DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Castonguay et al (US 3,639,718) in view of Stoddard et al (US 2011/015887), Andreaco et al (US 2015/0114285), Azad (US 5,394,830) and Pickar (US 3,353,914A).
Castonguay et al teaches a crystal growth station (crystal growth apparatus) comprising: a crystal pulling assembly including a rotatable pulling shaft (Fig 7; col 2, ln 10 to col 4, ln 75 teaches a Czochralski apparatus with load bearing rods 95/96 capable of being rotated and moved along their axis attached to pulling head 94); and a furnace chamber including an internal area configured to hold a crystal growth chamber (crucible which is configured to receive the rotatable pulling shaft (col 2, ln 10 to col 4, ln 75 and Fig 7 teaches a furnace assembly 10 with furnace housing containing a crucible 101 and pull rods 95/96), the furnace chamber including: a cover configured to cover the crystal growth station (Fig 7 shows furnace housing comprising an upper section 90 covering the crucible); and a heating system configured to heat the internal area (Fig 7 and col 4, ln 30-75 teaches heating the crucible 101 using an RF coil 125 connected through leads 126/127). Castonguay et al teaches a chamber with a top 90, 326, base 92, 323 and sidewall 91, 252, therebetween, and the base extends in the horizontal direction (Fig 7, 14), which clearly suggests walls disposed on a base extending in a horizontal direction from a first side to a second side opposite the first side and extending in a vertical direction opposite the vertical direction to define a height of the furnace chamber.
Castonguay et al does not explicitly teach at least one of the cover and the heating system includes at least one quick connect fixture. Castonguay et al teaches connection to a water supply line and withdrawn through the other side of a coil; and a water supply line 165 located in the crucible cover section 90 (Fig 7; col 5, ln 1 to col 6, ln 75).
In an apparatus for crystal growth, Stoddard et al teaches a melting apparatus includes one or more portable and/or mobile devices, making it movable between locations with flexible connections, quick connections and/or quick disconnects for utilities; and quick connections generally do not require additional tools to make connections; and quick connections broadly may include electrical, cooling water, inert gas, hydraulic, pneumatic, instrumentation, and/or any other suitable utility and/or process connection ([0051], [0091]-[0092], [0114]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Castonguay et al by providing quick connections for the water (water cooling) and electrical components (RF coil), as taught by Stoddard et al, to provide flexible connection and allow quick connection/disconnection.
The combination of Castonguay et al and Stoddard et al does not explicitly teach a cover conduit contained within and extending through the cover, the cover conduit including a first cover conduit end configured to receive a coolant fluid and an opposing second cover conduit end configured to expel the coolant fluid.
In a Czochralski crystal growth apparatus, Andreaco et al teaches a growth chamber 20 also includes a lid cap 40, and cooling channels can be constructed in the lid cap 40, in order to prevent overheating of the cap or an O-ring, and the lid 40 has cooling channels which communicate with cooling inlet 48 and the coolant is exhausted through cooling outlet 49 (Fig 2-3; [0019]-[0024], which clearly suggests a cover conduit contained within and extending through the cover, the cover conduit configured to receive a coolant fluid into the cover and an opposing second cover conduit end configured to expel the coolant fluid from the cover. Andreaco et al teaches a base cap 30; sidewalls 22 and a lid cap 40 (Fig 2), which clearly suggests walls disposed on a base extending in a horizontal direction from a first side to a second side opposite the first side and extending in a vertical direction opposite the vertical direction to define a height of the furnace chamber.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Castonguay et al and Stoddard et al by providing a cover conduit contained within and extending through the cover, the cover conduit including a first cover conduit end configured to receive a coolant fluid and an opposing second cover conduit end configured to expel the coolant fluid, as taught by Andreaco et al, to prevent overheating of the cap.
The combination of Castonguay et al, Stoddard et al and Andreaco et al does not teach the furnace chamber comprises at least one coolant conduit disposed in the walls, the at least one coolant conduit extending from a coolant inlet to a coolant exit port; and an inlet quick connect fixture fluidly coupled to the coolant inlet port and an outlet quick connect fixture fluidly coupled to the coolant outlet port.
