DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 9/23/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Ahn et al (US 2020/0075627).
1. (Currently amended) A memory device comprising:
a stack structure (Fig.2M (S1/S2) and [0037]) including a plurality of conductive layers (Fig.2M (400) and [0075]) and a plurality of insulating layers (Fig.2M (120) and [0032]), which are alternately stacked in a first direction (Fig.2M);
a plurality of first plugs (Fig.2M (350- first plug is in S1 stack) and [0063]) disposed in the stack structure (Fig.2M (S1/S2) and [0037]), the plurality of first plugs (Fig.2M (350) and [0063]) extending in the first direction; and
a first support structure (Fig.2M (450) and [0063]) disposed in the stack structure (Fig.2M (S1/S2) and [0037]), the first support structure (Fig.2M (450) and [0063]) being adjacent to at least one of the plurality of first plugs (Fig.2M (350) and [0063]), wherein the first support structure (Fig.2M (450) and [0063]) includes an insulating structure (Fig.2M (155) and [0070]) and a second plug (Fig.2M (255) and [0066]), which are stacked in the first direction, [[and]] wherein each of the plurality of first plugs (Fig.2M (350- first plug is within the S1 stack) and [0063]) and the second plug (Fig.2M (350/255- second plug is within the S2 stack) includes a channel layer (Fig.2M (352) and [0064]);
wherein the insulating structure (Fig.2M (155) and [0070]) has a top surface facing the second plug (Fig.2M (350/255- second plug is within the S2 stack),and wherein the channel layer of the second plug (Fig.2M (352) and [0064]) extends onto the top surface of the insulating structure (Fig.2M (155) and [0070]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2020/0258900) in further view of Ahn et al (US 2020/0075627).
In reference to claim 1, Lee teaches the following claimed limitations:
1. (Original) A memory device comprising:
a stack structure (Fig.1C (CST) and [0041]) including a plurality of conductive layers (Fig.1C (21A/21B) and [0041]) and a plurality of insulating layers (Fig.1C (22A/B) and [0041]), which are alternately stacked in a first direction ( y-direction- See Fig. 1C);
a plurality of first plugs (Fig.1C (P1 and PL1; see also Fig.1A (P1 of SP2)) and [0029/0032/0036/0050]) disposed in the stack structure (Fig.1C (CST) and [0041]), the plurality of first plugs extending in the first direction ( y-direction- See Fig. 1C); and
a first support structure (Fig.1C (CH) and [0045-0050]) disposed in the stack structure (Fig.1C (CST) and [0041]), the first support structure (Fig.1C (CH) and [0045-0050]) being adjacent to at least one of the plurality of first plugs (Fig.1C (P1 of SP2; see also Fig.1A (P1 of SP2) and [0029/0032/0036]), wherein the first support structure (Fig.1C (CH) and [0045-0050]) includes an insulating structure (Fig.1C (25A/B) and [0050] see also Fig.10D (25A/B) and [0099]) and a second plug (Fig.1C (PL2) and [0029]), which are stacked in the first direction (y-direction- See Fig. 1C), and wherein each of the plurality of first plugs (Fig.1C (PL1) and [0050]) and the second plug (Fig.1C (PL2) and [0029]) includes a channel layer (Fig.1C (23A/B) and [0050]).
Lee further teaches wherein the gap-fill layer (Fig.1C (14/24) and [0032]) has a top surface facing the second plug (Fig.1C (PL2) and [0029]), and wherein the channel layer (Fig.1C (23B) and [0050]) of the second plug extends onto the top surface of the gap fill layer (Fig.1C (14/24) and [0032]).
Lee fails to teach Applicant’s amended limitation: wherein the insulating structure has a top surface facing the second plug, and wherein the channel layer of the second plug extends onto the top surface of the insulating structure.
However, Ahn teaches a similar plug structure including wherein the insulating structure (Fig.2M (155) and [0070]) has a top surface facing the second plug (Fig.2M (350/255- second plug is within the S2 stack),and wherein the channel layer of the second plug (Fig.2M (352) and [0064]) extends onto the top surface of the insulating structure (Fig.2M (155) and [0070]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee’s gap fill material to include an insulating material as taught by Ahn because both structures are for support and are not utilized as a channel plug.
