DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In reference to claim 1:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a manufacture
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“identifying, from a graph datastore, a graph subpart associated with a user identifier;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could identify a graph subpart associated with a user identifier.
“generating, based on the identified graph subpart, a feature vector;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could generate a feature vector based on identified graph subpart.
“processing, [using a machine learning model], the feature vector to generate a set of reputation metrics;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could process feature vectors to generate a set of reputation metrics.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“A system comprising: at least one processor; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to perform a set of operations, the set of operations comprising:” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“using a machine learning model” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“and providing an indication of the generated set of reputation metrics to a third-party service.” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“A system comprising: at least one processor; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to perform a set of operations, the set of operations comprising:” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“using a machine learning model” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“and providing an indication of the generated set of reputation metrics to a third-party service.” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 2:
Claim 2 is directed to a judicial exception from claim(s) depended on and does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 3:
Claim 3 is directed to a judicial exception from claim(s) depended on and does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 4:
Claim 4 is directed to a judicial exception from claim(s) depended on and does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 5:
Claim 5 is directed to a judicial exception from claim(s) depended on and does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 6:
Claim 6 is directed to a judicial exception from claim(s) depended on and does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 7:
Claim 7 is directed to a judicial exception from claim(s) depended on and does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 8:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“preprocessing identification information of the transaction information;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could preprocess identification information of the transaction information.
“generating, within the graph datastore, a transaction node including a set of properties based on the transaction information;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could generate a transaction node on a mental graph that has a set of properties based on transaction information like other nodes it is connected to.
“and generating an edge between the generated transaction node and a user identifier node for the user identifier, wherein the edge includes at least a part of the preprocessed identification information.” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could generate an edge/connection between a transaction node an a user identifier node.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“A method for maintaining a graph datastore, comprising: obtaining transaction information associated with a user identifier;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“A method for maintaining a graph datastore, comprising: obtaining transaction information associated with a user identifier;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 9:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“The method of claim 8, further comprising: determining whether the graph datastore includes the user identifier node for the user identifier;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could determine whether the graph datastore includes the user identifier node for the user identifier.
“and based on determining the graph datastore does not include the user identifier node, generating the user identifier node for the user identifier.” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could generate the user identifier node the user identifier based on the determining.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No
In reference to claim 10:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“The method of claim 8, wherein preprocessing the identification information comprises one or more of: processing a name of the identification information to omit a suffix, to omit a character, or to replace a character; processing an email address of the identification information to omit a domain name of the email address or to perform partial matching using a part of the email address; processing a phone number of the identification information to omit a part of the phone number or to determine whether to omit the phone number for inclusion in the graph datastore when the phone number is invalid; or processing a mailing address of the identification information to determine whether to omit the mailing address for inclusion in the graph datastore when a shipping provider indicates the mailing address is invalid.” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could process a name, an email address, a phone number, or a mailing address to omit unneeded aspects or determine to not include in database.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No
In reference to claim 11:
Claim 11 is directed to a judicial exception from claim(s) depended on and does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 12:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“identifying, from a graph datastore, a graph subpart associated with a user identifier;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could identify a graph subpart associated with a user identifier.
“generating, based on the identified graph subpart, a feature vector;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could generate a feature vector based on identified graph subpart.
“processing, [using a machine learning model], the feature vector to generate a set of reputation metrics;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could process feature vectors to generate a set of reputation metrics.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“The method of claim 8, further comprising: receiving, from a third-party service, a request for a set of reputation metrics associated with a given user identifier;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“using a machine learning model” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“and providing, to the third-party service, an indication of the generated set of reputation metrics.” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“The method of claim 8, further comprising: receiving, from a third-party service, a request for a set of reputation metrics associated with a given user identifier;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
“using a machine learning model” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“and providing, to the third-party service, an indication of the generated set of reputation metrics.” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 13:
Claim 13 is directed to a judicial exception from claim(s) depended on and does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 14:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“identifying, from a graph datastore, a graph subpart associated with a user identifier;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could identify a graph subpart associated with a user identifier.
“generating, based on the identified graph subpart, a feature vector;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could generate a feature vector based on identified graph subpart.
“processing, [using a machine learning model], the feature vector to generate a set of reputation metrics;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could process feature vectors to generate a set of reputation metrics.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“using a machine learning model” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“and providing an indication of the generated set of reputation metrics to a third-party service.” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“using a machine learning model” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“and providing an indication of the generated set of reputation metrics to a third-party service.” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 15:
Claim 15 is directed to a judicial exception from claim(s) depended on and does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 16:
Claim 16 is directed to a judicial exception from claim(s) depended on and does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 17:
Claim 17 is directed to a judicial exception from claim(s) depended on and does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 18:
Claim 18 is directed to a judicial exception from claim(s) depended on and does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 19:
Claim 19 is directed to a judicial exception from claim(s) depended on and does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 20:
Claim 20 is directed to a judicial exception from claim(s) depended on and does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and amount to significantly more than the judicial exception
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Parker Erickson et al; US 20210406917 A1 filed on Jun 30, 2020 (hereinafter “Erickson”).
