DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on August 20, 2026.
Claims 1, 4, 10, 16 and 18 have been amended and are hereby entered.
Claim 12 has been cancelled.
Claims 1 – 11 and 13 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
This action is made FINAL.
Response to Amendments
Applicant's amendments to the claims, filed August 20, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or joint inventor regards as the invention as set forth in the office action filed May 29, 2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed August 20, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 10 – 16, 18 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang as set forth in the office action filed May 29, 2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed August 20, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 10 – 16 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim as set forth in the office action filed May 29, 2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed August 20, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 – 6, 8, 9, and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as set forth in the office action filed May 29, 2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed August 20, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang and further in view of Jang as set forth in the office action filed May 29, 2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed August 20, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 – 6, 8, and 17 – 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as set forth in the office action filed May 29, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 11 and 13 – 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 10, and 11 have language that recite “the C4 – C13 polycyclic group is a condensed ring in which two, three or four C2 – C6 monocyclic groups are condensed with each other.” This phrase lacks antecedent basis. Claim also recites “the C2 – C6 monocyclic group,” which also lacks antecedent basis.
Claims 2 – 9, and 12 – 20 are rejected based on their dependency from claims 1 and 10.
For examination purposes, the claimed limitations are interpreted as not being required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10, 13 – 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (US20200079760A1).
As per claims 10, 13 – 17, and 19, Yang teaches:
A heterocyclic compound represented by Formula 1
(Yang teaches compounds of Formula (I)
([0008]). In the Table of [0147], Yang teaches compound 1021, wherein A is represented by a group of A1
, D1 and D2 are represented by a group of D1
and D3 is represented by a group of D2
. This compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein Z1 is a cyano group; L1 and L2 are a carbazole group; R2 is a C1 alkyl group and b2 is an integer of 2; the remaining R groups are hydrogen. As L1 group and the L2 group differ in that one is unsubstituted and the other is substituted, they are interpreted as being different from each other as required by the claim. As none of the R groups are linked to form a ring, Yang anticipates claim 15. As L1 is a carbazole group, the provisos of claim 16 do not apply and Yang anticipates claim 16. The compound meets Condition A and B in claim 19.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 6, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US20200079760A1) as applied to claims 10, 13 – 17, and 19 above.
As per claims 1 – 3, 6, and 8, Yang teaches:
A light-emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode facing the first electrode, an interlayer between the first electrode and the second electrode and comprising an emission layer, wherein the first electrode is an anode, the second electrode is a cathode, the interlayer further comprises a hole transport region between the first electrode and the emission layer, and an electron transport region between the emission layer and the second electrode, the hole transport region comprises a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an emission auxiliary layer, an electron blocking layer, or a combination thereof, and the electron transport region comprises a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, an electron control layer, or a combination thereof ([0034]: “FIG. 1 is a schematic wherein 1 denotes a substrate, 2 denotes an anode, 3 denotes a hole injection layer, 4 denotes a hole transporting layer, 5 denotes a light-emitting layer, 6 denotes an electron transporting layer, and 7 denotes a cathode.” An OLED is an electronic device as required by claim 6 and an electronic apparatus as required by claim 8.)
Wherein the interlayer comprises the heterocyclic compound ([0170]: “In some embodiments, the compound represented by Formula (I) of the invention may be effectively used as a light-emitting material in a light-emitting layer of an organic light-emitting device.”)
Yang teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and that the compound is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Yang as Yang demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claim 4, Yang teaches:
Wherein the hole transport region comprises the emission auxiliary layer and wherein the emission auxiliary layer comprises the heterocyclic compound (While Yang teaches the use of the compound in a light-emitting layer, because the particular composition of the emission auxiliary layer is not required, it is the Examiner’s position that the claimed emission auxiliary layer can be interpreted as a sublayer of the emission layer of Yang.)
As per claim 5, Yang teaches:
Wherein the emission layer comprises a delayed fluorescence material ([0170]: “In some embodiments, the compound of Formula (I) can be used as a host material and used with one or more light-emitting materials, and the light-emitting material can be… a TADF material.”)
As per claim 9, Yang teaches:
Wherein the electronic apparatus is a flat panel display, a curved display, a computer monitor, a medical monitor, a television…. ([0198]: “In some embodiments, the compounds of the disclosure are incorporated into a device, For example, the device includes, but is not limited to an OLED bulb, an OLED lamp, a television screen, a computer monitor, a mobile phone, and a tablet.”)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US20200079760A1) as applied to claims 1 – 6, 8 – 10, 13 – 17, and 19 above and further in view of Jang (US20150188083A1).
