The response of the applicant has been read and given careful consideration. Rejections of the previous action not repeated below are withdrawn based upon the arguments and amendment of the claims. Responses to the arguments are presented after the first rejection they are directed to.
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
“fiducial marks” is not properly introduced and therefore lacks antecedent basis (claims 10 and 15).
The applicant might amend these claims to recite - - a fiducial mark- - , -a vertex portion at adjacent to each corner of the sub-exposure area- - and - -each of the vertex portions formed in - -
Claims 1-3,5-9 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimune et al. 20220137500 and Kwon et al. 20180067390.
Yoshimune et al. 20220137500 illustrates in figures 3 and 4, a quartz substrate (2) with a chamfer regions (24) and a bare region (28) on the substrate and the reflective multilayer film (3) and the absorber film (4) having the same dimensions Figure 5 shows the absorber layer when patterned. The quartz glass is described as having a low coefficient of thermal expansion. The reflective multilayer can be alternating layers of Mo and Si. The EUV absorbing film 4 is formed of, for example, a single metal, an alloy, a nitride, an oxide, an oxynitride, or the like, or any combination thereof. The single metal contains at least one element selected from tantalum (Ta), chromium (Cr), and palladium (Pd). For example, a sputtering method is used as a method of forming the EUV absorbing film 4 [0036-0059]
Kwon et al. 20180067390 illustrates in figure 1, a photomask with the absorber printing patterns (132,134), framed by an absorption pattern (136) having dummy holes (DH) forming in the absorber layer. The dummy features may have a diameter which is less than resolvable line width and may be 32nm or less [0024]. The spacing between the dummy holes can be less than 500 microns [0026]. Figure 1 shows dummy holes (DH) in the larger mask pattern (132). Figure 2 is a side view, where the substrate (100), is coated with alternating layers (112,114) which form the reflective multilayer (110). A capping layer (120) protects the reflective multilayer and the patterned absorber layer (130,134,136,132) is removed in the open areas, including those of the dummy holes (DH) to expose the capping layer and the underlying reflective multilayer [0018-0027]. The dummy holes exhaust hydrogen from the absorption structure (absorber). The capping layer can be ruthenium [0021]. The absorber layer is TaN, TaHf, TaHfN, TaBSi, TaBSiN, TaB, TaBN, TaSi, TaSiN, TaGe, TaGeN, TaZr, TaZrN [0022]. The reflective multilayer is alternating layers of Mo and Si [0020]. The substrate is glass [0019]
Yoshimune et al. 20220137500 does not teach the provision of dummy holes in the peripheral region of the absorber layer to expose the reflective multilayer.
With respect to claims 1-3,5 and 8-9, it would have been obvious to modify the photomask blank of Yoshimune et al. 20220137500 by forming known useful absorber patterns, such as those taught by Kwon et al. 20180067390 which have 32 nm holes to allow the release of hydrogen gas with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful EUV photomask. With respect to claims 8, the EUV exposure does not affect the size of the dummy features. With respect to claim 9, the rectangular frame is has four sides, each of which meets the limitations of claim 9. With respect to claims
With respect to claims 1-3,5 and 7-9, it would have been obvious to modify the photomask blank of Yoshimune et al. 20220137500 by using the using the quartz substrate, Mo/Si reflective multilayer and Cr or Ta absorber layers disclosed in Yoshimune et al. 20220137500 and etching the known useful absorber patterns taught by Kwon et al. 20180067390 which have 32 nm holes to allow the release of hydrogen gas down to the capping layer with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful EUV photomask. The position of the examiner is that the Ta or Cr absorber materials are sufficiently electrically conductive to act as a contact point for electrical grounding. Claims 2 do not require any particular structure. With respect to claims 8, the EUV exposure does not affect the size of the dummy features.
With respect to claims 1-3 and 5--9,11-14, and 16-18, it would have been obvious to modify the photomask blank of Yoshimune et al. 20220137500 by using the quartz substrate, Mo/Si reflective multilayer and Cr or Ta absorber layers disclosed in Yoshimune et al. 20220137500 and Ru capping layer materials to protect the reflective multilayer and etching the known useful absorber patterns taught by Kwon et al. 20180067390 which have 32 nm holes to allow the release of hydrogen gas down to the capping layer with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful EUV photomask. The position of the examiner is that the Ta or Cr absorber materials and the Ru (metal) capping layer are sufficiently electrically conductive to act as a contact point for electrical grounding. Claim 2 does not require any particular structure. With respect to claim 8 , the EUV exposure does not affect the size of the dummy features. With respect to claim 9, the rectangular frame is has four sides, each of which meets the limitations of claim 9.
