DETAILED ACTION
All outstanding objections and rejections, except for those maintained below, are withdrawn in light of applicant's amendment filed on 8/28/2026.
The new grounds of rejection set forth below are necessitated by applicant's amendment filed on 8/28/2026. In particular, original Claims 1 and 13 have been amended to recite limitations not previously presented. Thus, the following action is properly made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al (US 2023/0118826).
Regarding claim 1, Cho et al discloses an organic light emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode, and at least one organic layer, i.e. a functional layer, disposed between the electrodes ([0009]). The organic layer includes a hole injection layer and a hole transport layer, where the hole injection or hole transport layer comprises the following compound ([0009], [0011] – Formula B, and Page 50 – Compound B-20):
.
This compound corresponds to Formula 1 of the claims:
,
where X3 to X8 are hydrogen. X2 corresponds to Formula 2 of the claims:
,
where:
R1 and R2 are hydrogen;
n2 is four (4);
n1 is three (3);
R3 and R4 are methyl groups, i.e. unsubstituted C1 alkyls; and
Y1 is a phenyl substituted carbazole-2-yl group. The carbazole meets the requirement in the claim that when Y1 is a carbazole group, the carbazole group is a carbazole-2-yl group.
In the compound disclosed by the reference X2 corresponds to Formula 2 and X1 is hydrogen, while the claims require that when X2 is represented by Formula 2, X1 or X3 is a substituted or unsubstituted C1-4 alkyl. However, the compound disclosed by the reference is but one embodiment, and attention is directed to the following formula ([0011] – Formula B):
,
where Ar21, corresponding to the naphthyl group in Compound B-182 above, can be substituted with an alkyl group such as methyl, ethyl, propyl, and butyl ([0031], [0034], and [0037]). Accordingly, the disclosure of the reference encompasses an embodiment where X1 or X3 in Formula 1 of the claims is a methyl, ethyl, propyl, or butyl group.
While the reference fails to exemplify the presently claimed compound nor can the claimed compound be "clearly envisaged" from the reference as required to meet the standard of anticipation, nevertheless, in light of the overlap between the claimed compound and the compound disclosed by the reference, absent a showing of criticality for the presently claimed compound, it is urged that it would have been within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the compound which is both disclosed by the reference and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Cho et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses that the organic layer includes: a light emitting layer and a hole transport region, i.e. hole injection and hole transport layers, between the light emitting layer and anode, i.e. first electrode ([0056]); and electron transport and electron injection layers, i.e. an electron transport region, between the light emitting layer and the cathode, i.e. second electrode ([0056]). As discussed above, the hole transport layer comprises the disclosed compound.
Regarding claim 3, Cho et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the hole transport layer comprises the disclosed compound.
Regarding claim 4, Cho et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Given that the compound comprises a single amine group, it is clear that the compound is a monoamine compound as recited in the present claims.
Regarding claim 5, Cho et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Y1 is a substituted carbazole-2-yl group.
Regarding claim 6, Cho et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, the compound corresponds to Formula 1-2 of the claims:
,
where Xb is C1-4 alkyl; and X21 to X26 are hydrogen.
Regarding claim 7, Cho et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, Xb is an unsubstituted methyl group.
Regarding claim 8, Cho et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, X21 to X26 are hydrogen.
Regarding claim 9, Cho et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the reference discloses the following compound:
.
In this compound the diarylamino group does not correspond to Formula 2-1 of the claims, i.e.
,
given the difference in bonding of the fluorene to the central nitrogen atom. However, the reference discloses the following general formula:
,
where the bonding of the fluorine to the central nitrogen encompasses the bonding in Formula 2-1 of the claims.
Regarding claim 10, Cho et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the reference discloses the following compound:
.
In this compound, the diarylamino group corresponds to recited formula 2-2:
,
where R21 and R22 are both hydrogens.
Regarding claim 11, Cho et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the reference discloses the following compound:
.
In this compound, the diarylamino group does not correspond to Formula 2-3 of the claims:
However, the reference discloses the following formula:
,
where L3 can be a C6 arylene ([0029]) and R5 in Formula 2-3 corresponds to the carbazole-2-yl group, where m1 is one (1).
Regarding claim 12, Cho et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the reference discloses the following compound:
,
where X1 is hydrogen and X3 is a methyl group. This compound does not correspond to Compound 83 of the claims:
.
However, the reference discloses the following formula:
,
which encompasses the fluorene and carbazole bonding in Compound 83 of the claims.
