DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 requires there to be at least two spacers which are adjacent the master. However, parent claim 1 requires a spacer to surround the master and be directly adjacent it. It is unclear how the master can be directly adjacent to spacers masters when one spacer already is required to be directly adjacent it and also surround it. It appears as though Applicant should have cancelled claim 7 when claim 1 was amended.
Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Imai (US 2009/0273119). Regarding claim 1, Imai discloses “a system (Figures 1, 10), comprising: a master (item 3) holder (item 4), the master holder operable to retain a master on a first portion of an upper surface of the master holder (Figure 10), the master having a master optical device pattern (paragraphs 2 and 58: Examiner interprets any nanopattern to broadly be an optical device pattern) and master height from the upper surface of the master holder to an uppermost surface of the master when the master is retained (see the configuration in Figure 10); a spacer (item 12) disposed on a second portion of the upper surface of the master holder (Figure 10), the second portion surrounds the first portion such that the spacer is directly adjacent to the master when the master is retained directly on the first portion of the upper surface of the master holder and having a spacer height from the upper surface of the master holder to a top surface of the spacer, wherein the spacer height is greater than the master height when the master is retained (Figure 10); and a stamp support holder (item 2) having a vacuum region in fluid communication with a vacuum source (paragraph 53), wherein the stamp support holder retains a stamp support in contact with the spacer (paragraph 127, Figure 10).” Regarding claim 2, Imai further discloses “further comprising an actuator (item 7) coupled to the stamp support, the actuator operable to contact the stamp support with the spacer (paragraphs 65 and 127).” Regarding claim 5, no structure of the system is recited; thus, no structure is recited which defines over the modified system of Imai. Regarding claim 6, Imai further discloses “wherein the spacer surrounds the master (Figure 10).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai in view of Tan et al. (US 2019/0294040). Regarding claim 3, Imai discloses all that is claimed, as in claim 1 above, including “further comprising a controller (item 9) in communication with the master holder, the stamp support holder, and the actuator (Figure 1), the controller is operable to: instruct the actuator to move the stamp support to contact the spacer (paragraph 58).” Imai further discloses that the master holder retains the master (paragraph 69) and that “the stamp support being retained on a stamp support holder having a vacuum region, a vacuum source provides vacuum to the vacuum region in fluid communication with the vacuum source to retain the stamp support (paragraph 63).” Imai fails to disclose that the controller is operable to “instruct the master holder to retain the master” or “instruct the stamp support holder to retain the stamp support.” However, Tan et al. discloses a similar system which has a master controller which controls the entire system (paragraph 67). Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to control all the components of the system of Imai with a singular controller because it has been shown in the art to be suitable for the intended purpose (see MPEP §2144.07), and/or in order to make the control easier and/or simpler by having all the systems control from a single interface/controller. Regarding claim 4, Imai further discloses “wherein the controller is further operable to: instruct the system to cure a stamp material into a cured stamp layer (paragraph 60: Examiner interprets the cooling of the polymer to be the curing step).”
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA D ZIMMERMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853