ar1a, Ar2a, R1a, and R2a are each independently present, or two adjacent ones of Ar1a, Ar2a, R1a, and R2a are linked to each other to form a ring.
Park, directed to similar subject matter, discloses a photoconversion layer (30) which may comprise at least one p-type semiconductor and/or at least one n-type semiconductor, each of which is an independently light absorbing material. Park specification ¶¶ 81, 82. In order for the single-layer material to function, the single-layer photosensitive layer must comprise an electron donating moiety and an electron accepting moiety. See Leem specification ¶¶ 11-13. Park’s p-type semiconductor meets this requirement. Park specification ¶ 83. Thus, Park discloses that one of these materials may be used in light absorption as a single layer. Park discloses that the light absorbing semiconductor is an organic light absorbing material, and wherein the organic light absorbing material is represented by Chemical Formula 1:
[Chemical Formula 1]
wherein, in Chemical Formula 1, X is O, S, Se, Te, SO, SO2, CRbRc, or SiRdRe, Ar is a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 arylene group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 heterocyclic group, or fused rings thereof, Ar1a and Ar2a are each independently a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 aryl group or a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 heteroaryl group, R1a to R3a and Rb to Re are each independently hydrogen, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C30 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C30 alkoxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 aryl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 heteroaryl group, a halogen, a cyano group, and Ar1a and Ar2a are each independently present, or two adjacent ones of Ar1a and Ar2a are linked to each other to form a ring. Id. ¶¶ 84-97. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Leem to include the Park material because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose. Once combined, the materials of the hole buffer layer and electron buffer layer would be adjusted, if needed, to meet the relative LUMO and HOMO requirements of Leem. For these reasons, claim 18 is obvious.
Regarding claim 20: Leem discloses an electronic device (1000) comprising the photosensor of claim 18. Id. ¶¶ 95-109.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art discloses a benefit having a difference between sublimation temperatures of co-deposited compounds as a small as possible. See, e.g., Yang, WIPO Pat. Pub. No. 2019/0128849. However, claim 9 is directed to two layers that are deposited separately. Thus, this reasoning is inapplicable. No other prior art was identified that is suitable for combining with Kusunoki, Leem, and Park to render obvious claim 9. For these reasons, claim 9 is allowable.
With regard to claim 9: The claim has been found allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose “a difference between respective sublimation temperatures of the organic light absorbing material and the organic light emitting material is greater than or equal to about 0 °C and less than about 100 °C”, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Victoria K. Hall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897