DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6, “manual actuator” lacs antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8 and 10-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Curtis (US 2020/0170186).
Regarding claim 1, Curtis discloses a blade height adjustment mechanism for use with a lawn mower having a deck (102) and a blade (208), the blade height adjustment mechanism (Figure 4) comprising: an actuator (237) configured to adjust a height of the blade with respect to the deck in a height adjustment direction; and a biasing member (Figure 11, spring 260) configured to provide a force for supporting the blade (Provides a force on bearing 256 and rod 232f to aid in supporting the blade through cutting frame 216), the force defining a force axis that is transverse to the height adjustment direction (Spring 260 is situated transverse to the height adjustment direction).
Regarding claim 2, Curtis discloses a mechanical linkage (to include bearing 256) configured to convert the force to a holding force configured to support the blade for movement in the height adjustment direction (Bearing 256 is pressed against rod 232 to support cutting frame 216 in the height adjustment direction).
Regarding claim 3, Curtis discloses wherein the mechanical linkage includes a pivotable crank (pivotable crank 249) and a translatable rod (translatable rods 232).
It is noted that the claim language is considered broad, the mechanical linkage is considered to comprise all the mechanical components between the actuator 237 and the blade 208. As the mechanical linkage all works together and is operationally connected together, the mechanical linkage works together during operation to convert the force of the spring when moving to a holding force when stopped.
Regarding claim 4, Curtis discloses a mount (216) configured to support the blade, the mount and the blade configured to be adjustable with respect to the deck in the height adjustment direction (via actuator 237); and a mechanical linkage operatively disposed between the deck and the mount (mechanical linkage defined as the elements shown in figure 7 attached between the mount 216 and deck to translate the blade and mount up and down).
Regarding claim 6, Curtis discloses a cam interface (helical interface between halves 244 shown in figure 8) disposed between the manual actuator and the blade (Figure 15 shows a manual actuation embodiment).
Regarding claim 7, Curtis discloses a motor mount configured to fixedly support a motor (204) for movement therewith (¶0047), wherein the motor is configured to drive the blade, wherein the biasing member is operatively coupled to support the motor mount (mount 216 supports the motor as shown in figure 6) by way of a mechanical linkage (mechanical linkage shown in figure 7 to support the translatable elements to include the motor and mount within mount 216).
Regarding claim 8, Curtis discloses wherein the mechanical linkage includes a (pivotable crank 249) and a translatable rod (translatable rods 232).
Regarding claim 10, Curtis discloses a blade height adjustment mechanism for use with a lawn mower having a deck (102) and a blade (208), the blade height adjustment mechanism (Figure 4) comprising: an actuator (237) configured to adjust a height of the blade with respect to the deck in a height adjustment direction;
and a lateral support mechanism (Figure 7 shows a support mechanism between the actuator and the blade) configured to support the blade for movement in the height adjustment direction, wherein the lateral support mechanism is configured to provide a force for supporting the blade, and wherein the force is provided transverse to the height adjustment direction (Figure 11 shows a spring 260 which provides a transverse force to the height direction).
Regarding claim 11, Curtis discloses wherein the lateral support mechanism includes a portion (256) that is translatable in a direction transverse to the height adjustment direction.
Regarding claim 12, Curtis discloses wherein the lateral support mechanism includes a pivotable crank (pivotable crank 249) and a translatable rod (translatable rods 232).
Regarding claim 13, Curtis discloses further comprising a biasing member (260/256) configured to bias the translatable rod (Biases directly the translatable rod 232).
Regarding claim 14, Curtis discloses wherein the biasing member is configured to bias the translatable rod in a direction transverse to the height adjustment direction (The bias force is transverse against the rod to place bias on the rod).
Regarding claim 15, Curtis discloses a mount (216) configured to support the blade, the mount and the blade configured to be adjustable with respect to the deck in the height adjustment direction (via actuator 237); wherein the lateral support mechanism is operatively disposed between the deck and the mount (mechanical linkage defined as the elements shown in figure 7 attached between the mount 216 and deck to translate the blade and mount up and down).
Regarding claim 16, Curtis discloses garden tool comprising a deck (102); an implement (208) for performing a garden operation; an implement height adjustment mechanism (Figure 4) comprising: an actuator (237) configured to adjust a height of the implement with respect to the deck in a height adjustment direction; and a biasing member (Figure 11, spring 260) configured to provide a force for supporting the implement (Provides a force on bearing 256 and rod 232f to aid in supporting the blade through cutting frame 216), the force defining a force axis that is transverse to the height adjustment direction (Spring 260 is situated transverse to the height adjustment direction).
Regarding claim 17, Curtis discloses a mechanical linkage (to include bearing 256) configured to convert the force to a holding force configured to support the blade for movement in the height adjustment direction (Bearing 256 is pressed against rod 232 to support cutting frame 216 in the height adjustment direction).
Regarding claim 18, Curtis discloses wherein the mechanical linkage includes a pivotable crank and a translatable rod (pivotable crank 249) and a translatable rod (translatable rods 232).
Regarding claim 19, Curtis discloses wherein the biasing member is configured to bias the translatable rod (The bias force is directly against the translatable rod thereby biasing the rod).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Curtis (US 2020/0170186).
Regarding claim 9, Curtis discloses both height adjustment via a manual actuator and a motorized actuator which both rotate about a central axis to change the height of the blade.
Curtis is lacking specifics on degrees of rotation in relationship to height of adjustment.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to construct the pitch of Curtis’s threads, the gearing, or other mechanical variables in the design of Curtis to match the rotation of the actuation device to raise and lower the blade to any given ratio to include at least 1.5 inches to 180 degrees of rotation, as these are mechanical result effective variables and Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yamazaki (US 2022/0408651).
/ADAM J BEHRENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671