DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
The claim interpretation under 35 USC (f)/means plus function of the terms “film processing unit”, “carry-in/out unit”, “resist film forming unit”, “film removing unit”, “foreign substance removing unit”, “inverting unit”, “second inverting unit”, and “friction reducing unit” will be maintained as recited in the Non-Final Rejection mailed December 3, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10, 12, and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claims 1 and 12 have been amended to recite a controller that is configured to control the film processing unit and the carry in/out unit. This amendment has necessitated the introduction of the new prior art rejections below.
Terminal Disclaimer/Double Patenting
In the Remarks filed July 31, 2026 applicant refers to a Terminal Disclaimer submitted over US 12, 622,201. The terminal disclaimer was not found in the submitted papers by applicant and thus was not reviewed. Thus, the nonstatutory double patenting rejections regarding US 12, 622, 201 stand as the patent recites the controller and the steps introduced in the new amendment to claims 1 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Kotaka Toshiaki (JP 2016051727A using the Machine Generated English Translation provided herewith).
The prior art of Kotaka Toshiaki teaches.
Regarding claim 1: The prior art of Kotaka Toshiaki teaches a substrate processing apparatus comprising: a film processing unit (processing block 5 and interface block 6) configured to perform a preset processing including formation of a resist film on a front surface of a substrate (executed by the developing device 2); a carry-in/out unit (carrier block 4) configured to perform a carry-in/carry-out of the substrate into/from the film processing unit; and a controller (control unit 100) see [0031], wherein the film processing unit comprises: a resist film forming unit (COT module 15) configured to form the resist film on the front surface of the substrate; a film removing unit (nozzle N) configured to supply, to a rear surface film formed on a rear surface of the substrate opposite to the front surface, a processing liquid configured to remove the rear surface film; a foreign substance removing unit 30A, 30B (these chambers can be identical or one can have a nozzle and/or brush as desired) configured to move a brush B along the rear surface of the substrate, while keeping the brush B in contact with the rear surface of the substrate after being processed by the film removing unit; and a friction reducing film forming unit configured to form, on the rear surface of the substrate after being processed by the foreign substance removing unit, a friction reducing film configured to reduce friction between the rear surface of the substrate and a portion holding the rear surface of the substrate during an exposure processing, and wherein the controller is configured to control the film processing unit and the carry-in/out unit such that the friction reducing film is formed on the rear surface of the substrate after the brush is moved along the rear surface of the substrate by the foreign substance removing unit (nozzle N) and before the substrate is carried out for the exposure processing, and such that the substrate is carried out for the exposure processing in a state in which the friction reducing film is formed on the rear surface of the substrate. It is noted that the brush B of Kotaka Toshiaki removes material from the rear surface to include foreign matter. See [0002], [0005], [0009], [0010] which teaches the steps of film removal from the back surfaces of the substrate (step C), [0021], [0025], [0030], [0032], [0033], and [0036] – [0039]. See Figures 6, 7, and 10 of Kotaka Toshiaki below.
Figures 6, 7, and 10 of Kotaka Toshiaki above
Regarding claim 3: The prior art of Kotaka Toshiaki teaches the film removing unit 30B supplies the processing liquid (via nozzle N) to the rear surface of the substrate in a state that the substrate is held with the rear surface thereof facing downwards. See Fig. 10 of Kotaka Toshiaki above.
Regarding claim 4: The prior art of Kotaka Toshiaki teaches the foreign substance removing unit performs a processing of removing a foreign substance on the rear surface of the substrate in a state that the substrate is held with the rear surface thereof facing downwards. See Fig. 10 of Kotaka Toshiaki above.
Regarding claim 9: The prior art of Kotaka Toshiaki teaches the film removing unit (via nozzle N in 30A) and the foreign substance removing unit (via brush B see 30B) in Fig 10 process the rear surface of the substrate after the substrate is carried into the film processing unit and before the resist film is formed on the front surface of the substrate by the resist film forming unit. See Figures 9 and 10 of Kotaka Toshiaki.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotaka Toshiaki (JP 2016051727A using the Machine Generated English Translation provided herewith) in view of Matsuda Yoshitaka et al (JP 2019-145687A using the Machine Generated English Translation provided herewith).
The teachings of Kotaka Toshiaki were discussed above. Recall Kotaka Toshiaki teaches a cleaning brush B that moves along the rear surface of the substrate.