Regarding claim 1, Erickson anticipates A system comprising: at least one processor; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to perform a set of operations, the set of operations comprising: (Erickson Paragraph 0005; “In accordance with yet another aspect, an apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory including computer program code is provided. In one embodiment, the at least one memory and the computer program code may be configured to, with the processor, cause the apparatus to”)
identifying, from a graph datastore, a graph subpart associated with a user identifier; (Erickson Paragraph 0055; “the graph convolutional neural network computing entity 106 identifies a graph database including a plurality of graph database objects.” Erickson Paragraph 0057; “in a graph-based transactional record database that records transactions performed by particular IP addresses as relationships between transaction nodes and IP-address nodes and transactions performed at particular times between particular user profiles as relationships between transaction nodes and user profile nodes” Examiner notes that neural network computing entity 106 identifies a graph subpart from a graph datastore (identifying a graph database; a graph is a subgraph of itself) associated with a user identifier (IP-address is present within graph database))
generating, based on the identified graph subpart, a feature vector; (Erickson Paragraph 0061; “the graph convolutional neural network computing entity 106 generates related graph feature data for the predictive entity based on the related graph database input data for the predictive entity. In some embodiments, the related graph feature data includes a feature vector for each related graph database object of one or more related graph database objects associated with the predictive entity.” Examiner notes that neural network computing entity 106 generates a feature vector (related graph feature data which includes a feature vector) based on the identified graph subpart (related graph feature data is related to graph database))
processing, using a machine learning model, the feature vector to generate a set of reputation metrics; (Erickson Paragraph 0068; “the graph convolutional neural network computing entity 106 processes each feature vector for a related graph database object of the one or more related graph database objects using a first graph convolutional neural network of the graph convolutional neural network model to generate an anomaly presence likelihood for the predictive entity and an anomaly absence likelihood for the predictive entity.” Examiner notes that neural network computing entity 106 processes the feature vector using a machine learning model (graph convolutional neural network model) to generate a set of reputation metrics (an anomaly presence likelihood for the predictive entity and an anomaly absence likelihood for the predictive entity))
and providing an indication of the generated set of reputation metrics to a third-party service. (Erickson Paragraph 0031; “The architecture 100 includes an anomaly detection 101 configured to receive anomaly detection requests from external computing entities 102, process the anomaly detection requests to generate anomaly detection outputs, provide the anomaly detection systems to the external computing entities 102” Examiner notes an indication of the generated set of reputation metrics (anomaly detection outputs) is provided to a third-party service (external computing entities 102))
Regarding claim 6, Erickson anticipates The system of claim 1, wherein the set of reputation metrics comprises at least one of: a stability metric for the user identifier; or a supplemental information for the user identifier. (Erickson Paragraph 0068; “the graph convolutional neural network computing entity 106 processes each feature vector for a related graph database object of the one or more related graph database objects using a first graph convolutional neural network of the graph convolutional neural network model to generate an anomaly presence likelihood for the predictive entity and an anomaly absence likelihood for the predictive entity.” Examiner notes that supplemental information for the user identifier is anomaly presence likelihood for the predictive entity and an anomaly absence likelihood for the predictive entity)
Regarding claim 7, Erickson anticipates The system of claim 1, wherein the indication of the generated set of reputation metrics is provided in response to a request from the third-party service. (Erickson Paragraph 0031; “The architecture 100 includes an anomaly detection 101 configured to receive anomaly detection requests from external computing entities 102, process the anomaly detection requests to generate anomaly detection outputs, provide the anomaly detection systems to the external computing entities 102” Examiner notes that the indication of the generated set of reputation metrics (anomaly detection outputs) is provided in response to a request from the third-party service (receive anomaly detection requests from external computing entities 102))
Regarding claim 14, Erickson anticipates A method, comprising: identifying, from a graph datastore, a graph subpart associated with a user identifier; (Erickson Paragraph 0055; “the graph convolutional neural network computing entity 106 identifies a graph database including a plurality of graph database objects.” Erickson Paragraph 0057; “in a graph-based transactional record database that records transactions performed by particular IP addresses as relationships between transaction nodes and IP-address nodes and transactions performed at particular times between particular user profiles as relationships between transaction nodes and user profile nodes” Examiner notes that neural network computing entity 106 identifies a graph subpart from a graph datastore (identifying a graph database; a graph is a subgraph of itself) associated with a user identifier (IP-address is present within graph database))
generating, based on the identified graph subpart, a feature vector; (Erickson Paragraph 0061; “the graph convolutional neural network computing entity 106 generates related graph feature data for the predictive entity based on the related graph database input data for the predictive entity. In some embodiments, the related graph feature data includes a feature vector for each related graph database object of one or more related graph database objects associated with the predictive entity.” Examiner notes that neural network computing entity 106 generates a feature vector (related graph feature data which includes a feature vector) based on the identified graph subpart (related graph feature data is related to graph database))
processing, using a machine learning model, the feature vector to generate a set of reputation metrics; (Erickson Paragraph 0068; “the graph convolutional neural network computing entity 106 processes each feature vector for a related graph database object of the one or more related graph database objects using a first graph convolutional neural network of the graph convolutional neural network model to generate an anomaly presence likelihood for the predictive entity and an anomaly absence likelihood for the predictive entity.” Examiner notes that neural network computing entity 106 processes the feature vector using a machine learning model (graph convolutional neural network model) to generate a set of reputation metrics (an anomaly presence likelihood for the predictive entity and an anomaly absence likelihood for the predictive entity))
and providing an indication of the generated set of reputation metrics to a third-party service. (Erickson Paragraph 0031; “The architecture 100 includes an anomaly detection 101 configured to receive anomaly detection requests from external computing entities 102, process the anomaly detection requests to generate anomaly detection outputs, provide the anomaly detection systems to the external computing entities 102” Examiner notes an indication of the generated set of reputation metrics (anomaly detection outputs) is provided to a third-party service (external computing entities 102))
Regarding claim 19, Erickson anticipates The method of claim 14, wherein the set of reputation metrics comprises at least one of: a stability metric for the user identifier; or a supplemental information for the user identifier. (Erickson Paragraph 0068; “the graph convolutional neural network computing entity 106 processes each feature vector for a related graph database object of the one or more related graph database objects using a first graph convolutional neural network of the graph convolutional neural network model to generate an anomaly presence likelihood for the predictive entity and an anomaly absence likelihood for the predictive entity.” Examiner notes that supplemental information for the user identifier is anomaly presence likelihood for the predictive entity and an anomaly absence likelihood for the predictive entity)
Regarding claim 20, Erickson anticipates The method of claim 14, wherein the indication of the generated set of reputation metrics is provided in response to a request from the third-party service. (Erickson Paragraph 0031; “The architecture 100 includes an anomaly detection 101 configured to receive anomaly detection requests from external computing entities 102, process the anomaly detection requests to generate anomaly detection outputs, provide the anomaly detection systems to the external computing entities 102” Examiner notes that the indication of the generated set of reputation metrics (anomaly detection outputs) is provided in response to a request from the third-party service (receive anomaly detection requests from external computing entities 102))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker Erickson et al; US 20210406917 A1 filed on Jun 30, 2020 (hereinafter “Erickson”) in view of Lishui Cheng et al; US 11599840 B2 filed on Feb 25, 2019 (hereinafter “Cheng”) in further view of Caleb Noble et al; “Graph-based Anomaly Detection” available online on Nov 27, 2020 (hereinafter “Noble”).
