DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Amendments/Remarks filed on June 04, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-12, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0051975 A1 to Suzuki et al. (“Suzuki”).
As to claim 1, Suzuki discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a substrate (1a); a first planarized layer (32-1A) having insulating properties, the first planarized layer (32-1A) having a first surface (bottom) and a second surface (top) opposite the first surface (bottom); a plurality of first semiconductor elements (12, 13, 14 of 10-1) formed on the first surface (bottom) of the first planarized layer (32-1A); and a first groove (33-1) provided in the second surface (top) of the first planarized layer (32-1A), wherein the first groove (33-1) is formed in a region outside the plurality of first semiconductor elements (12, 13, 14 of 10-1) as viewed in a first direction perpendicular to the first surface (bottom), and wherein the second surface (top) of the first planarized layer (32-1A) is bonded to the substrate (1a) (See Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 4, Fig. 5, Fig. 6, ¶ 0028, ¶ 0034, ¶ 0035, ¶ 0036, ¶ 0040, ¶ 0041, ¶ 0058, ¶ 0069, ¶ 0070, ¶ 0071, ¶ 0072, ¶ 0079) (Notes: the limitation “bond” is defined as when one thing bonds with another, it sticks to it or becomes joined to it in some way. You can also say that two things bond together, or that something bonds them together by collinsdictionary.com, where no direct contact is specified). As to claim 2, Suzuki discloses further comprising a plurality of first connections (17, circular, branch) connected to the plurality of first semiconductor elements (12, 13, 14 of 10-1); wherein the first groove (33-1) is formed in a region outside the plurality of first semiconductor elements (12, 13, 14 of 10-1) and the plurality of first connections (17, circular, branch) as viewed in the first direction (See Fig. 4, Fig. 6, ¶ 0040). As to claim 3, Suzuki further discloses wherein the plurality of first connections (17, circular, branch) are exposed in the second surface (top) of the first planarized layer (32-1A), and electrically connect the plurality of first semiconductor elements (12, 13, 14 of 10-1) to a plurality of other connections (23-1) located on a second surface side of the first planarized layer (32-1A) (See Fig. 4, Fig. 6, ¶ 0040, ¶ 0041). As to claim 4, Suzuki further discloses wherein the first groove (33-1) communicates with an outside of the first planarized layer (32-1A) at an end surface of the first planarized layer (32-1A) in a surface direction along the first surface (bottom) (See Fig. 5, ¶ 0070) (Notes: the first groove of different index optically communicates with an outside of the first planarized layer). As to claim 5, Suzuki further discloses wherein the first groove (33-1) is formed outside at least the plurality of first semiconductor elements (12, 13, 14 of 10-1) to surround the plurality of first semiconductor elements (12, 13, 14 of 10-1), as viewed in the first direction (See Fig. 4, Fig. 6). As to claim 6, Suzuki further discloses wherein the first groove (33-1) is formed outside the plurality of first connections (17, circular, branch) to surround the plurality of first semiconductor elements (12, 13, 14 of 10-1) and the plurality of first connections (17, circular, branch), as viewed in the first direction (See Fig. 4, Fig. 6). As to claim 7, Suzuki further discloses wherein the first groove (33-1) has a grid pattern as viewed in the first direction (See Fig. 4, Fig. 6) (Notes: the limitation “grid” is defined as a framework of parallel bars; grating by collinsdictionary.com). As to claim 8, Suzuki further discloses wherein the first groove (33-1) has a grid pattern as viewed in the first direction (See Fig. 4, Fig. 6) (Notes: the limitation “grid” is defined as a framework of parallel bars; grating by collinsdictionary.com). As to claim 9, Suzuki further discloses wherein the first groove (33-1) extends in a direction having a component in a direction in which the plurality of first semiconductor elements (12, 13, 14 of 10-1) are arranged (See Fig. 5). As to claim 11, Suzuki further discloses wherein the first groove (33-1) is recessed from the second surface (top) toward the first surface (bottom) in the second surface (top) of the first planarized layer (32-1A) (See Fig. 5). As to claim 12, Suzuki further discloses comprising: a first layer (30-1A) including the first planarized layer (32-1A), the plurality of first semiconductor elements (12, 13, 14 of 10-1), the plurality of first connections (17, circular, branch), and the first groove (33-1), the first layer (30-1A) being stacked on the substrate (1a); a second layer (12 of 10-3) stacked on a surface of the first layer (30-1A) opposite the substrate (1a) and including at least one second semiconductor element (12 of 10-3); and a third layer (13 of 10-3) stacked on a surface of the second layer (12 of 10-3) opposite the first layer (30-1A) and including at least one third semiconductor element (13 of 10-3) (See Fig. 5). As to claim 15, Suzuki further discloses wherein the plurality of first semiconductor elements (12, 13, 14 of 10-1) are light emitting elements (See Fig. 6, ¶ 0079). As to claim 16, Suzuki discloses an LED display device comprising the semiconductor device of claim 15 (See Fig. 6, ¶ 0079).
