DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues on pages 10-13 that that Lee fails to disclose “the first seed layer and the second seed layer comprise materials having different reactivities to water”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant specification, paragraphs [0038] and [00421], discloses the following: “[0038] The first barrier layer 81 may include TiN or TaN. The first seed layer 82 may include at least one of Ti, Cu, Ni, W, or alloys thereof, for example, titanium nickel (TiNi), titanium tungsten (TiW)… [0041] The second barrier layer 91 may include titanium nitride TiN or tantalum nitride TaN. The second seed layer 92 may include at least one of Ti, Cu, Ni, W, or alloys thereof, for example, TiNi, TiW”. Lee (paragraphs 53, 58 and 62) discloses the following: “[0053] The front-side pad barrier layer 81 may include titanium nitride (TiN) or tantalum nitride (TaN). The front-side pad seed layer 82 may include at least one of titanium (Ti), copper (Cu), nickel (Ni), tungsten (W), or metal alloys thereof such as titanium-nickel (TiNi) or titanium-tungsten (TiW)… [0058] The front-side pad barrier layer 86 may include titanium nitride (TiN) or tantalum nitride (TaN). The front-side pad seed layer 87 may include at least one of titanium (Ti), copper (Cu), nickel (Ni), tungsten (W), or metal alloys thereof such as titanium-nickel (TiNi) or titanium-tungsten (TiW)… [0062] The back-side pad barrier layer 91 may be in contact with the bottom end 50BE of the TSV structure 50. The back-side pad barrier layer 91 may include titanium nitride (TiN) or tantalum nitride (TaN). The back-side pad seed layer 92 may include at least one of titanium (Ti), copper (Cu), nickel (Ni), tungsten (W), or metal alloys thereof such as titanium-nickel (TiNi) or titanium-tungsten (TiW)”. As can be seen, Lee discloses the same list of potential materials as the Applicant. Lee does not disclose that the front seed layer and back seed layer have to be the same materials. Therefore, one of ordinary skill has choices of which metals or alloys to use for the first and second (front and back) seed layers (e.g. first/front seed layer could be copper (Cu) [entirely inert to water and steam and will not react with either] and the second/back seed layer could nickel (Ni) [highly resistant to water and steam], or other various combinations). While the choice might not be because of the reactivity to water, a POSITA could choose to select metals for thermal conductivity, resistivity and/or other intrinsic characteristics. Either way, if a person of ordinary skill in the art chose have a first seed layer and second seed layer made of different materials, all of the various metals listed by the Applicant and taught by Lee have a different reactivity to water from each other. The Examiner takes the position rejection is proper.
Drawings
The drawings objection of February 10, 2026 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103(a)
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lee et al. (Lee) (US 2016/0155686 A1 now US 9,806,004 B2).
In regards to claim 1, Lee (Figs. 1A-2H and associated text and items) discloses a semiconductor package (Figs. 1A-1H) comprising: a substrate (item 11) including a first surface (top surface of item 11) and a second surface (bottom surface of item 11) opposite to the first surface (top surface of item 11); a connecting circuit (item 40) on the first surface (top surface of item 11) of the substrate (item 11); a through silicon via (TSV) structure (item 50) penetrating the substrate (item 11); a first passivation layer (items 61, 62, 63, 61 plus 62, or 61 plus 62 plus 63) on the connecting circuit (item 40); a second passivation layer (items 71, 72, 73, 74, 71 plus 74, 71 plus 73, 72 plus 73 plus 74 or 71 plus 72 plus 73 plus 74) on the second surface (bottom surface of item 11) of the substrate (item 11); a first bumping pad (items 80, 85) inside the first passivation layer (items 61, 62, 63, 61 plus 62, or 61 plus 62 plus 63); and a second bumping pad (item 90) inside the second passivation layer (items 71, 72, 73, 74, 71 plus 74, 71 plus 73, 72 plus 73 plus 74 or 71 plus 72 plus 73 plus 74), wherein the first bumping pad (items 80, 85) comprises, a first pad plug (items 83, 88), and a first seed layer (items 81, 82, 86, or 87) surrounding a lower surface and sidewalls of the first pad plug (items 83, 88), wherein the second bumping pad (item 90) comprises, a second pad plug (item 93), and a second seed layer (item 91 or 92) surrounding an upper surface and sidewalls of the second pad plug (item 90), and wherein the first seed layer (items 81, 82, 86, or 87) and the second seed layer (item 91 or 92) comprise materials having different reactivities to water (paragraphs 53, 58, 62, titanium (Ti), copper (Cu), nickel (Ni), tungsten (W), or metal alloys thereof such as titanium-nickel (TiNi) or titanium-tungsten (TiW)). Examiner notes, while Lee does not specifically/explicitly disclose that the first seed layer and the second seed layer comprise materials having different reactivities to water, Lee does disclose the same list of potential materials as the Applicant and would share the same characteristics.