Regarding claim 2, Erickson does not teach The system of claim 1, wherein the machine learning model is trained based on a set of annotated feature vectors generated from a training graph datastore, [wherein the training graph datastore includes a normal graph subpart and an abnormal graph subpart.]
However, Cheng does teach The system of claim 1, wherein the machine learning model is trained based on a set of annotated feature vectors generated from a training graph datastore, [wherein the training graph datastore includes a normal graph subpart and an abnormal graph subpart.] (Cheng Column 15 line 20; “the method 1500 may include computing, based on the generated graph, a set of features and/or corresponding labels for the plurality of entities… the method 1500 may proceed to step 1508, which may include training a machine learning model using the computed set of features and the corresponding labels.” Examiner notes the machine learning model is trained based on a set of annotated feature vectors (set of features and the corresponding labels) from a training graph datastore (graph))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Erickson and Cheng. Erickson teaches a method for graph convolutional anomaly detection. Cheng teaches a method for detecting hidden correlation relationships among entities for risk analysis. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Erickson and Cheng to effectively discover hidden relationships before negative impacts are felt “Such enhancements and improvements may provide for improved quality of service, improved interactions between entities and users, increased efficiencies, increased access to meaningful data, and substantially-improved decision-making abilities for entities, particularly when hidden correlation relationships are effectively discovered before negative impacts are felt by the entities.” (Cheng Column 2 Line 2).
Erickson in view of Cheng does not teach wherein the training graph datastore includes a normal graph subpart and an abnormal graph subpart.
However, Noble does teach wherein the training graph datastore includes a normal graph subpart and an abnormal graph subpart. (Noble Page 3 Paragraph 10; “The rationale for our method lies in the idea that subgraphs containing many common substructures are generally less anomalous than subgraphs with few common substructures. This is related to the underlying idea behind anomalous substructure detection – that common substructures are, in a loose sense, the “opposite” of anomalous substructures.” Examiner notes that the training graph datastore includes a normal graph subpart (common substructures) and an abnormal graph subpart (anomalous substructures))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Erickson, Cheng, and Noble. Erickson teaches a method for graph convolutional anomaly detection. Cheng teaches a method for detecting hidden correlation relationships among entities for risk analysis. Noble teaches graph-based anomaly detection. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Erickson, Cheng, and Noble to leverage graph-based data for encouraging results in finding anomalies “We hypothesize that these methods will prove useful both for finding anomalies, and for determining the likelihood of successful anomaly detection within graph-based data.” (Noble Abstract) “These approaches have been implemented and tested using the Subdue system, with encouraging results.” (Noble Conclusion)
Regarding claim 15, Erickson does not teach The method of claim 14, wherein the machine learning model is trained based on a set of annotated feature vectors generated from a training graph datastore, [wherein the training graph datastore includes a normal graph subpart and an abnormal graph subpart.]
However, Cheng does teach The method of claim 14, wherein the machine learning model is trained based on a set of annotated feature vectors generated from a training graph datastore, [wherein the training graph datastore includes a normal graph subpart and an abnormal graph subpart.] (Cheng Column 15 line 20; “the method 1500 may include computing, based on the generated graph, a set of features and/or corresponding labels for the plurality of entities… the method 1500 may proceed to step 1508, which may include training a machine learning model using the computed set of features and the corresponding labels.” Examiner notes the machine learning model is trained based on a set of annotated feature vectors (set of features and the corresponding labels) from a training graph datastore (graph))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Erickson and Cheng. Erickson teaches a method for graph convolutional anomaly detection. Cheng teaches a method for detecting hidden correlation relationships among entities for risk analysis. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Erickson and Cheng to effectively discover hidden relationships before negative impacts are felt “Such enhancements and improvements may provide for improved quality of service, improved interactions between entities and users, increased efficiencies, increased access to meaningful data, and substantially-improved decision-making abilities for entities, particularly when hidden correlation relationships are effectively discovered before negative impacts are felt by the entities.” (Cheng Column 2 Line 2).
Erickson in view of Cheng does not teach wherein the training graph datastore includes a normal graph subpart and an abnormal graph subpart.
