DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to an Amendment filed on February 12, 2026 regarding Application No. 18/319,970. Applicants amended claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, and 18-20. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 4 and 11-17 are withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected species.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4 and 11-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected species and/or sub-species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 18, 2025.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of Applicants’ claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). A certified copy of the KR 10-2022-0092703 application filed in Korea on July 26, 2022 has been filed.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ amendments to claims 1-2, 5, and 8-9 and remarks (Remarks, p. 12) regarding claim objections are acknowledged. In view of the amendments, the objections, except as discussed below, are moot.
Applicants’ arguments filed on February 12, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive or are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
In response to the argument regarding claim 1, “first signal lines have a width smaller than a width of the mesh lines”, Lee, obvious, and improve visibility (Remarks, pp. 13-14), the Office respectfully disagrees and submits that a smaller width would improve image display where light emitted from subpixels located below pass upward. See FIGs. 3, 5, 7-9, and 12A-B, [0093], and [0188] of Lee. Also, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the claimed features as obvious to try as one of a predictable and ascertainable group of smaller, equal to, and larger with a reasonable expectation of success to provide touch sensing components, as discussed in the rejections.
In response to the argument regarding amended claim 1, Lee, obvious, and improve image display (Remarks, p. 14), without conceding the argument, the Office respectfully submits that the argument is not commensurate with the rejections.
For the reasons discussed above and in the rejections, the pending claims are not allowable.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 20 are objected to for the reasons discussed below.
Claim 9: “the first-first signal lines” (2nd to the last line) should be changed to “[[the ]]first-first signal lines” since the term was not previously recited.
Claim 20 is objected to because “in a cross-sectional” (5th to the last line) should be changed to “in a cross-sectional view”. See “the cross-sectional view” (2nd to the last and last lines) of the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. in US 2022/0004282 A1 (hereinafter Lee) in view of Xie et al. in US 2018/0039358 A1 (hereinafter Xie).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches:
A display device (see FIG. 1), comprising (Lee: FIG. 1 and “[0043] FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating a system configuration of a touch display device….”):
a display panel (DISP) comprising a long side extending in a second direction (y-axis/vertical direction) and a short side extending in a first direction (x-axis/horizontal direction) crossing the first direction (Lee: FIG. 1 and “[0045]… the touch display device… can comprise: a display panel DISP….”, see also FIGs. 2-3); and
an input sensor (TSP in FIG. 3) disposed on the display panel, comprising two or more areas (left dotted line to middle of left dotted line and right dotted line area, and middle of left dotted line and right dotted line to right dotted line area in FIG. 12B) which are distinguished from each other in the first direction (Lee: see FIGs. 3 and 12B and “[0086]… a touch sensor structure, including the plurality of touch electrodes TE, of the touch panel TSP….”, see also [0047]-[0048]), the input sensor comprising:
first sensing electrodes (X-TEL-1 to X-TEL-3) arranged in the second direction (Lee: FIG. 12B and “[0241]… the plurality of X-touch electrode lines X-TEL….”, see also FIGs. 3, 5, 7-8, and 12A, [0209]-[0210] and [0212]);
second sensing (Y-TEL-1 to Y-TEL-3) arranged in the first direction (Lee: FIG. 12B and “[0241]… the plurality of Y-touch electrode lines Y-TEL….”, see also FIGs. 3, 5, 7-8, and 12A, [0209], and [0211]-[0212]);
first signal lines (X-TL-11, X-TL-21, X-TL-31, X-TL-12, X-TL-22, and X-TL-32) electrically connected to the first sensing electrodes (Lee: see FIG. 12B and “[0241]… each of the plurality of X-touch electrode lines X-TEL is electrically connected to two X-touch routing lines X-TL.”, see also FIG. 12A, [0221]… a first X-touch electrode line X-TEL-1 can be electrically connected to a first line X-TL-11… and a second line X-TL-12….”, “[0232]… a second X-touch electrode line X-TEL-2 can be electrically connected to a first line X-TL-21… and a second line X-TL-22….”, “[0237] A third X-touch electrode line X-TEL-3 can be electrically connected to a first line X-TL-31 …, and… a second line X-TL-32 ….”, and [0241]); and
second signal lines (Y-TL-1 to Y-TL-3) electrically connected to the second sensing electrodes (Lee: see FIG. 12B and “[0241]… each of the plurality of Y-touch electrode lines Y-TEL is electrically connected to one Y-touch routing line Y-TL….”),
wherein the first signal lines are connected to one of the first sensing electrodes in each of the two or more areas (Lee: see FIG. 12B.).
