DETAILED ACTION
The status of the claims stands as follows (*the claims are renumbered according to the objection below*):
Pending claims: 1-4, 6-20, 22
Withdrawn claims: 12-20
Cancelled claims: 5, 21
Claims currently under consideration: 1-4, 6-11, 22
Currently rejected claims: 1-4, 6-11, 22
Allowed claims: None
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-4, 6-11, 22) in the reply filed on 10/30/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue search burden on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because, not only is there an undue search burden on the Examiner, but the inventions of Groups I, II, and III were shown to be independent or distinct for the reasons provided in the Election Restriction filed 08/05/2025..
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Objections
Claims labeled as 5-10 and 21 are objected to because the claims are improperly numbered. The previous claim set contained two claims which were numbered as claim 4. Applicant canceled one of the claims labeled as claim 4 and left the other claim labeled as claim 4. Applicant did not correct the claim numbers and thus, the claims are numbered incorrectly. Claims 5-10 and 21 should be renumbered as claims 6-11 and 22. Canceled and withdrawn claims should be renumbered as well.
For the purpose of this examination, the rejections will use the claims as if they were numbered properly.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-11, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural product without significantly more. Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-11, and 22 are directed to a composition comprising natural products. The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-11, and 22 recite a composition comprising a flavor/taste modifying agent and a high intensity sweetener (HIS), wherein the flavor/taste modifying agent and the HIS may be the same substance (e.g., claim 3 and 9 recite that the both the flavor/taste modifying agent and the HIS may be stevia extracts (SEs)); or wherein the flavor/taste modifying agent and the HIS may be compounds that naturally coexist in one naturally-occurring product (e.g., a stevia leaf). Therefore, the claimed product is not markedly different from its closest naturally-occurring counterpart because there is no indication that the preparation has caused the nature-based product to have any characteristics that are markedly different from the closest naturally-occurring product and the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Ingredients recited in the claims are natural products that would occur naturally; thus, the claims fall within judicial exceptions. There is no indication in the record of any markedly different characteristics (either structural or functional) of the composition as broadly claimed. For example, there is no evidence of record of a structural difference between the claimed product and that of its nature-based counterparts. Consequently, the claimed composition is structurally the same as their closest naturally-occurring counterparts.
Nor is there any difference in functional characteristics. To show a marked difference, the characteristic(s) must be changed as compared to its closest naturally-occurring counterpart. For example, an assertion of changed functionality must be accompanied with evidence of a comparison of the claimed composition with its closest naturally-occurring counterpart and should apply to the full scope of the claim. Furthermore, inherent or innate characteristics of the naturally-occurring counterpart cannot show a marked difference. Likewise, differences in the characteristics that came about or were produced independently of any effort or influence by Applicant cannot show a marked difference.
The requirement that the composition contain the flavor/taste modifying agent in an amount sufficient to enhance a flavor and/or taste profile of HIS does not meaningfully limit the claim, especially wherein both the flavor/taste modifying agent and the HIS may be the same compound.. Therefore, the claim does not amount to significantly more than a naturally-occurring product itself.
Thus, there is no evidence of record to indicate that the claimed product is markedly different, structurally, chemically, functionally, than its closest naturally-occurring counterpart and is not eligible subject matter under current 35 U.S.C. 101 standards.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Prakash (US 2015/0216219).
Regarding claim 1, Prakash teaches a composition comprising: (1) a flavor/taste modifying agent (corresponding to sweetness enhancer); and (2) a HIS (corresponding to high potency sweetener), wherein the flavor/taste modifying agent is present at an amount sufficient to enhance a flavor and/or taste profile of the HIS [0041].
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Prakash teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, including the flavor/taste modifying agent comprises a stevia extract (SE) (corresponding to rebaudiosides) [0019].
Regarding claim 6, Prakash teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, including the flavor/taste modifying agent comprises stevia sweeteners such as rubusoside (RU) [0019]. Although Prakash discloses that the rubusoside is sourced from stevia instead of the sweet tea plant, rubusoside has the same chemical composition no matter its source. Therefore, the rubusoside of Prakash is still considered to anticipate the present claim.
Regarding claim 7, Prakash teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, including the flavor/taste modifying agent comprises RU [0019].
Regarding claim 9, Prakash teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, including the flavor/taste modifying agent comprises a mogroside [0019].
Regarding claim 10, Prakash teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, including the HIS is a natural HIS (NHIS) selected from the group consisting of SEs, stevia glycosides (SGs) (SEs and SGs corresponding to rebaudiosides and stevia), sweet tea extracts (STEs), sweet tea glycosides (STGs) (STEs and STGs corresponding to rubusoside), monkfruit extracts (MFEs) (corresponding to Luo Han Guo sweetener), licorice extracts, and glycyrrhizin and salts thereof (licorice extracts and glycyrrhizin corresponding to glycyrrhizic acid) [0049].
