Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 10-13, and 16, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kanatzidis et al. (2020/0381573)
Regarding claim 1, Kanatzidis discloses a radiation detector, comprising: a radiation-sensitive semiconductor material substrate (Kanatzidis, Fig. 2A, [0007], photoactive semiconductor); a cathode electrode comprising a first metallic material having a work function that is greater than or equal to 4.6 eV disposed over a first surface of the radiation-sensitive semiconductor material substrate(Kanatzidis, Fig. 2A, [0007], high work function cathode); and a plurality of anode electrode electrodes comprising a second metallic material having a work function that is < 4.6 eV disposed over a second surface of the radiation- sensitive semiconductor material substrate (Kanatzidis, Fig. 2A, [0007], low work function anode).
Regarding claim 2, Kanatzidis further discloses the first metallic material directly contacts the first surface of the radiation-sensitive semiconductor material substrate; and the second metallic material directly contacts the second surface of the radiation-sensitive semiconductor material substrate. (Kanatzidis, Fig. 2A)
Regarding claim 3, Kanatzidis further discloses the first metallic material has a work function that is 5.0 eV. (Kanatzidis, [0007], selection of Ni for cathode, Fig. 9 indicating a work function of nickel of about 5.04)
Regarding claim 4, Kanatzidis further discloses the first metallic material has a work function that is 4.6 eV and < 4.8 eV (Kanatzidis, Fig. 9, selection of Fe)
Regarding claim 10, Kanatzidis further discloses the radiation-sensitive semiconductor substrate comprises cadmium zinc telluride (CZT). (Kanatzidis [0004])
Regarding claim 11, Kanatzidis discloses a radiation detector, comprising: a radiation-sensitive semiconductor material substrate (Kanatzidis, Fig. 2A, [0007], photoactive semiconductor); a cathode electrode comprising a metallic material disposed over a first surface of the radiation-sensitive semiconductor material substrate (Kanatzidis, Fig. 2A, [0007], high work function cathode), wherein the metallic material has a work function that is > 4.6 eV and < 4.8 eV (Kanatzidis, Fig. 9, Fe selection for cathode) and the metallic material directly contacts the first surface of the radiation-sensitive semiconductor material substrate (Kanatzidis, Fig. 2A), or the metallic material has a work function that is < 4.6 eV and the cathode electrode further comprises a semiconductor material layer directly contacts contacting the first surface of the radiation-sensitive semiconductor material substrate and the semiconductor material layer is located between the metallic material and the first surface of the semiconductor material substrate (non-limiting as unnecessary due to prior “or”); and a plurality of anode electrode electrodes disposed over a second surface of the radiation-sensitive semiconductor material substrate (Kanatzidis, Fig. 2A, [0007], low work function anode).
Regarding claim 12, Kanatzidis further discloses the at least one a plurality of anode electrode haselectrodes have a different material composition than the cathode electrode. (Kanatzidis, [0007])
Regarding claim 13, Kanatzidis further discloses the metallic material has the work function that is > 4.6 eV and < 4.8 eV, (Kanatzidis, Fig. 9, selection of Fe for cathode) directly contacts the first surface of the radiation-sensitive semiconductor material substrate (Kanatzidis, Fig. 2A), and provides a Schottky barrier that is between 0.48 eV and 0.68 eV (inherent property given the work function).
Regarding claim 16, Kanatzidis further discloses the radiation-sensitive semiconductor substrate comprises cadmium zinc telluride (CZT). (Kanatzidis, [0004])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-9, 14, 15, 17-21, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanatzidis in view of Chacinski et al. (2016/0172523).
Regarding claims 5-9, 14, 15, 17-22, and 24, these claims differ from Kanatzidis in the provision of an additional semiconductor material layer between the cathode (or anode) and the active semiconductor layer.
This layer, its material properties, its bandgap engineering etc. are taught by Chacinski et al. at [0041].
It would have been obvious to provide a thin hole-carrier blocking layer on the cathode side of the active layer in order to reduce the noise response of the detector. (Chacinski, [0041])
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the Chen reference have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 with respect to the Chen reference have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
/EDWIN C GUNBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884