Regarding claim 13, Cho et al discloses the following compound (Page 50 - Compound B-20):
.
This compound corresponds to Formula 1 of the claims:
,
where X3 to X8 are hydrogen. X2 corresponds to Formula 2 of the claims:
,
where:
R1 and R2 are hydrogen;
n2 is four (4);
n1 is three (3);
R3 and R4 are methyl groups, i.e. unsubstituted C1 alkyls; and
Y1 is a phenyl substituted carbazole-2-yl group. The carbazole meets the requirement in the claim that when Y1 is a carbazole group, the carbazole group is a carbazole-2-yl group.
In the compound disclosed by the reference X2 corresponds to Formula 2 and X1 is hydrogen, while the claims require that when X2 is represented by Formula 2, X1 or X3 is a substituted or unsubstituted C1-4 alkyl. However, the compound disclosed by the reference is but one embodiment, and attention is directed to the following formula ([0011] – Formula B):
,
where Ar21, corresponding to the naphthyl group in Compound B-182 above, can be substituted with an alkyl group such as methyl, ethyl, propyl, and butyl ([0031], [0034], and [0037]). Accordingly, the disclosure of the reference encompasses an embodiment where X1 or X3 in Formula 1 of the claims is a methyl, ethyl, propyl, or butyl group.
While the reference fails to exemplify the presently claimed compound nor can the claimed compound be "clearly envisaged" from the reference as required to meet the standard of anticipation, nevertheless, in light of the overlap between the claimed compound and the compound disclosed by the reference, absent a showing of criticality for the presently claimed compound, it is urged that it would have been within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the compound which is both disclosed by the reference and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 14, Cho et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, the compound corresponds to Formula 1-2 of the claims:
,
where Xb is C1-4 alkyl; and X21 to X26 are hydrogen.
Regarding claim 15, Cho et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, Xb is an unsubstituted methyl group.
Regarding claim 16, Cho et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, X21 to X26 are hydrogen.
Regarding claim 17, Cho et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the reference discloses the following compound:
.
In this compound, the diarylamino group does not correspond to Formula 2-1 of the claims, i.e.
,
given the difference in bonding of the fluorene to the central nitrogen atom. However, the reference discloses the following general formula:
,
where the bonding of the fluorine to the central nitrogen encompasses the bonding in Formula 2-1 of the claims.
Regarding claim 18, Cho et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the reference discloses the following compound:
.
This compound corresponds to recited Formula 2-2:
,
where R21 and R22 are both hydrogens.
Regarding claim 19, Cho et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the reference discloses the following compound:
.
In this compound, the diarylamino group is a naphthyl group and not a benzene group as required by Formula 2-3 of the claims:
However, the reference discloses the following formula:
,
where L3 can be a C6 arylene ([0029]), where R5 in Formula 2-3 corresponds to the carbazole-2-yl group, where m1 is one (1).
Regarding claim 20, Cho et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the reference discloses the following compound:
.
where X1 is hydrogen and X3 is a methyl group. This compound does not correspond to Compound 83 of the claims:
.
However, the reference discloses the following formula:
,
which encompasses the fluorene and carbazole bonding in Compound 83 of the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/28/2016 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that Cho does not contain a teaching, suggestion, or motivation to modify the connectivity of the carbazole group from the 3-position as found in Compound B-182:
cited in the previous Office Action to the 2-positon as required in the as-amended claims. However, as discussed in the rejections set forth above, the reference discloses Compound B-20 (see Page 50):
,
where the carbazole is bonded to the central nitrogen at the 2-position. Accordingly, it is the Office’s position that the reference does provide an explicit teaching of a carabazole-2-yl group as required by the present claim.
As evidence of unexpected results of the claimed cargazol-2-yl position, Applicants point to the 37 C.F.R. 1.132 Declaration filed on 8/28/2026 which compares Comparative Compound 7:
,
where the carbazole is bonded at the 3-position to the central nitrogen, to Inventive Compound 5:
,
where the carbazole is bonded at the 2-position as required in the as-amended claims. While the Declaration presents a proper side-by-side comparison, it is significant to note that as discussed in the rejections above, the reference discloses the following compound:
,
and in this compound the carbazole is bonded at the 2-position as required by the present claims. Given that the reference explicitly exemplifies a compound with the required carbazole bonding position, it is the Office’s position that the reference recognizes the criticality of the carbazole-2-yl bonding, and it is for this reason that the data presented in the Declaration is not found to be persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER C KOLLIAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786