The arguments and amendments submitted 10/01/2025 have been considered. The merits of the claims, however, remain unpatentable as set forth below.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 8-12 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
Newly submitted claims 8-12, classified in B28D5/047, and the invention originally claimed, classified in B23K26/0853, are related as process and apparatus for its practice. These inventions are distinct if it can be shown that either: (1) the process as claimed can be practiced by another and materially different apparatus or by hand, or (2) the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice another and materially different process. (MPEP § 806.05(e)). In the instant case, the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice other processes such as trimming rods or other building components. Furthermore, the process as claimed can be practiced by another materially different apparatus. Therefore, there would be a serious search and/or examination burden for the newly submitted claims because one or more of the following reasons apply:
(a) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification;
(b) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter;
(c) the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries);
(d) the inventions are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 8-12 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 6, line 11 recites the term "a wafer whose thickness is defined by the peeling layer". It is unclear whether this wafer is the same as the one recited in base claim 1 or not. For the purpose of examination, claim 6, line 11 reads on “the wafer, which has a thickness defined by the peeling layer,”.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is:
a peeling confirmation unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (US PG Pub 20219/0287801) in view of Xiao (CN 207402587U, with citations to attached translation).
Regarding claim 1, Yamamoto teaches a peeling apparatus (Figs. 1-2, 6, 8-9) for peeling off a wafer from an ingot having a peeling layer formed therein at a depth corresponding to the wafer to be manufactured (abstract), the peeling apparatus comprising:
a holding table that holds the ingot (18);
a water supply unit (8) that forms a layer of water on an upper surface of the ingot (para. 0030);
an ultrasonic unit (6) that applies an ultrasonic wave to the upper surface of the ingot through the layer of water (para. 0026);
a peeling confirmation unit (12) that is configured to confirm peeling-off of the wafer to be manufactured, during application of the ultrasonic wave (“While the ultrasonic wave generating step is being carried out as described above, a peel-off detecting step is carried out” per para. 0049), by detecting a variation in the height of the upper surface of the ingot (paras. 0032, 0049-0050);
a wafer delivery unit (comprising 20, 28, and 14 as shown in Fig. 1) that lowers a suction pad having a suction surface facing the upper surface of the ingot to hold the wafer to be manufactured on the suction surface under suction (para. 0033), and delivers the wafer from the ingot (para. 0051 and as shown in Fig. 9); and
a controller (para. 0032);
wherein after the peeling-off of the wafer is confirmed by the peeling confirmation unit (1st sentence in para. 0051), the apparatus is configured to position the water supply unit, the ultrasonic unit, and the peeling confirmation unit at retracted positions (via a first movable arm 24 driven by a first motor 26 per para. 0051 and as shown by the double-sided arrow on arm 24 in Fig. 1) and operates the wafer delivery unit to deliver the wafer from the ingot (via a second movable arm 28 driven by a second motor 30 per para. 0051 and as shown by the double-sided arrow on arm 28 in Fig. 1).
Yamamoto does not explicitly teach the controller is configured to position the water supply unit, the ultrasonic unit, and the peeling confirmation unit at retracted positions and operates the wafer delivery unit to deliver the wafer from the ingot.
However, use of a controller configured to control a motor to position a movable arm and/or perform wafer delivery is conventional in the wafer processing arts, as taught for example by Xiao (claim 1 and Fig. 2).
Furthermore, the courts have held that automation of known functions and manual activities does not distinguish over the prior art if the automation is nothing more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions. See the following discussion from MPEP § 2114.IV. When determining whether a computer-implemented functional claim would have been obvious, examiners should note that broadly claiming an automated means to replace a manual function to accomplish the same result does not distinguish over the prior art. See Leapfrog Enters., Inc. v. Fisher-Price, Inc., 485 F.3d 1157, 1161, 82 USPQ2d 1687, 1691 (Fed. Cir. 2007) ("Accommodating a prior art mechanical device that accomplishes [a desired] goal to modern electronics would have been reasonably obvious to one of ordinary skill in designing children’s learning devices. Applying modern electronics to older mechanical devices has been commonplace in recent years."); In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958); see also MPEP § 2144.04.III. Furthermore, implementing a known function on a computer has been deemed obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if the automation of the known function on a general purpose computer is nothing more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Therefore, in view of Xiao’s teachings and the above considerations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Yamamoto’s apparatus to include a controller configured to perform Yamamoto’s steps of positioning the water supply unit, the ultrasonic unit, and the peeling confirmation unit at retracted positions and operating the wafer delivery unit to deliver the wafer from the ingot to predictably obtain automation of the these operations and the accompanying increased convenience and efficiency of wafer manufacturing.
