Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Halbritter et al. [US PGPUB 20220216076] (hereinafter Halbritter).
Regarding claim 1, Halbritter teaches a transfer substrate, comprising:
a substrate body (10/11/19, Fig. 3), wherein a side of the substrate body is provided with a protrusion (11/19, Fig. 3) and a groove (region of space between sidewall of protrusion 11/19 extending to the top surface of substrate body 10), and the protrusion alternates with the groove (Fig. 3 –i.e., the protrusion is beside the groove);
a first functional layer (20, Fig. 3), wherein the first functional layer is arranged on the side of the substrate body where the protrusion is formed (Fig. 3), and the first functional layer at least partially overlaps the protrusion along a direction (vertical direction, Fig. 3) perpendicular to a plane (horizontal plane) in which the substrate body extends (Fig. 3); and
a second functional layer (18, Fig. 3) arranged on a side of the first functional layer away from the substrate body (Fig. 3), wherein the second functional layer at least partially overlaps the first functional layer along the direction perpendicular to the plane in which the substrate body extends (Fig. 3), and the second functional layer at least extends from the protrusion to a sidewall of the groove (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Halbritter teaches a transfer substrate according to claim 1, wherein
the protrusion extends along a first direction (z direction (into the paper direction), Fig. 3),
the groove alternates with the protrusion along a second direction (x direction, Fig. 3), and
the first direction and the second direction are parallel to the plane in which the substrate body extends (Fig. 3), and the first direction intersects the second direction (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Halbritter teaches a transfer substrate according wherein
the groove alternates with the protrusion along a first direction and a second direction (x and z direction respectively, Fig. 3), and
the first direction and the second direction are parallel to the plane in which the substrate body extends, and the first direction intersects the second direction (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Halbritter teaches a transfer substrate wherein an included angle between the sidewall of the groove and a bottom of the groove is less than or equal to 90° (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Halbritter teaches a transfer substrate wherein the groove has a width of w in a third direction (Fig. 3, i.e.; width of space between side surface of portion 11 and top surface of portion 10), and the third direction is parallel to the plane in which the substrate body extends (Fig. 3); and
the groove has a depth of h (Fig. 3, i.e., height of portion 19) along the direction perpendicular to the plane in which the substrate body extends (Fig. 3), and h is smaller than w (Fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 6-8 and 10-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 2 is object to because all prior arts of record and related prior arts not of record either singularly or in combination fail to anticipate or render obvious the way the first functional layer is configure nor the viscosity relationship between the first and second functionality layer.
Claims 6 is object to because all prior arts of record and related prior arts not of record either singularly or in combination fail to anticipate or render obvious the claimed arc-shaped shapes.
Claims 7 is object to because all prior arts of record and related prior arts not of record either singularly or in combination fail to anticipate or render obvious the claimed pit and line groove.
Claims 8 is object to because of its dependency on claim 7.
Claims 10 is object to because all prior arts of record and related prior arts not of record either singularly or in combination fail to anticipate or render obvious the claimed h/w ratio.
Claims 11 is object to because all prior arts of record and related prior arts not of record either singularly or in combination fail to anticipate or render obvious the claimed dimensions.
Claims 12 is object to because all prior arts of record and related prior arts not of record either singularly or in combination fail to anticipate or render obvious the claimed width relationship.
Claims 13 is object to because of its dependency on claim 12.
Claims 14 is object to because all prior arts of record and related prior arts not of record either singularly or in combination fail to anticipate or render obvious the claimed first part overlapping the protrusion, the second part overlapping the groove, and the first part being thicker than the second part.
Claims 15 is object to because all prior arts of record and related prior arts not of record either singularly or in combination fail to anticipate or render obvious the claimed the first part overlapping the protrusion and the hollow part overlapping the groove.
Claims 16 is object to because all prior arts of record and related prior arts not of record either singularly or in combination fail to anticipate or render obvious the claimed third part overlapping the protrusion, the fourth part overlapping the groove, and the third part being thinner than the fourth part.
Claims 17-20 are allowable because all prior arts of record and related prior arts not of record either singularly or in combination fail to anticipate or render obvious a transfer substrate, comprising:
attaching the microdevice onto a side of the second functional layer away from the first functional layer corresponding to the protrusion, wherein the first functional layer is in a first state and has a volume of V1;
applying, from a side of the substrate body away from the microdevice, laser to the first functional layer corresponding to the protrusion to switch a state of the first functional layer to a second state, wherein the volume of the first functional layer in the second state is V2, V2 is greater than V1, and the second functional layer protrudes towards a side away from the protrusion, (as claimed in claim 17), in combination with the rest of claim limitations as claimed and defined by the Applicant.
.
Prior Art
Made of record are prior art(s) disclosing similar inventive concept as the current application.
Marinov [US PGPUB 20230107245] being the closest prior art to the inventive method of claims 17-20, discloses a similar method as that of the claimed invention except for transfer method utilizes the changing of gas volume to transfer devices. The structural features Marinov’s transfer device is also not similar to that of the claim.
Chaji et al. [US PGPUB 20200013662] being the closest prior art to the inventive method of claims 17-20, discloses a similar method as that of the claimed invention except for transfer method utilizes the changing of the volume an electroactive polymer (Fig. 22) to transfer devices. However, voltage is applied to achieve the volume change instead of laser. The structural features Chaji’s transfer device is also not similar to that of the claim.
Conclusion
/ISMAIL A MUSE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812