DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in FRENCH REPUBLIC on 05/17/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the FR2204676 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, please change “Temporary bonding method …” to “A temporary bonding method …”
Claims 2-12, please change “Method according to …” to “The temporary bonding method according to ……”
Claim 13, please change “Structure …” to “A structure …”
Claim 14, please change “Structure according to …” to “The structure according to …”
Claim 15, please change “Structure …” to “A structure …”
Claim 16, please change “Structure according to …” to “The structure according to …”
Claim 12, please change “the surface area of the substrate of interest” to “a surface area of the substrate of interest”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bayless et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,195,740).
Regarding to claim 13, Bayless teaches Structure consisting successively of:
- a substrate of interest (Fig. 4E, element 206, active portion 206 of substrate 200),
- a thermoplastic adhesive (Fig. 4E, element 204; column 6, lines 29-30),
- a first temporary substrate (Fig. 4E, element 300),
wherein the first temporary substrate has a surface area greater than the surface area of the substrate of interest (Fig. 4E, the first temporary substrate 300 has top surface area greater than the surface area of the substrate of interest 206),
and wherein the thermoplastic adhesive forms a lateral band around the substrate of interest (Fig. 4E, the thermoplastic adhesive 204 forms lateral band around the substrate of interest 206).
Regarding to claim 14, Bayless teaches the substrate of interest is made from a material selected from semiconductor materials, silica, glass, sapphire, ceramics, 111-V materials, piezoelectric materials, metals or alloys (column 7, lines 8-11, substrate of interest 206 is active portion of substrate 200, substrate 200 is a semiconductor substrate).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,157,766) in view of Bayless et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,195,740).
Regarding to claim 1, Kang teaches Temporary bonding method comprising the following steps:
a) providing a stack (Fig. 1F) comprising successively:
- a substrate of interest, having a first main face and a second main face (Fig. 1F, element CR; column 5, line 60),
- a thermoplastic adhesive, facing the first main face of the substrate of interest (Fig. 1F, element 40; column 6, lines 32-33),
- a first temporary substrate (Fig. 1F, element 42a; column 6, line 55),
b) positioning a second temporary substrate facing a main face of the substrate of interest, the first temporary substrate and the second temporary substrate each having a surface area greater than the surface area of the substrate of interest (Figs. 1G-H, element 10),
c) applying a heat treatment by means of which the thermoplastic adhesive forms a lateral band around the substrate of interest and adheres both to the first temporary substrate and to the second temporary substrate (column 6, lines 53-60),
d) removing the second temporary substrate (Fig. 1L),
e) attaching the substrate of interest to a frame, by means of an adhesive sheet, the adhesive sheet being in contact with the second main face of the substrate of interest (Fig. 1M),
f) removing the first temporary substrate (Fig. 1N) and the thermoplastic adhesive (Fig. 1O).
Kang does not disclose the second temporary substrate facing the second main face of the substrate of interest, and the heat treatment at a temperature greater than or equal to the glass transition temperature of the thermoplastic adhesive.
Bayless discloses a second temporary substrate facing the second main face of the substrate of interest (Fig. 4C, second temporary substrate 200 facing the second main face of the substrate of interest 206), and the heat treatment at a temperature greater than or equal to the glass transition temperature of a thermoplastic adhesive (column 2, lines 24-29). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kang in view of Bayless to face the second main face of the substrate of interest to the second temporary substrate in order to protect the surface, and to perform the heat at a temperature greater than or equal to the glass transition temperature of the thermoplastic adhesive in order to make the adhesive squeeze out around a periphery of an interface, thus to enhance protection.
Regarding to claim 2, Kang as modified discloses the glass transition temperature of the thermoplastic adhesive is below 250°C (column 9, lines 44-46).
Regarding to claim 3, Kang as modified discloses the second temporary substrate is made from polytetrafluoroethylene or from polyimide or wherein the second temporary substrate is covered with a polymer layer of polytetrafluoroethylene or of polyimide (Fig. 1H, column 8, line 19).
Regarding to claim 4, Kang as modified discloses step d) is implemented by a mechanical action, and where applicable the polymer layer covering the second temporary substrate is removed by peeling (Fig. 1L, column 8, line 19).
Regarding to claim 5, Kang as modified discloses b) is implemented by direct bonding (Fig. 1H). Kang as modified does not clearly disclose the glass transition temperature of the thermoplastic adhesive is above 200°C. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to select the thermoplastic adhesive such that the glass transition temperature of the thermoplastic adhesive to be above 200°C in order to maintain great hardness after curing, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding to claim 6, Bayless discloses step d) is implemented by mechanical grinding and chemical etching (Fig. 4D, column 8, lines 53-55). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kang in view of Bayless to remove the second substrate by mechanical grinding in order to prevent cleaving.
Regarding to claim 7, Kang teaches the second temporary substrate is made from glass (column 5, lines 8-10) and in that it is covered by a laser-sensitive removal layer (column 5, lines 14-15, the second temporary substrate 10 is covered by thermoplastic resin 12. thermoplastic resin is known a laser-sensitive removal layer).