In a Czochralski crystal growth apparatus (col 1, ln 10-20), Azad teaches an apparatus 10 comprises an outer containment vessel 12 having a top plate 14, a base plate 16, and vessel side wall 18, defining a substantially cylindrical volume in the vessel interior; and extending downwardly from the top 14 of the vessel is a puller rod 20 (Fig 1-2; col 2, ln 10-68; col 4, ln 35-68, col 5, ln 1-68). Azad also teaches the interior of the vessel side wall 18, a cooling water sleeve 44, containing helical passages 46, 48; a cooling water inlet 50 is disposed at the lower extent of the vessel, and the cooling water outlet 52 is disposed at the upper end of the vessel (Fig 1-2; col 3, ln 1-68, col 7, ln 1-68), which clearly suggests the furnace chamber comprises at least one coolant conduit disposed in the walls, the at least one coolant conduit extending from a coolant inlet to a coolant exit port. Azad teaches improved control over the gas flow pattern by providing independent vessel wall cooling (col 3, ln 60 to col 4, ln 15). Azad teaches at least one coolant conduit extending continuously from a coolant inlet port to a coolant exit port, the coolant inlet port disposed at a first sidewall portion defined by the walls and configured to deliver coolant fluid into the walls, and the coolant exit port disposed at a second sidewalls portion defined by the wall opposite the first sidewall portion and configured to expel the coolant fluid from the walls (See Fig 2 which shows two separate and distinct coolant conduits, with the first inlet 150 to first outlet 152, and a second inlet 250 to a second outlet 252; See Fig 1 which should inlet 50 is connected continuously to outlet 52 which includes a coupling 54). Azad a base (base plate 16); sidewalls 18 and a lid (top plate 14) (Fig 1), which clearly suggests walls disposed on a base extending in a horizontal direction from a first side to a second side opposite the first side and extending in a vertical direction opposite the vertical direction to define a height of the furnace chamber.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Castonguay et al, Stoddard et al and Andreaco et al by providing the furnace chamber with at least one coolant conduit disposed in the walls, the at least one coolant conduit extending from a coolant inlet to a coolant exit port, as taught by Azad, to control the temperature of the vessel walls, thereby improve crystal quality (Azad col 7, ln 1-68). In regards to “an inlet quick connect fixture fluidly coupled to the coolant inlet port and an outlet quick connect fixture fluidly coupled to the coolant outlet port,” the use of quick connects would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, as discussed above, to provide flexible connection and allow quick connection/disconnection.
The combination of Castonguay et al, Stoddard et al, Andreaco et al and Azad teaches a coolant inlet port and a coolant exit port. Azad teaches the inlet disposed at an upper sidewall wall portion 150 and an outlet disposed at a lower sidewall portion 152, which clearly suggests a first wall portion opposite the second sidewall portion in a vertical direction. Also, Andreaco et al also teaches an coolant inlet passage 48 with an outlet passage 49 opposite the inlet passage (Fig 3). The combination of Castonguay et al, Stoddard et al, Andreaco et al and Azad does not explicitly teach the coolant inlet port disposed at a first sidewall portion defined by the walls located at the first side and configured to deliver coolant fluid into the walls, and the coolant exit port disposed at a second sidewalls portion defined by the wall walls located at the second side horizontally opposite the first sidewall portion and configured to expel the coolant fluid from the walls.
In a crystal growth apparatus, Pickar teaches a furnace chamber 1 comprising walls and a coolant inlet port 9 disposed at a first sidewall portion defined by the walls located at the first side and configured to deliver coolant fluid into the walls, and the coolant exit port 8 disposed at a second sidewalls portion defined by the walls located at the second side horizontally opposite the first sidewall portion and configured to expel the coolant fluid from the walls (Fig 1; col 2, ln 65 to col 3, ln 75).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Castonguay et al, Stoddard et al, Andreaco et al and Azad to have the coolant inlet port disposed at a first sidewall portion defined by the walls located at the first side and configured to deliver coolant fluid into the walls, and the coolant exit port disposed at a second sidewalls portion defined by the wall walls located at the second side horizontally opposite the first sidewall portion and configured to expel the coolant fluid from the walls, as taught by Pickar, to supply and expel coolant to the cooling jacket and the location of the inlet and outlet is a mere design choice for the arrangement of parts which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing.
Referring to claim 8 and 11, the combination of Castonguay et al, Stoddard et al, Andreaco et al, Azad and Pickar teaches a Czochralski apparatus a cover 90 with load bearing rods (pulling shaft) capable of being rotated and moved along its axis with driving mechanism (Castonguay Fig 7; col 2, ln 1-75), which clearly suggests the crystal pulling assembly includes a motion head including a motion head motor, wherein a first end of the rotatable pulling shaft is rotatably coupled to the motion head motor and an opposing second end of the rotatable pulling shaft is configured to be disposed in the furnace chamber.
Referring to claims 11 and 14, see remarks above regarding claim 1.
Claim(s) 3, 10, 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Castonguay et al (US 3,639,718) in view of Stoddard et al (US 2011/015887), Andreaco et al (US 2015/0114285), Azad (US 5,394,830) and Pickar (US 3,353,914A), as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Liu (US 2019/0040986).
