DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 is missing an established term and thus creates an antecedent basis issue. Claim 1 states “and extends from each of the first wiring part and the second wiring, the via hole extends through the base film”. Claim 1 should state “and the second wiring part”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuboki (US 2022/0344790 A1) in view of Tang (US 2013/0248863 A1) and Hatase (US 2012/0175161 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kuboki (US 2022/0344790 A1) teaches of a conductive module (Fig 8,2-6) comprising: a flexible ([0038]) printed wiring board (30) including: a base film (20) that includes a first surface (upper surface of 35) and a second surface (lower surface of 35); a first pad (33) that is on the first surface of the base film (20); a second pad (33) that is on the first surface of the base film and spaced away (see Fig 5) from the first pad (33); a first wiring part (part or portion of 31 extending from 33) that is on the base film (20) and extends away from the first pad (33) in a first direction (left-right direction); and a third wiring part (part or portion of 31 extending from other 33 in Fig 5) that is on the base film (20), the third wiring part (31) extends away (31 as seen in Fig 5 extends away from 33 in left and in right direction) from each of the first pad (33) and the second pad (33) in the first direction, and the third wiring part (31) extends from and is connected to the second pad (33); an electronic component (26; [0039-0040]) that is mounted on and electrically connected ([0039-0040]) to each of the first pad (33) and the second pad (33); a metal plate (21; [0035]) that includes a frame part (23,25; [0035]; part or portion of region of 21 with 23 has a frame around 25; note that the claim has not structurally defined nor limited this claimed part) surrounding the electronic component (26) and being fixed ([0036,0051-0058]) to the flexible printed wiring board; and a potting agent (29; [0051-0058]) that is filled (at least partially) in a region (portion about 25; note that the claim has not structurally defined nor limited this claimed region) surrounded by the frame part (portion of 23 around 25) to cover the electronic component (26).
Kuboki does not disclose a second wiring part that is on the base film and extends from and is connected to the first pad, and the second wiring part is spaced away from the first wiring by the base film in a second direction that intersects the first direction; a via hole that is connected to and extends from each of the first wiring part and the second wiring, the via hole extends through the base film in the second direction that intersects the first direction, and the via hole electrically connects the first wiring part to the second wiring part; wherein the second wiring part extends from the first pad to the via hole in the first direction the first wiring part extends away from the via hole in the first direction, and the potting agent overlaps the via hole.
Tang (US 2013/0248863 A1) teaches of a conductive module (Fig 2) comprising: a flexible ([0019]) printed wiring board (2) including: a base film (20) that includes a first surface (200) and a second surface (206); a first pad (24’) that is on the first surface (200) of the base film (20); a second pad (24) that is on the first surface (200) of the base film (20) and spaced away from the first pad (24’); a first wiring part (242) that is on the base film (20) and extends away from the first pad (24’) in a first direction (left-right direction); a second wiring part (240) that is on the base film (20) and extends from and is connected to the first pad (24’), and the second wiring part (240) is spaced away from the first wiring (242) by the base film (20) in a second direction (up-down direction) that intersects the first direction; a via hole (2420; [0023]) that is connected to and extends from each of the first wiring part (242) and the second wiring (240), the via hole (2420) extends through the base film (20) in the second direction that intersects the first direction, and the via hole (2420) electrically connects ([0023-0024]) the first wiring part (242) to the second wiring part (240); and a third wiring part (part or portion of 24 extending to 22) that is on the base film (20), the third wiring part (part or portion of 24 extending to 22) extends away from each of the first pad (24’) and the second pad (24) in the first direction, and the third wiring part (part or portion of 24 extending to 22) extends from and is connected to the second pad (24); an electronic component (50; [0022]) that is mounted on and electrically connected ([0022]) to each of the first pad (24’) and the second pad (24); wherein the second wiring part (240) extends from the first pad (24’) to the via hole (2420) in the first direction the first wiring part (242) extends away from the via hole (2420) in the first direction.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the module as disclosed by Kuboki, comprising a second wiring part that is on the base film and extends from and is connected to the first pad, and the second wiring part is spaced away from the first wiring by the base film in a second direction that intersects the first direction; a via hole that is connected to and extends from each of the first wiring part and the second wiring, the via hole extends through the base film in the second direction that intersects the first direction, and the via hole electrically connects the first wiring part to the second wiring part; wherein the second wiring part extends from the first pad to the via hole in the first direction the first wiring part extends away from the via hole in the first direction as taught by Tang, in order to provide a means of testing a mounted component, overcoming limited space available, prevent testing slippage, increase testing accuracy, increase pad sizes on the module, prevent inaccuracies, and increase layout space (Tang, [0002-0009,0030]). Furthermore the combination of Kuboki in view of Tang would provide a means of testing and that would increase an overall reliability to the module.