However, it is noted that Lee does not teach:
the long side extending in the first direction and the short side extending in the second direction,
but which would have been obvious to include, such that Lee as modified teaches: a display panel comprising a long side extending in a first direction and a short side extending in a second direction, to provide a display device that displays images in a default landscape mode.
However, it is noted that FIGs. 12A-B of Lee do not teach:
wherein the first sensing electrodes and the second sensing electrodes include mesh lines with a plurality of openings.
Lee also teaches:
wherein first sensing electrodes (X-TEL-1 and X-TEL-2 in FIG. 13A) and second sensing electrodes (Y-TEL-1 and Y-TEL-2) include mesh lines with a plurality of openings (Lee: FIG. 13A, “[0260] Referring to FIG. 13A, in a structure that the plurality of X-touch electrode lines X-TEL and the plurality of Y-touch electrode liens Y-TEL are disposed to be crossed (e.g., intersect in a plan view)….”, and “[0265] Referring to an example of a structure enlarging an area where the first Y-touch electrode line Y-TEL-1 and the second X-touch electrode line X-TEL-2 cross each other, the touch electrode TE can be a rectangular shape and can comprise a pattern of a mesh shape….”, see also FIG. 5 and [0091]-[0092]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features also taught by Lee, such that Lee as modified teaches: wherein the first sensing electrodes and the second sensing electrodes include mesh lines with a plurality of openings (first and second sensing electrodes taught by Lee combined with the first and second sensing electrodes, mesh lines, and plurality of openings also taught by Lee), to sense touch input.
However, it is noted that Lee as modified does not teach:
wherein the first signal lines are disposed directly under the mesh lines, in a cross- sectional view, and
wherein the first signal lines have a width smaller than a width of the mesh lines such that the first signal lines are entirely overlapped by the mesh lines, in the cross-sectional view.
Xie teaches:
wherein first signal lines (RL2 in FIG. 2A) are disposed directly under first sensing electrodes (RE), in a cross-sectional view (Xie: see Figs. 2A-C, “[0033] The touch area TA may be provided with a plurality of first touch electrodes RE arranged in a first direction D1…, the first touch electrode RE may include a plurality of first touch electrode blocks RX arranged in the second direction D2….”, “[0034] The first touch electrode line RL may be used for transmitting a first touch signal to the first touch electrode RE…. [I]n the first touch electrode lines RL, at least one first touch electrode line RL2 extends from the touch area TA to the peripheral area PA in the first direction D1…”, “[0039]… [T]he first touch electrode blocks RX in each first touch electrode RE are electrically connected through the first connecting parts BR….”, “[0044] Since the first touch electrode line RL and the first touch electrode RE are in different conductor layers…, the first touch electrode line RL may be electrically connected with the first touch electrode RE through a contact hole.”, see also “[0045] Optionally, a first contact hole H1 is formed in the auxiliary insulating layer AIL, and the first touch electrode line RL is electrically connected with the first touch electrode block RX in the first touch electrode RE through the first contact hole H1.” and “[0046] In addition, because the first connecting part BR is electrically connected with first touch electrode blocks RX in the first touch electrode RE, the first touch electrode line RL may also be electrically connected with the first connecting part BR through a connecting electrode in an identical conductor layer.”), and
the first signal lines are entirely overlapped by the first sensing electrodes, in the cross-sectional view (Xie: see Fig. 2C).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Xie, such that Lee as modified teaches: wherein the first signal lines are disposed directly under the mesh lines, in a cross-sectional view (first signal lines, first and second sensing electrodes, and mesh lines of Lee as modified combined with the first signal lines and first sensing electrodes of Xie), and wherein the first signal lines have a width smaller than a width of the mesh lines such that the first signal lines are entirely overlapped by the mesh lines, in the cross-sectional view (the first signal lines are entirely overlapped by the mesh lines, in the cross-sectional view - first signal lines, first and second sensing electrodes, and mesh lines of Lee as modified combined with the first signal lines and first sensing electrodes of Xie; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the claimed features to improve image display. See FIGs. 3, 5, 7-9, and 12A-B, “[0093]… [Referring to FIG. 5,] [e]ach of the plurality of open areas OA provided in each of the touch electrodes TE can correspond to the emitting area of one or more subpixels SP. That is, the plurality of open areas OA are passages allowing light emitted from the plurality of subpixels SP located there below to pass upward therethrough….”, and “[0188] The cross-sectional diagram of FIG. 9 is conceptual illustration of the structure. The… thicknesses, or widths of the patterns… can vary depending on the direction or position of view….” It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the claimed features as obvious to try as one of a predictable and ascertainable group of smaller, equal to, and larger with a reasonable expectation of success to provide touch sensing components.), for touch sensing.
