DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 12, there is a typographical error in the limitation “a electric connection.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 thru 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the packaging layer" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In line 12 of claim 1, the applicant states “a electric connection”; however, it is unclear whether the “electric connection” is a further description of “an output pin” stated in line 3 or the electric connection and output pin are completely different, separate structures. Appropriate clarification and/or correction are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In view of the 112 rejection above, claim(s) 1 thru 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards US 2008/0122061 A1. Edwards discloses (see, for example, FIG. 2, and 1B) a chip heat dissipating structure comprising at least a chip 101, package layer 102, bonding pad 144, output pin 120, heat fin 260, intermediate heat conductive layer 143, heat conductive protrusion 231, upper packaging layer 103, lower packaging layer 104, and electric connection 120. In FIG. 2, Edwards discloses the heat conductive protrusion 231 being symmetrical to the electrical connection 120. In paragraphs [0019], and [0027], Edwards discloses the metal layers 143, 144, 260 being heat spreaders, which dissipate heat from the chip 101. Edwards does not clearly disclose the heat fin 260 being on a whole surface of a side of the package layer; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the heat fin being on a whole surface of a side of the package layer in order to maximize the surface area of the heat fin, thereby letting heat dissipate evenly across the entire structure.
Regarding claim 2, see, for example, FIG. 2 wherein Edwards discloses the intermediate
structure 143 connects a back surface of the chip 101 with the heat fin 260.
Regarding claim 3, see, for example, FIG. 2, and claim 6 wherein Edwards discloses he intermediate heat conductive layer 143 being arranged on the back surface of the chip 101 and an outer surface of the package layer 102 coplanar to the back surface of the chip 101, and a material of the intermediate heat conductive layer being copper.
Regarding claim 4, see, for example, FIG. 2 wherein Edwards discloses each of the at least one heat conductive protrusion 231 being arranged on a side, which is located away from the chip 101, of the intermediate heat conductive layer 143, and each of the at least one heat conductive protrusion 231 has a shape of a regular cylinder or regular and is set obliquely or vertically on a surface of the intermediate heat conductive layer 143.
Regarding claim 5, see, for example, FIG. 2 wherein Edwards discloses an end, which is located away from the intermediate heat conductive layer 143, of each of the at least one heat conductive protrusion 143 being connected to the heat fin 260.
Regarding claims 6, the limitation "formed by electroplating or sputtering” is a product by process limitation that merely recites a process of forming a final product, and do not add any structural limitations to the final product.
Regarding claim 8, see, for example, abstract wherein Edwards discloses a semiconductor chip, which is a semiconductor device.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards US 2008/0122061 A1 as applied to claims 1-6 and 8 above, and further in view of Chung et US 9,984,983 B2. Edwards does not disclose a side wall fin is provided on one side wall, or each of two, three, or four side walls of the package layer, and each side wall fin is respectively connected to the bottom heat fin and the intermediate heat conductive layer. However, Chung
discloses (see, for example, FIG. 1A) a sidewall fin 24 that covers a sidewall 162 of a package layer 16. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have a side wall fin being provided on one side wall, or each of two, three, or four side walls of the package layer, and each side wall fin being respectively connected to the bottom heat fin and the intermediate heat conductive layer in order to insulate and protect the entire package layer, and also to further increase the heat dissipation surface area
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
INFORMATION ON HOW TO CONTACT THE USPTO
Eugene Lee
March 12, 2026
/EUGENE LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815