DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9, 12, 13, 18-20 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-4, 8-15 of copending Application No. 19/200,201 (Mikami) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0079173 (Feng) and CN Publication No. 106971949 (Yin).
Mikami discloses (claims 1, 4, 8)
1. A semiconductor device comprising:
a substrate;
a device region provided in the substrate;
a terminal covering the device region in a plan view; and
a plurality of pseudo-bumps densely arranged on the terminal in a state of being opened from a wire.
Mikami fails to disclose
a semiconductor device having pseudo-bumps not connected to a wire and genuine bumps connected to a wire; and
at least one genuine bump arranged on the terminal in a state of being connected to the wire, the at least one genuine bump arranged more sparsely than the plurality of pseudo-bumps.
Feng teaches (Fig. 2)
A semiconductor device comprising:
pseudo bumps 202 / 208 not connected to a wire and genuine bumps 220 connected to a wire 218.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a semiconductor device having pseudo-bumps not connected to a wire and genuine bumps connected to a wire in Mikami . The motivation would be to eliminate wire shorting from a wire loop with pad-to-pad bonding on die connection sites as taught by Feng ([0030]-[0033]).
Yin teaches
A semiconductor device comprising:
A semiconductor device comprising:
a plurality of pseudo-bumps 807 / 702 densely arranged on the terminal 806 in a state of being opened from a wire; and
the at least one genuine bump 805 / 701A arranged on the terminal 804 more sparsely than the plurality of pseudo-bumps 807 / 702.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of pseudo-bumps not connected to a wire in Mikami. The motivation would be to improve the density of the genuine bumps from exerted stress to prevent passivation layer damage in the device as taught by Yin.
Yin teaches (Figs. 7A, 7B)
2. The semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein the plurality of pseudo-bumps 702 are arranged on the terminal with a first occupation area per unit plane area, and wherein the at least one genuine bump 701a is arranged on the terminal with a second occupation area less than the first occupation area per unit area.
Yin teaches (Figs. 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B)
3. The semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein the at least one genuine bump 805 / 701A includes a plurality of genuine bumps, and wherein the plurality of genuine bumps are sparsely arranged on the terminal.
Yin teaches (Figs. 7A, 7B)
4. The semiconductor device of Claim 3, wherein the plurality of pseudo-bumps 702 are arranged on the terminal at a first pitch, and wherein the plurality of genuine bumps 701A are arranged on the terminal at a second pitch lager than the first pitch.
Regarding claims 5-9, shifting the position of the bumps would modify the operation of the device. See MPEP 2144.04.
Yin teaches (Figs. 7A, 7B)
5. The semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein at least three pseudo-bumps of the plurality of pseudo-bumps 702 are densely arranged on the terminal.
Yin teaches (Fig. 7B)
6. The semiconductor device of Claim 5, wherein the at least three pseudo-bumps 702 are arranged in a layout in which the at least three pseudo-bumps are located at vertices of an isosceles triangle in the plan view.
Yin teaches (Figs. 7A, 7B)
7. The semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein at least seven pseudo-bumps of the plurality of pseudo-bumps 702 are densely arranged on the terminal.
Yin teaches (Figs. 7A, 7B)
8. The semiconductor device of Claim 7, wherein six pseudo-bumps of the at least seven pseudo-bumps 702 are arranged around one pseudo-bump of the at least seven pseudo-bumps.
Yin teaches (Fig. 7B)
9. The semiconductor device of Claim 8, wherein the six pseudo-bumps 702 are arranged in a layout in which the six pseudo-bumps are located at vertices of a hexagon in the plan view, and wherein the one pseudo-bump is arranged in a layout in which the one pseudo-bump is located at a center of the hexagon in the plan view.
Feng teaches (Fig. 2)
12. The semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of pseudo-bumps includes:
a wide body portion connected to the terminal 210 / 212; and
a neck portion which is narrower than the body portion and protrudes from the body portion toward an opposite side of the terminal 210 / 212.