Regarding claim 2, Lee as modified by Xie teaches:
The display device of claim 1, wherein:
the input sensor further comprises a first area, a second area, and a third area (Lee: i.e., first and second areas corresponding to the two or more areas in FIG. 12B and a third area adjacent to the right side of the second area where the structure includes more than three X-TEL and three Y-TEL electrodes lines; see FIGs. 7 and 12A-B, “[0209]… FIG. 12A illustrates a structure that three X-touch electrode lines X-TEL and three Y-touch electrode lines Y-TEL are disposed as an example.”, and “[0241] Referring to FIG. 12B, similarly to an example illustrated in FIG. 12A, each of the plurality of Y-touch electrode lines Y-TEL is electrically connected to one Y-touch routing line Y-TL. And each of the plurality of X-touch electrode lines X-TEL is electrically connected to two X-touch routing lines X-TL.”, see also FIGs. 3 and 8 and [0210]-[0212]),
wherein each of the first sensing electrodes comprises a first portion overlapping the first area, a second portion overlapping the second area, and a third portion overlapping the third area (Lee: see FIG. 12B and third area discussion above), and
wherein the first signal lines comprise a first-first signal line (X-TL-11 in FIG. 12B of Lee) electrically connected to the first portion, a first-second signal line (X-TL-12) electrically connected to the second portion, and a first-third signal line (an X-TL-13) electrically connected to the third portion (Lee: see FIG. 12B, “[0244]… the plurality of X-touch routing lines X-TL… is electrically connected to the X-touch electrode line X-TEL….”, and third area and third portion discussions above, see also FIG. 12A, “[0220] Each of the plurality of X-touch electrode lines X-TEL can be electrically connected to two or more X-touch routing lines X-TL.”, “[0221]… a first X-touch electrode line X-TEL-1 can be electrically connected to a first line X-TL-11… and a second line X-TL-12….”, and [0241].).
Regarding claim 3, Lee as modified by Xie teaches:
The display device of claim 2, wherein each of the first-first, first-second, and first-third signal lines overlaps the first sensing electrodes (Lee: see FIG. 12B; claim 2 above (third area, third portion, and first-third signal line)).
Regarding claim 5, Lee as modified by Xie teaches:
The display device of claim 1, wherein at least one of two or more first signal lines extends in the second direction (Lee: see FIG. 12B).
Regarding claim 6, Lee as modified by Xie teaches:
The display device of claim 2, wherein each of the first sensing electrodes (X-TEL in FIG. 8 of Lee) comprises a plurality of first sensing patterns (X-TE) arranged in the first direction and a plurality of extension patterns (X-CL) extending from the plurality of first sensing patterns (Lee: FIG. 8 and “[0123] Referring to FIG. 8, each of the plurality of X-touch electrode lines X-TEL can comprise a plurality of X-touch electrodes X-TE disposed in the same row… and one or more X-touch electrode connecting lines X-CL electrically connecting the plurality of X-touch electrodes X-TE. Here, the X-touch electrode connecting lines X-CL respectively connecting two adjacent X-touch electrodes X-TE can be metals integrated with the two adjacent X-touch electrodes X-TE (see FIG. 8)….”, see also FIGs. 3, 5, 7, and 12A-B, [0113], [0117], [0171], [0186], [0209]-[0210], and [0212]. Note: the touch electrodes in FIGs. 3, 5, 7-8, and 12A-B are interchangeable as they are touch electrodes used for touch sensing.), and
wherein each of the second sensing electrodes (Y-TEL in FIGs. 8-9 of Lee) comprises a plurality of second sensing patterns (Y-TE) arranged in the second direction and a plurality of bridge patterns (Y-CL) electrically connecting the plurality of second sensing patterns to one another (Lee: FIGs. 8-9 and “[0124] Each of the plurality of Y-touch electrode lines Y-TEL can comprise a plurality of Y-touch electrodes Y-TE disposed in the same column… and one or more Y-touch electrode connecting lines Y-CL electrically connecting the plurality of Y-touch electrodes Y-TE. Here, the Y-touch electrode connecting lines Y-CL respectively connecting two adjacent Y-touch electrodes Y-TE can be… metals connected to the two adjacent Y-touch electrodes Y-TE via contact holes (see FIG. 8).”, see also FIGs. 3, 5, 7, and 12A-B, [0113], [0117], [0186], [0209], and [0211]-[0212]. Note: the touch electrodes in FIGs. 3, 5, 7-8, and 12A-B are interchangeable as they are touch electrodes used for touch sensing.).