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a first seed layer and a second seed layer that comprise materials having different reactivities to water, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In regards to claim 2, Lee (Figs. 1A-2H and associated text and items) discloses wherein reactivity to water of the second seed layer (item 91 or 92) is less than reactivity to water of the first seed layer (items 81, 82, 86, or 87).
In regards to claim 3, Lee (Figs. 1A-2H and associated text and items) discloses wherein an upper surface of the first bumping pad (items 80, 85) is coplanar with an upper surface of the first passivation layer (items 61, 62, 63, 61 plus 62, or 61 plus 62 plus 63), and a lower surface of the second bumping pad (item 90) is coplanar with a lower surface of the second passivation layer (items 71, 72, 73, 74, 71 plus 74, 71 plus 73, 72 plus 73 plus 74 or 71 plus 72 plus 73 plus 74).
In regards to claim 4, Lee (Figs. 1A-2H and associated text and items) discloses wherein the first passivation layer (items 61, 62, 63, 61 plus 62, or 61 plus 62 plus 63, paragraph 56) comprises a different material from the second passivation layer (items 71, 72, 73, 74, 71 plus 74, 71 plus 73, 72 plus 73 plus 74 or 71 plus 72 plus 73 plus 74, paragraphs 63, 64, 97, 98).
In regards to claim 5, Lee (Figs. 1A-2H and associated text and items) discloses wherein a density of the first passivation layer (items 61, 62, 63, 61 plus 62, or 61 plus 62 plus 63, paragraph 56) is greater than a density of the second passivation layer (items 71, 72, 73, 74, 71 plus 74, 71 plus 73, 72 plus 73 plus 74 or 71 plus 72 plus 73 plus 74, paragraphs 63, 64, 97, 98). Examiner notes that Lee discloses the same list of potential materials as the Applicant and would share the same characteristics.
In regards to claim 6, Lee (Figs. 1A-2H and associated text and items) discloses wherein the first bumping pad (items 80, 85) further comprises a first barrier layer (items 81, 86) surrounding a lower surface and outer walls of the first seed layer (items 82, 87), and the first barrier layer (items 81, 86) contacts the connecting circuit (item 40). Examiner notes that the Applicant has not given a special definition to the term “contact(s)”, therefore certain features can be in “direct” or “indirect” contact with one another.
In regards to claim 7, Lee (Figs. 1A-2H and associated text and items) discloses wherein the second bumping pad (item 90) further comprises a second barrier layer (item 91) surrounding an upper surface and outer walls of the second seed layer (item 92), and the second barrier layer (item 91) contacts the TSV structure (item 50).
In regards to claim 8, Lee (Figs. 1A-2H and associated text and items) discloses a semiconductor package (Figs. 1A-1H) comprising: a substrate item 11) including a first surface (top surface of item 11) and a second surface (bottom surface of item 11) opposite to the first surface (top surface of item 11); an interlayer insulating layer (items 21 or 21 plus 22) on the first surface (top surface of item 11) of the substrate (item 11); a through silicon via (TSV) structure (item 50) penetrating the substrate (item 11) and the interlayer insulating layer (item 21); a connecting circuit (item 40) on the interlayer insulating layer (item 21), the connecting circuit (item 40) including a TSV connecting via (items 42, 44) that is electrically connected to the TSV structure (item 50); a first passivation layer (items 61, 62, 63, 61 plus 62, or 61 plus 62 plus 63) on the connecting circuit (item 40); a second passivation layer (items 71, 72, 73, 74, 71 plus 74, 71 plus 73, 72 plus 73 plus 74 or 71 plus 72 plus 73 plus 74) on the second surface of the substrate (item 11); a first bumping pad (items 80, 85) inside the first passivation layer (items 61, 62, 63, 61 plus 62, or 61 plus 62 plus 63,); and a second bumping pad (item 90) inside the second passivation layer (items 71, 72, 73, 74, 71 plus 74, 71 plus 73, 72 plus 73 plus 74 or 71 plus 72 plus 73 plus 74), wherein the first bumping pad (items 80, 85) includes, a first pad plug (items 83, 88), a first seed layer (items 82, 87) surrounding a lower surface and sidewalls of the first pad plug (items 83, 88), and a first barrier layer (items 81, 86) surrounding a lower surface and outer walls of the first seed layer (items 82, 87), wherein the second bumping pad (item 90) includes, a second pad plug (item 93), a second seed layer (item 92) surrounding a lower surface and sidewalls of the second pad plug (item 93), and a second barrier layer (item 91) surrounding a lower surface and outer walls of the second seed layer (item 92), and wherein reactivity to water of the second seed layer (item 92) is less than reactivity to water of the first seed layer (items 82, 87). Examiner notes, while Lee does not specifically/explicitly disclose wherein reactivity to water of the second seed layer is less than reactivity to water of the first seed layer, Lee (paragraphs 53, 58, 62) does disclose the same list of potential materials (titanium (Ti), copper (Cu), nickel (Ni), tungsten (W), or metal alloys thereof such as titanium-nickel (TiNi) or titanium-tungsten (TiW)) as the Applicant and would share the same characteristics.