However, Noble does teach wherein the training graph datastore includes a normal graph subpart and an abnormal graph subpart. (Noble Page 3 Paragraph 10; “The rationale for our method lies in the idea that subgraphs containing many common substructures are generally less anomalous than subgraphs with few common substructures. This is related to the underlying idea behind anomalous substructure detection – that common substructures are, in a loose sense, the “opposite” of anomalous substructures.” Examiner notes that the training graph datastore includes a normal graph subpart (common substructures) and an abnormal graph subpart (anomalous substructures))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Erickson, Cheng, and Noble. Erickson teaches a method for graph convolutional anomaly detection. Cheng teaches a method for detecting hidden correlation relationships among entities for risk analysis. Noble teaches graph-based anomaly detection. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Erickson, Cheng, and Noble to leverage graph-based data for encouraging results in finding anomalies “We hypothesize that these methods will prove useful both for finding anomalies, and for determining the likelihood of successful anomaly detection within graph-based data.” (Noble Abstract) “These approaches have been implemented and tested using the Subdue system, with encouraging results.” (Noble Conclusion)
Claim(s) 3-5 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker Erickson et al; US 20210406917 A1 filed on Jun 30, 2020 (hereinafter “Erickson”) in view of Ronnie J. Morris et al; US 11710033 B2 filed on Jun 12, 2018 (hereinafter “Morris”)
Regarding claim 3, Erickson does not teach The system of claim 1, wherein the identified graph subpart includes at least one user identifier node, at least one transaction node, and an edge node associating a user identifier node and a transaction node.
However, Morris does teach The system of claim 1, wherein the identified graph subpart includes at least one user identifier node, at least one transaction node, and an edge node associating a user identifier node and a transaction node. (Morris Column 4 Line 56; “the first entity type is a device entity type and the second entity type is a customer entity type, and where the edge inserted linking the first node to the second node is in response to the ensemble detecting a smartphone device corresponding to the first node is associated with a fraudulent transaction reported by a customer corresponding to the second node.” Examiner notes that the identified graph subpart includes at least one user identifier node (second node corresponding to a customer), at least one transaction node (first node associated with a fraudulent transaction) and an edge associating a user identifier node and transaction node (edge linking first node to the second node))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Erickson, and Morris. Erickson teaches a method for graph convolutional anomaly detection. Morris teaches a method for detecting fraudulent transactions in a graph structure. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Erickson and Morris to overcome the difficulty in detecting fraudulent transactions “The complexity and speed of financial transactions makes fraud particularly difficult to detect and to act upon... But such human-designed conditions are slow and undesirably inaccurate, particularly given the speed and near real-time streaming of financial transactions. The situation is further exacerbated given the complexity of modern financial transactions that make determining complex associations between seemingly unrelated sets of data extremely difficult and nearly impossible for humans without a machine learning system, such as the one illustrated in FIG. 6. At least one approach described herein to address various shortcoming in a hot file system involves implementing the hot file in a graph structure in computer memory, then enhancing the graph structure with one or more machine learning technologies described herein.” (Morris Column 28 Line 20)
Regarding claim 4, Erickson does not teach The system of claim 3, wherein the edge node is associated with a property that includes identification information for a user of the user identifier.
However, Morris does teach The system of claim 3, wherein the edge node is associated with a property that includes identification information for a user of the user identifier. (Morris Column 4 Line 56; “the first entity type is a device entity type and the second entity type is a customer entity type, and where the edge inserted linking the first node to the second node is in response to the ensemble detecting a smartphone device corresponding to the first node is associated with a fraudulent transaction reported by a customer corresponding to the second node.” Morris Column 31 Line 48; “the transaction data may comprise merchant data (e.g., name, identifier, merchant type, Boolean value), location data (e.g., IP address, ISP, MAC address, device identifier, UUID), amount data (e.g., monetary amount, currency type, tender type (e.g., credit card, mobile payment, debit card, online payment merchant, cryptocurrency)), and/or other characteristics.” Examiner notes that the edge (edge inserted linking the first to the second node) is associated/linking with a property (transaction node) that includes identification information (location data) for a user of the user identifier (merchant data))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Erickson, and Morris. Erickson teaches a method for graph convolutional anomaly detection. Morris teaches a method for detecting fraudulent transactions in a graph structure. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Erickson and Morris to overcome the difficulty in detecting fraudulent transactions “The complexity and speed of financial transactions makes fraud particularly difficult to detect and to act upon... But such human-designed conditions are slow and undesirably inaccurate, particularly given the speed and near real-time streaming of financial transactions. The situation is further exacerbated given the complexity of modern financial transactions that make determining complex associations between seemingly unrelated sets of data extremely difficult and nearly impossible for humans without a machine learning system, such as the one illustrated in FIG. 6. At least one approach described herein to address various shortcoming in a hot file system involves implementing the hot file in a graph structure in computer memory, then enhancing the graph structure with one or more machine learning technologies described herein.” (Morris Column 28 Line 20)
Regarding claim 5, Erickson does not teach The system of claim 1, wherein the user identifier is a first user identifier associated with a user and the identified graph subpart includes a first node for the first user identifier and a second node for a second user identifier that is also associated with the user.