Regarding claim 7, Lee as modified by Xie teaches:
The display device of claim 6, wherein the first signal lines (X-TL in FIG. 8 of Lee) are electrically connected to the first sensing patterns (Lee: FIG. 8 and “[0128]… each of the plurality of X-touch electrode lines X-TEL is electrically connected to a corresponding X-touch pad X-TP through one or more X-touch routing lines X-TL….”, see also FIGs. 3, 5, 7, and 12A-B, [0122], [0186], [0209]-[0210], and [0212]. Note: the touch electrodes and/or touch signal lines in FIGs. 3, 5, 7-8, and 12A-B are interchangeable as they are touch electrodes used for touch sensing.).
Regarding claim 8, Lee as modified by Xie teaches:
The display device of claim 7, wherein positions at which the first signal lines are electrically connected to the first sensing patterns are the same as each other in the first, second, and third areas (Lee: see FIG. 12B, see also FIGs. 3, 5, 7-8, and 12A, [0186], and [0209]-[0212]; claim 2 (first, second, and third areas) above. Note: the touch electrodes and/or touch signal lines in FIGs. 3, 5, 7-8, and 12A-B are interchangeable as they are touch electrodes used for touch sensing.).
Regarding claim 9, Lee as modified by Xie teaches:
The display device of claim 2, wherein the first sensing electrodes comprise a first row sensing electrode (X-TEL-1 row in FIG. 12B of Lee), a second row sensing electrode (X-TEL-2 row), and a third row sensing electrode (X-TEL-3 row), which are spaced apart from each other in the second direction (Lee: see FIG. 12B, see also FIG. 12A), and
wherein the first-first signal lines (X-TL-11, X-TL-21, and X-TL-31) respectively electrically connected to the first, second, and third row sensing electrodes do not overlap each other (Lee: see FIG. 12B and ”[0244]… the plurality of X-touch routing lines X-TL… is electrically connected to the X-touch electrode line X-TEL….”).
Regarding claim 10, Lee as modified by Xie teaches:
The display device of claim 1, wherein the input sensor further comprises a sensing controller (TSC in FIG. 1 of Lee) disposed adjacent to a lower side of the first sensing electrodes and the second sensing electrodes in the second direction (Lee: FIG. 1 and “[0048]… the touch-sensing circuit TSC can comprise: a touch driving circuit TDC supplying a touch driving signal to the touch panel TSP and detecting a touch-sensing signal from the touch panel TSP; a touch controller TCTR determining at least one of the touch of the user and the touch coordinates on the basis of the touch-sensing signal detected by the touch driving circuit TDC, and the like.”, see also FIGs. 7-8 and 12A-B, [0173], and [0209]-[0212]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the claimed features to detect touch input.).
Regarding claim 18, Lee is modified in the same manner and for the same reasons set forth in the discussion of claim 1 above. Thus, claim 18 is rejected under similar rationale as claim 1 above.
However, it is noted that claim 18 differs from claim 1 above in that the following are recited:
An electronic device, comprising a display device.
Lee as modified by Xie teaches:
An electronic device (see FIG. 1 of Lee), comprising a display device (see FIG. 1) (Lee: FIG. 1 and “[0043] FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating a system configuration of a touch display device….”).