2. (Original) The memory device of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of contact plugs (Fig.1C (CP1/2) and [0021]) connected to the plurality of conductive layers (Fig.1C (21A/B) and [0041]), wherein the stack structure (Fig.1C (CST) and [0041]) includes a contact region having the plurality of contact plugs (Fig.1C (CP1/2) and [0021]) and a cell region (Fig.1C (C) and [0041]) having the plurality of first plugs (Fig.1C (PL1) and [0049]), and wherein the first support structure (Fig.1C (CH) and [0045-0050]) is disposed between the contact region (Fig.1C (CP1/2) and [0021]) of the stack structure (Fig.1C (CST) and [0041]).and the cell region (Fig.1C (C) and [0041]) of the stack structure (Fig.1C (CST) and [0041]).
3. (Original) The memory device of claim 1, further comprising a slit isolating the stack structure into a first memory cell array and a second memory cell array, wherein at least one of the plurality of first plugs is adjacent to the first support structure in a direction in which the slit extends (not shown- but described- [0078-0080]).
4. (Original) The memory device of claim 1, comprising a plurality of second support structures (Fig.1C (SP1/SP2) and [0021]) disposed in the stack structure (Fig.1C (CST) and [0041]) at both ends of the stack structure (Fig.1C (CST) and [0041]) with the plurality of first plugs (Fig.1C (P1 and PL1; see also Fig.1A (P1 of SP2)) and [0029/0032/0036/0050])interposed therebetween, wherein the first support structure (Fig.1C (CH) and [0045-0050]) is disposed between the plurality of second support structures (Fig.1C (SP1/SP2) and [0021]) and the plurality of first plugs (Fig.1C (P1 and PL1; see also Fig.1A (P1 of SP2)) and [0029/0032/0036/0050]).
5. (Original) The memory device of claim 4, wherein the plurality of second support structures (Fig.1C (SP1/SP2) and [0021]) include an insulating material (Fig.1C (SP1/SP2- insulating material 19) and [0035] extending longer in the first direction (y-direction) than the insulating structure of the first support structure (Fig.1C (CH/ 19) and [0035].
6. (Original) The memory device of claim 1, wherein a length of the second plug (Fig.1C (PL2/P2) and [0029]) is shorter than a length of the plurality of first plugs (Fig.1C (SP1) and [0029/0032/0036]) in the first direction (y-direction).
7. (Original) The memory device of claim 1, wherein a length of the insulating structure (Fig.1C (25A/B) and [0050]see also Fig.10D (25A/B) and [0099]) is shorter than a length of the plurality of first plugs (Fig.1C (SP1) and [0029/0032/0036]) in the first direction (y-direction).
8. (Original) The memory device of claim 1, wherein the bottom of the insulating structure (Fig.1C (25A/B) and [0050]see also Fig.10D (25A/B) and [0099])and the bottom of the plurality of first plugs (Fig.1C (SP1) and [0029/0032/0036]) are substantially on the same plane (Fig.1C).
9. (Original) The memory device of claim 1, further comprising a source layer (Fig.2B (30 and [0058]) disposed on the bottom of the stack structure (Fig.2B( ST1) and [0058]), wherein the channel layers of the plurality of first plugs (Fig.1C (P1 and PL1; see also Fig.1A (P1 of SP2)) and [0029/0032/0036/0050]) are connected to the source layer (Fig.2B (30 and [0058]), and wherein the channel layer (Fig.1C (23A/B) and [0050]) of the second plug (Fig.1C (PL2) and [0029]) is spaced apart from the source layer (Fig.2B (30 and [0058]) by the insulating structure (Fig.1C (25A/B) and [0050] see also Fig.10D (25A/B) and [0099]).
10. (Original) The memory device of claim 9, wherein the insulating structure (Fig.1C (25A/B) and [0050] see also Fig.10D (25A/B) and [0099]) is connected to the source layer (Fig.2B (30 and [0058]).
11. (Original) The memory device of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of first plugs and the second plug further includes a tunnel insulating layer, a data storage layer, and a blocking layer, which surround the channel layer [0050].
12. (Original) The memory device of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of first plugs has a stepped corner portion on a sidewall thereof (Fig.1A (P) and [0031]).
13. (Original) The memory device of claim 12, wherein the corner portion (Fig.1A (P) and [0031]) of each of the plurality of first plugs and an upper surface of the insulating structure (Fig.1C (25A/B) and [0050] see also Fig.10D (25A/B) and [0099]) are substantially on the same plane (Fig.1C).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Lee et al (US 20230320086); Choi et al (US 20240324203) and Kang et al (US 20210091109) teach similar structures.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA M MENZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813
06/12/26