However, Morris does teach The system of claim 1, wherein the user identifier is a first user identifier associated with a user and the identified graph subpart includes a first node for the first user identifier and a second node for a second user identifier that is also associated with the user. (Morris Fig 3C and Column 31 Line 41; “The credit card 210 may be associated with a credit card number, personal identification number (PIN), and other similar information.” Morris Column 34 line 15; “The electronic device may be device J, 308 illustrated in FIG. 3C. The system may, retrieve the MAC address in step 506 (and/or other device information in step 507) of the electronic device.” Examiner notes that the user identifier (MAC address of device 308) is a first user identifier associated/connected with a user (Customer B 304) and the identified graph subpart (Graph shown in 3C) includes a first node for the first user identifier (Node 308) and a second node (Node 303) for a second user identifier (credit card number of first card 303) that is also associated/connected with the user (customer B 304))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Erickson, and Morris. Erickson teaches a method for graph convolutional anomaly detection. Morris teaches a method for detecting fraudulent transactions in a graph structure. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Erickson and Morris to overcome the difficulty in detecting fraudulent transactions “The complexity and speed of financial transactions makes fraud particularly difficult to detect and to act upon... But such human-designed conditions are slow and undesirably inaccurate, particularly given the speed and near real-time streaming of financial transactions. The situation is further exacerbated given the complexity of modern financial transactions that make determining complex associations between seemingly unrelated sets of data extremely difficult and nearly impossible for humans without a machine learning system, such as the one illustrated in FIG. 6. At least one approach described herein to address various shortcoming in a hot file system involves implementing the hot file in a graph structure in computer memory, then enhancing the graph structure with one or more machine learning technologies described herein.” (Morris Column 28 Line 20)
Regarding claim 16, Erickson does not teach The method of claim 14, wherein the identified graph subpart includes at least one user identifier node, at least one transaction node, and an edge node associating a user identifier node and a transaction node.
However, Morris does teach The method of claim 14, wherein the identified graph subpart includes at least one user identifier node, at least one transaction node, and an edge node associating a user identifier node and a transaction node. (Morris Column 4 Line 56; “the first entity type is a device entity type and the second entity type is a customer entity type, and where the edge inserted linking the first node to the second node is in response to the ensemble detecting a smartphone device corresponding to the first node is associated with a fraudulent transaction reported by a customer corresponding to the second node.” Examiner notes that the identified graph subpart includes at least one user identifier node (second node corresponding to a customer), at least one transaction node (first node associated with a fraudulent transaction) and an edge associating a user identifier node and transaction node (edge linking first node to the second node))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Erickson, and Morris. Erickson teaches a method for graph convolutional anomaly detection. Morris teaches a method for detecting fraudulent transactions in a graph structure. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Erickson and Morris to overcome the difficulty in detecting fraudulent transactions “The complexity and speed of financial transactions makes fraud particularly difficult to detect and to act upon... But such human-designed conditions are slow and undesirably inaccurate, particularly given the speed and near real-time streaming of financial transactions. The situation is further exacerbated given the complexity of modern financial transactions that make determining complex associations between seemingly unrelated sets of data extremely difficult and nearly impossible for humans without a machine learning system, such as the one illustrated in FIG. 6. At least one approach described herein to address various shortcoming in a hot file system involves implementing the hot file in a graph structure in computer memory, then enhancing the graph structure with one or more machine learning technologies described herein.” (Morris Column 28 Line 20)
Regarding claim 17, Erickson does not teach The method of claim 16, wherein the edge node is associated with a property that includes identification information for a user of the user identifier.
However, Morris does teach The method of claim 16, wherein the edge node is associated with a property that includes identification information for a user of the user identifier. (Morris Column 4 Line 56; “the first entity type is a device entity type and the second entity type is a customer entity type, and where the edge inserted linking the first node to the second node is in response to the ensemble detecting a smartphone device corresponding to the first node is associated with a fraudulent transaction reported by a customer corresponding to the second node.” Morris Column 31 Line 48; “the transaction data may comprise merchant data (e.g., name, identifier, merchant type, Boolean value), location data (e.g., IP address, ISP, MAC address, device identifier, UUID), amount data (e.g., monetary amount, currency type, tender type (e.g., credit card, mobile payment, debit card, online payment merchant, cryptocurrency)), and/or other characteristics.” Examiner notes that the edge (edge inserted linking the first to the second node) is associated/linking with a property (transaction node) that includes identification information (location data) for a user of the user identifier (merchant data))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Erickson, and Morris. Erickson teaches a method for graph convolutional anomaly detection. Morris teaches a method for detecting fraudulent transactions in a graph structure. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Erickson and Morris to overcome the difficulty in detecting fraudulent transactions “The complexity and speed of financial transactions makes fraud particularly difficult to detect and to act upon... But such human-designed conditions are slow and undesirably inaccurate, particularly given the speed and near real-time streaming of financial transactions. The situation is further exacerbated given the complexity of modern financial transactions that make determining complex associations between seemingly unrelated sets of data extremely difficult and nearly impossible for humans without a machine learning system, such as the one illustrated in FIG. 6. At least one approach described herein to address various shortcoming in a hot file system involves implementing the hot file in a graph structure in computer memory, then enhancing the graph structure with one or more machine learning technologies described herein.” (Morris Column 28 Line 20)
Regarding claim 18, Erickson does not teach The method of claim 14, wherein the user identifier is a first user identifier associated with a user and the identified graph subpart includes a first node for the first user identifier and a second node for a second user identifier that is also associated with the user.