Regarding claim 20, Lee teaches:
A display device (see FIG. 1), comprising (Lee: FIG. 1 and “[0043] FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating a system configuration of a touch display device….”):
a display panel (DISP) displaying an image (Lee: FIG. 1 and “[0045] To provide the image display function, the touch display device… can comprise: a display panel DISP….”, see also FIGs. 2-3); and
an input sensor (TSP in FIG. 3) comprising a sensing area (AA) comprising a first area (left dotted line to middle of left dotted line and right dotted line area in FIG. 12B), a second area (middle of left dotted line and right dotted line to right dotted line area), and a third area (adjacent to the right side of the second area where the structure includes more than three X-TEL and three Y-TEL electrodes lines), which are distinguished from each other in a first direction (x-axis/horizontal direction) and a non-sensing area (see NA in FIG. 2 and see FIG. 3) adjacent to the sensing area (Lee: see FIGs. 1-3 and 12B, “[0059] Referring to FIG. 2, the display panel DISP can comprise an active area AA on which images are displayed and a non-active area NA located outside of an outer boundary line BL of the active area AA.”, and “[0061]… the plurality of touch electrodes for the touch sensing… can be disposed in the active area AA of the display panel DISP. Accordingly, the active area AA can also be referred to as a touch-sensing area in which the touch sensing can be performed.”, see also FIGs. 7-8 and 12A, [0047]-[0048], [0086], [0209]-[0212], and [0241]),
wherein the input sensor comprises:
a first sensing electrode (X-TEL-1 in FIG. 12B) extending in the first direction and disposed in the first, second, and third areas (Lee: see FIG. 12B and “[0241]… the plurality of X-touch electrode lines X-TEL….” and third area discussion above, see also FIGs. 3, 5, 7-8, and 12A, [0209]-[0210] and [0212]);
a second sensing electrode (Y-TEL-1 in FIG. 12B) extending in a second direction (y-axis/vertical direction) crossing the first direction and disposed in one of the first, second, and third areas (Lee: FIG. 12B and “[0241]… the plurality of Y-touch electrode lines Y-TEL….”, see also FIGs. 3, 5, 7-8, and 12A, [0209], and [0211]-[0212]);
a first-first signal line (X-TL-11 in FIG. 12B) disposed in the first area and electrically connected to the first sensing electrode (Lee: see FIG. 12B and “[0241]… each of the plurality of X-touch electrode lines X-TEL is electrically connected to two X-touch routing lines X-TL.”, see also FIG. 12A, “[0220] Each of the plurality of X-touch electrode lines X-TEL can be electrically connected to two or more X-touch routing lines X-TL.”, “[0221]… a first X-touch electrode line X-TEL-1 can be electrically connected to a first line X-TL-11….”, and [0241]);
a first-second signal line (X-TL-12 in FIG. 12B) disposed in the second area and electrically connected to the first sensing electrode (Lee: see FIG. 12B and “[0241]… each of the plurality of X-touch electrode lines X-TEL is electrically connected to two X-touch routing lines X-TL.”, see also FIG. 12A, “[0220] Each of the plurality of X-touch electrode lines X-TEL can be electrically connected to two or more X-touch routing lines X-TL.”, “[0221]… a first X-touch electrode line X-TEL-1 can be electrically connected to… a second line X-TL-12….”, and [0241]);
a first-third signal line (an X-TL-13) disposed in the third area and electrically connected to the first sensing electrode (Lee: see FIG. 12B, “[0244]… the plurality of X-touch routing lines X-TL… is electrically connected to the X-touch electrode line X-TEL….”, and third area discussion above, see also FIG. 12A, “[0220] Each of the plurality of X-touch electrode lines X-TEL can be electrically connected to two or more X-touch routing lines X-TL.”, “[0221]… a first X-touch electrode line X-TEL-1 can be electrically connected to a first line X-TL-11… and a second line X-TL-12….”, and [0241]); and
a second signal line (Y-TL-1 in FIG. 12B) disposed in the non-sensing area and electrically connected to the second sensing electrode (Lee: see FIG. 12B, “[0065]… the entirety of the plurality of touch electrodes disposed in the display panel DISP can be located in the active area AA, specific touch electrodes (e.g., the outermost touch electrodes) among the plurality of touch electrodes disposed in the display panel DISP can be located in the non-active area NA, or specific touch electrodes (e.g., the outermost touch electrodes) among the plurality of touch electrodes disposed in the display panel DISP can extend across at least a portion of the active area AA and at least a portion of the non-active area NA.”, and “[0241]… each of the plurality of Y-touch electrode lines Y-TEL is electrically connected to one Y-touch routing line Y-TL….”, see also FIGs. 1-3, 7-8, and 12A, [0186], and [0209]-[0212]).