In the response of 2/13/2026, the applicant argues that the area of the openings being less than 30% of the area of the dummy hole pattern is not taught. The holes in Kwon et al. 20180067390 are 32 nm in size and spaced 500 microns or less. This clearly describes the case where the openings of the holes are less than 30% of the area of the pattern. Claims 4 and 11 are not rejected under this heading as the references do not teach the formation of holes in in the areas not covered by the absorber. The examiner points to the instant specification (see prepub at 0042,0064]), which describes the dummy holes and anti-blister patterns as having sub-resolution sizes and able to release trapped gasses.
Claims 1-9,11,13-14,16-18 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimune et al. 20220137500 and Kwon et al. 20180067390, further in view of Lamantia 20130330661.
Lamantia 20130330661 teaches defects, such as D1, occurring in EUV photomasks. These are corrected by forming a series of holes using an electron or ion beams, where the holes pierce the protection/capping film (30) and a portion of the reflective multilayer (20) as shown in figure 5 [0044]
The combination of Yoshimune et al. 20220137500 and Kwon et al. 20180067390 does not teach the formation of holes/perforations in the mask areas not covered by the absorber.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art top modify the photomasks rendered obvious by the combination of Yoshimune et al. 20220137500 and Kwon et al. 20180067390 by forming holes in areas where there are defects to repair them as taught in Lamantia 20130330661 with a reasonable expectation of forming useful photomasks.
In response to the arguments of 2/13/2026 regarding the anti-blister holes in areas not covered by the absorber, the examiner points to Lamantia 20130330661 who teaches this.
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimune et al. 20220137500 and Chang et al. 20220382168.
Chang et al. 20220382168 illustrates in figures 11B and 12A-f, an EUV mask where the substrate (30) is coated with alternating layers of the reflective multilayer (35), a capping layer (38), and a patterned absorber/low reflectance (40/45) bilayer. The openings (58) are sub-resolution features and may be 10-20 nm in width and have a pitch of 200-8000 nm on the wafer [0029-0036,0076-0079]] The reflective reticle 205c includes a substrate 30 with a suitable material, such as a low thermal expansion material or fused quartz, as shown in FIG. 3. In various examples, the material includes TiO.sub.2 doped SiO.sub.2, or other suitable materials with low thermal expansion. In some embodiments, the low thermal expansion glass substrate transmits light at visible wavelengths, a portion of the infrared wavelengths near the visible spectrum (near-infrared), and a portion of the ultraviolet wavelengths. In some embodiments, the low thermal expansion glass substrate absorbs extreme ultraviolet wavelengths and deep ultraviolet wavelengths near the extreme ultraviolet [0029]. The multiple reflective layers 35 includes a plurality of film pairs, such as molybdenum-silicon (Mo/Si) film pairs [0030]. a capping layer 40, such as a layer made of ruthenium (Ru) for protection of the multilayer[0031]. The absorber layer 45 is disposed over the capping layer 40 in some embodiments. The absorption layer 45 is patterned to define a layer of an integrated circuit (IC). In some embodiments, the absorber layer 45 is Ta-based material. In some embodiments, the absorber layer is made of TaN, TaO, TaBN, or TaBO having a thickness from about 25 nm to about 100 nm [0033].
With respect to claims 1-3,5, and 8-9, it would have been obvious to modify the photomask blank of Yoshimune et al. 20220137500 by forming known useful absorber patterns, such as those taught in figures 12F of Chang et al. 20220382168 which have sub-resolution holes down to the capping/reflective layer with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful EUV photomask. With respect to claim 8, the EUV exposure does not affect the size of the dummy features. With respect to claim 9, the rectangular frame is has four sides, each of which meets the limitations of claim 9.
With respect to claims 1-3,5 and ,7-9, it would have been obvious to modify the photomask blank of Yoshimune et al. 20220137500 by using the using the quartz substrate, Mo/Si reflective multilayer and Cr or Ta absorber layers disclosed in Yoshimune et al. 20220137500 and etching the known useful absorber patterns, such as those taught in figures 12F of Chang et al. 20220382168 which have sub-resolution holes down to the capping/reflective layer with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful EUV photomask. The position of the examiner is that the Ta or Cr absorber materials are sufficiently electrically conductive to act as a contact point for electrical grounding. Claim 2 does not require any particular structure. With respect to claims 8, the EUV exposure does not affect the size of the dummy features. With respect to claim 9, the rectangular frame is has four sides, each of which meets the limitations of claim 9.
