DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3 and 5: “the mechanical linkage” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8 and 10-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Curtis (US 2020/0170186).
Regarding claim 1, Curtis discloses a blade height adjustment mechanism for use with a lawn mower having a deck (102) and a blade (208), the blade height adjustment mechanism (Figure 4) comprising: an actuator (237) configured to adjust a height of the blade with respect to the deck in a height adjustment direction; and a biasing member (Figure 11, spring 260) configured to provide a force for supporting the blade (Provides a force on bearing 256 and rod 232f to aid in supporting the blade through cutting frame 216), the force defining a force axis that is transverse to the height adjustment direction (Spring 260 is situated transverse to the height adjustment direction).
a mount (216) configured to support the blade, the mount and the blade configured to be adjustable with respect to the deck in the height adjustment direction (via actuator 237);
and a pivotable first linkage (258) coupled to and extending between the biasing member and the mount.
Element 258 is considered “pivotable” as defined by Merriam Webster dictionary: “a person, thing, or factor having a major or central role, function, or effect”.
Regarding claim 2, Curtis discloses wherein the pivotable first linkage is configured to convert the force to a holding force configured to support the blade for movement in the height adjustment direction (Bearing 258 is pressed against rod 232 to support cutting frame 216 in the height adjustment direction).
Regarding claim 3, Curtis discloses wherein the mechanical linkage includes a pivotable crank (pivotable crank 249) and a translatable rod (translatable rods 232).
It is noted that the claim language is considered broad, the mechanical linkage is considered to comprise all the mechanical components between the actuator 237 and the blade 208. As the mechanical linkage all works together and is operationally connected together, the mechanical linkage works together during operation to convert the force of the spring when moving to a holding force when stopped.
Regarding claim 6, Curtis discloses a cam interface (helical interface between halves 244 shown in figure 8) disposed between the actuator and the blade.
Regarding claim 7, Curtis discloses a motor (204) for movement therewith (¶0047).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Curtis (US 2020/0170186).
Regarding claim 9, Curtis discloses both height adjustment via a manual actuator and a motorized actuator which both rotate about a central axis to change the height of the blade.
Curtis is lacking specifics on degrees of rotation in relationship to height of adjustment.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to construct the pitch of Curtis’s threads, the gearing, or other mechanical variables in the design of Curtis to match the rotation of the actuation device to raise and lower the blade to any given ratio to include at least 1.5 inches to 180 degrees of rotation, as these are mechanical result effective variables and Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10, 13, 15-16 and 19-20 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 4-27-2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM J BEHRENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671