DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 contains the preamble “An electronic component manufactured using the lead frame according to claim 1” [emphasis added]. It is unclear whether this claim refers to the product of the electronic component containing the lead frame according to claim 1, or if the electronic component itself is somehow manufactured using the lead frame according to claim 1. For this indefiniteness, claim 4 is rejected. To expedite prosecution, examiner is treating this claim as referring to an electronic component comprising the lead frame according to claim 1, as well as the chip and encapsulant also recited in claim 1.
Claim 8 recites “each of the plurality of electrode pads is electrically connected to one corresponding first lead of the plurality of first leads via the at least one of the plurality of wires” [emphasis added]. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner is interpreting this limitation to instead read “…the plurality of first leads via at least one of the plurality of wires”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "wherein the at least one particular first lead is connected to ground" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as no previous recitation of “a ground” is found in the claims upon which claim 10 depends. Examiner is interpreting this limitation as instead saying “…first lead is connected to a ground”.
Examiner further notes that, due to their dependence upon rejected claims 4 and 8, claims 5-11 and claims 9-10, respectively, are rejected under the same statute.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20110186875 (Egoshi et al).
As to Claim 1, Egoshi teaches a lead frame for an electronic component (Egoshi Fig 3, lead frame 12), the lead frame comprising:
a die pad (12b);
a plurality of leads (11b, 12d, 13b, 13c, 14b, 14c); and
a frame member surrounding the die pad and the plurality of leads (zoomed out view of Fig 3 shown in Fig 15B, frame member D surrounding features shown in Fig 3), wherein
the frame member includes a first connection bar extending in a first direction (portion of D running along y-axis) and a second connection bar extending in a second direction (portion of D running along x-axis),
the die pad is connected to the second connection bar (12b connected to D via lead frame sheet 33 shown in Fig 15B ¶0097),
the plurality of leads include a plurality of first leads (Fig 3 11b, 12d, 13b, 14c) connected to the first connection bar (first leads extend along x-axis, thereby connecting to portion of D running along y-axis) and a plurality of second leads (13c, 14b) connected to the second connection bar (second leads extend along y-axis, thereby connection to portion of D running along x-axis),
the number of the plurality of second leads is smaller than the number of the plurality of first leads (the two second leads fewer than the six first leads), and
each of the plurality of second leads is connected to one corresponding first lead of the plurality of first leads (13c connects to 13b through portion 13a; 14b connects to 14c through portion 14a).
As to Claim 2, Egoshi teaches the lead frame according to claim 1, wherein
the plurality of first leads include at least one particular first lead (12d), and
the at least one particular first lead is connected to the die pad and is not connected to the plurality of second leads (12d connected to 12b but to neither of 13c, 14b).
As to Claim 3, Egoshi teaches the lead frame according to claim 1, wherein
the plurality of first leads include at least one particular first lead (11b), and
the at least one particular first lead is connected to neither the die pad nor the plurality of second leads (11b connected to neither 12b nor either of 13c, 14b).
As to Claim 4, insofar as can be understood by the examiner in light of the claim objections or 35 USC 112 rejections above, Egoshi teaches an electronic component manufactured using the lead frame according to claim 1 (Egoshi Fig 3, component 2), the electronic component comprising:
a chip mounted on the die pad (21R on 12b); and
an encapsulating resin encapsulating the chip (17 encapsulating 21R shown side-view of Fig 2).
As to Claim 5, insofar as can be understood by the examiner in light of the claim objections or 35 USC 112 rejections above, Egoshi teaches the electronic component according to claim 4, wherein
the plurality of first leads include at least one particular first lead (12d), and
the at least one particular first lead is connected to the die pad and is not connected to the plurality of second leads (12d connected to 12b but to neither of 13c, 14b).
As to Claim 6, insofar as can be understood by the examiner in light of the claim objections or 35 USC 112 rejections above, Egoshi teaches the electronic component according to claim 5, wherein
the at least one particular first lead (12d) includes a first portion (end of 12d protruding from 11) and a second portion arranged between the first portion and the die pad (12c between protruding end of 12d and die pad 12b), and
the second portion is entirely covered with the encapsulating resin (Fig 1, having the cross-section A-A’ shown in Fig 2, shows end 12d extending out from side of encapsulant 17, i.e., the further in portion 12c covered by encapsulant 17).