Regarding claim 13, removing a portion of the bump would have been obvious if this feature was not desired. See MPEP 2144.04.
13. The semiconductor device of Claim 12, wherein each of the plurality of pseudo-bumps includes at least one gouged portion recessed toward a central portion of the neck portion in the neck portion.
Mikami discloses (claims 1, 4, 8)
18. A semiconductor device comprising:
a substrate;
a device region provided in the substrate;
a terminal covering the device region in a plan view;
a pseudo-bump arranged on the terminal in a state of being opened from a wire.
Mikami fails to disclose
a semiconductor device having pseudo-bumps not connected to a wire and genuine bumps connected to a wire; and
a genuine bump that is arranged on the terminal in a state of being connected to the wire and has a size smaller than a size of the pseudo-bump.
Feng teaches (Fig. 2)
A semiconductor device comprising:
pseudo bumps 202 / 208 not connected to a wire and genuine bumps 220 connected to a wire 218; and
the genuine bumps 220 have a size smaller than a size of the stacked pseudo bumps 202 / 208.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a semiconductor device having pseudo-bumps not connected to a wire and genuine bumps connected to a wire in Mikami. The motivation would be to eliminate wire shorting from a wire loop with pad-to-pad bonding on die connection sites as taught by Feng ([0030]-[0033]). Further, it would have been obvious the merely scale up the size of the pseudo-bumps based on routine engineering design considerations. See MPEP 2144.04.
Yin teaches
A semiconductor device comprising:
a plurality of pseudo-bumps 807 / 702 densely arranged on the terminal 806 in a state of being opened from a wire; and
the at least one genuine bump 805 / 701A arranged on the terminal 804 more sparsely than the plurality of pseudo-bumps 807 / 702.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of pseudo-bumps not connected to a wire in Mikami. The motivation would be to improve the density of the genuine bumps from exerted stress to prevent passivation layer damage in the device as taught by Yin.
Feng teaches (Fig. 2)
19. The semiconductor device of Claim 18, further comprising
at least one small pseudo-bump that is arranged around the pseudo-bump on the terminal in a state of being opened from the wire and has a size smaller than the size of the pseudo-bump.
Feng teaches (Fig. 2)
20. The semiconductor device of Claim 19, wherein the at least one small pseudo-bump includes a plurality of small pseudo-bumps, and wherein the plurality of small pseudo-bumps are arranged around the pseudo-bump.
Claims 10, 11, 15, 16 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-4, 8-15 of Mikami in view of Feng and Yin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0010383 (Igarashi).
The combination of references fails to teach
10. The semiconductor device of Claim 1, further comprising:
a thin film portion formed at a bonding portion of each of the plurality of pseudo-bumps in the terminal; and
a thick film portion formed in a region outside the bonding portion of each of the plurality of pseudo-bumps in the terminal.
Igarashi teaches (Fig. 02, [0041])
A semiconductor device comprising:
a thin film portion (under CB) formed at a bonding portion of each of the plurality of bumps CB in the terminal PD; and
a thick film portion (side of CB) formed in a region outside the bonding portion of each of the plurality of bumps CB in the terminal PD.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide both a thick film and thin film portion in the terminal in the modified device of Murikami. The motivation would be to improve reliability of the connection when performing a push-pull test for connection strength evaluation as taught by Irabashi ([0033], [0034], [0045], [0050], [0052], [0055]).
Igarashi teaches (Fig. 02, [0041])
11. The semiconductor device of Claim 10, further comprising a raised portion in which a portion of the terminal PD is thicker than the thick film portion at a bonding edge of each of the plurality of pseudo-bumps in the terminal.
