FY24DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Claim 3 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected election, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/5/2024.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 11/25/2025 has been entered. Claim(s) 1 is/are currently amended. Claim(s) 1-3 is/are pending with claim(s) 3 withdrawn from consideration. Claim(s) 1-2 is/are under examination in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument, filed on 11/25/2025, with respect to 103 rejection has been fully considered but is moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al (US 20140094578 A1) in view of Noguchi et al (US 20220325025 A1) and He et al (CN 102807510 A, machine translation is referenced herein).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Tanaka teaches a polymerizable composition for dental treatment comprising a first component comprising a (meth)acrylate and a second component comprising a (meth)acrylate [abstract]. An example of the first component (meth)acrylate is MG-90G (methoxypolyethylene glycol) dissolved in DW (distilled water) [0031, 0042, Table 2]. An example of the second component (meth)acrylate is TEGDMA (triethylene glycol dimethacrylate) [0033, Table 2]. The first and second components are metered out and mixed uniformly by kneading [0048].
Tanaka does not teach glycerin dimethacrylate as the polymerizable monomer.
In the same field of endeavor, Noguchi teaches a curable composition for dental mouthpiece and a denture base material [abstract], comprising polymerizable monomers including glycerol dimethacrylate (equivalent to glycerin dimethacrylate) and triethylene glycol dimethacrylate (TEGDMA) [0049].
It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents for the same purpose where the equivalence is recognized by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.06. Since Noguchi recognized glycerin dimethacrylate and TEGDMA are equivalent for the same purpose as a polymerizable monomer for dental treatment, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of filing to substitute TEGDMA with glycerin dimethacrylate in Tanaka’s composition.
Glycerin dimethacrylate reads on the claimed first polymerizable monomer.
Tanaka does not teach the polyfunctional polymerizable monomer represented by the formula as the polymerizable monomer:
In the same field of endeavor, He teaches an antibacterial metacrylic acid ester monomer containing uaternary ammonium salt structure as a dental restorative material [P1 last para.]:
wherein m=1 to 19; X=F, Cl, Br or I; R2=CH3 or CH2(CH2)nCH3, n=0-27 (see original document [0010-0018]).
A specific example is formula (V):
wherein n=14 for R2 in the general formula.
The examiner submits that when n=10 for R2 in the general formula, the above formula (V) is identical to the claimed formula as the polymerizable monomer.
He teaches that compared to conventional methacrylate resins, the above antibacterial metacrylic acid ester monomer solves the problem of the existing antibacterial properties of existing dental restorative materials and the difficulty in mixing existing antibacterial methacrylate monomers and methacrylate substrates for dental restorative materials [P1 last para.].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute at least a portion of MG-90G with He’s antibacterial metacrylic acid ester monomer containing uaternary ammonium salt structure in Tanaka's dental composition for the aforementioned benefit. Also, since MG-90G and He’s antibacterial metacrylic acid ester monomer containing uaternary ammonium salt structure are recognized as equivalents for the same purpose of being used as a dental preparation, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to either substitute MG-90G with He’s antibacterial metacrylic acid ester monomer containing uaternary ammonium salt structure or combine the two in Tanaka’s composition. It is prima facie obvious to combine or substitute equivalents for the same purpose where the equivalence is recognized by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.06.
He’s antibacterial metacrylic acid ester monomer containing uaternary ammonium salt structure reads on the recited second polymerizable monomer having antibacterial property in claim 2.
According to the applicant, a composition as claimed is formed by mixing a second polymerizable monomer with water. This solution is then mixed with a first polymerizable monomer and kneaded to form a uniform paste [Example 1-1, 0085-0087 spec.].
Since the prior art teaches the same method of mixing and kneading as the instant application, the claimed composition is expected to be present.
Conclusion
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762