DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8, 11, 13, 15-16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (US 2012/0303270) in view of Su (US 2012/0303264) hereinafter referred to as Su(2)
As to claim 1 Su discloses a method comprising:
at a computer system in communication with one or more input devices and one or more output devices:
receiving, via the one or more input devices, a request to present navigation directions from a first physical location to a second physical location(Paragraph 43 “or example, to determine directions for a route, the map navigation tool (210) provides a start location (typically, the current location of the computing device with the map navigation tool (210)) and an end location for a destination (e.g., an address or other specific location) as part of a request for map data to the OS (250).”); and
in response to receiving the request to present the navigation directions:
in accordance with a determination that a current location of the computer system is greater than a threshold distance from the first physical location, presenting, via the one or more output devices, an orientation cue to orient a user of the computer system from the current location to the first physical location (Paragraph 73 “FIG. 10 shows a technique for outputting and then selectively suppressing off-route feedback based on whether an updated location is within an end-of-route buffer area. A computing device such as a mobile computing device can perform the technique (1000). For example, a mobile computing device identifies (1010) a first location of the mobile computing device (e.g., a mobile computing device held or controlled by a user). The mobile computing device outputs (1020) off-route feedback based at least in part on the first location and a route defined by a map navigation tool. For example, the mobile computing device outputs off-route feedback if the device is off-route, but not within an end-of-route buffer area. The mobile computing devices identifies (1030) an updated location of the mobile computing device (e.g., the location of the mobile computing device is updated after a user holding the mobile computing device has moved some distance). The mobile computing device determines (1040) whether the updated location is within an end-of-route buffer area associated with the route…..A determination to output off-route feedback can be based on movement direction. For example, a mobile computing device can output off-route feedback if a movement direction indicates that a user is on-route but moving in the wrong direction (e.g., away from the destination).”);
and
in accordance with a determination that the current location of the computer system is within the threshold distance of the first physical location, forgoing presenting the orientation cue (Paragraph 82 “In the example shown in FIG. 11a, the icon (1102) is located within the start-of-route buffer area (1130). The movement direction indicated by the icon (1102) in FIG. 11a is toward the start location. FIG. 11a represents a situation where off-route feedback can be suppressed.”).
Su does not explicitly disclose while the current location of the computer system is greater than the first threshold distance from the first physical location and while presenting the orientation cue, detecting movement of the computer system to a respective location from the current location; and
Su(2) teaches in accordance with a determination that the current location of the computer system is within the first threshold distance of the first physical location, forgoing presenting the orientation cue (Claim 17 “he computing device of claim 12, wherein the method further comprises based on the determining that the location of the computing device is not on the predetermined route, providing an alert that the location is not on the predetermined route, the alert comprising an off-route audio cue, an off-route speech announcement, displayed text, a map orientation, or recolored directions.”[when the device is on a location than an alert would not be needed], Paragraph 67 “In a further implementation, the direction of the map displayed by the computing device can be used as the alert. For example, when the computing device's location is on the predetermined route the map can be oriented based on the direction of travel of the computing device (e.g., the direction of travel being toward the top of the display,and when the computing device's location is not on the predetermined route the map can stop orienting base on the direction of travel. When the map is not orienting based on the direction of travel, it can be in a static orientation (e.g. north being toward the top of the display) indicating that the computing device is not on the route.”, Paragraph 68 “In yet another implementation, the user can scroll up or down to see the list of de-emphasized directions for the route. Also a combination of alerts can be used. For example, an audio cue, a speech announcement, text, a map orientation, and other alerts can be used together or in subsets as the alert to the user. In some implementations, the alert and the reroute option notice can be provided above a list item (e.g. waypoint and associated text) when the list item is an upcoming, future or previous turn.”).