The combination of Castonguay et al, Stoddard et al, Andreaco et al, Azad and Pickar teaches all of the limitations of claim 3, as discussed above, except the cover further comprises: an inlet cover quick connect fixture including a first end coupled to the cover inlet port and a second end configured to connect with a first mating quick connect fixture coupled to a first external cover coolant conduit configured to deliver the coolant fluid to the cover inlet port; and an outlet cover quick connect fixture including a first end coupled to the cover outlet port and a second end configured to connect with a second mating quick connect fixture coupled to a second external cover coolant conduit configured to deliver the coolant fluid away from the cover outlet port. The combination of Castonguay et al, Stoddard et al, Andreaco et al, Azad and Pickar teaches an inlet and outlet in the cover and using quick connections, however does not explicitly teach the quick connect fixtures and mating to the quick connect fixture.
In an apparatus for quick connect fittings, Liu teaches a conventional quick connect fitting with a socket and a plug is inserted into the socket (Fig 1-3; [0002]-[0005]; [0019]-[0041]), which clearly suggests a first end coupled to an port (socket) and a second end (plug) configured to connect with the quick connect fixture.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Castonguay et al, Stoddard et al, Andreaco et al, Azad and Pickar by providing quick connect fittings to the inlets and outlets, as taught by Liu, such that an inlet cover quick connect fixture including a first end coupled to the cover inlet port and a second end configured to connect with a first mating quick connect fixture coupled to a first external cover coolant conduit configured to deliver the coolant fluid to the cover inlet port; and an outlet cover quick connect fixture including a first end coupled to the cover outlet port and a second end configured to connect with a second mating quick connect fixture coupled to a second external cover coolant conduit configured to deliver the coolant fluid away from the cover outlet port, so the connections can be connected and disconnected quickly using suitable fittings.
Referring to claim 10 and 20, the combination of Castonguay et al, Stoddard et al, Andreaco et al, Azad, Pickar and Liu teaches a quick connect fitting with plurality of sleeves, and operating a first operating sleeve and a second operating sleeve sequentially can safely remove a plug; and a quick connect fitting can be securely fastened to another component by means of balls (Liu [0002]-[0007]), which clearly suggests a two way sleeve because applicant teaches a two-way sleeves design allows for one-hand disconnection of the quick connect fixtures.
Referring to claim 13, see remarks above regarding claim 3.
Claim(s) 4, 6, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Castonguay et al (US 3,639,718) in view of Stoddard et al (US 2011/015887), Andreaco et al (US 2015/0114285), Azad (US 5,394,830) and Pickar (US 3,353,914A), as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Cullen et al (US 3,883,313).
The combination of Castonguay et al, Stoddard et al, Andreaco et al, Azad and Pickar teaches all of the limitations of claim 4, as discussed above, except the combination of Castonguay et al, Stoddard et al, Andreaco et al, Azad and Pickar does not explicitly teach the heating system comprises: at least one coolant conduit including a first conduit end configured to receive a coolant fluid and a second conduit end configured to expel the coolant fluid; a coolant inlet port coupled to the first conduit end; and a coolant outlet port coupled to the second conduit end. The combination of Castonguay et al, Stoddard et al, Andreaco et al, Azad and Pickar teaches an RF coil heating system; and coolant inlet and outlets for the crucible cover; and a cooling jacket for the chamber walls (Castonguay col 4, ln 1-75; Fig 7; Pickar col 3, ln 1-75, Fig 1).
In a Czochralski crystal growth apparatus, Cullen et al teaches water-cooled coils 18 are energized by an rf generator 54, such as one capable of producing 20 kW at a frequency of 450 kHz to heat the crucible 12 (col 2, ln 35 to col 3, ln 67; Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Castonguay et al, Stoddard et al, Andreaco et al, Azad and Pickar by providing the heating system (RF coil) with least one coolant conduit including a first conduit end configured to receive a coolant fluid and a second conduit end configured to expel the coolant fluid; a coolant inlet port coupled to the first conduit end; and a coolant outlet port coupled to the second conduit end, as Cullen et al, cool the induction coil, thereby improve the longevity of the heating equipment.
The combination of Castonguay et al, Stoddard et al, Andreaco et al, Azad, Pickar and Cullen et al teaches the coolant conduit inlet at a lower first sidewall portion and a coolant conduit outlet at an upper sidewall portion (Azad Fig 1-2; Pickar Fig 1).
Referring to claims 6 and 16, the combination of Castonguay et al, Stoddard et al, Andreaco et al, Azad, Pickar and Cullen et al teaches a water-cooled RF coil and inlet and outlet for coolant, which clearly suggests an induction coil including a first coil end configured to receive a coolant fluid and a second coil end configured to expel the coolant fluid; a coil inlet port coupled to the first coil end; and a coil outlet port coupled to the second coil end; and the use of quick connects would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, as discussed above.