Igarashi teaches (Fig. 02)
15. The semiconductor device of Claim 1, further comprising
a plurality of trench structures DT1 formed in the device region in the substrate SB, wherein each of the plurality of pseudo-bumps overlaps the plurality of trench structures DT1 in the plan view.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a trench structure in the modified device of Mikami. The motivation would be to prevent silicon peeling, oxide film peeling, or the occurrence of cracking more reliably as taught by Irabashi ([0046]).
Igarashi teaches (Fig. 02)
16. The semiconductor device of Claim 15, wherein each of the plurality of pseudo-bumps has a thickness larger than a depth of each of the plurality of trench structures DT1.
Claims 14 is/are is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-4, 8-15 of Mikami in view of Feng and Yin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0180757 (Uno).
The combination of references fails to teach
14. The semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of pseudo-bumps includes:
a bump body containing first metal; and
a metal film containing second metal different from the first metal and covering at least a portion of an outer surface of the bump body.
Uno teaches
A semiconductor device comprising:
a plurality of bumps 3 includes:
a bump body (lower portion) containing first metal (Cu, [0055]); and
a metal film 10 containing second metal (Pd, Au, Ag, or Pt, [0056]) different from the first metal (Cu, [0055]) and covering at least a portion of an outer surface of the bump body (lower portion).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a metal film in the modified device of Mikami. The motivation would be to provide a super-low loop bondability and a ball bondability to be improved as taught by Uno ([0055]).
Claims 17 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-4, 8-15 of Mikami in view of Feng and Yin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0005827 (Nakano).
The combination of references fails to teach
17. The semiconductor device of Claim 1, further comprising
a control region provided in the substrate, wherein the terminal covers the device region to expose the control region in the plan view.
Nakano teaches
A semiconductor device comprising:
a control region 3 provided in the substrate (not shown, [0079]), wherein the terminal 4 covers the device region 2 to expose the control region 3 in the plan view.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a control region in the modified device of Mikami. The motivation would be they are well-known in the semiconductor device art as taught by Nakano ([0086], [0112]). See MPEP 2144.03.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 12, 13, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0304879 (Saito) in view of CN Publication No. 106971949 (Yin).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Saito discloses (Fig. 6)
1. A semiconductor device comprising:
a substrate 10;
a device region 10a provided in the substrate 10;
a terminal 103 covering the device region 10a in a plan view; and
at least one genuine bump (unlabeled bottom portion of wire 42) arranged on the terminal 103 in a state of being connected to the wire 42.
Saito fails to disclose
a semiconductor device having pseudo-bumps not connected to a wire and genuine bumps connected to a wire;
a plurality of pseudo-bumps densely arranged on the terminal in a state of being opened from a wire; and
the at least one genuine bump arranged more sparsely than the plurality of pseudo-bumps.
Feng teaches (Fig. 2)
A semiconductor device comprising:
pseudo bumps 202 / 208 not connected to a wire and genuine bumps 220 connected to a wire 218.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a semiconductor device having pseudo-bumps not connected to a wire and genuine bumps connected to a wire in Saito. The motivation would be to eliminate wire shorting from a wire loop with pad-to-pad bonding on die connection sites as taught by Feng ([0030]-[0033]).
Yin teaches (Figs. 7A, 7B, 8A)
A semiconductor device comprising:
a plurality of pseudo-bumps 807 / 702 densely arranged on the terminal 806 in a state of being opened from a wire; and
the at least one genuine bump 805 / 701A arranged on the terminal 804 more sparsely than the plurality of pseudo-bumps 807 / 702.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of pseudo-bumps not connected to a wire in Saito. The motivation would be to improve the density of the genuine bumps from exerted stress to prevent passivation layer damage in the device as taught by Yin.
Yin teaches (Figs. 7A, 7B)
2. The semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein the plurality of pseudo-bumps 702 are arranged on the terminal with a first occupation area per unit plane area, and wherein the at least one genuine bump 701a is arranged on the terminal with a second occupation area less than the first occupation area per unit area.