Regarding claim 2, Yamamoto teaches a surface height of the upper surface of the ingot varies when the upper surface floats up from the ingot (paras. 0032, 0049-0050); and wherein after the start of peeling, the peeling confirmation unit confirms peeling-off of the wafer by detecting a variation in the height of the upper surface of the ingot at the time of a start of peeling (paras. 0032, 0049-0050 and as shown in Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 3, Yamamoto teaches the peeling confirmation unit confirms peeling-off of the wafer by detecting a variation in the height of the upper surface of the ingot at the time of a start of peeling which is smaller than a variation in the height at the time when the wafer is completely peeled off from the ingot and could fall off the ingot (per para. 0050 and as shown in Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, Yamamoto teaches after confirming peeling-off of the wafer, the apparatus is configured: to stop operation of the water supply unit, the ultrasonic unit, and the peeling confirmation unit (para. 0051), and to position the water supply unit, the ultrasonic unit, and the peeling confirmation unit at retracted positions, the retracted positions being positions where the water supply unit, the ultrasonic unit, and the peeling confirmation unit do not hinder lifting and lowering of the suction pad of the wafer delivery unit (para. 0051 and as shown in Figs. 1 and 9).
Use of a controller configured to control these operations is obvious in view of Xiao’s teachings for the reasons described above in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Yamamoto teaches the lowering of the suction pad (as shown in Fig. 8) comprises:
lower of the suction pad to bring the suction surface of the suction pad into contact with the upper surface of the ingot (para. 0033);
cause a negative pressure on the suction surface of the suction pad to be generated (para. 0033); and
cause the upper surface of the ingot to be held under suction on the suction surface of the suction pad (para. 0033); and thereafter, cause the suction pad of the wafer delivery unit to move upward (as shown in Fig. 9), whereby the wafer, which has a thickness is defined by the peeling layer, is peeled off from the ingot at the peeling layer and is then delivered (as shown in Fig. 9).
Use of a controller configured to control these operations is obvious in view of Xiao’s teachings for the reasons described above in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Yamamoto teaches the ingot is made of SiC (para. 0008).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto in view of Xiao, as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, further in view of Tanaka (JP 2020021874A, with citations to attached translation).
Regarding claim 5, Yamamoto and Xiao do not teach these features.
However, Tanaka teaches a wafer processing apparatus (abstract) wherein a motor-driven pivoting swing arm is used to retract various units, including a water supply unit, away from the holding table (last paragraph on pg. 9 and third paragraph on pg. 10; see also Fig. 10).
In view of Tanaka’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yamamoto’s apparatus so the ultrasonic unit is coupled to the end of a first swing arm which is moveable to cause the ultrasonic unit to be moved between a first peeling position and first retracted position; and the peeling confirmation unit and the water supply unit are coupled to the end of a second swing arm which is moveable to cause the peeling confirmation unit and the water supply unit to be moved between a second peeling position and second retracted position. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize swing arms to perform these operations to predictably obtain alternative means to Yamamoto’s linear translation arms which are suitable to perform positioning and retraction of these units and/or accompanying reduction of the size/footprint of the apparatus necessary to perform these operations in comparison to Yamamoto’s linear translation arms.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/01/2025 have been fully considered and are addressed below.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant’s arguments regarding the Swoboda reference are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection for claim 1, as presented above, and necessitated by applicant’s present amendment and addition of new features to claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JRS/
Examiner
Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745