Hatase (US 2012/0175161 A1) teaches of a module (Fig 2) comprising: a printed wiring board (1,4) including: a base film (1) that includes a first surface and a second surface; a first pad (21a) that is on the first surface of the base film; a second pad (21a) that is on the first surface of the base film and spaced away from the first pad; a first wiring part (11) that is on the base film and extends away from the first pad in a first direction; a second wiring part (21b) that is on the base film and extends from and is connected to the first pad, and the second wiring part is spaced away from the first wiring by the base film (1) in a second direction that intersects the first direction; a via hole (13) that is connected to and extends from each of the first wiring part and the second wiring, the via hole (13) extends through the base film (1) in the second direction that intersects the first direction; and a potting agent (4) to cover electronic component (3), and the potting agent (4) overlaps the via hole (13).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the module as taught by Kuboki in view of Tang, wherein the potting agent overlaps the via hole as taught by Hatase, in order to provide a means of sealing the module, mounted component or board, prevent unwanted short-circuiting, prevent defects, and prevent solder splash (Hatase, [0004-0007]). Furthermore the combination of Kuboki in view of Tang and Hatase would provide a means of protection as the component module assembly is sealed, including protecting areas with underlying vias. Note that the Applicant has not provided any criticality for the potting agent overlaps the via hole within the Applicant’s Specification.
Regarding Claim 2, Kuboki further discloses the conductive module (Fig 8, 2-6) according to claim 1, wherein the metal plate (21) is a conductive busbar ([0035]) including a connection part (22; note that the claim has not structurally defined nor limited this claimed part) fixed ([0036,0051-0058]) to a battery cell (11,13; [0035-0036]), the connection part (22) projects from the frame part (portion about 23,25) toward a lateral side (side of 30 towards left side of Fig 2) of the flexible printed wiring board (30), and the frame part is connected to the third wiring part (31).
Claim(s) 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuboki (US 2022/0344790 A1) in view of Tang (US 2013/0248863 A1) and Hatase (US 2012/0175161 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Takamatsu (US 2020/0022260 A1).
Regarding Claims 3 and 4, Kuboki in view of Tang and Hatase teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Kuboki further discloses the conductive module (Fig 8, 2-6) according to claims 1 and 2, wherein the flexible printed wiring board (30) includes a first conductive layer (31,32; [0039]) formed on the first surface (upper surface of 35; [0039]) of the base film (35), a first coverlay ([0038] “coverlay”) that covers the first conductive layer (31,32).
Kuboki does not explicitly disclose a second conductive layer formed on a second surface of the base film, and a second coverlay that covers the second conductive layer, the first surface is a surface opposed to the frame part, and the second surface is a surface on the opposite side of the first surface, the first wiring part is constituted of the second conductive layer, and extends from a region on an outside of the frame part to an inside region surrounded by the frame part, the second wiring part is constituted of the first conductive layer, arranged in the inside region, and connects the first wiring part to a first terminal part of the electronic component, and the third wiring part is constituted of the first conductive layer, and connects a second terminal part of the electronic component to the frame part.
