DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I, claims 1-13, in the reply filed on 10/29/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/29/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “the second electrode comprises a side surface comprising a width at a middle section of the second electrode greater than a width at a lower surface of the second electrode, and the width at the middle section of the second electrode greater than a width at an upper surface of the second electrode” of claim 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the text a encapsulation layer” is suggested to be changed to “an encapsulation layer” for clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the bottom electrode" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 12 depends on claim 11. Claim 11 recites a second electrode as a trapezoid. However, claim 12 recites the second electrode having a shape with a middle section having a width greater than widths of upper surface and lower surface, that is, claim 12 is directed to a hexagon. Claim 12 fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 11. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yun (US 2019/0140163).
Regarding claim 1, Yun discloses, in FIGS. 2-3 and in related text, a semiconductor device comprising:
a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) stack (including at least MTJP), wherein
a cross section of a bottom electrode (BE) of the MTJ stack comprises a trapezoid profile (see Yun, [0022], [0039], [0051]: the width of the structure is tapered aways from substrate below, thus the structure has a trapezoidal cross-section profile).
Regarding claim 2, Yun discloses the device of claim 1.
Yun discloses the MTJ stack comprises vertically aligned layers of a top electrode (TE), a free layer (MS2), a tunneling barrier (TBP), a reference layer (MS1) and the bottom electrode (BE) (see Yun, FIG. 3, [0019], [0022]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 3, Yun discloses the device of claim 1.
Yun discloses the bottom electrode (BE) comprises a tapered side surface comprising a width at an upper surface of the bottom electrode less than a width at a lower surface of the bottom electrode (see Yun, FIG. 3, [0039] and discussion on claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 4, Yun discloses the device of claim 1.
Yun discloses a cross section of a top electrode (TE) of the stack comprises a trapezoid profile (see Yun, FIG. 3, [0039] and discussion on claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 5, Yun discloses the device of claim 4.
Yun discloses the top electrode (TE) comprises a tapered side surface comprising a width at an upper surface of the top electrode less than a width at a lower surface of the top electrode (see Yun, FIG. 3, [0039] and discussion on claim 1 above).
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang (US 2017/0294576).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses, in FIGS. 10B and 13, and in related text, a semiconductor device comprising:
a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) stack (including at least 810), wherein
a cross section of a bottom electrode (610U’) of the MTJ stack comprises a trapezoid profile (see Huang, [0027], [0031], [0034]).
Regarding claim 6, Huang discloses the device of claim 1.
Huang discloses a encapsulation layer (950) surrounding vertical side surfaces of a free layer, a tunneling barrier and a reference layer (of MTJ 810) (see Huang, FIG. 13, [0034], [0040]).
Claims 7-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yun (US 2019/0140163).
Regarding claim 7, Yun discloses, in FIGS. 1-3 and in related text, a semiconductor device comprising:
a lower word line (WL); and
a first electrode (BE) above and (electrically) connected to the lower word line, wherein
a cross section of an electrode (BE or TE) comprises a trapezoid profile (see Yun, [0017], [0022], [0039], [0051]: the width of the structure is tapered aways from substrate below, thus the structure has a trapezoidal cross-section profile).
Regarding claim 8, Yun discloses the device of claim 7.
Yun discloses a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) stack (including at least MTJP) above and connected to the first electrode (BE) (see Yun FIG. 3, [0022]-[0023], [0051]).
Regarding claim 9, Yun discloses the device of claim 8.
Yun discloses the MTJ stack comprises vertically aligned layers of a top electrode (TE), a free layer (MS2), a tunneling barrier (TBP), a reference layer (MS1) and the first electrode (BE) (see Yun, FIG. 3, [0019], [0022]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 11, Yun discloses the device of claim 8.
Yun discloses cross section of a second electrode (TE) of the stack comprises a trapezoid profile, wherein the second electrode is above and connected to the MTJ stack (MTJP) (see Yun, [0022]-[0023], [0039] and discussion on claim 7 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2010/0302838) in view of Huang (US 2017/0294576).
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses, in FIG. 3 and in related text, a semiconductor device comprising:
a lower word line (330); and
a first electrode (bottom electrode 150) above and connected (through transistor 310) to the lower word line (see Wang, [0020]).
Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein a cross section of an electrode comprises a trapezoid profile.
Huang teaches wherein a cross section of an electrode (bottom electrode 610U’) comprises a trapezoid profile (see Huang, FIGS. 10B and 13, [0027], [0031], [0034]).
Wang and Huang are analogous art because they both are directed to magnetic memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Wang with the features of Huang because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang to include wherein a cross section of an electrode comprises a trapezoid profile, as taught by Huang, in order to form bottom electrode and interconnection via feature simultaneously with inherited good physical contact (see Huang, [0029]).
Regarding claim 8, Wang in view of Huang teaches the device of claim 7.
Wang discloses a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) stack above and connected to the first electrode (bottom electrode 150) (see Wang, FIG. 3, [0006], [0020]).
Regarding claim 9, Wang in view of Huang teaches the device of claim 8.
Wang discloses the MTJ stack comprises vertically aligned layers of a top electrode (320), a free layer (130), a tunneling barrier (120), a reference layer (110) and the first electrode (150) (see Wang, FIG. 3, [0006], [0020]).
Regarding claim 13, Wang in view of Huang teaches the device of claim 9.
Huang teaches an encapsulation layer (950) surrounding vertical side surfaces of the free layer, the tunneling barrier and the reference layer (of MTJ 810) (see Huang, FIG. 13, [0034], [0040]), with at least the same analogous prior art and field of endeavor statement and the same motivation as provided for in claim 7, and to provide protection for memory stack to reduce current leakage (see Huang, [0040]).
Conclusion
/SHIH TSUN A CHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811