Regarding to claim 9, Kang as modified discloses in step c), thermocompression is applied (Bayless, column 8, lines 45-46).
Regarding to claim 10, Kang as modified is silent as to a range of difference. However. it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was file to configure the largest dimension of the substrate of interest to be at least 200 μm less than the largest dimension of the surface of the first temporary substrate or the largest dimension of the surface of the second temporary substrate in order to prevent contamination, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding to claim 11, Kang teaches removal layer is positioned between the thermoplastic adhesive and the first temporary substrate or between the substrate of interest and the second temporary substrate (Fig. 1G, element 14).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,157,766) and Bayless et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,195,740), further in view of Ferro et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0140289).
Regarding to claim 12, Kang as modified does not specifically disclose the removal layer is made from fluorinated polymer or from an organosilica compound. Ferro discloses a removal layer is made from fluorinated polymer or from an organosilica compound ([0049], last 3 lines). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kang in view of Ferro to make the removal layer from fluorinated polymer or from an organosilica compound in order to reduce sticking and friction.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheats (U.S. Patent No. 7,300,824) in view of Bayless et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,195,740).
Regarding to claim 13, Sheats teaches Structure consisting successively of:
- a substrate of interest (Fig. 3D, element 32),
- an adhesive (Fig. 3D, element 34; column 5, lines 39-40),
- a first temporary substrate (Fig. 3D, element 30; column 5, lines 24-25),
wherein the first temporary substrate has a surface area greater than the surface area of the substrate of interest (Fig. 3D, the first temporary substrate 30 has top surface area greater than the surface area of the substrate of interest 32),
and wherein the adhesive forms a lateral band around the substrate of interest (Fig. 3D, the adhesive 34 forms a lateral band around the substrate of interest 32).
Sheats does not disclose the adhesive is thermoplastic adhesive.
Bayless disclose an adhesive is thermoplastic adhesive (Fig. 4D, element 204; column 6, lines 29-30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sheats in view of Bayless to configure the adhesive to be thermoplastic adhesive in order to increase flexibility.
Regarding to claim 14, Sheats teaches the substrate of interest is made from a material selected from semiconductor materials, silica, glass, sapphire, ceramics, 111-V materials, piezoelectric materials, metals or alloys (column 5, line 37; column 6, line 53).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheats (U.S. Patent No. 7,300,824) in view of Bayless et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,195,740) and Ferro et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0140289).
Regarding to claim 13, Sheats teaches Structure consisting successively of:
- a substrate of interest (Fig. 3D, element 32),
- an adhesive (Fig. 3D, element 34; column 5, lines 39-40),
- a removal layer made from a polymer (Fig. 3D, element 31; column 6, lines 1-4),
- a first temporary substrate (Fig. 3D, element 30; column 5, lines 24-25),
wherein the first temporary substrate has a surface area greater than the surface area of the substrate of interest (Fig. 3D, the first temporary substrate 30 has top surface area greater than the surface area of the substrate of interest 32),
and wherein the adhesive forms a lateral band around the substrate of interest (Fig. 3D, the adhesive 34 forms a lateral band around the substrate of interest 32).
Sheats does not disclose the adhesive is thermoplastic adhesive and the removal layer made from a fluorinated polymer or from an organosilica compound.
Bayless disclose an adhesive is thermoplastic adhesive (Fig. 4D, element 204; column 6, lines 29-30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sheats in view of Bayless to configure the adhesive to be thermoplastic adhesive in order to increase flexibility.
Ferro discloses a removal layer is made from fluorinated polymer or from an organosilica compound ([0049], last 3 lines). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sheats in view of Ferro to make the removal layer from fluorinated polymer or from an organosilica compound in order to reduce sticking and friction.
Regarding to claim 16, Sheats teaches the substrate of interest is made from a material selected from semiconductor materials, silica, glass, sapphire, ceramics, 111-V materials, piezoelectric materials, metals or alloys (column 5, line 37; column 6, line 53).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding to claim 8, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “wherein step d) is implemented by laser-assisted removal” in combination with the limitations recited in claim 1 and claim 7.
Pertinent Art
For the benefits of the Applicant, US-10468400-B2, US-9114665-B2, US-11183417-B2, US-6703262-B2, US-11404300-B2, US-10734285-B2, US-10403598-B2, US-11088010-B2, and US-11876077-B2, are cited on the record as being pertinent to significant disclosure through some but not all claimed features of the defined invention. The references fail to disclose “applying a heat treatment at a temperature greater than or equal to the glass transition temperature of the thermoplastic adhesive, by means of which the thermoplastic adhesive forms a lateral band around the substrate of interest and adheres both to the first temporary substrate and to the second temporary substrate, attaching the substrate of interest to a frame, by means of an adhesive sheet, the adhesive sheet being in contact with the second main face of the substrate of interest.”
Conclusion
/VU A VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897