DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, Figs 1-13, Claims 1-8, 10, 14-20 in the reply filed on 10/8/2025 is acknowledged.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on 7/8/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou (CN111862824A using US 20230176621 A1 as a translation, hereinafter Zhou)
Claim 1. Zhou teaches a support member for a display device, comprising:
a first surface (outer surface of 2, fig 1) and a second surface (inner surface of 2, fig 1) opposite to each other (fig 1);
an outer pattern (patterns in 2, fig 3) at the first surface, and extending longer in a first direction (direction of A, figs 3); and
an inner pattern (patterns in 2, fig 3) at the second surface, and extending longer in the first direction (direction of A, figs 3), wherein
the outer pattern and the inner pattern are staggered with each other (since A and B are different sizes, comparing figs 3A, 3B, also [0061] recites ‘the strip-shaped hollowed-out parts 20 of the respective supporting layers 2 have the same width C and different lengths A. The hollowed-out parts corresponding to each other in the respective supporting layers 2 have two borders aligned in the width C direction. Midpoints of the hollowed-out parts corresponding to each other in the respective supporting layers 2 are aligned in the length A direction. Of course, both the lengths A and widths C of the strip-shaped hollowed-out parts 20 of the respective supporting layers 2 may also be different’).
Claim 2. Zhou teaches the support member of claim 1, wherein:
the support member comprises a first area (top left area of fig 1), a second area (top right area of fig 1), and a third area (middle area) between the first area and the second area in a plan view (figs 1, 4);
the support member is configured to be folded along a folding axis parallel to the first direction in the third area (fig 1); and
the outer pattern and the inner pattern are located in the third area (fig 1).
Claim 3. Zhou teaches the support member claim 2, wherein in a state in which the support member is folded, the first surface faces toward the outside, and the second surface faces toward the inside (fig 1).
Claim 4. Zhou teaches the support member of claim 2, wherein:
the outer pattern has a shape of a groove ([0061] recites ‘strip-shaped hollowed-out part’) recessed from the first surface of the support member;
the inner pattern has a shape of a groove ([0061] recites ‘strip-shaped hollowed-out part’) recessed from the second surface of the support member; and
a hole penetrating the support member is located in a portion in which the outer pattern and the inner pattern overlap with each other ([0061] recites ‘Midpoints of the hollowed-out parts corresponding to each other in the respective supporting layers 2 are aligned in the length A direction’).
Claim 5. Zhou teaches the support member of claim 2, wherein the outer pattern and the inner pattern have a bar shape or a rhombus shape in a plan view (figs 3).
Claim 6. Zhou teaches the support member of claim 2, wherein:
the outer pattern comprises a plurality of outer patterns (figs 3) adjacent to one another along the first direction, and a second direction crossing the first direction (figs 3) ; and
the inner pattern comprises a plurality of inner patterns (figs 3) adjacent to one another along the first direction and the second direction (figs 3).
Claim 7. Zhou teaches the support member of claim 6, further comprising:
an outer bridge (portions of element 2 that are not hollowed-out) between the plurality of the outer patterns; and
an inner bridge (portions of element 2 that are not hollowed-out) between the plurality of the inner patterns (figs 3).
Claim 8. Zhou teaches the support member of claim 7, wherein the outer bridge and the inner bridge are located in a zigzag shape (since lengths A are different between the two surfaces, but symmetrical).
Claim 14. Zhou teaches a display device comprising:
a display panel (3, fig 1) configured to display an image; and
a support member (both layers of 2, fig 1) on one surface (outer surface) of the display panel, wherein the support member comprises:
a first surface (outer surface of 2, fig 1) and a second surface (inner surface of 2, fig 1) opposite to each other (fig 1);
an outer pattern (patterns in 2, fig 3) at the first surface, and extending longer in a first direction (direction of A, figs 3); and
an inner pattern (patterns in 2, fig 3) at the second surface, and extending longer in the first direction (direction of A, figs 3), and
wherein the outer pattern and the inner pattern are staggered with each other (since A and B are different sizes, comparing figs 3A, 3B, also [0061] recites ‘the strip-shaped hollowed-out parts 20 of the respective supporting layers 2 have the same width C and different lengths A. The hollowed-out parts corresponding to each other in the respective supporting layers 2 have two borders aligned in the width C direction. Midpoints of the hollowed-out parts corresponding to each other in the respective supporting layers 2 are aligned in the length A direction. Of course, both the lengths A and widths C of the strip-shaped hollowed-out parts 20 of the respective supporting layers 2 may also be different’).
Claim 15. Zhou teaches the display device of claim 14, wherein:
the support member comprises a first area (top left area of fig 1), a second area (top right area of fig 1), and a third area (middle area) between the first area and the second area in a plan view (figs 1, 4);
the support member is configured to be folded along a folding axis parallel to the first direction in the third area (fig 1); and
the outer pattern and the inner pattern are located in the third area (fig 1).
Claim 16. Zhou teaches the display device of claim 15, wherein in a state in which the support member is folded, the first surface faces toward the outside, and the second surface faces toward the inside (fig 1).
Claim 17. Zhou teaches the display device of claim 15, wherein:
the outer pattern has a shape of a groove ([0061] recites ‘strip-shaped hollowed-out part’) recessed from the first surface of the support member;
the inner pattern has a shape of a groove ([0061] recites ‘strip-shaped hollowed-out part’) recessed from the second surface of the support member; and
a hole penetrating the support member is located in a portion in which the outer pattern and the inner pattern overlap with each other ([0061] recites ‘Midpoints of the hollowed-out parts corresponding to each other in the respective supporting layers 2 are aligned in the length A direction’).
