DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and response filed on 6/24/2026 has been received and entered into the case.
Claims 3-4 and 7-18 have been withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected subject matter, and claims 1-2 and 5-6 have been considered on the merits. All arguments have been considered.
The claim rejection under 35 USC 103 based on Daley et al. has been withdrawn due to the instant amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (New Rejection)
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Menasche et al. (US 2019/0255219; IDS ref.) in view of Burridge et al. (2011, PLoS ONE) and Sagaradze et al. (2019, Int. J. Mol. Sci.; of record)
Regarding claim 1, step (a), Menasche et al. teach a method of culturing cardiac progenitor cells derived from induced pluripotent cells (iPS) in a serum-free medium comprising FGF2 (Example 1, para. 112). This method is for proliferating the cardiac progenitor cells.
Menasche et al. do not particularly teach the use of human serum albumin (HSA).
Burridge et al. teach the method of differentiating hPSC into cardiomyocyte, and the method includes steps of hEB formation and mesoderm induction and then cardiac specification (Phase 2 and 3) (see Fig. 1A), and one skilled in the art would recognize that the cells in Phase 2 and 3 of the Burridge et al. are cardiac progenitor cells as they would differentiate into cardiomyocytes. According to Burridge et al., Phases 2 and 3 involve the culture medium comprising a basal medium (RPMI medium), BMP4 and FGF2 (growth factors) for Phase 2; and RPMI+FBS or RPMI+HSA (human serum albumin) for Phase 3. Burridge et al. teach the use of human serum albumin is required for serum-free medium to maintain cardiac differentiation (Table 1).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to use HSA taught by Burridge et al. as a supplement to a serum-free medium of Menasche et al. with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding the steps (b)-(c), Menasche et al. teach the step of producing EVs by the cardiac progenitors cultivated in serum-free medium (para. 112). However, they do not teach the serum-free medium without HSA or growth factors.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to prepare the conditioned medium and subsequently EVs from the cells cultivated in a serum-free medium without any supplements. For example, Sagaradze et al. teach that the conditioned medium is collected using basal medium, DMEM-LG (low glucose) or DMEM with NutriStem XF Basal Medium (p.10, 4.3. Collection of MSC conditioned medium). Sagaradze et al. teach that it is important to note that only basal media without nutrimental supplement (FBS or NutriStem supplement) were used for MSC conditioning because of high-risk influence on the biosafety of a final product in clinical application (p.2 and 8).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to use the serum-free medium of Menasche et al. without comprising any supplement, i.e. HSA and FGF2, as the additional supplements are not desired for preparing therapeutic composition comprising the secretome, i.e. EVs and other factors secreted from the cells.
Regarding claim 2 directed to the step of concentrating or enriching for a small extracellular vesicle-enriched fraction (sEV) from the medium, Menasche et al. teach the isolation of EVs (para. 112), and this step is understood that the EVs are isolated from the conditioned medium obtained by culturing the cardiac progenitors in a serum-free medium. By doing so, Menasche et al. would inherently meet the step of concentrating or enriching sEV from the medium.
Regarding claims 5-6 directed to the therapeutic composition suitable for administration to a patient comprising producing a secretome-containing composition of claim 1 or sEV of claim 2, the combined teachings of the cited references would meet the step of producing a secretome-containing composition (i.e. conditioned medium obtained from culturing cardiac progenitor) or an sEV-containing composition (i.e. enriched exosomes from the conditioned medium) as discussed above.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on Daley et al. in view of Mintz et al., Sagaradze et al., Vallee et al. and Sahoo et al. have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument due to the instant amendment.
The new claim rejection based on Menasche et al. in view of Burridge et al. and Sagaradze et al. is presented above due to the instant amendment limiting the progenitor cells being cardiac progenitor cells.
Relevant Prior Art
The following prior art is relevant to the subject matter of the instant claims but not cited in the claim rejection(s).
Cornwell et al. (2018, Stem Cell Research): Cornwell et al. teach that cardiac progenitor/stem cell, cardiac colony forming unit-fibroblasts (cCFU-F) are cultured in a serum-free medium comprising growth factors for self-renewal.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAEYOON KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1631