DETAILED ACTION
Withdrawal of Previously Indicated Allowable Subject Matter
1. The indicated allowability of previously presented claims 23-25 are withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference to Huang et al. (US 10,553,733). Rejections based on the newly cited reference follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 21-22 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (US 2011/0260059; hereinafter Jiang) in view of Huang et al. (US 10,553,733; hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 21, Jiang, in fig. 6a, discloses a semiconductor device, comprising: a
visible light photodiode (630/640 on the right side of the dotted line, see [0067]) in a
semiconductor layer 606; and a near infrared photodiode (630/640 on the left side of the dotted
line, see [0066]) in the semiconductor layer 606, wherein the near infrared photodiode is adjacent
to the visible light photodiode, and wherein the near infrared photodiode comprises at one of a
material comprising a type III periodic element, or a material comprising a type V periodic
element ([0072]).
Jiang discloses a semiconductor device as above but fails to disclose a region formed in the semiconductor layer over at least one of the near infrared photodiode or the visible light photodiode, wherein the region comprises a trench including a plurality of angled walls.
However, Huang, fig. 8, discloses a region 814 formed in the semiconductor layer 102 over at least one of the photodiode, wherein the region comprises a trench 816 including a plurality of angled walls. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a plurality of angled walls structure as taught by Huang in order to increase the amount of light absorbed by the photodiode.
Regarding claim 22, Jiang discloses further comprising a trench isolation structure 645
between the visible light photodiode and the near infrared photodiode, wherein the trench
isolation structure 645 comprises a dielectric layer formed in a trench extending in the
semiconductor layer 606 (fig. 6a).
Regarding claim 24, Huang discloses wherein the plurality of angled walls are formed in a periodic structure (fig. 8).
Regarding claim 25, Huang discloses wherein the region 814 is connected to a trench isolation structure 823 that is disposed between the photodiodes 104a/104b (fig. 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 1-15 and 26 are allowed.
4. The following is an examiner's statement of reason for allowance: the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest at least the claim limitations of " a near infrared light emitting diode within the layer of the silicon material and comprising: a second epitaxial material; and a deep trench isolation structure between the near infrared photodiode and the near infrared light emitting diode" (claim 1); or "a plurality of near infrared
light emitting diodes comprising the selectively grown epitaxial material and dispersed near, and
along, a perimeter of the semiconductor device; and a seal ring structure between the plurality of
near infrared light emitting diodes and the array of near infrared photodiodes" (claim 8) as
instantly claimed and in combination with the remaining elements.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
6. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to David Vu whose telephone number is (571) 272-1798. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:00am to 5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempt to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Steven Loke H can be reached on (571) 272-1657. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/DAVID VU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818