However, it is noted that FIGs. 12A-B of Lee do not teach:
wherein the first sensing electrode and the second sensing electrode include mesh lines with a plurality of openings.
Lee also teaches:
wherein a first sensing electrode (X-TEL-1 in FIG. 13A) and a second sensing electrode (Y-TEL-1) include mesh lines with a plurality of openings (Lee: FIG. 13A, ““[0260] Referring to FIG. 13A, in a structure that the plurality of X-touch electrode lines X-TEL and the plurality of Y-touch electrode liens Y-TEL are disposed to be crossed (e.g., intersect in a plan view)….”, and “[0265] Referring to an example of a structure enlarging an area where the first Y-touch electrode line Y-TEL-1 and the second X-touch electrode line X-TEL-2 cross each other, the touch electrode TE can be a rectangular shape and can comprise a pattern of a mesh shape….”, see also FIG. 5 and [0091]-[0092]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features also taught by Lee, such that Lee as modified teaches: wherein the first sensing electrode and the second sensing electrode include mesh lines with a plurality of openings (first and second sensing electrodes taught by Lee combined with the first and second sensing electrodes, mesh lines, and plurality of openings also taught by Lee), to sense touch input.
However, it is noted that Lee as modified does not teach:
wherein the first-first signal line, the first-second signal line, and the first-third signal line are disposed directly under the mesh lines, in a across-sectional, and
wherein the first-first signal line, the first-second signal line and the first-third signal line have a width smaller than a width of the mesh lines such that the first-first signal line, the first-second signal line, and the first-third signal line are entirely overlapped by the mesh lines, in the cross-sectional view.
Xie teaches:
wherein first signal lines ( RL2 in FIG. 2A) are disposed directly under first sensing electrodes (RE), in a cross-sectional (Xie: see Figs. 2A-C, “[0033] The touch area TA may be provided with a plurality of first touch electrodes RE arranged in a first direction D1…, the first touch electrode RE may include a plurality of first touch electrode blocks RX arranged in the second direction D2….”, “[0034] The first touch electrode line RL may be used for transmitting a first touch signal to the first touch electrode RE…. [I]n the first touch electrode lines RL, at least one first touch electrode line RL2 extends from the touch area TA to the peripheral area PA in the first direction D1…”, “[0039]… [T]he first touch electrode blocks RX in each first touch electrode RE are electrically connected through the first connecting parts BR….”, “[0044] Since the first touch electrode line RL and the first touch electrode RE are in different conductor layers…, the first touch electrode line RL may be electrically connected with the first touch electrode RE through a contact hole.”, see also “[0045] Optionally, a first contact hole H1 is formed in the auxiliary insulating layer AIL, and the first touch electrode line RL is electrically connected with the first touch electrode block RX in the first touch electrode RE through the first contact hole H1.” and “[0046] In addition, because the first connecting part BR is electrically connected with first touch electrode blocks RX in the first touch electrode RE, the first touch electrode line RL may also be electrically connected with the first connecting part BR through a connecting electrode in an identical conductor layer.”), and
the first signal lines are entirely overlapped by the first sensing electrodes, in the cross-sectional view (Xie: see Fig. 2C).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Xie, such that Lee as modified teaches: wherein the first-first signal line, the first-second signal line, and the first-third signal line are disposed directly under the mesh lines, in a across-sectional (first-first, first-second, and first-third signal lines, first and second sensing electrodes, and mesh lines of Lee as modified combined with the first signal lines and first sensing electrodes of Xie), and wherein the first-first signal line, the first-second signal line and the first-third signal line have a width smaller than a width of the mesh lines such that the first-first signal line, the first-second signal line, and the first-third signal line are entirely overlapped by the mesh lines, in the cross-sectional view (the first-first, first-second, and first-third signal lines are entirely overlapped by the mesh lines, in the cross-sectional view - first-first, first-second, and first-third signal lines, first and second sensing electrodes, and mesh lines of Lee as modified combined with the first signal lines and first sensing electrodes of Xie; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the claimed features to improve image display. See FIGs. 3, 5, 7-9, and 12A-B, “[0093]… [Referring to FIG. 5,] [e]ach of the plurality of open areas OA provided in each of the touch electrodes TE can correspond to the emitting area of one or more subpixels SP. That is, the plurality of open areas OA are passages allowing light emitted from the plurality of subpixels SP located there below to pass upward therethrough….”, and “[0188] The cross-sectional diagram of FIG. 9 is conceptual illustration of the structure. The… thicknesses, or widths of the patterns… can vary depending on the direction or position of view….” It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the claimed features as obvious to try as one of a predictable and ascertainable group of smaller, equal to, and larger with a reasonable expectation of success to provide touch sensing components.), for touch sensing.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Xie, in further view of Bok in US 2016/0195984 A1 (hereinafter Bok).