As to Claim 7, insofar as can be understood by the examiner in light of the claim objections or 35 USC 112 rejections above, Egoshi teaches the electronic component according to claim 4, wherein
the plurality of first leads include at least one particular first lead (11b), and
the at least one particular first lead is connected to neither the die pad nor the plurality of second leads (11b connected to neither 12b nor either of 13c, 14b)
the electronic component further comprising
at least one wire electrically connecting the at least one particular first lead and the die pad (22a connects 11b to 12b through device 21R).
As to Claim 11, insofar as can be understood by the examiner in light of the claim objections or 35 USC 112 rejections above, Egoshi teaches the electronic component according to claim 4, and further teaches wherein:
each of the plurality of first leads includes an exposed surface not covered with the encapsulating resin (Fig 12A, surfaces of lead frame 31a have exposed surfaces which are covered by silver plating layer 31b, i.e., are not covered with the encapsulating resin ¶0095),
the electronic component further comprising
a plating layer covering the exposed surface (silver plating layers 31b on exposed surface of 31a ¶0095).
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Egoshi.
As to Claim 1, Egoshi teaches lead frame for an electronic component (Egoshi Fig 9, lead frame 20), the lead frame comprising:
a die pad (20a);
a plurality of leads (11b, 11c, 13b, 20d, 13c, 20b); and
a frame member surrounding the die pad and the plurality of leads (zoomed out view of Fig 9 shown in Fig 15B, frame member D surrounding features shown in Fig 9), wherein
the frame member includes a first connection bar extending in a first direction (portion of D running along y-axis) and a second connection bar extending in a second direction (portion of D running along x-axis),
the die pad is connected to the second connection bar (20a connected to D via lead frame sheet 33 shown in Fig 15B ¶0097),
the plurality of leads include a plurality of first leads (Fig 9 first leads 11b, 11c, 13b, 20d) connected to the first connection bar (first leads extend along x-axis, thereby connecting to portion of D running along y-axis) and a plurality of second leads (second leads 13c, 20b) connected to the second connection bar (second leads extend along y-axis, thereby connection to portion of D running along x-axis),
the number of the plurality of second leads is smaller than the number of the plurality of first leads (two second leads fewer than the four first leads), and
each of the plurality of second leads is connected to one corresponding first lead of the plurality of first leads (13c and 20b connected to 13b and 20d, respectively).
As to Claim 4, insofar as can be understood by the examiner in light of the claim objections or 35 USC 112 rejections above, Egoshi teaches an electronic component manufactured using the lead frame according to claim 1 (Egoshi Fig 9, component 7), the electronic component comprising:
a chip mounted on the die pad (chip 21G mounted on 20a); and
an encapsulating resin encapsulating the chip (17 encapsulating chips shown side-view of Fig 2 with respect to chip 21R).
As to Claim 8, insofar as can be understood by the examiner in light of the claim objections or 35 USC 112 rejections above, Egoshi teaches the electronic component according to claim 4, and teaches the component further comprising:
a plurality of wires (22b-c), wherein
the chip includes a plurality of electrode pads (left and right pads atop chip 21G as described in ¶0037), and
each of the plurality of electrode pads is electrically connected to one corresponding first lead of the plurality of first leads via the at least one of the plurality of wires (left and right pads atop 21G connected to 13b and 20d via wires 22b and 22c, respectively).
As to Claim 9, insofar as can be understood by the examiner in light of the claim objections or 35 USC 112 rejections above, Egoshi teaches the electronic component according to claim 8, and further teaches wherein:
the plurality of first leads include at least one particular first lead (13b),
the plurality of electrode pads include at least one particular electrode pad (right-most pad on 21G) ,
the plurality of wires include a first wire and a second wire (22c and 22b, respectively),
the at least one particular electrode pad (right-most pad on 21G) is electrically connected to the die pad via the first wire (22c connects pad to 20a), and
the at least one particular first lead (13b) is electrically connected to the die pad via the second wire (22b electrically connects 13b to 20a through intermediate chip 21G).
As to Claim 10, insofar as can be understood by the examiner in light of the claim objections or 35 USC 112 rejections above, Egoshi teaches the electronic component according to claim 9, and further teaches wherein the at least one particular first lead is electrically connected to ground (a ground potential may be applied to an arbitrary lead frame in the invention ¶0083).
Conclusion
/CDM/Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/EVAN G CLINTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899