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a second seed layer with less reactivity to water than the first seed layer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In regards to claim 9, Lee (Figs. 1A-2H and associated text and items) discloses wherein the first seed layer (items 82, 87) comprises tantalum (Ta) (paragraph 53), and the second seed layer (item 92) comprises titanium (Ti) (paragraph 62).
In regards to claim 10, Lee (Figs. 1A-2H and associated text and items) discloses wherein resistance to a temperature of the first passivation layer (items 61, 62, 63, 61 plus 62, or 61 plus 62 plus 63, paragraph 56) is greater than resistance to a temperature of the second passivation layer (items 71, 72, 73, 74, 71 plus 74, 71 plus 73, 72 plus 73 plus 74 or 71 plus 72 plus 73 plus 74, paragraphs 63, 64, 97, 98). Examiner notes that Lee discloses the same potential materials for the first and second passivation layers as the Applicant and would therefore share the same characteristics.
In regards to claim 11, Lee (Figs. 1A-2H and associated text and items) discloses wherein the first pad plug (items 83, 88) and the second pad plug (item 93) comprise an identical material (paragraphs 53, 58, 62, copper (Cu) or nickel (Ni)).
In regards to claim 12, Lee (Figs. 1A-2H and associated text and items) discloses wherein each of a lower surface of the first bumping pad (items 80, 85) and an upper surface of the second bumping pad (item 90) has a flat shape. Examiner notes that the Applicant has not claimed that the entire upper surface of the second bumping pad has a flat shape.
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a lower surface of the first bumping pad (items 80, 85) and an upper surface/entire upper surface of the second bumping pad (item 90) having a flat shape, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)).
In regards to claim 13, Lee (Figs. 1A-2H and associated text and items) discloses wherein the first barrier layer (items 81, 86, paragraphs 88, 113, titanium nitride (TiN) or tantalum nitride (TaN), titanium nitride (TiN) and tantalum nitride (TaN)) and the second barrier layer (item 91, paragraph 101, , titanium nitride (TiN) or tantalum nitride (TaN)) comprise different materials from each other.
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a first barrier layer and a second barrier layer comprised of different materials, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In regards to claim 14, Lee (Figs. 1A-2H and associated text and items) discloses wherein the first seed layer (items 82, 87) and the first barrier layer (items 81, 86) comprise an identical material (paragraphs 53, 88, 113, titanium Ti), or the second seed layer (item 92) and the second barrier layer(item 91) comprise an identical material (paragraph 101, titanium Ti).
In regards to claim 15, Lee (Figs. 1A-2H and associated text and items) discloses a transistor (item 15) on the first surface of the substrate (item 11) and in the interlayer insulating layer ((items 21 or 21 plus 22); and an internal wiring (item 31) and an internal via (item 32) in the interlayer insulating layer (items 21 or 21 plus 22), the internal via (item 32) extending in a vertical direction, wherein the internal via (item 32) is electrically connected to the substrate (item 11) or the transistor (item 15).
