DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 1/22/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected apparatus and method of forming a precursor container for use in the apparatus, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/22/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9: Claim 9 recites the chemical formula: M(RCp)x(L)y and defines M, R, & L but never defines x or y which renders the claim indefinite because one of ordinary skill in art would not be able to determine the metes and bounds of the claim.
For the purpose of examination, x and y are being interpreted to include at least x=0-3 and y=0-3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 & 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Clark (US PG Pub 2008/0233288; hereafter ‘288).
Claim 1: ‘288 is directed towards a method of processing a substrate (title), the method comprising:
providing a substrate to a processing chamber (abstract);
executing a plurality of deposition cycles (an ALD process is performed, abstract), wherein a deposition cycle comprises a hafnium precursor pulse, a zirconium precursor pulse, an oxygen reactant pulse, and a first dopant pule (see abstract),
wherein the hafnium precursor pulse comprises exposing the substrate to a hafnium precursor (abstract);
wherein the zirconium precursor pulse comprises exposing the substrate to a zirconium precursor (abstract);
wherein the oxygen reactant pulse comprises exposing the substrate to an oxygen reactant (abstract);
wherein the first dopant pulse comprises exposing the substrate to a first dopant precursor (abstract), the first dopant precursor comprising a first dopant element (abstract);
thereby forming a doped hafnium zirconium oxide layer on the substrate (title & abstract); and
wherein the first dopant precursor is carried out after one of the hafnium precursor pulse and the zirconium precursor pulse without any intervening oxygen reactant pulse (the hafnium and zirconium precursor pulses may be pulsed together and then an oxygen reactant pulse, abstract & ¶s 8-10).
Claim 2: The deposition cycle further comprises a second dopant pulse that comprises exposing the substrate to a second dopant precursor (¶ 128), the second dopant precursor comprises a second dopant element, the second dopant element being different from the first dopant element (¶ 128).
Claim 3: The first or the second dopant comprises cerium (abstract & ¶ 35).
Claim 4: The first dopant element comprises lanthanum (abstract & ¶ 35).
Claim 5: The first dopant element is cerium (abstract & ¶ 35).
Claim 8: The second dopant can be cerium (abstract & ¶ 35).
Claim 9: The first or second dopant can be Cp3Y (¶s 35 & 39).
Claim 10: The dopant can be In and thus the ALD process will form multiple layers of hafnium zirconium oxide doped with indium and therefore each layer will comprise indium oxide (see abstract & ¶ 67)
‘288 teaches that the total layer thickness is at least 5 Å and each layer is about 1 Å (see ¶s 97-98).
Thus, it is apparent that at least 5 layers are formed wherein the first layer can be termed the surface layer which comprises indium oxide and thus ‘288 anticipates claim 10.
Claim 11: The dopant can be In and thus the ALD process will form multiple layers of hafnium zirconium oxide doped with indium and therefore each layer will comprise indium oxide (see abstract & ¶ 67)
‘288 teaches that the total layer thickness is at least 5 Å and each layer is about 1 Å (see ¶s 97-98).
Thus, it is apparent that at least 5 layers are formed wherein the first layer can be termed the surface layer which comprises indium oxide and thus ‘288 anticipates claim 11.
Claim 12: As noted above, ‘288 teaches at least 5 layers of hafnium zirconium oxide doped with indium and thus the top layer can be termed the top conductive oxide comprising layer which comprises the first dopant element.
Claim 13: The surface layer and the top conductive oxide have a substantially identical composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 & 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘288 as applied above, and further in view of Liao et al. (US PG Pub 2018/0331113; hereafter ‘113).
Claim 6: ‘288 teaches that the dopant can be In (¶ 67).
‘288 does not teach that the dopant is Ru.
However, ‘113, which is directed towards doped hafnium zirconium oxides (¶ 13) teaches that In and Ru are art recognized alternatives (¶ 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute Ru for In because they are art recognized alternative dopants and would have predictably provided the desired results.
Claim 14: As discussed above, ‘288 teaches forming a surface layer and a top layer comprising a conductive oxide (indium oxide).
‘288 does not teach that Ru is the dopant.
However, ‘113, which is directed towards doped hafnium zirconium oxides (¶ 13) teaches that In and Ru are art recognized alternatives (¶ 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute Ru for In because they are art recognized alternative dopants and would have predictably provided the desired results.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘288 as applied above, and further in view of More et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0408229; hereafter ‘229).
Claim 7: ‘288 teaches that the dopant can be Al or La (abstract).
‘288 does not teach that the dopant is W or Mo.
However, ‘345, which is directed towards doped hafnium zirconium oxides dielectric layers teaches that W, Mo, Al, and La are art recognized alternatives dopants for HZO dielectric layers (¶ 108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute W or Mo for Al or La because they are art recognized alternative dopants and would have predictably provided the desired results.
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘288.
Claim 15: ‘288 teaches that the layers can be annealed (¶ 23).
‘288 does not provide any specific order of when annealing occurs.
However, any order of process steps is prima facie obvious. See MPEP §2144.04(IV)(C).
Claims 16: ‘288 does not teach that the annealing and deposition is carried out in a first processing chamber.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to perform the deposition and annealing in the same chamber because it would have reduced the complexity of the process and it is prima facie obvious to reduce the number of components in a system. See §2144.04(II)(B).
Claim 17: ‘288 does not teach that the step of forming the top electrode is carried out in a second processing chamber.
However, it would have been obvious to use multiple processing chambers because duplication of parts is prima facie obvious. See MPEP §2144.04(VI)(D).
Claim 18: ‘288 does not teach the claimed number of chambers.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to use multiple chambers for each individual layer because duplication of parts is prima facie obvious. See MPEP §2144.04(VI)(D).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, & 10-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-29 of copending Application No. 18/898409 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are permutations and combinations of each other.
Claim 1: See claims 1 & 3 of copending.
Claim 2: See claim 1, the dopant can comprise more than one dopant.
Claims 10-13: See claims 1 & 7, the dopant can be Ga and thus three layers comprising GaO.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, & 10-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-29 of copending Application No. 19/251984 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are permutations and combinations of each other.
Claim 1: See claims 1 & 2 of copending.
Claim 2: See claim 1, the dopant can comprise more than one dopant.
Claims 10-13: See claims 1 & 7, the dopant can be Ga and thus three layers comprising GaO.
Claims 15-18: See claim 3 and as discussed above, it is prima facie to duplicate parts and use multiple chambers.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/James M Mellott/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759