However, Morris does teach The method of claim 14, wherein the user identifier is a first user identifier associated with a user and the identified graph subpart includes a first node for the first user identifier and a second node for a second user identifier that is also associated with the user. (Morris Fig 3C and Column 31 Line 41; “The credit card 210 may be associated with a credit card number, personal identification number (PIN), and other similar information.” Morris Column 34 line 15; “The electronic device may be device J, 308 illustrated in FIG. 3C. The system may, retrieve the MAC address in step 506 (and/or other device information in step 507) of the electronic device.” Examiner notes that the user identifier (MAC address of device 308) is a first user identifier associated/connected with a user (Customer B 304) and the identified graph subpart (Graph shown in 3C) includes a first node for the first user identifier (Node 308) and a second node (Node 303) for a second user identifier (credit card number of first card 303) that is also associated/connected with the user (customer B 304))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Erickson, and Morris. Erickson teaches a method for graph convolutional anomaly detection. Morris teaches a method for detecting fraudulent transactions in a graph structure. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Erickson and Morris to overcome the difficulty in detecting fraudulent transactions “The complexity and speed of financial transactions makes fraud particularly difficult to detect and to act upon... But such human-designed conditions are slow and undesirably inaccurate, particularly given the speed and near real-time streaming of financial transactions. The situation is further exacerbated given the complexity of modern financial transactions that make determining complex associations between seemingly unrelated sets of data extremely difficult and nearly impossible for humans without a machine learning system, such as the one illustrated in FIG. 6. At least one approach described herein to address various shortcoming in a hot file system involves implementing the hot file in a graph structure in computer memory, then enhancing the graph structure with one or more machine learning technologies described herein.” (Morris Column 28 Line 20)
Claim(s) 8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker Erickson et al; US 20210406917 A1 filed on Jun 30, 2020 (hereinafter “Erickson”) in view of Jennifer French et al; EP 1080415 B1 published on Jan 18, 2017 (hereinafter “French”) in further view of Ronnie J. Morris et al; US 11710033 B2 filed on Jun 12, 2018 (hereinafter “Morris”)
Regarding claim 8, Erickson teaches A method for maintaining a graph datastore, comprising: obtaining transaction information associated with a user identifier; (Erickson Paragraph 0057; “in a graph-based transactional record database that records transactions performed by particular IP addresses” Examiner notes that transaction information (transactions) associated with a user identifier (IP address) is obtained for recording into the graph-based transactional record database)
Erickson does not teach preprocessing identification information of the transaction information;
However, French does teach preprocessing identification information of the transaction information; (French Paragraph 0067; “The area code for the home phone number is preferably checked to determine if it is valid for the state supplied in the current address, in preprocessing step 26... After the home phone number has been accepted or after a total of two tries, the process indicates the result, valid or not valid, in the transaction record 112 and proceeds.” Examiner notes that identification information of the transaction information(phone number) is preprocessed (preprocessing step 26))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Erickson and French. Erickson teaches a method for graph convolutional anomaly detection. French teaches various methods of authenticating network users. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Erickson and French to preprocess data to increase likelihood for matching a users identify and reduce false negatives “Preprocessing step 26 thus helps to ensure that the supplied data is as accurate as possible to increase the likelihood of generating a match when the user's identity is genuine. This reduces false negatives due to inconsistencies such as supplied nicknames instead of a full first name, contractions, missing titles, or mismatched formatting of social security numbers applied against known data sources.” (French Paragraph 0050).
Erickson in view of French does not teach generating, within the graph datastore, a transaction node including a set of properties based on the transaction information; However, Morris does teach generating, within the graph datastore, a transaction node including a set of properties based on the transaction information; (Morris Fig 3 and Column 2 line 29; “a graph module configured to store and update a graph using the transaction data, the graph including nodes and edges, where each node corresponds to an entity type, and where each edge represents a relationship between two nodes;” Morris Column 32 line 65; “A transaction 301 is associated with a merchant 302, a first card 303, a customer B 304, and a device J 308.” Examiner notes a transaction node (transaction 301) is generated/store and update within the graph datastore (graph) including a set of properties (associated/connected to nodes 302, 303, 304, and 308) based on the transaction information (transaction data))
and generating an edge between the generated transaction node and a user identifier node for the user identifier, wherein the edge includes at least a part of the [preprocessed] identification information. (Morris Column 4 Line 56; “the first entity type is a device entity type and the second entity type is a customer entity type, and where the edge inserted linking the first node to the second node is in response to the ensemble detecting a smartphone device corresponding to the first node is associated with a fraudulent transaction reported by a customer corresponding to the second node.” Examiner notes that an edge is generated/inserted between the generated transaction node (first node associated with a transaction) and a user identifier node for the user identifier (second node associated to a customer); wherein the edge includes at least in part of the identification information (edges represent a relationship between two nodes, so to link two nodes the identification information is used at least in part to show which nodes have a relationship as shown in fig 3))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Erickson, French, and Morris. Erickson teaches a method for graph convolutional anomaly detection. French teaches various methods of authenticating network users. Morris teaches a method for detecting fraudulent transactions in a graph structure. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Erickson, French, and Morris to overcome the difficulty in detecting fraudulent transactions “The complexity and speed of financial transactions makes fraud particularly difficult to detect and to act upon... But such human-designed conditions are slow and undesirably inaccurate, particularly given the speed and near real-time streaming of financial transactions. The situation is further exacerbated given the complexity of modern financial transactions that make determining complex associations between seemingly unrelated sets of data extremely difficult and nearly impossible for humans without a machine learning system, such as the one illustrated in FIG. 6. At least one approach described herein to address various shortcoming in a hot file system involves implementing the hot file in a graph structure in computer memory, then enhancing the graph structure with one or more machine learning technologies described herein.” (Morris Column 28 Line 20)
Regarding claim 10, Erickson does not teach The method of claim 8, wherein preprocessing the identification information comprises one or more of: processing a name of the identification information to omit a suffix, to omit a character, or to replace a character; processing an email address of the identification information to omit a domain name of the email address or to perform partial matching using a part of the email address; processing a phone number of the identification information to omit a part of the phone number or to determine whether to omit the phone number for inclusion in the graph datastore when the phone number is invalid; or processing a mailing address of the identification information to determine whether to omit the mailing address for inclusion in the graph datastore when a shipping provider indicates the mailing address is invalid.