With respect to claims 1,3 and 5-9, it would have been obvious to modify the photomask blank of Yoshimune et al. 20220137500 by using the quartz substrate, Mo/Si reflective multilayer and Cr or Ta absorber layers disclosed in Yoshimune et al. 20220137500 and Ru capping layer materials to protect the reflective multilayer as taught in Chang et al. 20220382168 and etching the known useful absorber patterns, such as those taught in figures 12F of Chang et al. 20220382168 which have sub-resolution holes down to the capping layer with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful EUV photomask. The position of the examiner is that the Ta or Cr absorber materials and the Ru (metal) capping layer are sufficiently electrically conductive to act as a contact point for electrical grounding. Claim 2 does not require any particular structure. With respect to claim 8, the EUV exposure does not affect the size of the dummy features. With respect to claim 9, the rectangular frame is has four sides, each of which meets the limitations of claim 9.
In the response of 2/13/2026, the applicant argues that the area of the openings being less than 30% of the area of the dummy hole pattern is not taught. The pattern illustrated in figure 12F shows a pattern of openings where the sum of the area of the circles/holes is less than 30% of the area of the overall pattern. The applicant did not advance any particular argument regarding this.
Claims 1-9,11,13-14,16-18 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimune et al. 20220137500 and Chang et al. 20220382168, further in view of Lamantia 20130330661.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art top modify the photomasks rendered obvious by the combination of Yoshimune et al. 20220137500 and Chang et al. 20220382168 by forming holes in areas where there are defects to repair them as taught in Lamantia 20130330661 with a reasonable expectation of forming useful photomasks.
Claims 1-9,11-14 and 16-18 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimune et al. 20220137500 and Kwon et al. 20180067390 and Lamantia 20130330661, further in view of Suga et al. 20110117479 and Lee et al. 20210200078.
Suga et al. 20110117479 teaches that normally, to remove the charges generated in that way, the reflecting film MLb and/or the absorber ABb, which are conductive, in a region not related to the exposed pattern region RPb are conducted to a ground (earth) potential [0080]
Lee et al. 20210200078 The grounding pin can be contacted with the capping layer to reduce the surface voltage of the mask. Because the capping layer is a relatively good conductor, the surface voltage can be reduced more effectively. Reducing the surface voltage provides for better critical dimension (CD) uniformity [0036,0039,0041,0045].
It address any arguments regarding the position that the capping layer and the absorber layer are sufficiently conductive to dissipate electrical charges by grounding through the absorber or capping layer, the examiner cites Suga et al. 20110117479 and Lee et al. 20210200078 which clearly teach the use of the absorber and capping layers in dissipating charges.
Claims 1-9,11-14 and 16-18 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimune et al. 20220137500, Chang et al. 20220382168 and Lamantia 20130330661, further in view of Suga et al. 20110117479 and Lee et al. 20210200078.
It address any arguments regarding the position that the capping layer and the absorber layer are sufficiently conductive to dissipate electrical charges by grounding through the absorber or capping layer, the examiner cites Suga et al. 20110117479 and Lee et al. 20210200078 which clearly teach the use of the absorber and capping layers in dissipating charges.
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimune et al. 20220137500 and Kwon et al. 20180067390 and Lamantia 20130330661, in view of Imoto JP 2016031972 and/or Kim et al. KR 20210156461.
Kim et al. KR 20210156461 (machine translation attached) illustrates in figure 4, a mask with image area (A), a border region (B) and an edge pattern region (C), where the near the vertices, there are alignment keys (122) [0051].
Imoto JP 2016031972 (machine translation attached) illustrates in figure 13B, a schematic diagram of the mask blank of the present invention, which includes a light shielding frame 31, a fiducial mark 32, and a phase defect 41. In both figures, an image of a blank defect map and a fiducial mark is shown [0052].
In addition to the basis above, the examiner cites Imoto JP 2016031972 and Kim et al. KR 20210156461 and holds that it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the embodiments rendered obvious by the combination of Yoshimune et al. 20220137500 and Kwon et al. 20180067390 by adding fiducial patterns/marks such as those taught by Imoto JP 2016031972 and/or Kim et al. KR 20210156461to facilitate the alignment of the mask pattern with previously formed layers on the substrate to be exposed or possible patterns to be formed in the absorber layer with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful patterned EUV mask. With respect to claim 15, the claim does not require the anti-blister pattern to be different form the dummy holes.
