DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I, claims 1-13, in the reply filed on 11/03/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/03/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 depends on claim 7. Claim 8 recites the limitation “a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) stack” in line 2. It is not clear whether the limitation refers to “a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) stack” in line 3 of claim 7.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the bottom electrode" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xia (US 2010/0054028).
Regarding claim 1, Xia discloses, in FIG. 1 and in related text, a semiconductor device comprising:
a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) stack (including MTJ 105), wherein
a cross section of a bottom electrode (180) of the stack comprises a hexagonal profile (see Xia, [0003]-[0005]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xia (US 2010/0054028).
Regarding claim 1, Xia discloses, in FIG. 1 and in related text, a semiconductor device comprising:
a lower word line (130);
a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) stack (including MTJ 105), wherein
a cross section of a first electrode (180) of the stack comprises a hexagonal profile (see Xia, [0003]-[0005]).
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang (US 2017 /0294576).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses, in FIGS. 10B and 13 and in related text, a semiconductor device comprising:
a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) stack (including MTJ 810), wherein
a cross section of a bottom electrode (610) of the stack comprises a hexagonal profile (see Huang, [0027], [0031], [0034]).
Regarding claim 2, Huang discloses the device of claim 1.
Huang discloses the MTJ stack comprises vertically aligned layers of a top electrode (920), a free layer, a tunneling barrier, a reference layer (of MTJ 810) and the bottom electrode (610) (see Huang, FIG. 13, [0031], [0034], [0040]).
Regarding claim 3, Huang discloses the device of claim 1.
Huang discloses the bottom electrode (610) comprises a side surface comprising a width (W4) at a middle section of the bottom electrode greater than a width (W2) at a lower surface of the bottom electrode, and the width at the middle section of the bottom electrode greater than a width (W3’) at an upper surface of the bottom electrode (see Huang, FIG. 10B, [0031]).
Regarding claim 6, Huang discloses the device of claim 1.
Huang discloses an encapsulation layer (950) surrounding vertical side surfaces of a free layer, a tunneling barrier and a reference layer (of MTJ 810) (see Huang, FIG. 13, [0034], [0040]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Iwayama (US 2010/0200900).
Regarding claim 4, Huang discloses the device of claim 1.
Huang discloses that a cross section of a top electrode (920) of the stack comprises a polygonal profile (see Huang, FIG. 13, [0040]).
Huang does not explicitly disclose a cross section of a top electrode of the stack comprises a hexagonal profile.
Iwayama teaches a cross section of a top electrode (21) of the stack comprises a hexagonal or polygonal profile (see Iwayama, FIG. 3, [0071]). Thus Iwayama teaches a cross section of a top electrode of the stack comprises a hexagonal profile.
Huang and Iwayama are analogous art because they both are directed to magnetic memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Huang with the features of Iwayama because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Huang to include a cross section of a top electrode of the stack comprises a hexagonal profile, as taught by Iwayama, because it is simple substitution of one known element for another (hexagonal profile for polygonal profile) to obtain predictable results (as a top electrode) (see MPEP § 2143), and to provide a method to achieve miniaturization of a magnetoresistive element (see Iwayama, [0141]-[0142]).
Regarding claim 5, Huang in view of Iwayama teaches the device of claim 4.
Iwayama teaches the top electrode (21) comprises a side surface comprising a width (Wa) at a middle section of the top electrode greater than a width (Wb) at a lower surface of the top electrode, and the width at the middle section of the top electrode greater than a width (Wf) at an upper surface of the top electrode (see Huang, FIG. 3, [0071]), with the same analogous prior art and field of endeavor statement and the same motivation as provided for in claim 4.
Claims 7-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2017 /0294576) in view of Zhou (US 2016/0284761).
Regarding claim 7, Huang discloses, in FIGS. 10B and 13 and in related text, a semiconductor device comprising:
a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) stack (including MTJ 810), wherein
a cross section of a first electrode (610) of the MTJ stack comprises a hexagonal profile (see Huang, [0027], [0031], [0034]).
Huang does not explicitly disclose a lower word line.
Zhou teaches a lower word line (38) (see Zhou, FIG. 1, [0003]).
Huang and Zhou are analogous art because they both are directed to magnetic memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Huang with the features of Zhou because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Huang to include a lower word line, as taught by Zhou, to form an array of memory cells (see Zhou, [0002]).
Regarding claim 8, Huang in view of Zhou teaches the device of claim 7.
Huang discloses a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) stack (including MTJ 81) above and connected to the first electrode (610) (see Huang, FIG. 13, [0034]).
Regarding claim 9, Huang in view of Zhou teaches the device of claim 8.
Huang discloses the MTJ stack comprises vertically aligned layers of a top electrode (920), a free layer, a tunneling barrier, a reference layer (of MTJ 810) and the bottom electrode (610) (see Huang, FIG. 13, [0031], [0034], [0040]).
Regarding claim 10, Huang in view of Zhou teaches the device of claim 7.
Huang discloses the first electrode (610) comprises a side surface comprising a width (W4) at a middle section of the first electrode greater than a width (W2) at a lower surface of the first electrode, and the width at the middle section of the first electrode greater than a width (W3’) at an upper surface of the first electrode (see Huang, FIG. 10B, [0031]).
Regarding claim 13, Huang in view of Zhou teaches the device of claim 9.
Huang discloses an encapsulation layer (950) surrounding vertical side surfaces of the free layer, the tunneling barrier and the reference layer (of MTJ 810) (see Huang, FIG. 13, [0034], [0040]).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Zhou, and further in view of Iwayama (US 2010/0200900).
Regarding claim 11, Huang in view of Zhou teaches the device of claim 10.
Huang discloses that a cross section of an upper electrode (920) of the stack comprises a polygonal profile (see Huang, FIG. 13, [0040]).
Huang does not explicitly disclose a cross section of a second electrode of the stack comprises a hexagonal profile.
Iwayama teaches a cross section of an upper electrode (21) of the stack comprises a hexagonal or polygonal profile (see Iwayama, FIG. 3, [0071]). Thus Iwayama teaches a cross section of a second electrode of the stack comprises a hexagonal profile.
Huang and Iwayama are analogous art because they both are directed to magnetic memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Huang with the features of Iwayama because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Huang to include a cross section of a second electrode of the stack comprises a hexagonal profile, as taught by Iwayama, because it is simple substitution of one known element for another (hexagonal profile for polygonal profile) to obtain predictable results (as a top electrode) (see MPEP § 2143), and to provide a method to achieve miniaturization of a magnetoresistive element (see Iwayama, [0141]-[0142]).
Regarding claim 12, Huang in view of Zhou and further in view of Iwayama teaches the device of claim 11.
Iwayama teaches the second electrode (21) comprises a side surface comprising a width (Wa) at a middle section of the top electrode greater than a width (Wb) at a lower surface of the second electrode, and the width at the middle section of the top electrode greater than a width (Wf) at an upper surface of the second electrode (see Huang, FIG. 3, [0071]), with the same analogous prior art and field of endeavor statement and the same motivation as provided for in claim 10.
Conclusion
/SHIH TSUN A CHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811