Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 5 December 2025 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “thinning a back surface of the base until the conductive structure is exposed” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2022/0130736) in view of Park et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2020/0273780).
Regarding claim 1, Shih teaches a method for manufacturing a semiconductor structure, comprising:
providing a base [fig. 7, base 321];
forming a sacrificial blocking layer in the base [fig. 19, 852,];
forming an etched hole in the base, the etching hole being located at an inner side of the sacrificial blocking layer [fig. 23, the opening has been extended at and past an inner side of the blocking layer now labeled 872]; and
removing the sacrificial blocking layer to obtain an interconnecting hole, a width of an upper part of the interconnecting hole being greater than a width of a lower part of the interconnecting hole [fig. 25, the blocking layer has been removed, fig. 26 shows a upper and lower part of opening the upper part being wider].
While Shih teaches an interconnect structure they fail to teach the blocking layer is annular. However, Park teaches an interconnect structure with a blocking layer and the entire structure is a circular or annular shape [figs 1 and 2, interconnect 30 with a blocking layer 14, the structure is circular and the blocking structure has circular opening making an annular blocking layer, paragraph [0123] also teaches various shapes are possible including circular].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Park into the method of Shih by forming the interconnect structure to be circular which would lead to the blocking layer being annular. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Park in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of utilizing an interconnect structure that prevents bending defects [Park, paragraph [0105] as well as utilizing known successful interconnect shapes to ensure proper electrical communication.
Regarding claim 2, Shih in view of Park discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein
the base comprises a substrate and a dielectric layer located on a surface of the substrate [Shih, fig. 7, substrate 321, dielectric 450; and forming the annular sacrificial blocking layer in the base comprises:
forming a first patterned mask layer on a surface of the dielectric layer, the first patterned mask layer having an annular opening, and the annular opening defining a shape and a position of an annular trench [Shih, fig. 7, mask 800 with opening 802, Park teaches the opening can be annular];
etching the dielectric layer based on the first patterned mask layer to form the annular trench in the dielectric layer [Shih, fig. 8, 452 has been etched];
removing the first patterned mask layer [Shih, fig. 27, 800 has been removed];
forming a sacrificial material layer on the surface of the dielectric layer, the sacrificial material layer filling up the annular trench and covering the surface of the dielectric layer [Shih, fig. 12, 820 is formed on (above) dielectric 452, and within the trench partially filling it up as it covers the sidewalls and bottom]; and
removing the sacrificial material layer covering the surface of the dielectric layer, such that the sacrificial material layer retained in the annular trench forms the annular sacrificial blocking layer [Shih, fig. 13, 820 has been etched to form part of the annular blocking layer only within the opening and not on the surface of the dielectric].
Regarding claim 4, Shih in view of Park teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein a sidewall of the upper part of the interconnecting hole is a sloping sidewall [Shih, fig. 26, sidewall near label 300 is a sloping sidewall, the upper part can be considered the part within 322].
Regarding claim 5, Shih in view of Park show an angled or sloped sidewall of the upper part of the interconnecting hole, however they do not specifically teach the measurement of the angle. The angle shown in Shih, fig. 26 is similar to the angle of applicants instant invention as shown in applicants drawing fig. 12.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited angle dimension through routine experimentation and optimization to achieve a desired contact properties such as overall footprint [Shih, paragraph [0024]]. Applicant has not disclosed that the dimensions are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another dimension. Indeed, it has been held that mere dimensional limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. See, for example, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See also MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
Regarding clam 6, Shih in view of Park discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
After removing the annular sacrificial blocking layer to obtain the interconnecting hole,
Forming a conductive structure in the interconnecting hole ,the conductive structure filling up the interconnecting hole [Shih, fig. 30, conductive structure 510 fills the hole].
Regarding claim 7, Shih in view of Park teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein the method further comprises:
before forming the conductive structure in the interconnecting hole, forming a pad oxide layer at least on a sidewall and a bottom of the interconnecting hole, the conductive structure being located on a surface of the pad oxide layer [Shih, fig. 27, 520, paragraph [0076] teaches oxide, fig. 30 shows conductive structure 510 on pad oxide 512 (actually 522 which is 520 after etching)].
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih in view of Park as applied to claims 1, 2 and 4-7 above, and further in view of Zierath et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2019/0393156).
Regarding claim 9, Shih in view of Park teaches forming a conductive material [Shih, fig. 30, 510] and removing the conductive material formed on the base to obtain a conductive layer located in the interconnecting hole [Shih, paragraph [0079]]. However, Shih in view of Park fails to teach the use of a seed layer formed on the pad oxide layer, forming a conductive material on the seed layer and removing the seed layer on the base along with the conductive material to obtain a conductive layer located in the interconnecting hole, the seed layer and conductive layer together constituting the conductive structure.
However, Zierath teaches forming an interconnect structure in a semiconductor device, the interconnect structure having a seed layer formed in the opening [fig. 1c, 130], a conductive material formed on the seed layer [fig. 1d, 140] and the conductive material and seed layer are removed to obtain a conductive structure in the interconnecting hole [fig. 1f, paragraph [0123]].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Zierath into the method of Shih in view of Park by forming a seed material on the surface of the pad oxide layer, forming a conductive material layer on the seed layer, and removing the conductive material and seed material layer on the base to obtain a conductive layer located in the interconnecting hole. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Shih in view of Park in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of utilizing materials and structures which mitigate electromigration and improve reliability [Zierath, paragraph [0013]].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOHN M PARKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2899