DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1.20.2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 9-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okumura et al. (of record, US 20190006532 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Okumura discloses an avalanche photodiode (APD) (Fig. 4), comprising:
a dielectric layer (302);
a silicon layer (303, p-type) disposed on the dielectric layer;
a germanium absorption region (304, intrinsic) disposed on the silicon layer;
a silicon cap layer (305, n-type) disposed on the germanium absorption region, wherein the silicon cap layer comprises a multiplication region (305 itself which comprises Si. The term “multiplication region” does not add an additional structural limitation and recites a property of Si; since the prior art discloses Si, said property is considered implicitly met per MPEP 2112 and/or 2114), wherein the germanium absorption region (304) is disposed between the silicon layer (303) and the silicon cap layer (305) in a stacked arrangement (Fig. 4); and
a cathode electrode (307) coupled to the silicon cap layer (305, n-type).
Regarding claim 2, Okumura discloses the APD of claim 1, further comprising: a N-doped region (abutting 307) of the silicon cap layer (305, n-type), wherein the cathode electrode (307( is connected to the N-doped region (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Okumura discloses the APD of claim 1, wherein the silicon layer (303, p-type) is P-doped, further comprising: an anode electrode (308) connected to the silicon layer (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Okumura discloses an avalanche photodiode (APD) (Fig. 4), comprising:
a buried oxide (BOX) layer (302);
a silicon layer (303, p-type) disposed on the BOX layer;
a germanium layer (304, intrinsic) disposed on the silicon layer;
a silicon cap layer (305, n-type) disposed on the germanium layer, wherein the silicon cap layer comprises a multiplication region (305 itself which comprises Si. The term “multiplication region” does not add an additional structural limitation and recites a property of Si; since the prior art discloses Si, said property is considered implicitly met per MPEP 2112 and/or 2114), wherein a germanium absorption region (304 itself) is disposed between the silicon layer (303) and the silicon cap layer (305) in a stacked arrangement; and
a cathode electrode (307) coupled to the silicon cap layer (305, n-type).
Regarding claim 10, Okumura discloses the APD of claim 9, further comprising: a N-doped region (abutting 307) of the silicon cap layer (305, n-type), wherein the cathode electrode (307( is connected to the N-doped region (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, Okumura discloses the APD of claim 9, wherein the silicon layer (303, p-type) is P-doped, further comprising: an anode electrode (308) connected to the silicon layer (Fig. 4).
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okumura et al. (of record, US 20190006532 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Okumura fails to disclose the APD of claim 1/9, wherein a width of the silicon cap layer (305) is at least 500 nm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to arrive at values within the claimed ranges in Okumura so as to optimize device characteristics of the APD such as, for example, optimizing a width of the light absorbing layer for increased sensitivity or increased absorbing volume since the silicon cap layer covers an entirety of the light absorbing region (Fig. 4)
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee (US 20220271182 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses an avalanche photodiode (APD) (Fig. 2), comprising:
a dielectric layer (110, [0045]);
a silicon layer (100, [0044]) disposed on the dielectric layer;
a germanium absorption region (220, [0050]) disposed on the silicon layer;
a silicon cap layer (230, [0052]) disposed on the germanium absorption region, wherein the silicon cap layer comprises a multiplication region ([0052]), wherein the germanium absorption region (220) is disposed between the silicon layer (100) and the silicon cap layer (230) in a stacked arrangement; and
a cathode electrode (320, [0043] and [0049]) coupled to the silicon cap layer.
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses an avalanche photodiode (APD), comprising:
a buried oxide (BOX) layer (110,[0045]);
a silicon layer (100, [0044]) disposed on the BOX layer;
a germanium layer (220, [0050]) disposed on the silicon layer;
a silicon cap layer (230, [0052]) disposed on the germanium layer, wherein the silicon cap layer comprises a multiplication region ([0052]), wherein a germanium absorption region (220) is disposed between the silicon layer (100) and the silicon cap layer (230) in a stacked arrangement; and
a cathode electrode (320, [0043] and [0049]) coupled to the silicon cap layer.
Claims 7-8 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20220271182 A1)
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Lee fails to disclose (claim 7) the APD of claim 1, wherein a width of the silicon cap layer (230) is at least 500 nm and (claim 8) the APD of claim 7, wherein a thickness of the silicon cap layer (230) is at least 100 nm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to arrive at values within the claimed ranges in Lee so as to optimize device characteristics of the APD such as, for example, enhancing the internal multiplication function and/or adjusting device breakdown voltage by varying the width and thickness of the silicon cap layer.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Lee fails to disclose (claim 14) the APD of claim 9, wherein a width of the silicon cap layer (230) is at least 500 nm and (claim 15) the APD of claim 14, wherein a thickness of the silicon cap layer (230) is at least 100 nm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to arrive at values within the claimed ranges in Lee so as to optimize device characteristics of the APD such as, for example, enhancing the internal multiplication function and/or adjusting device breakdown voltage by varying the width and thickness of the silicon cap layer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-6, 11 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest (claim 3) The APD of claim 2, wherein a remaining portion of the silicon cap layer is intrinsic silicon or is lighter doped than the N-doped region of the silicon cap layer, (claim 5) The APD of claim 1, wherein a portion of the germanium absorption region contacting the silicon cap layer forms a charge layer, wherein the charge layer is P-doped; claim 6 depends from claim 5, (claim 11) The APD of claim 10, wherein a remaining portion of the silicon cap layer is intrinsic silicon or is lighter doped than the N-doped region of the silicon cap layer and (claim 13) The APD of claim 9, wherein a portion of the germanium layer contacting the silicon cap layer forms a charge layer, wherein the charge layer is P-doped, wherein a remaining portion of the germanium layer is undoped germanium or is lighter doped than the charge layer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Andres Munoz/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818