DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and Claims 1-6 in the reply filed on September 16, 2025 is acknowledged. Thus, Claim 7 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 16, 2025.
Specification
The title of the invention is broad and not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. As to claim 5, the limitation “the polymer optical material” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. Thus, the limitation renders the claim indefinite and clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0062674 A1 to Kwon et al. (“Kwon”). As to claim 1, Kwon discloses an LED light board, comprising: a light board body (117), wherein a surface of the light board body (117) is provided with a plurality of LED light-emitting chips (300) at intervals, and a region of the surface of the light board body (117) without the LED light-emitting chips (300) configured is provided with a first reflecting layer (400); a fixing part (700), wherein the fixing part (700) is transparent and has a bottom side faced towards the light board body (117), the bottom side is provided with a plurality of grooves (at 800) corresponding to each of the LED light-emitting chips (300), and a region of the bottom side of the fixing part (700) without the grooves (at 800) configured is provided with a second reflecting layer (600); and an adhesive layer (800), wherein the adhesive layer (800) is transparent, the fixing part (700) is fixedly connected with the light board body (117) by the adhesive layer (800), the fixing part (700) is located above the light board body (117), and each of the LED light-emitting chips (300) are matched with each of the grooves (at 800) (See Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 5, Fig. 7, ¶ 0055-¶ 0061, ¶ 0065-¶ 0066, ¶ 0073-¶ 0075, ¶ 0078, ¶ 0081-¶ 0084) (Notes: the adhesive is met by the silicone material as recited in claim 6). As to claim 2, Kwon further discloses wherein the LED light-emitting chips (300) arranged in a dot matrix are configured on the surface of the light board body (117) (See Fig. 1, ¶ 0055, ¶ 0083). As to claim 4, Kwon further discloses wherein the fixing part (700) is made of glass material or polymer optical material (See ¶ 0078). As to claim 5, Kwon further discloses wherein the polymer optical material is selected from at least one of PMMA, PS and PET (See ¶ 0078). As to claim 6, Kwon further discloses wherein the adhesive layer (800) comprises silicone material or UV adhesive (See ¶ 0084).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0062674 A1 to Kwon et al. (“Kwon”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0284641 A1 to Lin (“Lin”). The teaching of Kwon has been discussed above.
As to claim 3, Kwon in view of Lin further discloses wherein the first reflecting layer (400) and the second reflecting layer (600) comprise reflective inks (See Kwon Fig. 5, Fig. 7, ¶ 0065, ¶ 0074 and Lin ¶ 0025) such that the reflective inks enhance the light output of the LED light board.
Conclusion
/DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815