Claims 1-18 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimune et al. 20220137500, Kwon et al. 20180067390 and Lamantia 20130330661, in view of Imoto JP 2016031972 and/or Kim et al. KR 20210156461.
Kim et al. KR 20210156461 (machine translation attached) illustrates in figure 4, a mask with image area (A), a border region (B) and an edge pattern region (C), where the near the vertices, there are alignment keys (122) [0051].
Imoto JP 2016031972 (machine translation attached) illustrates in figure 13B, a schematic diagram of the mask blank of the present invention, which includes a light shielding frame 31, a fiducial mark 32, and a phase defect 41. In both figures, an image of a blank defect map and a fiducial mark is shown [0052].
In addition to the basis above, the examiner cites Imoto JP 2016031972 and Kim et al. KR 20210156461 and holds that it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the embodiments rendered obvious by the combination of Yoshimune et al. 20220137500, Kwon et al. 20180067390 and Lamantia 20130330661 by adding fiducial patterns/marks such as those taught by Imoto JP 2016031972 and/or Kim et al. KR 20210156461to facilitate the alignment of the mask pattern with previously formed layers on the substrate to be exposed or possible patterns to be formed in the absorber layer with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful patterned EUV mask. With respect to claim 15, the claim does not require the anti-blister pattern to be different form the dummy holes.
The claims are open to the fiducial marks occupying a number of different positions which are adjacent to the corner/vertex of the absorber layer. These can be ad the corner (Imoto JP 2016031972), within in the absorber area (Kim et al. KR 20210156461) or in the exposure field (Noudo et al. 20040072086).
Claims 1-18 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimune et al. 20220137500, Chang et al. 20220382168 and Lamantia 20130330661, in view of Imoto JP 2016031972 and/or Kim et al. KR 20210156461.
In addition to the basis above, the examiner cites Imoto JP 2016031972 and Kim et al. KR 20210156461 and holds that it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the embodiments rendered obvious by the combination of Yoshimune et al. 20220137500, Chang et al. 20220382168 and Lamantia 20130330661 by adding fiducial patterns/marks such as those taught by Imoto JP 2016031972 and/or Kim et al. KR 20210156461to facilitate the alignment of the mask pattern with previously formed layers on the substrate to be exposed or possible patterns to be formed in the absorber layer with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful patterned EUV mask. With respect to claim 15, the claim does not require the anti-blister pattern to be different form the dummy holes.
Claims 1-18 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimune et al. 20220137500 , Kwon et al. 20180067390 and Lamantia 20130330661, in view of Noudo et al. 20040072086.
Noudo et al. 20040072086 teaches that chip regions of masks are known to be provided with alignment marks at the four corners of the exposure regions [0062].
In addition to the basis above, the examiner cites Imoto JP 2016031972 and Kim et al. KR 20210156461 and holds that it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the embodiments rendered obvious by the combination of Yoshimune et al. 20220137500, Kwon et al. 20180067390 and Lamantia 20130330661 by adding fiducial patterns/marks in the four corners of the exposure region as taught by Noudo et al. 20040072086 at [0062] to facilitate the alignment of the mask pattern with previously formed layers on the substrate to be exposed with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful patterned EUV mask. With respect to claim 15, the claim does not require the anti-blister pattern to be different form the dummy holes.
Claims 1-18 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimune et al. 20220137500 , Chang et al. 20220382168 and Lamantia 20130330661, in view of Noudo et al. 20040072086.
Noudo et al. 20040072086 teaches that chip regions of masks are known to be provided with alignment marks at the four corners of the exposure regions [0062].
In addition to the basis above, the examiner cites Imoto JP 2016031972 and Kim et al. KR 20210156461 and holds that it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the embodiments rendered obvious by the combination of Yoshimune et al. 20220137500, Chang et al. 20220382168 and Lamantia 20130330661 by adding fiducial patterns/marks in the four corners of the exposure region as taught by Noudo et al. 20040072086 at [0062] to facilitate the alignment of the mask pattern with previously formed layers on the substrate to be exposed with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful patterned EUV mask. With respect to claim 15, the claim does not require the anti-blister pattern to be different form the dummy holes.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARTIN J. ANGEBRANNDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1737
/MARTIN J ANGEBRANNDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 March 5, 2026