The prior art of Kotaka Toshiaki fails to teach a polishing brush and furthermore, the prior art of Kotaka Toshiaki fails to teach the foreign substance removing unit polishes the rear surface of the substrate by moving a polishing brush, which is different from the cleaning brush, along the rear surface of the substrate, while keeping the polishing brush in contact with the rear surface of the substrate, and after polishing the rear surface of the substrate, the foreign substance removing unit cleans the rear surface of the substrate by moving the cleaning brush along the rear surface of the substrate, while keeping the cleaning brush in contact with the rear surface of the substrate.
The prior art of Matsuda Yoshitaka et al teaches in [0024] – [0026], [0040], and [0069] and as illustrated in Fig. 2 of Yoshitaka et al where cleaning tool 5 is interpreted as the foreign matter removal processing unit which polishes the back surface of the wafer W by moving the pad 5 with polishing brush 50. Note the control of the polishing brush is managed by the control unit 100. Modifying the apparatus of Kotaka Toshiaki by introducing polishing brush of Matsuda Yoshitaka et al to the foreign matter removal processing unit of Matsuda Yoshitaka et al would enhance the rear surface removal of the wafer by providing both polishing and cleaning of the rear surface. The chronological order of cleaning and polishing by the independently moving brushes would be a matter of obvious as the controller of Yoshitaka et al would control both the cleaning brush Kotaka Toshiaki and polishing brush as informed by the controller and the processing regime of controller 100 as suggested by Matsuda Yoshitaka et al. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Kotaka Toshiaki with the prior art of Matsuda Yoshitaka et al.
Fig. 2 of Matsuda Yoshitaka et al JP 2019-145687A
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotaka Toshiaki (JP 2016051727A using the Machine Generated English Translation provided herewith) in view of Sugano Itaru et al (JP 2015149410 using the Machine Generated English Translation provided herewith).
The teachings of Kotaka Toshiaki were discussed above. The prior art of Kotaka Toshiaki fails to teach:
Regarding claim 5: The substrate processing apparatus of Claim 1, further comprising: an inverting unit configured to invert the rear surface of the substrate upside down, wherein the foreign substance removing unit processes the substrate after being inverted by the inverting unit, and the foreign substance removing unit performs a processing of removing a foreign substance on the rear surface of the substrate in a state that the substrate is held with the rear surface thereof facing upwards.
Regarding claim 6: The substrate processing apparatus of Claim 5, wherein the film removing unit supplies the processing liquid to the rear surface of the substrate in a state that the substrate is held with the rear surface thereof facing downwards, and the inverting unit inverts the rear surface of the substrate, which is obtained after being processed by the film removing unit, upside down.
Regarding claim 7: The substrate processing apparatus of Claim 6, further comprising: a second inverting unit configured to invert the rear surface of the substrate, which is obtained after being processed by the foreign substance removing unit, upside down.
Regarding claim 8: The substrate processing apparatus of The substrate processing apparatus of wherein the film removing unit and the foreign substance removing unit process the rear surface of the substrate after the resist film is formed on the front surface of the substrate by the resist film forming unit and before the substrate is subjected to an exposure processing.
The prior art of Sugano Itaru et al teaches an inversion unit is [0019], [0141] – [0152], and [0234] and Figs 9 and 10 where the sides of the wafer are inverted from upper to lower and brush 500 (see Fig. 10) removes foreign matter after the sides are reversed. See in Sugano Itaru et al the fluid supply unit 32 (nozzle providing processing fluid to the rear) and brush 500 perform backside processing it is deduced that the inversion/reversal of sides occurs before film removal on the rear of the wafer according to [0019] of Sugano Itaru et al. Note the discussion of the transport unit 11 having substrate transfer device (inversion units 111, 112) and carrier C. See Sugano Itaru et al offers a second inversion processing unit. See the abstract of Sugano Itaru et al which discusses the inversion of the wafer from front to back and back to front as desired. See also that the prior art of Sugano Itaru et al also has controllers 401 and 403 which control the inversion of the wafer surfaces, when and to/from which chambers the inversions need occur. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Kotaka Toshiaki with the prior art of Sugano Itaru et al to ensure the surfaces of the wafer are inverted to ensure the rear surface is processed and the front surface is processed as required.
Fig. 10 of Sugano Itaru et al
Fig. 12 of Sugano Itaru et al
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotaka Toshiaki (JP 2016051727A using the Machine Generated English Translation provided herewith) in view of Tsutsumi et al (US 8,366,872).
Regarding claim 10: The prior art of Kotaka Toshiaki teaches the resist film forming unit (COT 15 see [0025]) forms the resist film on the front surface of the substrate by supplying, to the front surface of the substrate, another processing liquid configured to form the resist film. Note in Fig. 7 the front surface processing chamber has an exhaust pump 26 which according to [0032] of Kotaka Toshiaki exhausts a gas.
