DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's amendments filed March 13, 2026. Claims 1-4 have been amended. No claims have been added. Claims 8-20 have been canceled. Currently, claims 1-7 are pending.
Applicant’s Amendment to the specification overcome the objections outlined in the previous Office Action. The objections to the specification have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “sides of said cover glass… extending to said third raised-step structure” of claim 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 2: “said third raised-step is structure over” should read --said third raised-step structure is over--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitation “sides of said cover glass… extending to said third raised-step structure and bonded to said third raised-step structure's side-wall surface” (emphasis added) in lines 8-9 which does not have support in the disclosure. The specification discloses, in ¶ [0023] and Fig. 2, a cavity between the side-wall surface of the third raised-step structure and the sides of the cover glass rather than the side walls of the cover glass extending to the third raised step.
Claims 2-7 depend upon claim 1 and do not rectify the problem. Therefore, they are rejected on as least the same basis as claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitation “sides of said cover glass… extending to said third raised-step structure and bonded to said third raised-step structure's side-wall surface, thereby forming a glue cavity between said third raised- step structure and said cover glass” in lines 8-11. It is not clear how the cover glass can extend to the third raised-step structure while simultaneously a cavity is formed in the space between the cover glass and the third raised-step structure.
Claims 2-7 depend upon claim 1 and do not rectify the problem. Therefore, they are rejected on as least the same basis as claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chul (US 20100033608 A1) in view of Wood et al. (US 20060035415 A1) herein after “Wood”.
Regarding claim 1, Fig. 3 of Chul discloses an image sensor package (Fig. 3, image sensor module 30, ¶ [0041]), comprising:
a multi-step cavity (Fig. 3, cavity 31a, ¶ [0043]) formed in or on a substrate (Fig. 3, module substrate 31, ¶ [0042]);
an image sensor (Fig. 3, image sensor 32, ¶ [0042]) bonded onto bottom of said multi-step cavity (31a); and
a cover glass (Fig. 3, IR filer 33, ¶ [0042]) placed and sealed on a lower portion (see Annotation 1, Fig. 3 of Chul, LP) of said multi-step cavity (31a);
wherein said lower portion (LP) of said multi-step cavity (31a) includes at least a first (see Annotation 1, Fig. 3 of Chul, S1) and a second (see Annotation 1, Fig. 3 of Chul, S2) raised-step structures protruding from said bottom of said multi-step cavity (31a), and said cover glass (33) being disposed on said first raised-step structure (S1). sides of said cover glass (33) being bonded to said second raised-step structure's side-wall surface (see Annotation 1, Fig. 3 of Chul, SWS).
Annotation 1, Fig. 3 of Chul
Chul fails to disclose a third raised-step structure disposed over said second raised-step structure, and said cover glass extending to said third raised-step structure and bonded to said third raised-step structure's side-wall surface, thereby forming a glue cavity between said third raised- step structure and said cover glass.
In the similar field of endeavor of image sensor packages, Fig. 4 of Wood discloses a third raised-step structure (see Annotation 2, Fig. 4 of Wood, RS3) disposed over said second raised-step structure (see Annotation 2, Fig. 4 of Wood, RS2), and said cover glass (Fig. 4, window 12, ¶ [0044]) extending to said third raised-step structure (RS3) and bonded (Fig. 4, adhesive material 17, ¶ [0047]) to said third raised-step structure's side-wall surface, thereby forming a glue cavity (see Annotation 2, Fig. 4 of Wood, GC) between said third raised-step structure (RS3) and said cover glass (12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the package of Chul with the third raised-step structure as disclosed by Wood, to support subsequent components (see Wood, ¶ [0062]).
Annotation 2, Fig. 4 of Wood
Regarding claim 2, Chul and Wood together disclose the image sensor package of claim 1 as applied above, but Chul fails to disclose wherein said third raised-step is structure over said and a said second raised-step structures.
In the similar field of endeavor of image sensor packages, Fig. 4 of Wood discloses wherein said third raised-step (RS3) is structure over said first (see Annotation 2, Fig. 4 of Wood, RS1) and said second raised-step structures (RS2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the package of Chul with the third raised-step structure as disclosed by Wood, to support subsequent components (see Wood, ¶ [0062]).
Regarding claim 3, Chul and Wood together disclose the image sensor package of claim 2 as applied above, and Fig. 3 of Chul further discloses wherein said second raised-step structure’s side-wall surface (see Annotation 1, Fig. 3 of Chul, SWS) encompasses and adjoins a top surface (see Annotation 1, Fig. 3 of Chul, TS) of said first raised-step structure (S1).
Regarding claim 4, Chul and Wood together disclose the image sensor package of claim 3 as applied above, and Fig. 3 of Chul further discloses wherein said cover glass (33) is planar (Fig. 3, “The depth of the filter mounting portion 31d corresponds to the thickness of the IR filter 33”, ¶ [0045]) and includes a bottom surface disposed onto said top surface (TS) of said first raised-step structure (S1).
Regarding claim 5, Chul and Wood together disclose the image sensor package of claim 1 as applied above, and Fig. 3 of Chul further discloses wherein an opening of said multi-step cavity (31a) for said cover glass (33) to be interposed is wider than an opening of bottom of said multi-step cavity (31a).
Regarding claim 6, Chul and Wood together disclose the image sensor package of claim 1 as applied above, and Fig. 3 of Chul further discloses wherein said substrate (31) is a ceramic substrate (31) (Fig. 3, “the module substrate… may be formed of a ceramic substrate”, ¶ [0043]).
Regarding claim 7, Chul and Wood together disclose the image sensor package of claim 6 as applied above, and Fig. 3 of Chul further discloses wherein said multi-step cavity (31a) is formed within said ceramic substrate (31) (Fig. 3, “The cylindrical upper cavity 31a is formed inside the upper end of the module substrate 31”, ¶ [0044]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.A.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893