DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan et al. (US 2019/0294040) in view of Veldhuizen et al. (WO 2022/022937). For simplicity, citations will be made to the US equivalent of Veldhuizen et al. (US 2023/0294442). Regarding claim 1, Tan et al. disclose “a system (Figures 4A-4D), comprising: a master (item 300) holder (item 200), the master holder operable to retain a master on a first portion of an upper surface of the master holder (Figure 4A), the master having a master optical device pattern (paragraph 2: Examiner interprets any nanopattern to broadly be an optical device pattern) and master height from the upper surface of the master holder to an uppermost surface of the master when the master is retained (see the configuration in Figures 4A-4D); and a stamp support holder (item 230) having a vacuum region in fluid communication with a vacuum source (paragraph 68, Figure 5).” Tan et al. fail to disclose “a spacer disposed on a second portion of the upper surface of the master holder, the second portion adjacent to the first portion and having a spacer height from the upper surface of the master holder to a top surface of the spacer, wherein the spacer height is greater than the master height when the master is retained,” or “wherein the stamp support holder retains a stamp support in contact with the spacer.” However, Veldhuizen et al. teach adding spacers in order to provide thickness control of the final imprint product in a process for replicating a final imprint product (paragraph 26, Figure 6, items 119’’ and 117’’). Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to add vertical spacers to the system of Tan et al. in order to provide thickness control of the final replicated stamp. Upon modification, at least when the master is brought into contact with the stamping material in order to replicate the structure, the stamp support holder will be retaining the stamp support in contact with the spacer. Regarding claim 2, Tan et al. further disclose “further comprising an actuator coupled to the stamp support, the actuator operable to contact the stamp support with the spacer (paragraph 67).” Regarding claim 3, Tan et al. further disclose “further comprising a controller in communication with the master holder, the stamp support holder, and the actuator (paragraph 67), the controller is operable to: instruct the master holder to retain the master (paragraph 67); instruct the stamp support holder to retain the stamp support, the stamp support being retained on a stamp support holder having a vacuum region, a vacuum source provides vacuum to the vacuum region in fluid communication with the vacuum source to retain the stamp support (paragraph 67, 68); and instruct the actuator to move the stamp support to contact the spacer (paragraphs 67, 68).” Regarding claim 4, Tan et al. further disclose “wherein the controller is further operable to: instruct the system to cure a stamp material into a cured stamp layer (paragraph 65).” Regarding claim 5, no structure of the system is recited; thus, no structure is recited which defines over the modified system of Tan et al. Regarding claim 6, Veldhuizen et al. further disclose “wherein the spacer surrounds the master (Figures 4 and 5).” Regarding claim 7, Veldhuizen et al. further disclose “wherein the master is adjacent to a first spacer and a second spacer (see the different spacers 116, 117, 118, and 119 surrounding the masters).”
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA D ZIMMERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853