The prior art of Kotaka Toshiaki fails to teach separate exhaust and drain lines for the liquid(s) and gases.
The prior art of Tsutsumi et al teaches a substrate treatment system with a film forming unit 20, a film removing unit 200, a foreign substance removing unit (scribing brush 370 has a moving mechanism 375) see the paragraph joining paragraphs 13 and 14 of Tsutsumi et al. See also in column 14 lines 1-44 of Tsutsumi et al that the brush contacts the rear surface of the wafer after the cleaning (film removing step). See col. 10 line 25 where Tsutsumi et al recites that the resist film is formed on the front surface of the wafer in the resist coating unit 20. See the abstract where it recites that a coating film on the rear surface is removed. The prior art of Tsutsumi et al teaches resist coating units 20-22 where resist coating is formed on the front surface of the wafer. Fig. 13 illustrates an example of film forming unit 300 where resist coating units 20-22 where resist coating unit are an example of film forming units see drain lines 328 are illustrated in film forming unit 300. The gas can be formed using the lamp heating unit 340 to cure the formed film.
Drain pipes 228 of Tsutsumi et al are also provided in film removing unit 200 see Fig. 4. Note the drain pipes 228 are independent of drain pipes 328 as they are located in different treatment chambers (200 film removing) and (20 resist/300 film forming). There would be separate liquid nozzles provided in the resist film forming unit (coating unit) and the coating forming unit 300 to distribute their respective processing fluid to the wafer. Note what fluid is drained from the drain lines is interpreted as a matter of an intended as structurally the drain lines/exhaust lines are capable of draining/exhaust a plethora of fluids to include liquid, gas or a mixture thereof. The motivation to modify the apparatus of Kotaka Toshiaki with the teachings of the prior art of Tsutsumi et al provide structure to exhaust/drain used fluids out of the processing space so that they do not contribute to contamination or increasing the foreign substances that would need be removed as alluded in the claims of the patent. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Kotaka Toshiaki with the prior art of Tsutsumi et al to provide drain pipes/exhaust lines to expel used fluids (to include gas, liquid, or a mixture thereof ) from the apparatus as necessary to ensure ample exhaust and lessen the contamination of the apparatus and or substrate.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotaka Toshiaki (JP 2016051727A using the Machine Generated English Translation provided herewith) in view of Kodama et al (US 2019/0212653).
The teachings of Kotaka Toshiaki were discussed above. Recall the controller 100 of Kotaka Toshiaki which is programmed to ensure that the timing and chronological order of the processing of the wafer is optimized to ensure the desired product result.
The prior art of Kotaka Toshiaki fails to teach:
Regarding claim 12: The controller is configured that after being processed by the film removing unit; and a friction reducing film forming unit configured to form, on the rear surface of the substrate before being processed by the film removing unit, a friction reducing film configured to reduce friction between the rear surface of the substrate and a portion holding the rear surface of the substrate during an exposure processing, and wherein the controller is configured to control the film processing unit and the carry-in/out unit such that the friction reducing film is formed on the rear surface of the substrate before the processing liquid is supplied to the rear surface film by the film removing unit, and such that the substrate is carried out for the exposure processing in a state in which at least a part of the friction reducing film remains on the rear surface of the substrate.
Regarding claim 13: The substrate processing apparatus of the friction reducing film forming unit forms the friction reducing film at a peripheral portion of the rear surface of the substrate, and the film removing unit performs a processing of removing the rear surface film on a region of the rear surface of the substrate other than the peripheral portion.
The prior art of Kodama et al teaches substrate treatment apparatus wherein friction reducing film forming apparatus is recited in [0059] therein Kodama et al teaches that friction reducing film is formed on the rear surface to include the peripheral portion as the peripheral portion contacts the transfer apparatus and needs to also be protected during support during transport see [0060] and [0103]. Note Kodama et al also has a control unit 30 for controlling the treatments of the wafer see [0035]The motivation to modify the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of the claims of the patent and the prior art Tsutsumi et al to form the friction reducing film at a peripheral portion of the rear surface of the substrate is that further protects the wafer from scratches and stress when the substrate is support even during transport. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Kotaka Toshiaki with the suggestion of the prior art of Kodama et al to form the friction reducing film at a peripheral portion of the rear surface of the substrate is that further protects the wafer from scratches and stress when the substrate is support even during transport.
Conclusion
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716