DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Amended claim 1 recites the limitation "the top and/or bottom" and “the cells”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Claims 2-10 are also rejected as depending on claim 1.
Amended claim 4 recites the limitation "the centre". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Amended claim 6 (dependent on amended claim 1) recites “the battery assembly comprises: multiple cells; collector components located at the top and bottom of the multiple cells, with a fusible part formed on the collector component” (emphasis added), rendering claim 6 indefinite as to whether: 1) the “multiple cells” is intended to be the same as “the multiple cells” of claim 1 or distinct ‘cells’ thereof; 2) “a fusible part” is intended to be the same as “the fusible part” of claim 1 or a distinct ‘part’ thereof; and 3) “the collector component” is intended to be the same as “the collector component” or a distinct ‘component thereof of the “collector components”. Claims 7-10 are also rejected as depending on claim 6.
Amended claim 7 recites the limitation "the cells" and “the cell strings”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Claims 8 and 9 are also rejected as depending on claim 7.
Amended claim 8 recites a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, the claim recites the broad recitation “electrically contact parts in electrically conductive contact with the multiple cell strings in one-to-one correspondence”, and the claim also recites “and preferably, each of the electrically conductive contact parts being in electrically conductive contact with one or two cells in corresponding cell string” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claim.
Amended claim 11 recites the limitation "the top or bottom", “the cells”, and “the outside”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Claims 12-15 are also rejected as depending on claim 11.
Amended claim 14 recites a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, the claim recites the broad recitation “the blind hole is a curved surface with a raised centre and a sunken periphery”, and the claim also recites “and preferably, the centre of the bottom wall and the fusible part are adjacent to each other or separated by a gap” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsu et al (US 2016/0190527).
With respect to claim 1, Hsu discloses a “first integrated battery core frame” (i.e. claimed “retaining component”) [100] for a battery assembly (Abstract; figs. 5-7; para 0019 and 0037), wherein fig. 7 depicts the battery assembly comprises “battery cores” (i.e. claimed “multiple cells”) [3] (para 0043), fig. 2 depicts a “first electrode metal plate” (claimed “collector component”) [1] positioned at a top of the multiple cells [3] as shown by figs. 5-7 (para 0016 and 0037), and fig. 9 depicts a “chip fuse” (i.e. claimed “fusible part”) [M] connected between the multiple cells [3] as shown in figs. 8-9 (para 0022-0024 and 0046). Figs. 2-4 and 9 further depict the collector component [1] having a reduced cross-sectional area at the fusible part [M], wherein the retaining component [100] is configured to fix the multiple cells [3] (as shown in figs. 7-8) at the top of the multiple cells [3] (para 0043 and 0046), and “first conductor exposed portions” (i.e. claimed “hole”) [222] open to an outside is provided in the retaining component [100] at a position corresponding to the fusible part [M] (para 0024, 0038-0040, 0043, and 0046).
With respect to claim 2, Hsu further depicts in figs. 3-6 and 9 the hole [222] as a through-hole or a blind hole (para 0039).
With respect to claims 3-5, Hsu further depicts in figs. 3-6 and 9 the hole [222] is a blind hole, wherein a bottom wall has a flat surface along with a curved surface having a raised centre and sunken periphery (as shown in figs. 3-4 and 6) (para 0038-0040), with fig. 9 depicting the flat surface and a centre of the bottom wall are adjacent to the fusible part [M], wherein the fusible part [M] is supported via opposite edges of the bottom wall of the hole [222] from figs. 3-4 (para 0038-0040 and 0046).
With respect to claim 6, Hsu further teaches the battery assembly comprises: the multiple cells [3]; and a “second electrode metal plate” (i.e. collector component) of a “second integrated battery core frame” [200] in addition to the collector component (i.e. first electrode metal plate) [1] of fig. 2 (para 0011 and 0043); thus the first and second metal electrode plates are collectors components. Fig. 7 depicts the multiple cells [3] and the collector components (of the respective first and second integrated battery core frames [100],[200]) are located at the top and a bottom of the multiple cells [3] (para 0043), and figs. 2 and 9 show the fusible part [M] on the collector component [1] at the reduced cross-sectional area.