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0154873 A1 to Kim et al. (“Kim”). As to claim 1, Kim discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a substrate (100/200); a first planarized layer (160, 260, 240, 210) having insulating properties, the first planarized layer (160, 260, 240, 210) having a first surface (top) and a second surface (bottom) opposite the first surface (top); a plurality of first semiconductor elements (TR2) formed on the first surface (top) of the first planarized layer (160, 260, 240, 210); and a first groove (AG) provided in the second surface (bottom) of the first planarized layer (160, 260, 240, 210), wherein the first groove (AG) is formed in a region outside the plurality of first semiconductor elements (TR2) as viewed in a first direction perpendicular to the first surface (top), and wherein the second surface (bottom) of the first planarized layer (160, 260, 240, 210) is bonded to the substrate (100/200) (See Fig. 2, Fig. 3, ¶ 0044, ¶ 0045, ¶ 0052, ¶ 0055, ¶ 0058, ¶ 0068) (Notes: the limitation “bond” is defined as when one thing bonds with another, it sticks to it or becomes joined to it in some way. You can also say that two things bond together, or that something bonds them together by collinsdictionary.com, where no direct contact is specified). As to claim 2, Kim discloses further comprising a plurality of first connections (CT2) connected to the plurality of first semiconductor elements (TR2); wherein the first groove (AG) is formed in a region outside the plurality of first semiconductor elements (TR2) and the plurality of first connections (CT2) as viewed in the first direction (See Fig. 2, Fig. 3, ¶ 0052). Aa to claim 4, Kim further discloses wherein the first groove (AG) communicates with an outside of the first planarized layer (160, 260, 240, 210) at an end surface of the first planarized layer (160, 260, 240, 210) in a surface direction along the first surface (top) (See Fig. 2) (Notes: the thermal communication between the AG and the outside is established by the closeness to the edge). As to claim 9, Kim further discloses wherein the first groove (AG) extends in a direction having a component in a direction in which the plurality of first semiconductor elements (TR2) are arranged (See Fig. 2). Aa to claim 10, Kim further discloses wherein a depth of the first groove (AG) in the first direction is not more than half a thickness of the first planarized layer (160, 260, 240, 210) in the first direction (See Fig. 2, Fig. 3). As to claim 11, Kim further discloses wherein the first groove (AG) is recessed from the second surface (bottom) toward the first surface (top) in the second surface (bottom) of the first planarized layer (160, 260, 240, 210) (See Fig. 3). Aa to claim 12, Kim further discloses comprising: a first layer (CH2) including the first planarized layer (160, 260, 240, 210), the plurality of first semiconductor elements (TR2), the plurality of first connections (CT2), and the first groove (AG), the first layer (CH2) being stacked on the substrate (200); a second layer (110) stacked on a surface of the first layer (CH2) opposite the substrate (200) and including at least one second semiconductor element (TR1); and a third layer (100) stacked on a surface of the second layer (110) opposite the first layer (CH2) and including at least one third semiconductor element (source/drain) (See Fig. 2, ¶ 0044, ¶ 0045).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815