while the current location of the computer system is greater than the first threshold distance from the first physical location and while presenting the orientation cue, detecting movement of the computer system to a respective location from the current location (Paragraph 62 “In one implementation, the computing device makes periodic checks (e.g. n checks per unit of time) to determine if the device is on the route. During a check, the device can determine a distance from the current location of the mobile device and a location on the route. The determined distance can be compared with a threshold distance set at a predetermined distance (e.g., m meters). If the distance exceeds the threshold distance, then the device can be determined to be off of the route, and if the distance does not exceed the threshold distance, then the device can be determined to be on the route. Using a threshold distance can account for imprecisions in GPS component information and the calculation of the location and distances.”, Paragraph 65 “The location of the computing device (800) is illustrated in the map (805) at graphical icon (825). When it is determined that the computing device is not on the predetermined route, a re-route option (830) is provided. The re-route option can be selected by a user. Also, when it is determined that the computing device is not on the predetermined route, an alert is provided indicating to the user that the location of the computing device is not on the predetermined route. The alert is an audio alert (835), a text alert (840), and de-emphasized list items (845)”)); and
In response to detecting the movement of the computer system to the respective location:
In accordance with a determination that the respective location of the computer system is within a second threshold distance, less than the first threshold distance, from the first physical location(Paragraph 60 “In another example, while the re-route option is available, a determination is made that a subsequent location of the computing device is on the predetermined route. For example, a determination is made that a checked subsequent location (e.g., a current location after the re-route option is provided and made available) of the device is on the predetermined route and that the computing device has returned to the predetermined route, and in response to the determination, the re-route option is removed automatically (e.g., removed without user input) and made unavailable.”, Paragraph 62 “During a check, the device can determine a distance from the current location of the mobile device and a location on the route. The determined distance can be compared with a threshold distance set at a predetermined distance (e.g., m meters). If the distance exceeds the threshold distance, then the device can be determined to be off of the route, and if the distance does not exceed the threshold distance, then the device can be determined to be on the route. Using a threshold distance can account for imprecisions in GPS component information and the calculation of the location and distances.”):
ceasing presenting the orientation cue (Paragraph 60 “For example, a user driving a car can make a wrong turn deviating from the directions of the route, and then the user makes correcting turns to return to the route without receiving new directions to the route from the device. In some implementations, a re-route option is provided to the user while performing the manual reroute and the user does not select the re-routing option before returning to the route (e.g., the user ignores the re-route option). In one implementation, after the determination that the device has returned to the route, the re-route option can be removed automatically in response to the determination so that it is no longer available for selection, and the predetermined route can again be displayed for the user”[reroute option removed and the cue is not presented anymore]); and
Presenting navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location (Paragraph 60 “For example, a user driving a car can make a wrong turn deviating from the directions of the route, and then the user makes correcting turns to return to the route without receiving new directions to the route from the device. In some implementations, a re-route option is provided to the user while performing the manual reroute and the user does not select the re-routing option before returning to the route (e.g., the user ignores the re-route option). In one implementation, after the determination that the device has returned to the route, the re-route option can be removed automatically in response to the determination so that it is no longer available for selection, and the predetermined route can again be displayed for the user”)..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Su to include the teachings of removing the orientation cue for the purpose of cancelling the off route alerts when the user comes back to the original route.
As to claim 3 Su discloses a method further comprising:
in response to receiving the request to present the navigation directions:
displaying, via a display generation component in communication with the computer system, an indication of a navigation route from the first physical location to the second physical location (Paragraph 43-45).
As to claim 4 Su discloses a method further comprising:
in response to receiving the request to present the navigation directions: in accordance with the determination that the current location of the computer system is within the second threshold distance of the first physical location, initiating navigation from the first physical location to the second physical location according to the navigation directions(Paragraph 76).
As to claim 6 Su discloses a method wherein the orientation cue includes audio pulses and the characteristic is a time period between the audio pulses (Paragraph 68).
As to claim 8 Su discloses a method wherein the orientation cue includes tactile pulses and the characteristic is a time period between the tactile pulses(Paragraph 59).
As to claim 11 Su discloses a method wherein:
in response to receiving the request to present the navigation directions and in accordance with the determination that the current location of the computer system is greater than the threshold distance from the first physical location:
in accordance with a determination that a bearing of the computer system relative to the first location is within a predefined range of orientations, the orientation cue has a characteristic having a first value(Paragraph 82); and
in accordance with a determination that the bearing of the computer system relative to the first location is within the predefined range of orientations, the orientation cue has the characteristic having a second value different from the first value(Paragraph 82).
As to claim 13 Su discloses a method further comprising:
in response to receiving the request to present the navigation directions:
in accordance with the determination that the computer system is within the threshold distance of the first physical location when the input corresponding to the request to present the navigation directions is received, presenting the navigation directions without presenting the orientation cue (Paragraph 60).
As to claim 15 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 1.
As to claim 16 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 1.
As to claim 18 Su(2) discloses a method further comprising:
In response to detecting the movement of the computer system to the respective location:
In accordance with a determination that the respective location of the computer system is greater than the second threshold distance form the first physical location, maintaining presenting the orientation cue without presenting the navigation directions (Paragraph 60, 67).
Claims 12, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (US 2012/0303270) in view of Su(2) (US 2012/0303264) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of in view of Andrew (US 2018/0283891)
As to claim 12 Andrew teaches a method wherein:
in response to receiving the request to present the navigation directions and in accordance with the determination that the current location of the computer system is greater than the threshold distance from the first physical location:
while the distance between the computer system and the first physical location is a first distance, a bearing of the computer system relative to the first physical location is a third bearing and there is a physical occlusion between the computer system and the first physical location, the orientation cue has a first set of characteristics (Paragraph 32), and
while the distance between the computer system and the first physical location is the first distance, the bearing of the computer system relative to the first physical location is the third bearing and there is not the physical occlusion between the computer system and the first physical location, the orientation cue has the first set of characteristics(Paragraph 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Su to include the teachings of presenting orientation cue with a different characteristic for the purpose of guiding the user along the route.