Claim(s) 5, 7, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Castonguay et al (US 3,639,718) in view of Stoddard et al (US 2011/015887), Andreaco et al (US 2015/0114285), Azad (US 5,394,830) and Pickar (US 3,353,914), and Cullen et al (US 3,883,313), as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Liu (US 2019/0040986).
The combination of Castonguay et al, Stoddard et al, Andreaco et al, Azad, Pickar and Cullen et al teaches all of the limitations of claim 5, as discussed above, except the heating system further comprises: an inlet coolant quick connect fixture including a first end coupled to the coolant inlet port and a second end configured to connect with a first mating quick connect fixture coupled to a first external coolant conduit configured to deliver the coolant fluid to the coolant inlet port; and an outlet coolant quick connect fixture including a first end coupled to the coolant outlet port and a second end configured to connect with a second mating quick connect fixture coupled to a second external coolant conduit configured to deliver the coolant fluid away from the coolant outlet port. The combination of Castonguay et al, Stoddard et al, Andreaco et al, Azad, Pickar and Cullen et al teaches an inlet and outlet for the RF heating coil and using quick connections, however does not explicitly teach the quick connect fixtures and mating to the quick connect fixture.
In an apparatus for quick connect fittings, Liu teaches a conventional quick connect fitting with a socket and a plug is inserted into the socket (Fig 1-3; [0002]-[0005]; [0019]-[0041]), which clearly suggests a first end coupled to an port (socket) and a second end (plug) configured to connect with the quick connect fixture.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Castonguay et al, Stoddard et al, Andreaco et al, Azad, Pickar and Cullen et al by providing quick connect fittings to the inlets and outlets, as taught by Liu, such that an inlet cover quick connect fixture including a first end coupled to the cover inlet port and a second end configured to connect with a first mating quick connect fixture coupled to a first external cover coolant conduit configured to deliver the coolant fluid to the cover inlet port; and an outlet cover quick connect fixture including a first end coupled to the cover outlet port and a second end configured to connect with a second mating quick connect fixture coupled to a second external cover coolant conduit configured to deliver the coolant fluid away from the cover outlet port, so the connections can be connected and disconnected quickly using suitable fittings.
Referring to claims 7 and 17, see remarks above. The combination of Castonguay et al, Stoddard et al, Andreaco et al, Azad, Pickar, Cullen et al and Liu teaches an RF heating system with coolant inlet and outlet and quick connect fittings.
Referring to claim 15, see remarks above regarding claim 5.
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Castonguay et al (US 3,639,718) in view of Stoddard et al (US 2011/015887), Andreaco et al (US 2015/0114285), Azad (US 5,394,830) and Pickar (US 3,353,914), as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Schwenk et al (US 2014/0326716).
The combination of Castonguay et al, Stoddard et al, Andreaco et al, Azad and Pickar teaches all of the limitations of claims 9 and 19, as discussed above, except a one way quick connect.
In a quick connect assembly, Schwenk et al teaches a quick connect and disconnect union comprising a female member defining an inner cavity, a male member comprising an extending member defining an annular recess and a compressible gasket in the annular recess, configured to mate with the female member, wherein the gasket seals the female and male members together, a securing member having a secured position and an unsecured position and adapted to secure the female and male members together in a mated position, a union lumen defined by the mated female and male members, and wherein the union is adapted to secure a power cable comprising electrical wires, coolant, and a crimp terminal, to one of (a) a power source, (b) a coolant transporting device, and (c) an induction heating apparatus ([0012]-[0013]). Schwenk et al teaches a tightening member 129 can be disconnected in a manner that is easy and fast for the user; and a convention thumb screw and an improved thumb screw tightening member 129 is intended to be quickly and securely tightened by hand, rather than requiring tools such as a screw driver which take longer to operate ([0055]), which clearly suggests a one way and a two way quick connect because applicant teaches a one-way sleeve design (conventional tightening member) allows for break-away of the connected quick connect fixtures using a tool when one or more of the quick connect fixtures is clamp mounted and a two-way sleeves design (improved tightening member tightened by hand) allows for one-hand disconnection of the quick connect fixtures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Castonguay et al, Stoddard et al, Andreaco et al, Azad and Pickar by using a one way quick connect, as taught by Schwenk et al, because use of any conventionally known quick connect assembly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-11, and 13-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20170048933 teaches it is well known in the art, the induction coil, which is generally made of copper, needs to be either air or water-cooled at regular intervals to ensure the longevity of the induction heating equipment ([0004]).
Kaneko et al (US 5,268,063) teaches a Czochralski apparatus comprising an induction coil that is water cooled (col 4, ln 1-67).
MATTHEW J. SONG
Examiner
Art Unit 1714
/MATTHEW J SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714