DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on February 19, 2026. Applicant argues that there is no serious burden on the examiner to examine both groups of claims. However, as stated in the action on February 2, 2026, the groups are in a different class/subclass and are geared towards distinct processes. However, when the elected claims are deemed to be in condition for allowance, rejoinder will be considered where possible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bernasconi et al (US 4,755,819).
With regards to claim 1, Bernasconi teaches an antenna for space vehicle applications (abstract) wherein the process of making said antenna includes taking the antenna in a space vehicle in a folded state (abstract), once outside the vehicle inflated with a gas (abstract) and aligning the antenna so that it is substantially and uniformly exposed to the sun for substantially uniform polymerization which allows the antenna to keep its shape without the gas pressure (abstract), reading on forming a rigid structure.
With regards to claim 2, Bernasconi teaches the composition that polymerizes to form the rigid structure to include epoxide resins (column 6 lines 33-68).
With regards to claim 3, Bernasconi teaches the antenna with the resin composition already on it to be brough to space in a folded state (abstract).
With regards to claim 4, Bernasconi teaches the resin to polymerize upon exposure to the sun (abstract).
With regards to claim 5, Bernasconi teaches the resin to undergo polymerization after exposure to the sun (abstract) reading on forming polymer chains.
With regards to claim 8, Bernasconi teaches the resin to undergo polymerization after exposure to the sun (abstract) reading on forming polymer chains via crosslinking and forming polymer chains.
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yerazunis et al (US 2018/0281303).
With regards to claims 1 and 9, Yerazunis teaches a spacecraft including a spacecraft bus (abstract) that includes a extruder for delivering feedstock to print an object outside of the spacebus (abstract). Yerazunis teaches the feedstock to be a resin that when exposed to UV light crosslinks (0031) to form a rigidified material having high strength (0067).
With regards to claim 2, Yerazunis teaches the feedstock to be a resin that when exposed to UV light crosslinks (0031).
With regards to claim 3, Yerazunis teaches the composition to be formed inarbitrary shapes that are made prior to being sent into outer space (0002).
With regards to claims 4-8, Yerazunis teaches the feedstock to be a resin that when exposed to UV light crosslinks (0031) to form a rigidified material having high strength (0067).
With regards to claims 9-11, Yerazunis teaches the process to be a two step process wherein the first step is exposing the resin to light to form a gel, slurry, or paste followed by a second exposure to the light to form the rigid material (0067).
Conclusion
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763