Takamatsu (US 2020/0022260 A1) teaches of a conductive module (Fig 12B,1-11), wherein a flexible printed wiring board (20) includes a base film (central layer of 201 as seen in Fig 11B; [0069-0070]), a first conductive layer (203b) formed on a first surface (lower surface of central 201) of the base film (201), a first coverlay (lower 201 as seen in Fig 11B) that covers the first conductive layer (203b), a second conductive layer (203a) formed on a second surface (upper surface of central 201 in Fig 11B) of the base film, and a second coverlay (upper 201 seen in Fig 11B) that covers the second conductive layer (203a), the first surface is a surface opposed to a frame part (252; see Fig 11,12B; [0071-0072]), and the second surface (upper surface of central 201 in Fig 11B) is a surface on the opposite side of the first surface (lower surface of central 201 in Fig 11B), the circuit pattern (203) includes a first wiring part (24 about 252 as seen in Fig 11B; note that the claim has not structurally defined nor limited this claimed part), a second wiring part (portion of 24 interfacing with 50 in Fig 11,12B; note that the claim has not structurally defined nor limited this claimed part), and a third wiring part (portion about 27 or 204a; note that the claim has not structurally defined nor limited this claimed part), the first wiring part (24 about 252 as seen in Fig 11B; note that the claim has not structurally defined nor limited this claimed part) is constituted of the second conductive layer (203a), and extends from a region on an outside of the frame part (252a-d; note that the claim has not structurally defined nor limited this claimed part) to an inside region (see portion of 24 within 252 in Fig 12B) surrounded by the frame part (252), the second wiring part (portion of 24 interfacing with 50 in Fig 11,12B; note that the claim has not structurally defined nor limited this claimed part) is constituted of the first conductive layer (203a), arranged in the inside region, and connects the first wiring part (24 about 252 as seen in Fig 11B) to a first terminal part (portion of 50 interfacing with 24; [0080-0089] ; note that the claim has not structurally defined nor limited this claimed part) of an electronic component (50), and the third wiring part (portion about 27 or 204a; note that the claim has not structurally defined nor limited this claimed part) is constituted of the first conductive layer (203b), and connects a second terminal part (portion of 50 interfacing with 27; [0080-0089] ; note that the claim has not structurally defined nor limited this claimed part) of the electronic component (50) to the frame part (252).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the module as taught by Kuboki in view of Tang and Hatase, comprising a second conductive layer formed on a second surface of the base film, and a second coverlay that covers the second conductive layer, the first surface is a surface opposed to the frame part, and the second surface is a surface on the opposite side of the first surface, the first wiring part is constituted of the second conductive layer, and extends from a region on an outside of the frame part to an inside region surrounded by the frame part, the second wiring part is constituted of the first conductive layer, arranged in the inside region, and connects the first wiring part to a first terminal part of the electronic component, and the third wiring part is constituted of the first conductive layer, and connects a second terminal part of the electronic component to the frame part as taught by Takamatsu, in order to effectively release heat, provide circuit density, control wire pattern melting and enhance stiffness (Takamatsu, [0004,0005,0014-0016,0078-0081,0108).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuboki (US 2022/0344790 A1) in view of Tang (US 2013/0248863 A1) and Hatase (US 2012/0175161 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Otsubo (US 2022/0159825 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Kuboki in view of Tang and Hatase teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Kuboki does not disclose the conductive module according to claim 1, wherein the via hole is located between the frame part and the electronic component in the first direction.
Otsubo (US 2022/0159825 A1) teaches of a module (Fig 14-15) wherein a via hole (13) is located between a frame part (5) and an electronic component (41) in a first direction (left-right direction in Fig 14). Note that Otsubo also shows the frame part completely surrounding a component (in Fig 3 or Fig 17).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the module as taught by Kuboki in view of Tang and Hatase, wherein the via hole is located between the frame part and the electronic component in the first direction, in order to prevent unwanted stress applied by the via metal to a metal frame, prevent movement of the frame part by a metal via from metal to metal contact, or to prevent unwanted short-circuiting, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Note that Kuboki teaches of a frame part surrounding the component and terminals (e.g. see Fig 4 of Kuboki) and unwanted contact between a connection surface and the frame part may lead to unwanted shorting or unwanted stress or unwanted movement from thermal changes. Please note that in the instant application, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROSHN K VARGHESE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847