DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a Final office action in merits. Claims 1-20, after amendment, are presently pending and have been elected and considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/19//2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0019642 A1, Dua et al. (hereinafter Dua) in view of US 2019/0295302 A1, Fu et al. (hereinafter Fu) and further in view of US 2021/0358082 A1, Zhu et al. (hereinafter Zhu).
As to claim 1, Dua discloses a processor, comprising: one or more circuits to:
generate input data according to a noise function (Fig 6, generate noise input vector; pars 0020, 0023-0024, 0027);
generate a set of features using the input data (pars 0108-0109),
determine, using a generative machine-learning model and based at least on the input data, a plurality of output images each corresponding to one of a respective plurality of image domains (Figs 3, 7, generate output images based on noise input; pars 0006, 0020, 0025); and present, using a display device, the plurality of output images (Fig 3; pars 0131).
Dua does not expressly the generative machine-learning model to:
generate, using the set of features, a plurality of morph maps each corresponding to one of the respective plurality of image domains,
Fu, in the same or similar field of endeavor, further teaches the generative machine-learning model to generate a plurality of morph maps each corresponding to one of the respective plurality of image domains (Figs 1, 3, 6, 8; pars 0037, 0040, 0048, 0105, 0113, 0126, 0132, 0161-0162) and present, using a display device, the plurality of output images (Figs 13-14, 22; par 0188).
Zhu, in the same or similar field of endeavor, further teaches the generative machine-learning model to generate a plurality of morph maps each corresponding to one of the respective plurality of image domains (Figs 2A-2B, 8; pars 0004, 0008, 0011-0012, 0014), apply the plurality of morph maps to the set of features to generate a plurality of morphed features, and generate the plurality of output images using the plurality of morphed features (Figs 2A-2B, 3, 8; pars 0014, 0019, 0023, 0044-0045, 0068-0069, 0084, 0093-0095, 0214, 0219).
Therefore, consider Dua, Fu, and Zhu’s teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the filing date of invention to incorporate Fu and Zhu’s teachings in Dua’s processor to provide corresponding output murphy images mapped to or based on input images of a generative machine-learning model/network.
As to claim 2, Dua as modified discloses the processor of claim 1, wherein the one or more circuits are to update the generative machine-learning model by applying the input data to a generative neural network of the generative machine-learning model to generate the set of features (Fu: pars 0003, 0006-0009, 0011, generative neural network of the generative machine-learning model being updated to generate a set of output features).
As to claim 3, Dua as modified discloses the processor of claim 2, wherein the one or more circuits are to update the generative machine-learning model by applying the plurality of morph maps to the set of output features to generate the set of morphed features (Fu: Figs 1, 8; pars 0037, 0039-0040, 0048, 0073, 0091, 0099, 0112-0113; Zhu: Figs 2A-2B).
As to claim 4, Dua as modified discloses the processor of claim 1, wherein the one or more circuits are to update the generative machine-learning model based at least on a plurality of outputs of a respective plurality of discriminator models that respectively receive the plurality of output images as input (Fu: Figs 2B, 2D; pars 0004, 0037, 0040, 0042, 0044, 0046), each of the respective plurality of discriminator models corresponding respectively to one of the respective plurality of image domains (Fu: Figs 2B, 2D; pars 0004, 0037, 0040, 0042, 0044, 0046).
As to claim 5, Dua as modified discloses the processor of claim 1, wherein each of the respective plurality of image domains correspond to a geometrically different domain (Fu: Fig 2C, 3; pars 0004, 0034, 0037-0039, different segmentation representing geometrically different domain).
As to claim 6, Dua as modified discloses the processor of claim 1, wherein the plurality of morph maps each comprises a pixel-wise transformation vector (Fu: pars 0004, 0039, 0061, 0076, 0117).
As to claim 7, Dua as modified discloses the processor of claim 1, wherein the generative machine-learning model comprises a plurality of rendering layers updated to generate the plurality of output images (Fu: Figs 2A-2C; pars 0133, 0143, 0154, convolution layers being rendering layers).
As to claim 8, Dua as modified discloses the processor of claim 7, wherein the plurality of rendering layers receive a sum calculated based at least on the plurality of morphed features (Fu: pars 0054, 0137-0138: Zhu: Figs 2A-2B).
As to claim 9, Dua as modified discloses the processor of claim 7, wherein the plurality of rendering layers comprise at least one shared weight value (Fu: pars 0084, 0089, 0105, 0147).
As to claim 10, Dua as modified discloses the processor of claim 1, wherein the generative machine-learning model comprises a plurality of layers, at least one layer of the generative machine-learning model being a convolution layer (Fu: Figs 1, 2A, 13; pars 0041, 0132, convolution layers in generative network).
As to claim 11, Dua as modified discloses the processor of claim 1, wherein the processor is comprised in at least one of: a control system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a perception system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a system for performing simulation operations; a system for performing digital twin operations; a system for performing light transport simulation; a system for performing collaborative content creation for 3D assets; a system for performing deep learning operations (Fu: pars 0034, 0036, 0113, deep generative models); a system implemented using an edge device; a system implemented using a robot; a system for performing conversational AI operations; a system for performing generative AI operations using a large language model (LLM) (Dua: pars 0018, 0027); a system for generating synthetic data; a system incorporating one or more virtual machines (VMs); a system implemented at least partially in a data center; or a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources.
As to claim 12, it is rejected with the same reason as set forth in claims 1 and 4.
As to claim 13, Dua as modified discloses the processor of claim 12, wherein the generative machine-learning model comprises at least one of: a pre-trained generative neural network; a variational autoencoder (VAE); or a generative adversarial network (GAN) (Dua: Figs 3, 5; pars 0006, 0022; Fu: pars 0034, 0036-0037).
As to claims 14-15, they are rejected with the same reason as claims 5-6.
As to claim 16, Dua as modified discloses the processor of claim 12, wherein the plurality of morph maps are generated using at least a first layer of the generative machine learning model (Fu: Figs 1, 2A, 13; pars 0041, 0132), and the one or more circuits are to update the generative machine-learning model by applying the plurality of morph maps to a set of features generated by at least a second layer of the generative machine-learning model (Fu: pars 0054-0056, 0133, 0175).
As to claim 17, it is rejected with the same reason as claim 11.
As to claim 18, it is a method claim necessitated claim 1. Rejection of claim 1 is therefore incorporated herein.
As to claims 19-20, they are rejected with the same reason as set forth in claims 2-3, respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but they are moot in light of new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular column, line number, paragraphs and/or figure(s) in the reference(s) as applied to the claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the reference(s) in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Contact Information
/QUN SHEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2662