With respect to claim 7, Hsu further depicts in fig. 7 the multiple cells [3] are arranged as multiple cell strings, wherein all of the multiple cells [3] in each of the multiple cell strings are arranged in series connection along a longitudinal direction and arranged in parallel connection in a transverse direction of the battery assembly (para 0005 and 0043), similar to Applicant’s fig. 5. Fig. 9 further depicts the fusible part [M] formed between each pair of adjacent cell strings, wherein the longitudinal and transverse directions in addition to a height direction of the multiple cells [3] are mutually orthogonal (para 0024, 0039, and 0046).
With respect to claim 8, as discussed for claim 6, Hsu discloses the collector components, wherein each collector component (e.g. collector component [1] of retaining component [100] and collector component of frame [200]) comprises multiple ‘electrode touching portions’ (i.e. claimed “electrically conductive contact parts”) [122] in electrically conductive contact with the multiple cell strings of the multiple cells [3] (figs. 2 and 7; para 0011, 0035-0036, and 0043), wherein figs. 5-6 and 9 depict the fusible part [M] is formed between each pair of adjacent electrically conductive contact parts [122] (para 0035-0036, 0043, and 0046).
With respect to claim 9, Hsu further depicts in fig. 7 the multiple cells [3] of diagonally adjacent cell strings are offset in the transverse direction.
With respect to claim 10, Hsu further discloses the retaining component [100] comprises a body [21] and plate [22] on two sides of the collector component [1] to sandwich the collector component [1] therebetween (para 0009 and 0037-0038), wherein the body [21] and plate [22] are formed as an integrated one-piece structure with each other to form the retaining component [100] (para 0009 and 0038); thus the collector component [1] is then also formed as the one-piece between the body [21] and plate [21], resulting in the retaining component [100] and collector component [1] being an integrated one-piece structure (i.e. claimed “integrally moulded”).
With respect to claim 11, Hsu discloses in fig. 7 a battery assembly comprising “battery cores” (i.e. claimed “multiple cells”) [3] arranged side-by-side in parallel in an axial direction, and an end structure (structurally represented by [100] and [200]) positioned on a top or a bottom of the multiple cells [3] (Abstract; para 0043), wherein figs. 2-7 depict the end structure comprises a “first integrated battery core frame” (i.e. claimed “retaining component”) [100] and a “first electrode metal plate” (claimed “collector component”) [1] (Abstract; 0019, 0037, and 0043), wherein the retaining component [100] comprises a body [21] and plate [22] on two sides of the collector component [1] to sandwich the collector component [1] therebetween (para 0009 and 0037-0038), wherein the body [21] and plate [22] are formed as an integrated one-piece structure with each other to form the retaining component [100] (para 0009 and 0038); thus the collector component [1] is then also formed as the integrated one-piece between the body [21] and plate [21], resulting in the retaining component [100] and collector component [1] being an integrated one-piece structure (i.e. claimed “integrally moulded”). Hsu further depicts: in fig. 2 the collector component [1] is in electrically conductive contact with at least two cell [3] of the multiple cells [3] (para 0035 and 0043-0044); and figs 2 and 8-9 depicts a “chip fuse” (i.e. claimed “fusible part”) [M] formed on the collector component [1] between the multiple cells [3] (para 0022-0024 and 0046), with figs. 2-4 and 9 depicting the collector component [1] having a reduced cross-sectional area at the fusible part [M] (para 0043 and 0046). Hsu further depicts in figs. 5-7: the retaining component [100] is configured to fix the multiple cells [3] (para 0043), wherein “first conductor exposed portions” (i.e. claimed “hole”) [222] open to an outside is provided in the retaining component [100] at a position corresponding to the fusible part [M], to thereby expose the fusible part [M] (para 0024, 0038-0040, 0043, and 0046).
With respect to claim 12, Hsu further depicts in figs. 3-6 and 9 the end structure comprises the hole [222] as a through-hole or a blind hole (para 0039).
With respect to claims 13-15, Hsu further depicts in figs. 3-6 and 9 the end structure comprises the hole [222] is a blind hole, wherein a bottom wall has a flat surface along with a curved surface having a raised centre and sunken periphery (as shown in figs. 3-4 and 6) (para 0038-0040), with fig. 9 depicting the flat surface and a centre of the bottom wall are adjacent to the fusible part [M], wherein the fusible part [M] is supported via opposite edges of the bottom wall of the hole [222] from figs. 3-4 (para 0038-0040 and 0046).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CN 105489799 is relevant for teaching in fig. 6 retaining and collector components for a battery assembly having multiple cells, wherein the collector component has a fuse (fig. 26), and the retaining component has a hole.
/MICHAEL A BAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794