DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1, 2, 5 and 6) in the reply filed on 1/9/2026 is acknowledged. The election of species is moot as none of the species belong to the elected Group I.
Claims 3-4 and 7-18 have been withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected subject matter, and claims 1-2 and 5-6 have been considered on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daley et al. (US20010033835A1) in view of Mintz et al. (2014, Molecular Therapy), Sagaradze et al. (2019, Int. J. Mol. Sci.), Vallee et al. (WO86/06079) and Sahoo et al. (2012, Circ. Res.)
Daley et al. teach a method of culturing CD34+ hematopoietic cells using a serum free medium comprising a basal medium, human serum albumin and growth factors (paras. 102, 121, 123-124, 146; Example 2). The CD34+ hematopoietic cells of Daley et al. are considered as progenitor cells or comprise progenitor cells (para.53 and 147). Daley et al. teach that the SFM is StemProTM-34 SFM comprising a basal medium with various supplement (para.107; Table 1). Thus, Daley et al. teach the step (a) of claim 1.
Daley et al. do not teach a step of obtaining conditioned medium from culturing CD34+ hematopoietic cells in a serum-free medium without HSA or growth factors.
Mintz et al. teach the method of producing a conditioned medium (CM) from human CD34+ hematopoietic stem cell using a serum-free medium for using the CM for tissue repair (see entire document; p.150, 1st col.).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to use the CD34+ hematopoietic cells of Daley et al. to produce conditioned medium for the purpose of utilizing in tissue repair taught by Mintz et al. with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding the step (b) directed to removing the first serum-free culture medium from the progenitor cells, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to remove the culture medium utilized for culturing the CD34+ hematopoietic cells of Daley et al. in order to collect conditioned medium of the CD34+ hematopoietic cells of Mintz et al.
Regarding the step (c) directed to culturing the progenitor cells in a second serum-free medium without HSA or growth factors, Daley et al. in view of Mintz et al. do not teach the limitation.
Sagaradze et al. teach that the conditioned medium is collected using basal medium, DMEM-LG (low glucose) or DMEM with NutriStem XF Basal Medium (p.10, 4.3. Collection of MSC conditioned medium). Sagaradze et al. teach that it is important to note that only basal media without nutrimental supplement (FBS or NutriStem supplement) were used for MSC conditioning (p.2, 2.2. Development of MSC-CM Bioprocessing Protocol). Sagaradze et al. compared two basal media for the secreted growth factors or other proteins.
Vallee et al. teach that a method of purifying a protein having an angiogenic activity from a conditioned medium is obtained by culturing cells in serum-free and exogenous protein-free medium (p.29, claim 21). While the cells of Vallee et al. were cultured in a medium (DME; basal medium) comprising FBS for a routine maintenance, these cells were cultured in a DME without FBS for obtaining conditioned medium (Example 1).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to try using the serum-free basal medium taught by Daley et al. without human serum albumin or growth factors for collecting the CM of the CD34+ hematopoietic cells taught by Mintz et al. A person of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to do so because Sagaradze et al. and Vallee et al. teach the use of a basal medium without any other nutrimental supplement (exogenous protein-free). While the types of cells and culture medium (basal medium) of Sagaradze et al. or Vallee et al. is different from those taught by Daley et al. in view of Mintz et al., however, one skilled in the art would recognize that the protocol for collecting a conditioned medium taught by Sagaradze et al. and Vallee et al. can be applicable to any type of cells. Furthermore, one skilled in the art would understand that the presence of exogenous supplement as the purpose of the collecting/obtaining conditioned medium is to use the cell-secreted factors not the factors added to the culture medium, particularly animal proteins. As serum albumin and growth factors supplemented to the basal medium as taught by Daley et al., one skilled in the art would recognize that in order to obtain a conditioned medium comprising solely those secreted from the cells, these exogenous proteins should be removed from the medium for the conditioned medium as taught by Sagaradze et al. and Vallee et al. Furthermore, one skilled in the art would recognize that such exogenous proteins could introduce unwanted risk of contamination in preparing the conditioned medium as a therapeutic composition or the composition comprising extracellular vesicles including exosomes isolated from the conditioned medium as they are manufactured as a therapeutic composition for their angiogenic activity according to Sahoo et al. (see abstract).
Regarding claim 2 directed to the concentrating or enriching for a small extracellular vesicle-enriched fraction (sEV) from the medium, while Mintz et al. teach the use of conditioned medium for tissue repair, however, it does not disclose that the step of concentrating or enriching the sEV. However, it is also well known in the art that exosomes are isolated from the conditioned medium of CD34+ stem cell and utilized for their proangiogenic paracrine activity according to Sahoo et al. Sahoo et al. teach that CD34+ exosomes are enriched with pro-angiogenic microRNAs (p.4, 2nd para.). It is noted that the exosomes of Sahoo et al. are considered the same as sEV of the instant claims.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to enrich the conditioned medium of Daley et al. in view of Mintz et al., Sagaradze et al. and Vallee et al. to obtain CD34+ exosomes for therapeutic angiogenesis with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 5-6 directed to the therapeutic composition suitable for administration to a patient comprising producing a secretome-containing composition of claim 1 or sEV of claim 2, the combined teachings of the cited references would meet the step of producing a secretome-containing composition or an sEV-containing composition, i.e. conditioned medium or enriched exosomes, as discussed above.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/TAEYOON KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1631