Regarding claim 11, Prakash teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, including the HIS is a synthetic HIS (SHIS) selected from the group consisting of sucralose, acesulfame-K, aspartame, saccharin, saccharin and aspartame, neotame, neohesperidin dihydrochalcone, and salts thereof [0047]-[0048].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chakraborty (US 2017/0055548).
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 4, Chakraborty teaches a composition (corresponding to a flavor system) comprising: (1) a flavor/taste modifying agent comprising benzaldehyde and/or decanal; and (2) a HIS (corresponding to rebaudiosides, swingle extract, mogroside V, and glycosylated steviol glycosides) [0051] as recited in present claims 1, 3, and 4. Chakraborty does not explicitly disclose that the flavor/taste modifying agents are extracted from stevia. However, these flavor/taste modifying agents have the same chemical composition no matter their source. For these reasons, Chakraborty is considered to anticipate the claims.
Chakraborty discloses that the concentration of flavor/taste modifying agent in the composition is from about 0.01 wt.% to about 1.0 wt.% [0062]; and that the concentration of the HIS in the composition is from about 0.00000001 wt.% to about 0.0025 wt.% [0053]. Although Chakraborty does not disclose this concentration of flavor/taste modifying agent to be sufficient to enhance a flavor and/or taste profile of the HIS, this disclosed concentration is considered fall within the range of “an amount sufficient” as recited in present claim 1. For this reason, Chakraborty is considered to render the claims obvious.
Claims 1, 3, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Karaköse (Karaköse, H., “Phytochemical Characterization of Stevia rebaudiana”, 2012, Jacobs University).
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 22, Karaköse teaches a composition (corresponding to Stevia rebaudiana extract) comprising: (1) a flavor/taste modifying agent comprising SEs selected from the group consisting of quercetin pentoside, kaempferol-xylosyl-glucoside; quercetin-diglucoside-rhamnoside, and quercetin-dirhamnoside; and (2) a HIS (corresponding to steviol glycosides) (page 48, Fig. 22 and Table 4) as recited in present claims 1, 3, and 22. For this reason, Chakraborty is considered to anticipate the claims.
Karaköse demonstrates the relative abundance of each of the flavor/taste modifying agents and for each of the HISs (page 48, Fig. 22). Although Karaköse does not disclose these relative concentrations of flavor/taste modifying agent to be sufficient to enhance a flavor and/or taste profile of the HIS, these relative concentrations are considered fall within the range of “an amount sufficient” as recited in present claim 1. For this reason, Karaköse is considered to render the claims obvious.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prakash (US 2015/0216219) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8, Prakash teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, including the flavor/taste modifying agent comprises a combination of RU with at least one of another sweetness enhancer [0021]. Therefore, the concentration of RU in the flavor/taste modifying agent is from an amount greater than 0 wt.% to an amount less than 100 wt.% with the at least one of another sweetness enhancer is also from an amount greater than 0 wt.% to an amount less than 100 wt.%. This concentration of RU encompasses the claimed concentrations denoted by RU20, RU40, RU90 in the present claim. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portions of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art references, particularly in view of the fact that; "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages" In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003). Also In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549,533 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.I.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,102,996. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1 and 2 require the same flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS as patented claims 1, 6, and 7. The patented claims do not require the flavor/taste modifying agent to be present in an amount sufficient to enhance a flavor and/or taste profile of the HIS. However, the patented claims do not require any particular amount of flavor/taste modifying agent or HIS so that the amounts of each ingredient may be from greater than 0 wt.% to less than 100 wt.%, which encompasses the amount considered to be “sufficient” in the instant claims; therefore, the selection of an amount of flavor/taste modifying agent in the composition of the patented claims within the encompassing range renders the instant claims obvious.
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,425,923. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1 and 2 require the same flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS as patented claims 1, 2, 3, 4, and 6. The patented claims do not require the flavor/taste modifying agent to be present in an amount sufficient to enhance a flavor and/or taste profile of the HIS. However, the patented claims do not require any particular amount of flavor/taste modifying agent or HIS so that the amounts of each ingredient may be from greater than 0 wt.% to less than 100 wt.%, which encompasses the amount considered to be “sufficient” in the instant claims; therefore, the selection of an amount of flavor/taste modifying agent in the composition of the patented claims within the encompassing range renders the instant claims obvious.
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 13, and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,324,237. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1 and 2 require the same flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS as patented claims 1, 7, 13, and 19. The patented claims do not require the flavor/taste modifying agent to be present in an amount sufficient to enhance a flavor and/or taste profile of the HIS. However, the patented claims do not require any particular amount of flavor/taste modifying agent or HIS so that the amounts of each ingredient may be from greater than 0 wt.% to less than 100 wt.%, which encompasses the amount considered to be “sufficient” in the instant claims; therefore, the selection of an amount of flavor/taste modifying agent in the composition of the patented claims within the encompassing range renders the instant claims obvious.