Claim 18. Zhou teaches the display device of claim 15, wherein the outer pattern and the inner pattern have a bar shape or a rhombus shape in a plan view (figs 3).
Claim 19. Zhou teaches the display device of claim 15, wherein:
the outer pattern comprises a plurality of outer patterns adjacent to one another along the first direction, and a second direction crossing the first direction (figs 3); and
the inner pattern comprises a plurality of inner patterns adjacent to one another along the first direction and the second direction (figs 3).
Claim 20. Zhou teaches the display device of claim 19, wherein the support member comprises:
an outer bridge (portions of element 2 that are not hollowed-out) between the plurality of outer patterns; and
an inner bridge (portions of element 2 that are not hollowed-out) between the plurality of inner patterns, and
wherein the outer bridge and the inner bridge are located in a zigzag shape (since lengths A are different between the two surfaces, but symmetrical), or along a line (since lengths A can be the same).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for claim 10: The closest prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination) a ratio of a depth of the outer pattern to a thickness of the support member is 60 % or more, and 70 % or less; and
a ratio of a depth of the inner pattern to the thickness of the support member is 30 % or more, and 40 % or less in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant. Thus, the Applicant’s claims are determined to be novel and non-obvious.
Zhou [0063] recites ‘the supporting layer 2 close to the outer side of bending or folding has a larger tensile deformation and has a higher requirement on the tensile performance, while the supporting layer 2 close to the inner side of bending or folding has a lower requirement on the tensile performance. In an implementation of the present application, the supporting layer 2 close to the outer side of bending or folding has a relatively larger area of the hollowed-out part(s) 20, while the supporting layer 2 close to the inner side of bending or folding has a relatively smaller area of the hollowed-out part(s) 20, so that the bending performance of the supporting layers 2 can not only be improved, but also the good support can be provided for the flexible display module 3 when the screen is unfolded’, however Zhou fails to specifically teach the ratio of depths as claimed
Liao (US 20220103670 A1) [0103] recites ‘Optionally, a proportion of the depth d of the gap 3 to the thickness of the support sheet 2 ranges from 77/80 to 97/100. For example, the thickness of the support sheet 2 is 0.08 mm, and the depth d of the gap 3 is 0.077 mm. For another example, the thickness of the support sheet 2 is 0.10 mm, and the depth d of the gap 3 is 0.097 mm’, however Liao fails to specifically teach two different ratios on two different sides. Also, neither of the two ratios fall within the claimed ranges.
Park (US 10694625 B2) col 13 lines 63-67 recites ‘When the openings 202 of FIG. 9E or 9F are formed to have a depth or length equal to the partial thickness P1, the thickness P1 needs to be greater than ½ of the thickness of the body 200a, which may be desirable in terms of stretching and contraction of the openings 202’
Wang (US 12093081 B2) claim 7 recites ‘a maximum thickness of the second support plate is H.sub.3, and a depth of each of the plurality of the blind hole is H.sub.4, and a value range of a ratio of the H.sub.4 to the H.sub.3 is between 0.4 and 0.5’, however Wang still fails to teach a ratio of a depth of a pattern on the other side between 60%-70%.
Xiong (US 11947396 B2) col 4 lines 41-44 recite ‘In some embodiments, the ratio of the depth of each of the blind holes 5 to the thickness of the support assembly 10 is in a range of ⅓ to ⅔, in order to further enhance the bending performance of the bending region.’ This matches half of claim 10, but Xiong still fails to teach a ratio of a depth of a pattern on the other side is in the opposite side of a range of ⅓ to ⅔. It might seem obvious to have a ratio of a depth of a pattern on the other side to be the same as on the first side, however claim 10 requires a different (and specific) ratio on one side from the other side.
Wang (US 20240081003 A1) [0128] recites ‘Furthermore, ratios of the depths of the plurality of groove structures 130 to a thickness of the supporting plate are less than or equal to 0.6’, see also fig 5. Wang has a similar situation with Xiong.
Wang (US 20250093908 A1) [0112] recites ‘In some embodiments, a ratio of the hole depth of the third hole group 700 to the thickness of the support plate 300 ranges from ½ to ⅔. Too large or too small ratio may lead to the imbalance between stress release performance and support rigidity, affect the performance parameters of the support plate 300, and lead to obvious creases’ and has a similar situation with Xiong.
Lin (US 20180209029 A1) fig 6, [0099] indicate a depth of groove 40%-60%, but fails to teach the remaining limitations similarly to Xiong,
Wang (US 20240045471 A1) have a similar situation.
Xiao (US 20240389429 A1) [0083] recites ‘Referring to FIGS. 3D and 4D, for example, in the direction from the inside to the outside with the first region G1 as the center, a ratio of the depth t3 of the first groove 22 to the thickness T of the support backplane, a ratio of the depth t2 of the second groove 22 to the thickness T of the support backplane, and a ratio of the depth t1 of the third groove 22 to the thickness T of the support backplane are 0.9, 0.7 and 0.5, respectively. That is, the depths of the plurality of grooves 22 in the first direction X are sequentially reduced from the inside to the outside.’
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular elements, columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS R BURTNER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841