However, French does teach The method of claim 8, wherein preprocessing the identification information comprises one or more of: processing a name of the identification information to omit a suffix, to omit a character, or to replace a character; processing an email address of the identification information to omit a domain name of the email address or to perform partial matching using a part of the email address; processing a phone number of the identification information to omit a part of the phone number or to determine whether to omit the phone number for inclusion in the graph datastore when the phone number is invalid; or processing a mailing address of the identification information to determine whether to omit the mailing address for inclusion in the graph datastore when a shipping provider indicates the mailing address is invalid. (French Paragraph 0067; “The area code for the home phone number is preferably checked to determine if it is valid for the state supplied in the current address, in preprocessing step 26... After the home phone number has been accepted or after a total of two tries, the process indicates the result, valid or not valid, in the transaction record 112 and proceeds.” Examiner notes that wherein the preprocessing the identification information comprises processing a phone number to determine whether to omit the phone number for inclusion in the graph datastore when the phone number is invalid (phone number is checked to determine if it is valid))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Erickson and French. Erickson teaches a method for graph convolutional anomaly detection. French teaches various methods of authenticating network users. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Erickson and French to preprocess data to increase likelihood for matching a users identify and reduce false negatives “Preprocessing step 26 thus helps to ensure that the supplied data is as accurate as possible to increase the likelihood of generating a match when the user's identity is genuine. This reduces false negatives due to inconsistencies such as supplied nicknames instead of a full first name, contractions, missing titles, or mismatched formatting of social security numbers applied against known data sources.” (French Paragraph 0050).
Regarding claim 11, Erickson teaches The method of claim 8, wherein the user identifier node is further associated with another transaction node by another edge within the graph datastore, (Erickson Fig. 5 and Paragraph 0057; “in a graph-based transactional record database that records transactions performed by particular IP addresses as relationships between transaction nodes and IP address nodes and transactions performed at particular times between particular user profiles as relationships between transaction nodes and user profile nodes… a predictive entity may correspond to a particular transaction node and all its associated relationships include the relationship between the corresponding transaction node and a corresponding IP-address node and the relationships between the corresponding transaction node and any corresponding user profile nodes” Examiner notes that graph-based transactional record database records transactions between transaction nodes and user profile nodes suggests that user identifier node can be associated with multiple transactions nodes as seen in operational example graph in Fig 5. If node A is a user node and nodes B and C are transaction nodes; they are associated by another edge within the graph datastore seen as relationship A 511 and relationship B;)
and the another edge includes identification information for a user different than a user associated with the user identifier. (Examiner refers to previous mapping to show that the another edge (relationship D) includes identification information (user profile) for a user different than a user associated with the user identifier (node D is a different user))
Regarding claim 12, Erickson teaches The method of claim 8, further comprising: receiving, from a third-party service, a request for a set of reputation metrics associated with a given user identifier; (Erickson Paragraph 0033; “The graph convolutional neural network computing entity 106 may be configured to receive anomaly detection requests from one or more external computing entities 102, process the anomaly detection requests to generate anomaly detection outputs” Erickson Paragraph 0057; “in a graph-based transactional record database that records transactions performed by particular IP addresses as relationships between transaction nodes and IP-address nodes and transactions performed at particular times between particular user profiles as relationships between transaction nodes and user profile nodes” Examiner notes that a request for a set of reputation metrics (anomaly detection outputs) is received from a third party service (external computing entities) associated with a given user identifier (computing entity generates anomaly detection outputs from graph-based transactional record database that includes user profile nodes as given user identifier))
identifying, from the graph datastore, a graph subpart associated with the given user identifier; (Erickson Paragraph 0055; “the graph convolutional neural network computing entity 106 identifies a graph database including a plurality of graph database objects.” Erickson Paragraph 0057; “in a graph-based transactional record database that records transactions performed by particular IP addresses as relationships between transaction nodes and IP-address nodes and transactions performed at particular times between particular user profiles as relationships between transaction nodes and user profile nodes” Examiner notes that neural network computing entity 106 identifies a graph subpart from a graph datastore (identifying a graph database; a graph is a subgraph of itself) associated with a user identifier (IP-address is present within graph database))
generating, based on the identified graph subpart, a feature vector; (Erickson Paragraph 0061; “the graph convolutional neural network computing entity 106 generates related graph feature data for the predictive entity based on the related graph database input data for the predictive entity. In some embodiments, the related graph feature data includes a feature vector for each related graph database object of one or more related graph database objects associated with the predictive entity.” Examiner notes that neural network computing entity 106 generates a feature vector (related graph feature data which includes a feature vector) based on the identified graph subpart (related graph feature data is related to graph database))
processing, using a machine learning model, the feature vector to generate the set of reputation metrics; (Erickson Paragraph 0068; “the graph convolutional neural network computing entity 106 processes each feature vector for a related graph database object of the one or more related graph database objects using a first graph convolutional neural network of the graph convolutional neural network model to generate an anomaly presence likelihood for the predictive entity and an anomaly absence likelihood for the predictive entity.” Examiner notes that neural network computing entity 106 processes the feature vector using a machine learning model (graph convolutional neural network model) to generate a set of reputation metrics (an anomaly presence likelihood for the predictive entity and an anomaly absence likelihood for the predictive entity))