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,849,742. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1 and 2 require the same flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS as patented claims 1, 8, and 16. The patented claims do not require the flavor/taste modifying agent to be present in an amount sufficient to enhance a flavor and/or taste profile of the HIS. However, the patented claims require the weight ratio of flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS to be between 99:1 and 1:99, which is considered to encompass the amount considered to be “sufficient” in the instant claims; therefore, the selection of an amount of flavor/taste modifying agent in the composition of the patented claims within the encompassing range renders the instant claims obvious.
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9, and 24 of U.S. Patent No. 11,252,978. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1 and 2 require the same flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS and the same effect of the flavor/taste modifying agent on the HIS as patented claims 1, 9, and 24. Therefore, the patented claims render the instant claims obvious.
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8-10, and 17-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,154,079. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1 and 2 require the same flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS as patented claims 1, 8, 9, 10, 17, 18, 19, and 20. The patented claims do not require the flavor/taste modifying agent to be present in an amount sufficient to enhance a flavor and/or taste profile of the HIS. However, the patented claims do not require any particular amount of flavor/taste modifying agent or HIS so that the amounts of each ingredient may be from greater than 0 wt.% to less than 100 wt.%, which encompasses the amount considered to be “sufficient” in the instant claims; therefore, the selection of an amount of flavor/taste modifying agent in the composition of the patented claims within the encompassing range renders the instant claims obvious.
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 15, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,369,127. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1 and 2 require the same flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS as patented claims 1, 6, 15, and 20. The patented claims do not require the flavor/taste modifying agent to be present in an amount sufficient to enhance a flavor and/or taste profile of the HIS. However, the patented claims require the amount of flavor/taste modifying agent to be between 1-15,000 ppm, which is considered to at least overlap the amount considered to be “sufficient” in the instant claims; therefore, the selection of an amount of flavor/taste modifying agent in the composition of the patented claims within the overlapping range renders the instant claims obvious.
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 10, and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,147,295. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1 and 2 require the same flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS as patented claims 1, 3, 10, and 12. The patented claims do not require the flavor/taste modifying agent to be present in an amount sufficient to enhance a flavor and/or taste profile of the HIS. However, the patented claims require the amount of flavor/taste modifying agent to be 1-100 wt. or 1-99 wt.%, which is considered to at least overlap the amount considered to be “sufficient” in the instant claims; therefore, the selection of an amount of flavor/taste modifying agent in the composition of the patented claims within the overlapping range renders the instant claims obvious.
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,266,170. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1 and 2 require the same flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS as patented claims 1, 6, and 10. The patented claims do not require the flavor/taste modifying agent to be present in an amount sufficient to enhance a flavor and/or taste profile of the HIS. However, the patented claims require the amount of flavor/taste modifying agent to be 0.0001-50 wt.% wt.%, which is considered to at least overlap the amount considered to be “sufficient” in the instant claims; therefore, the selection of an amount of flavor/taste modifying agent in the composition of the patented claims within the overlapping range renders the instant claims obvious.
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 10, and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,284,634. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1 and 2 require the same flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS as patented claims 1, 5, 10, and 16. The patented claims do not require the flavor/taste modifying agent to be present in an amount sufficient to enhance a flavor and/or taste profile of the HIS. However, the patented claims require the amount of flavor/taste modifying agent to be 0.0001-10 wt.% wt.%, which is considered to at least overlap the amount considered to be “sufficient” in the instant claims; therefore, the selection of an amount of flavor/taste modifying agent in the composition of the patented claims within the overlapping range renders the instant claims obvious.
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-6, 11, and 15-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,304,431. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1 and 2 require the same flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS as patented claims 1, 5-6, 11, and 15-16. The patented claims do not require the flavor/taste modifying agent to be present in an amount sufficient to enhance a flavor and/or taste profile of the HIS. However, the patented claims do not require any particular amount of flavor/taste modifying agent or HIS so that the amounts of each ingredient may be from greater than 0 wt.% to less than 100 wt.%, which encompasses the amount considered to be “sufficient” in the instant claims; therefore, the selection of an amount of flavor/taste modifying agent in the composition of the patented claims within the encompassing range renders the instant claims obvious.
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,793,321. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1 and 2 require the same flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS as patented claims 1 and 10. The patented claims do not require the flavor/taste modifying agent to be present in an amount sufficient to enhance a flavor and/or taste profile of the HIS. However, the patented claims require the amount of flavor/taste modifying agent to be 0.001-1 wt.% wt.% or 1-2,000 ppm, which is considered to at least overlap the amount considered to be “sufficient” in the instant claims; therefore, the selection of an amount of flavor/taste modifying agent in the composition of the patented claims within the overlapping range renders the instant claims obvious.
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,048,316. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1 and 2 require the same flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS and the same effect of the flavor/taste modifying agent on the HIS as patented claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, and 7.
Claims 1-2 and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10, 12, 14-16, 18, and 21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,751,593. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1, 2, and 22 require the same flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS and the same effect of the flavor/taste modifying agent on the HIS as patented claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 10, 12, 14, 15, 16, 18, and 21.
Conclusion
/KELLY P KERSHAW/Examiner, Art Unit 1791