Yin teaches (Figs. 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B)
3. The semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein the at least one genuine bump 805 / 701A includes a plurality of genuine bumps, and wherein the plurality of genuine bumps are sparsely arranged on the terminal.
Yin teaches (Figs. 7A, 7B)
4. The semiconductor device of Claim 3, wherein the plurality of pseudo-bumps 702 are arranged on the terminal at a first pitch, and wherein the plurality of genuine bumps 701A are arranged on the terminal at a second pitch lager than the first pitch.
Regarding claims 5-9, shifting the position of the bumps would modify the operation of the device. See MPEP 2144.04.
Yin teaches (Figs. 7A, 7B)
5. The semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein at least three pseudo-bumps of the plurality of pseudo-bumps 702 are densely arranged on the terminal.
Yin teaches (Fig. 7B)
6. The semiconductor device of Claim 5, wherein the at least three pseudo-bumps 702 are arranged in a layout in which the at least three pseudo-bumps are located at vertices of an isosceles triangle in the plan view.
Yin teaches (Figs. 7A, 7B)
7. The semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein at least seven pseudo-bumps of the plurality of pseudo-bumps 702 are densely arranged on the terminal.
Yin teaches (Figs. 7A, 7B)
8. The semiconductor device of Claim 7, wherein six pseudo-bumps of the at least seven pseudo-bumps 702 are arranged around one pseudo-bump of the at least seven pseudo-bumps.
Yin teaches (Fig. 7B)
9. The semiconductor device of Claim 8, wherein the six pseudo-bumps 702 are arranged in a layout in which the six pseudo-bumps are located at vertices of a hexagon in the plan view, and wherein the one pseudo-bump is arranged in a layout in which the one pseudo-bump is located at a center of the hexagon in the plan view.
Feng teaches (Fig. 2)
12. The semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of pseudo-bumps includes:
a wide body portion connected to the terminal 210 / 212; and
a neck portion which is narrower than the body portion and protrudes from the body portion toward an opposite side of the terminal 210 / 212.
Regarding claim 13, removing a portion of the bump would have been obvious if this feature was not desired. See MPEP 2144.04.
13. The semiconductor device of Claim 12, wherein each of the plurality of pseudo-bumps includes at least one gouged portion recessed toward a central portion of the neck portion in the neck portion.
Saito discloses (Fig. 6)
18. A semiconductor device comprising:
a substrate 10;
a device region 10a provided in the substrate 10;
a terminal 103 covering the device region 10a in a plan view; and
a genuine bump (unlabeled bottom portion of wire 42) that is arranged on the terminal 103 in a state of being connected to the wire 42.
Saito fails to disclose
a semiconductor device having pseudo-bumps not connected to a wire and genuine bumps connected to a wire;
a pseudo-bump arranged on the terminal in a state of being opened from a wire; and
a genuine bump that is arranged on the terminal in a state of being connected to the wire and has a size smaller than a size of the pseudo-bump.
Feng teaches (Fig. 2)
A semiconductor device comprising:
pseudo bumps 202 / 208 not connected to a wire and genuine bumps 220 connected to a wire 218; and
the genuine bumps 220 have a size smaller than a size of the stacked pseudo bumps 202 / 208.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a semiconductor device having pseudo-bumps not connected to a wire and genuine bumps connected to a wire in Saito. The motivation would be to eliminate wire shorting from a wire loop with pad-to-pad bonding on die connection sites as taught by Feng ([0030]-[0033]). Further, it would have been obvious the merely scale up the size of the pseudo-bumps based on routine engineering design considerations. See MPEP 2144.04.
Yin teaches
A semiconductor device comprising:
a pseudo-bump 807 / 702 arranged on the terminal 806 in a state of being opened from a wire.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a pseudo-bump not connected to a wire in Saito. The motivation would be to improve the density of the genuine bumps from exerted stress to prevent passivation layer damage in the device as taught by Yin.