Regarding claim 19, Lee as modified by Xie teaches:
The electronic device of claim 18, wherein the input sensor comprises first conductive patterns (X-TL in FIG. 8 of Lee) disposed on the display panel, a first sensor insulating layer (T-ILD in FIG. 9 of Lee), second conductive patterns (X-TEL in FIG. 8 of Lee) disposed on the first sensor insulating layer, and a second sensor insulating layer (PAC in FIG. 9 of Lee) disposed on the second conductive patterns (Lee: see FIGs. 1, 3, and 8-9, “[0083]… an encapsulation layer ENCAP can be disposed in the display panel DISP…”, “[0085]… in the touch display device [in FIG. 3]…, the touch panel TSP can be disposed on the encapsulation layer ENCAP.”, “[0131]… as illustrated in FIG. 8, the plurality of X-touch routing lines X-TL electrically connected to the plurality of X-touch electrode lines X-TEL can be disposed on the encapsulation layer ENCAP….”, “[0170] The plurality of X-touch electrodes X-TE can be disposed on the touch insulating film T-ILD….”, “[0176] In a case in which the X-touch pads X-TP are extensions of the X-touch routing lines X-TL…, the X-touch pads X-TP… [and] the X-touch routing lines X-TL… can be comprised of the same material, i.e., a first conductive material….”, “[0178] The pad cover electrode capable of covering the X-touch pads X-TP… can be comprised of the same material as the X…-touch electrodes X-TE…, i.e. a second conductive material….”, and “[0187] A touch protective film PAC can be disposed on the X-touch electrodes X-TE….”, see also FIGs. 7 and 12A-B, [0072], [0086], [0113], [0123]-[0124], [0130], [0171], [0180], [0183], [0186], [0188], [0209]-[0212], and [0241]. Note: the touch electrodes and/or touch signal lines in FIGs. 3, 7-9, and 12A-B are interchangeable as they are touch electrodes and touch signal lines used for touch sensing.),
wherein the first sensing electrode comprises the second conductive patterns (see discussion above, see also Lee: FIGs. 7-9 and 12A-B, [0113], [0209]-[0212], and [0241]; claim 18 above), and
wherein the first signal lines comprise the first conductive patterns (see discussion above, see also Lee: FIGs. 7-9 and 12A-B, [0113], [0209]-[0212], and [0241]; claim 18 above).
However, it is noted that Lee as modified by Xie, as particularly cited, does not teach:
the first sensor insulating layer disposed on the first conductive patterns.
Bok teaches:
a first sensor insulating layer (150 in FIGs. 9-10) disposed on first conductive patterns (200a in FIG. 9) (Bok: FIGs. 9-10, “[0040]… A plurality of sensor channels 200a… may be formed by printing conductive ink….”, and “[0066]… an insulating layer 150 is formed on… the plurality of sensor channels 200a….”, see also FIGs. 1-2, [0022], [0035]-[0036], [0038], [0065], and [0070]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Bok, such that Lee as modified teaches: wherein the input sensor comprises first conductive patterns disposed on the display panel, a first sensor insulating layer disposed on the first conductive patterns, second conductive patterns disposed on the first sensor insulating layer, and a second sensor insulating layer disposed on the second conductive patterns (input sensor, first and second conductive patterns, display panel, first and second sensor insulating layers of Lee combined with the first sensor insulating layer and first conductive pattern of Bok), to provide touch sensing.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendments necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K. K./
Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 5/4/26B