DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan (US Publication No.2019/0245122) in view of Ibbetson et al (US Publication No. 2005/0093430).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Fan discloses an LED package device and a method, comprising an LED chip Fig 3, 2 and a transparent groove Fig 3, 5 (0043-0045), wherein a quantum dot layer Fig 3, 3 is provided inside the transparent groove Fig 3, 5, a barrier film layer Fig 3, 42 is provided on the quantum dot layer Fig 3, 3, side walls of the barrier film layer are connected and sealed with side walls of the transparent groove Fig 3, the transparent groove Fig 3, 5 is inverted. Fan discloses all the limitations except for the arrangement of the transparent groove relative to a sealing adhesive. Whereas Ibbetson discloses an LED package device Fig 3-4, comprising a substrate Fig 3, 14, an LED chip Fig 3, 12 arranged on the substrate Fig 3, 14 and a transparent groove Fig 3, 40, the substrate Fig 3, 14 being provided with a sealing adhesive layer Fig 3, 19 ¶ 0034, 0050 for cladding the LED chip ¶0034 and 0050; and a phosphor layer ¶0059 is further provided; the transparent groove is inverted on the sealing adhesive layer and connected with the sealing adhesive layer Fig 3-4, and an opening of the transparent groove is sealed by the sealing adhesive layer to cover the layers Fig 3-4. Fan and Ibbetson are analogous art because they are directed to LED package and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Fan because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of Fan to improve device efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Ibbetson discloses wherein one side of the phosphor layer is connected with the barrier film layer, and another side of the phosphor layer is connected with the sealing adhesive layer Fig 3-4.
Regarding claim 4, Ibbetson discloses wherein said providing a transparent groove comprises: dispensing a mixture of conversion material and adhesives on a bottom of the transparent groove by a dispensing process to form the conversion material layer ¶0068.
Claims 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan (US Publication No.2019/0245122) in view of Ibbetson et al (US Publication No. 2005/0093430) and in further view of Li et al (US Publication No. 2020/0075817).
Regarding claim 5, Fan and Ibbetson disclose all the limitations but silent on the process of forming the quantum dot layer. Whereas Li discloses wherein said providing a transparent groove further comprises: forming the barrier film layer on the quantum dot layer and on the side walls of the transparent groove by an evaporation process or a magnetron sputtering process ¶0076 so that the side walls of the barrier film layer are connected and sealed with the side walls of the transparent groove Fig 4. Fan and Li are analogous art because they are directed to LED package and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Fan because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of Fan and incorporate the teachings of Li as an alternative method known in the art to ease the process step.
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses wherein the barrier film layer is made of silicon oxide ¶0076.
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses wherein one side of the phosphor layer is connected with the barrier film layer, and another side of the phosphor layer is connected with the sealing adhesive layer Fig 4 ¶0054 and 0056.
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses wherein the phosphor layer is formed by a dispensing process ¶0013, 0062-0064.
Regarding claim 9, Li discloses wherein the LED chip is a blue LED chip, the phosphor layer is a red phosphor layer, and the quantum dot layer is a green quantum dot layer ¶0034-0036.
Regarding claim 10, Ibbetson discloses wherein the transparent groove is made of glass ¶0045 and Claim 6 and 7.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE A ENAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811