As per claim 7, Yang does not teach:
The electronic device further comprising a color filter, a color conversion layer, a touch screen layer, a polarizing layer, or a combination thereof
Jang teaches an organic light emitting display device comprising an organic light emitting diode (Abstract). Jang teaches that these devices include sub-pixels that can comprise a conversion layer to convert white light into red, green and blue light ([0009]). Jang also teaches that the structure can comprise color filters in the respective pixel regions of the substrate (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the claimed color filter or color conversion layer on the OLED of Yang because Jang demonstrates that this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 – 6, 8, 10, and 13 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR20210045325A, using the previously provided machine translation).
As per claims 1 – 3, 6, 8, 10, 13 – 20, Kim teaches:
A heterocyclic compound represented by Formula 1
(Kim teaches compounds of Formula 1
([0010]). A particular compound taught by Kim is
on Page 21. This compound contains two symmetrical phenyl groups as substituents off the diazine ring, a condition which is specifically excluded by the claims. However, Kim defines X1 as being selected from a group of aryl or heteroaryl groups ([0083]) and recites carbazole groups as a specific example of a heteroaryl group ([0073]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace one of the phenyl groups with a carbazole group and arrive at the claimed compounds. When modified in this way to include a second carbazole group in the position of one of the phenyl rings, the modified compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein Z1 is a cyano group; L1 is a benzene group and L2 is a carbazole group; all the R groups are hydrogen. As none of the R groups are linked to form a ring, Kim meets the limitations of claim 15. Since both R1 is not a silyl group, the provisos of claim 16 do not apply and Kim meets the claim limitations of claim 16. One of the groups is a carbazole group, meeting condition 2 in claim 18, and condition A in claim 19. The compound is the same as compound 1 in claim 20
.)
A light-emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode facing the first electrode, an interlayer between the first electrode and the second electrode and comprising an emission layer, wherein the first electrode is an anode, the second electrode is a cathode, the interlayer further comprises a hole transport region between the first electrode and the emission layer, and an electron transport region between the emission layer and the second electrode, the hole transport region comprises a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an emission auxiliary layer, an electron blocking layer, or a combination thereof, and the electron transport region comprises a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, an electron control layer, or a combination thereof (Kim discloses the following device structure in [0161]: Anode/Hole injection layer/ Hole transport layer/ Emitting layer/ Hole blocking layer/ Electron transport layer/ Electron injection layer/Cathode. An OLED is an electronic device as required by claim 6 and an electronic apparatus as required by claim 8.)
Wherein the interlayer comprises the heterocyclic compound (In [0336], Kim teaches that the compound according to Chemical Formula 1 can be used as a host for the light-emitting layer.)
Kim includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Kim being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of organic light emitting devices with high efficiency and long lifespan ([0052]) absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
Kim teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and the compound is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Kim as Kim demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claim 4, Kim teaches:
Wherein the hole transport region comprises the emission auxiliary layer and wherein the emission auxiliary layer comprises the heterocyclic compound (While Kim teaches the use of the compound in a light-emitting layer, because the particular composition of the emission auxiliary layer is not required, it is the Examiner’s position that the claimed emission auxiliary layer can be interpreted as a sublayer of the emission layer of Kim.)
As per claim 5, Kim teaches:
Wherein the emission layer comprises a delayed fluorescence material ([0143]: “In the organic light-emitting device of the present specification, the organic layer comprises a light-emitting layer, and the light-emitting layer may comprise a thermally activated delayed light-emitting composition.”)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR20210045325A, using the previously provided machine translation) as applied to claims 1 – 6, 8, 10, and 13 – 20 above and further in view of Jang (US20150188083A1).
As per claim 7, Kim does not teach:
The electronic device further comprising a color filter, a color conversion layer, a touch screen layer, a polarizing layer, or a combination thereof
Jang teaches an organic light emitting display device comprising an organic light emitting diode (Abstract). Jang teaches that these devices include sub-pixels that can comprise a conversion layer to convert white light into red, green and blue light ([0009]). Jang also teaches that the structure can comprise color filters in the respective pixel regions of the substrate (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the claimed color filter or color conversion layer on the OLED of Kim because Jang demonstrates that this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789