As to claim 17 Su discloses in accordance with a determination that the current location of the computer system is a first distance from the first physical location, the orientation cue with a characteristic having a first value (Paragraph 68 “In the example shown in FIG. 5a, the icon (502) is located on the route (510). The movement direction indicated by the icon (502) in FIG. 5a is considered an on-route direction (movement toward the end location))…. FIGS. 5c and 5d represent exemplary situations in which an off-route event could be raised, except that the respective locations represented by the icon (502) are within the end-of-route buffer area (540), so off-route feedback can be suppressed. In the example shown in FIG. 5e, the icon (502) is located off the route (510) but within the arrival area (530). FIG. 5e represents an exemplary situation in which an arrive-at-destination event can be raised and further off-route events can be disabled.”, Paragraph 82 “In the example shown in FIG. 11a, the icon (1102) is located within the start-of-route buffer area (1130). The movement direction indicated by the icon (1102) in FIG. 11a is toward the start location. FIG. 11a represents a situation where off-route feedback can be suppressed. In the example shown in FIG. 11b, the icon (1102) is located off the route (1110) and outside the start-of-route buffer area (1130). However, FIG. 11b represents another situation where off-route feedback can be suppressed. For example, if a user generated the route (1110) at the location indicated by the icon (1102), off-route feedback can be suppressed while the user proceeds to the start location (as shown in FIG. 11c) or joins the route downstream from the start location (as shown in FIG. 11d).”), and
in accordance with a determination that the current location of the computer system is a second distance different from the first distance from the first physical location, the orientation cue with the characteristic having a second value different from the first value(Paragraph 68 “FIG. 5b represents a situation where an off-route event can be raised, and off-route feedback can be presented to a user (e.g., via visual output or audio output)., Paragraph 82).;
Su does not explicitly disclose when the computer system has a first bearing relative to the first physical location, presenting the orientation cue includes presenting the orientation cue with a characteristic having a first value;
Andrew teaches when the computer system has a first bearing relative to the first physical location, presenting the orientation cue includes presenting the orientation cue with a characteristic having a first value (Paragraph 32 “Using this information, the device 104 may calculate a distance 204 to the next navigation point 110, and a heading offset 206 to the next navigation point 110 (e.g., an angle between the heading 202 of the user 102 and the cardinal direction of the next navigation point 110). In this example scenario, as the user 102 travels along a straight road (with a relatively fixed heading 202), the heading offset 206 increases as the distance 204 to the next navigation point 110 diminishes, due to the approaching navigation point 110 that is positioned toward the right side of the user 102. Further, the device 104 may periodically 212 present, to the user 102, a guidance audio cue 208 that indicates the distance 204 to the next navigation point 110 and the heading offset 206 to the next navigation point 110. In this example scenario 200, the device 104 comprises audio output components that are capable of generating an audio spatial field 210, such as a plurality of speakers arranged within a vehicle of the user 102, a binaural headset, or a simulated three-dimensional audio field. The guidance audio cue 208 is presented to the user 102 that indicates the distance (or, in this example, the proximity) to the next navigation point 110, e.g., by increasing the volume level of the guidance audio cue 208 as the distance to the next navigation point 110 is reduced. Additionally, the guidance audio cue 208 is positioned within the audiospatial field 210 to indicate the heading offset 206. For instance, when the next navigation point 110 is far away and approximately straightforward, the guidance audio cue 208 is presented at an approximately forward-facing location in the audiospatial field 210 (e.g., the guidance audio cue 208 may be played through a binaural speaker set with approximately equal volume through each speaker). However, when the user 102 approaches the next navigation point 110 and the heading offset 206 indicates a steadily increasing angle toward the user's right-hand side, the guidance audio cue 208 is positioned at an increasingly rightward position in the audiospatial field 210 (e.g., a binaural speaker set may present the cue with increasing volume in the right speaker or the right ear of the user 102, and a diminishing volume in the left speaker or left ear of the user 102). In this manner, the guidance audio cues 208 that the device 104 periodically presents to the user 102 may assist the user 102 in understanding the position of the next navigation point 110 relative to the current position 114 of the user 102, in accordance with the techniques presented herein.”);