and providing, to the third-party service, an indication of the generated set of reputation metrics. (Erickson Paragraph 0031; “The architecture 100 includes an anomaly detection 101 configured to receive anomaly detection requests from external computing entities 102, process the anomaly detection requests to generate anomaly detection outputs, provide the anomaly detection systems to the external computing entities 102” Examiner notes an indication of the generated set of reputation metrics (anomaly detection outputs) is provided to a third-party service (external computing entities 102))
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker Erickson et al; US 20210406917 A1 filed on Jun 30, 2020 (hereinafter “Erickson”) in view of Jennifer French et al; EP 1080415 B1 published on Jan 18, 2017 (hereinafter “French”) in further view of Ronnie J. Morris et al; US 11710033 B2 filed on Jun 12, 2018 (hereinafter “Morris”) in further view of Rafael Dal Zotto; US 20230334232 A1 filed Aug 31, 2020 (hereinafter “Zotto”)
Regarding claim 9, Erickson does not teach The method of claim 8, further comprising: determining whether the graph datastore includes the user identifier node for the user identifier;
However, Zotto does teach The method of claim 8, further comprising: determining whether the graph datastore includes the user identifier node for the user identifier; (Zotto Paragraph 0027; “The knowledge collection entity 112 may determine that nodes corresponding to both the User ID 201 and the Document ID 202 already exist in the knowledge graph 113” Examiner notes that knowledge collection entity 112 determines whether the graph datastore (knowledge graph 113) includes the user identifier node for the user identifier (node corresponding to user id 201))
and based on determining the graph datastore does not include the user identifier node, generating the user identifier node for the user identifier. (Zotto Paragraph 0026; “the knowledge collection entity 112 may determine that there is no existing node corresponding to the User ID 201 in the knowledge graph 113.” Zotto Paragraph 0029; “The knowledge collection entity 112 may update the knowledge graph 113 based on processing the metadata to determine the portions of the knowledge graph 113 that are to be updated, and optionally based on additional metadata describing the document access program used to create a new document. This may include adding new user nodes” Examiner notes that based on determining the graph data store (knowledge graph) does not include the user identifier node (determine no existing node corresponding to the User ID 201), generating the user identifier node for the user identifier (adding new user nodes for user id 201))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Erickson, French, Morris, and Zotto. Erickson teaches a method for graph convolutional anomaly detection. French teaches various methods of authenticating network users. Morris teaches a method for detecting fraudulent transactions in a graph structure. Zotto teaches using a knowledge graph to define and track relationship between users and documents. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Erickson, French, Morris, and Zotto to leverage knowledge graphs to effectively and efficiently find relationships “The collaboration knowledge graph can then be used to effectively and efficiently provide recommendations of documents, document links, and document versions most appropriate for a user to share with their target audience.” (Zotto Paragraph 0012)
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker Erickson et al; US 20210406917 A1 filed on Jun 30, 2020 (hereinafter “Erickson”) in view of Jennifer French et al; EP 1080415 B1 published on Jan 18, 2017 (hereinafter “French”) in further view of Ronnie J. Morris et al; US 11710033 B2 filed on Jun 12, 2018 (hereinafter “Morris”) in further view of Lishui Cheng et al; US 11599840 B2 filed on Feb 25, 2019 (hereinafter “Cheng”) in further view of Caleb Noble et al; “Graph-based Anomaly Detection” available online on Nov 27, 2020 (hereinafter “Noble”).
Regarding claim 13, Erickson does not teach The method of claim 12, wherein the machine learning model is trained based on a set of annotated feature vectors generated from a training graph datastore, [wherein the training graph datastore includes a normal graph subpart and an abnormal graph subpart.] However, Cheng does teach The method of claim 12, wherein the machine learning model is trained based on a set of annotated feature vectors generated from a training graph datastore, [wherein the training graph datastore includes a normal graph subpart and an abnormal graph subpart.] (Cheng Column 15 line 20; “the method 1500 may include computing, based on the generated graph, a set of features and/or corresponding labels for the plurality of entities… the method 1500 may proceed to step 1508, which may include training a machine learning model using the computed set of features and the corresponding labels.” Examiner notes the machine learning model is trained based on a set of annotated feature vectors (set of features and the corresponding labels) from a training graph datastore (graph))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Erickson, French, Morris, and Cheng. Erickson teaches a method for graph convolutional anomaly detection. French teaches various methods of authenticating network users. Morris teaches a method for detecting fraudulent transactions in a graph structure. Cheng teaches a method for detecting hidden correlation relationships among entities for risk analysis. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Erickson, French, Morris, and Cheng to effectively discover hidden relationships before negative impacts are felt “Such enhancements and improvements may provide for improved quality of service, improved interactions between entities and users, increased efficiencies, increased access to meaningful data, and substantially-improved decision-making abilities for entities, particularly when hidden correlation relationships are effectively discovered before negative impacts are felt by the entities.” (Cheng Column 2 Line 2).
Erickson in view of Cheng does not teach wherein the training graph datastore includes a normal graph subpart and an abnormal graph subpart.
However, Noble does teach wherein the training graph datastore includes a normal graph subpart and an abnormal graph subpart. (Noble Page 3 Paragraph 10; “The rationale for our method lies in the idea that subgraphs containing many common substructures are generally less anomalous than subgraphs with few common substructures. This is related to the underlying idea behind anomalous substructure detection – that common substructures are, in a loose sense, the “opposite” of anomalous substructures.” Examiner notes that the training graph datastore includes a normal graph subpart (common substructures) and an abnormal graph subpart (anomalous substructures))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Erickson, French, Morris, Cheng, and Noble. Erickson teaches a method for graph convolutional anomaly detection. French teaches various methods of authenticating network users. Morris teaches a method for detecting fraudulent transactions in a graph structure. Cheng teaches a method for detecting hidden correlation relationships among entities for risk analysis. Noble teaches graph-based anomaly detection. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Erickson, French, Morris, Cheng, and Noble to leverage graph-based data for encouraging results in finding anomalies “We hypothesize that these methods will prove useful both for finding anomalies, and for determining the likelihood of successful anomaly detection within graph-based data.” (Noble Abstract) “These approaches have been implemented and tested using the Subdue system, with encouraging results.” (Noble Conclusion)
Conclusion
/D.D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2147
/ERIC NILSSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2151