In regards to claim 16, Lee (Figs. 1A-2H and associated text and items) discloses a semiconductor package (Figs. 1A-1H) comprising: a substrate item 11) including a first surface (top surface of item 11) and a second surface (bottom surface of item 11) opposite to the first surface (top surface of item 11); a transistor (item 15) on the first surface of the substrate (item 11); an interlayer insulating layer (items 21 or 21 plus 22) on the first surface (top surface of item 11) of the substrate (item 11), and covering the transistor (item 15); a through silicon via (TSV) structure (item 50) penetrating the substrate (item 11) and the interlayer insulating layer (item 21); a connecting circuit (item 40) on the interlayer insulating layer (item 21), the connecting circuit (item 40) including a TSV connecting via (items 42, 44) that is electrically connected to the TSV structure (item 50); a first passivation layer (items 61, 62, 63, 61 plus 62, or 61 plus 62 plus 63) on the connecting circuit (item 40); a second passivation layer (items 71, 72, 73, 74, 71 plus 74, 71 plus 73, 72 plus 73 plus 74 or 71 plus 72 plus 73 plus 74) on the second surface of the substrate (item 11); a first bumping pad (items 80, 85) inside the first passivation layer (items 61, 62, 63, 61 plus 62, or 61 plus 62 plus 63,); and a second bumping pad (item 90) inside the second passivation layer (items 71, 72, 73, 74, 71 plus 74, 71 plus 73, 72 plus 73 plus 74 or 71 plus 72 plus 73 plus 74), wherein the first bumping pad (items 80, 85) includes, a first pad plug (items 83, 88), a first seed layer (items 82, 87) surrounding a lower surface and sidewalls of the first pad plug (items 83, 88), and a first barrier layer (items 81, 86) surrounding a lower surface and outer walls of the first seed layer (items 82, 87), wherein the second bumping pad (item 90) includes, a second pad plug (item 93), a second seed layer (item 92) surrounding a lower surface and sidewalls of the second pad plug (item 93), and a second barrier layer (item 91) surrounding a lower surface and outer walls of the second seed layer (item 92), and wherein reactivity to water of the second seed layer (item 92) is less than reactivity to water of the first seed layer (items 82, 87). Examiner notes, while Lee does not specifically/explicitly disclose wherein reactivity to water of the second seed layer is less than reactivity to water of the first seed layer, Lee (paragraphs 53, 58, 62) does disclose the same list of potential materials (titanium (Ti), copper (Cu), nickel (Ni), tungsten (W), or metal alloys thereof such as titanium-nickel (TiNi) or titanium-tungsten (TiW)) as the Applicant and would share the same characteristics.
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a second seed layer with less reactivity to water than the first seed layer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In regards to claim 17, Lee (Figs. 1A-2H and associated text and items) discloses wherein the reactivity to water of the first barrier layer (items 81, 86) is greater than the reactivity to water of the second barrier layer (item 91). Examiner notes the Lee discloses the same list of potential materials for the first and second barrier layers as the Applicant and would therefore share the same characteristics, if one of ordinary skill in the art desired such a structure.
In regards to claim 18, Lee (Figs. 1A-2H and associated text and items) discloses wherein the first seed layer (items 82, 87) or the first barrier layer (items 81, 86) comprises tantalum (Ta) (paragraphs 53, 58), and the second seed layer (item 92) or the second barrier layer (item 91) comprises titanium (Ti) (paragraph 62).
In regards to claim 19, Lee does not specifically disclose wherein a range of a horizontal width of the first bumping pad or the second bumping pad is 2 micrometers to 10 micrometers, a range of a vertical thickness of the first bumping pad is 0.3 micrometers to 3 micrometers, and a range of a vertical thickness of the second bumping pad is 0.2 micrometers to 2 micrometers.
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a range of a horizontal width of the first bumping pad or the second bumping pad being 2 micrometers to 10 micrometers, a range of a vertical thickness of the first bumping pad being 0.3 micrometers to 3 micrometers, and a range of a vertical thickness of the second bumping pad being 0.2 micrometers to 2 micrometers, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size/shape of a component. A change in size/shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)). )). Examiner notes that the Applicant has not given any criticality to size/shape as to where they yield an advantage or unexpected result.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the invention to include a range of a horizontal width of the first bumping pad or the second bumping pad being 2 micrometers to 10 micrometers, a range of a vertical thickness of the first bumping pad being 0.3 micrometers to 3 micrometers, and a range of a vertical thickness of the second bumping pad being 0.2 micrometers to 2 micrometers, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)). Examiner notes that the Applicant has not given any criticality to these values or ranges as to where they yield an advantage or unexpected result.
In regards to claim 20, Lee (Figs. 1A-2H and associated text and items) discloses wherein the connecting circuit (item 40) comprises, a lower TSV pad (item 41) contacting the TSV structure (item 50) on the interlayer insulating layer (item 21), a lower TSV connecting via (item 42) on the lower TSV pad (item 41), a TSV connecting wiring (item 43) on the lower TSV connecting via (item 42), an upper TSV connecting via (item 44) on the TSV connecting wiring (item 43) and in contact with the TSV connecting wiring (item 43), and an upper TSV pad (item 45) on the upper TSV connecting via (item 44), and an upper surface of the upper TSV pad (item 45) contacts a lower surface of the first bumping pad (item 80).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jeon et al. (US 2022/0399260 A1, paragraph 36, Fig. 5) discloses the first and second seed layers can be made of different materials. Examiner suggests that the Applicant perfect foreign priority by submitting and English translation of the foreign documents, since Jeon et al. shares the same assignee.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TELLY D. GREEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/TELLY D GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 June 16, 2026