and the computer system has a second bearing relative to the first physical location different from the first bearing, presenting the orientation cue with the characteristic having second value different form the first value(Paragraph 32 “Using this information, the device 104 may calculate a distance 204 to the next navigation point 110, and a heading offset 206 to the next navigation point 110 (e.g., an angle between the heading 202 of the user 102 and the cardinal direction of the next navigation point 110). In this example scenario, as the user 102 travels along a straight road (with a relatively fixed heading 202), the heading offset 206 increases as the distance 204 to the next navigation point 110 diminishes, due to the approaching navigation point 110 that is positioned toward the right side of the user 102. Further, the device 104 may periodically 212 present, to the user 102, a guidance audio cue 208 that indicates the distance 204 to the next navigation point 110 and the heading offset 206 to the next navigation point 110. In this example scenario 200, the device 104 comprises audio output components that are capable of generating an audiospatial field 210, such as a plurality of speakers arranged within a vehicle of the user 102, a binaural headset, or a simulated three-dimensional audio field. The guidance audio cue 208 is presented to the user 102 that indicates the distance (or, in this example, the proximity) to the next navigation point 110, e.g., by increasing the volume level of the guidance audio cue 208 as the distance to the next navigation point 110 is reduced. Additionally, the guidance audio cue 208 is positioned within the audiospatial field 210 to indicate the heading offset 206. For instance, when the next navigation point 110 is far away and approximately straightforward, the guidance audio cue 208 is presented at an approximately forward-facing location in the audiospatial field 210 (e.g., the guidance audio cue 208 may be played through a binaural speaker set with approximately equal volume through each speaker). However, when the user 102 approaches the next navigation point 110 and the heading offset 206 indicates a steadily increasing angle toward the user's right-hand side, the guidance audio cue 208 is positioned at an increasingly rightward position in the audiospatial field 210 (e.g., a binaural speaker set may present the cue with increasing volume in the right speaker or the right ear of the user 102, and a diminishing volume in the left speaker or left ear of the user 102). In this manner, the guidance audio cues 208 that the device 104 periodically presents to the user 102 may assist the user 102 in understanding the position of the next navigation point 110 relative to the current position 114 of the user 102, in accordance with the techniques presented herein.”);.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Su to include the teachings of presenting orientation cue with a different characteristic for the purpose of guiding the user along the route.
Claims 2, 7, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (US 2012/0303270) in view Su(2) (US 2012/0303264) applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Cummings (US 12,287,220)
As to claim 2 Cummings teaches discloses a method wherein presenting the orientation cue is in accordance with a determination that a setting is active on the computer system, and the method further comprises:
in accordance with the determination that the current location of the computer system is greater than the threshold distance from the first physical location and in accordance with a determination that the setting is not active on the computer system, forgoing presenting the orientation cue (Column 6 lines 16-31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Su to include the teachings of allowing the user to setup whether or not to provide the orientation cue for the purpose of improving the user experience.
As to claim 7 Cummings teaches a method wherein:
in response to receiving the request to present the navigation directions and in accordance with the determination that the current location of the computer system is greater than the threshold distance from the first physical location:
in accordance with a determination that the current location of the computer system is greater than a second threshold distance greater than the threshold distance from the first physical location, the orientation cue has a second characteristic different from the characteristic having a first value(Column 6 lines 16-31), and
in accordance with a determination that the current location of the computer system is less than the second threshold distance from the first physical location, the orientation cue has the second characteristic having a second value different from the first value(Column 6 lines 16-31).
As to claim 9 Cummings teaches a method further comprising:
in response to receiving the request to present the navigation directions and in accordance with the determination that the current location of the computer system is greater than the threshold distance from the first physical location:
detecting a change in bearing of the computer system relative to the first physical location(Column 6 lines 16-31);
and
in response to detecting the change in the bearing of the computer system relative to the first physical location:
in accordance with a determination that the change in bearing of the computer system relative to the first physical location includes the bearing of the computer system relative to the first physical location changing from the bearing of the computer system being outside of a predefined range of orientations to being inside the predefined range of orientations, presenting a second orientation cue when the computer system is positioned at a threshold angle of the predefined range of orientations(Column 6 lines 16-31); and
in accordance with a determination that the change in bearing of the computer system relative to the first location includes the bearing of the computer system relative to the first physical location changing from the bearing of the computer system being inside the predefined range of orientations to being outside of the predefined range of orientations, presenting a third orientation cue when the computer system is positioned at the threshold angle of the predefined range of orientations(Column 6 lines 16-31).
As to claim 10 Cummings teaches a method wherein the second orientation cue has a first intensity and the third orientation cue has a second intensity different from the first intensity(Column 6 lines 16-31).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 6-13, 15-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
IMRAN K. MUSTAFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3668
/IMRAN K MUSTAFA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668
8/27/2026