Feng teaches (Fig. 2)
19. The semiconductor device of Claim 18, further comprising
at least one small pseudo-bump that is arranged around the pseudo-bump on the terminal in a state of being opened from the wire and has a size smaller than the size of the pseudo-bump.
Feng teaches (Fig. 2)
20. The semiconductor device of Claim 19, wherein the at least one small pseudo-bump includes a plurality of small pseudo-bumps, and wherein the plurality of small pseudo-bumps are arranged around the pseudo-bump.
Claims 10, 11, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Saito in view of Feng and Yin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0010383 (Igarashi).
The combination of references fails to teach
10. The semiconductor device of Claim 1, further comprising:
a thin film portion formed at a bonding portion of each of the plurality of pseudo-bumps in the terminal; and
a thick film portion formed in a region outside the bonding portion of each of the plurality of pseudo-bumps in the terminal.
Igarashi teaches (Fig. 02, [0041])
A semiconductor device comprising:
a thin film portion (under CB) formed at a bonding portion of each of the plurality of bumps CB in the terminal PD; and
a thick film portion (side of CB) formed in a region outside the bonding portion of each of the plurality of bumps CB in the terminal PD.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide both a thick film and thin film portion in the terminal in the modified device of SAito. The motivation would be to improve reliability of the connection when performing a push-pull test for connection strength evaluation as taught by Irabashi ([0033], [0034], [0045], [0050], [0052], [0055]).
Igarashi teaches (Fig. 02, [0041])
11. The semiconductor device of Claim 10, further comprising a raised portion in which a portion of the terminal PD is thicker than the thick film portion at a bonding edge of each of the plurality of pseudo-bumps in the terminal.
Igarashi teaches (Fig. 02)
15. The semiconductor device of Claim 1, further comprising
a plurality of trench structures DT1 formed in the device region in the substrate SB, wherein each of the plurality of pseudo-bumps overlaps the plurality of trench structures DT1 in the plan view.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a trench structure in the modified device of SAito. The motivation would be to prevent silicon peeling, oxide film peeling, or the occurrence of cracking more reliably as taught by Irabashi ([0046]).
Igarashi teaches (Fig. 02)
16. The semiconductor device of Claim 15, wherein each of the plurality of pseudo-bumps has a thickness larger than a depth of each of the plurality of trench structures DT1.
Claims 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Saito in view of Feng and Yin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0180757 (Uno).
The combination of references fails to teach
14. The semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of pseudo-bumps includes:
a bump body containing first metal; and
a metal film containing second metal different from the first metal and covering at least a portion of an outer surface of the bump body.
Uno teaches
A semiconductor device comprising:
a plurality of bumps 3 includes:
a bump body (lower portion) containing first metal (Cu, [0055]); and
a metal film 10 containing second metal (Pd, Au, Ag, or Pt, [0056]) different from the first metal (Cu, [0055]) and covering at least a portion of an outer surface of the bump body (lower portion).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a metal film in the modified device of Saito. The motivation would be to provide a super-low loop bondability and a ball bondability to be improved as taught by Uno ([0055]).
Claims 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Saito in view of Feng and Yin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0005827 (Nakano).
The combination of references fails to teach
17. The semiconductor device of Claim 1, further comprising
a control region provided in the substrate, wherein the terminal covers the device region to expose the control region in the plan view.
Nakano teaches
A semiconductor device comprising:
a control region 3 provided in the substrate (not shown, [0079]), wherein the terminal 4 covers the device region 2 to expose the control region 3 in the plan view.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a control region in the modified device of Saito. The motivation would be they are well-known in the semiconductor device art as taught by Nakano ([0086], [0112]). See MPEP 2144.03.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0228543 (Walter), 2010/0123244 (Takeda), 2021/0280552 (Tsai), U.S. Patent No. 6,762,495 (Reyes) teach a semiconductor device having pseudo-bumps.
/TERESA M. ARROYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893