Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because Applicant has amended the claims. Hodges (US 2018/0062347) has been used in the instant action [instead of Lehman (US 7,673,389)] to teach or suggest the amended limitations regarding the first heat exchanger of claims 1 and 15.
Applicant argues
Claims 111 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the Applicant regards as the invention. Specifically, the Examiner asserts that claim 11 requires the "first quick connector" as being part of the first extension pipeline, and claim 11 requires the "second quick connector" being coupled to the second extension pipeline, which is indefinite. Here, the specification does provide adequate support for the "first quick connector" and the "second quick connector" being coupled to the first extension pipeline. For instance, support for the term "first quick connector" may be found as reference number 233, and support for the term "second quick connector" may be found in reference number 234, both in FIG. 4. Further, as shown in FIG. 4, "the first quick connector" is coupled to the "second quick connector" and to the first extension pipeline 230. Thus, the Applicant respectfully submits that at least these portions of the specification convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, the Applicant was in possession of the invention of claim 11. Accordingly, the Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the 35 U.S.C.§ 112 (a) rejection of claim 11. ((Applicant remarks of 12/26/25, p. 13).
The Examiner believes that the Applicant missed the point of these 35 USC 112b rejections.
Claim 1, line 7 requires “a first extension pipeline” and line 29 requires “a first quick connector” as two separate elements. Whereas Claim 11 is now defines the “the first extension pipeline” (line 1) as comprising “a fourth end comprising the first quick connector” (line 5). Are the “first extension pipeline” and the “first quick connector” of claim 1 separately defined elements or is “the first quick connector” part of “the first extension pipeline” as claim 11 requires?
Further Claim 1, line 7 requires “a first extension pipeline” and line 30 requires “a second quick connector” as two separate elements. Whereas Claim 11 is now defines the “the first extension pipeline” (line 1) as comprising “a sixth end comprising the second quick connector” (line 8). Are the “first extension pipeline” and the “second quick connector” of claim 1 separately defined elements or is “the second quick connector” part of “the first extension pipeline” as claim 11 requires?
Therefore this rejection is maintained in the instant action.
Applicant notes “[t]he heading of the rejection lists claim 12. Office Action, at 6. However, the body of the rejections does not reject claim 12. See id. at 6-7” (Applicant remarks of 12/26/25, footnote 1 at bottom of p. 13). Claim 12 is dependent on claim 11 and therefore incorporates by reference all the limitations of claim 11. Since claim 11 has a 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue, then claim 12 will likely also have the same issue, and it is proper to include claim 12 in the ground of rejection. It is of note, that if the Examiner did not include all applicable claims that are dependent on claim 11 that inherit the issue, the USPTO can view this as a quality error.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-12 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4, line 4 and Claim 17, line 3 require “a first thermally conductive pipeline” and Claim 1, line 9 and Claim 15 line 13, require “a pipe.” Both of these elements appear to be supported by disclosed element 360. Are these the same or different elements being claimed?
Claim 5, line 2 requires “a third surface” and Claim 1, line 9 requires “a first surface” (Claim 6, line 2 requires “the third surface”). Both of these elements appear to be supported by disclosed element 351. Are these the same or different elements being claimed?
Claim 11, line 5 requires “the first quick connector” as being part of “the first extension pipeline” and Claim 1, line 27 requires “a first quick connector” being a separately claimed element and being coupled to “a second quick connector coupled to the first extension pipeline” (see claim 1, line 28). In claim 1, the “first quick connector” is not part of “the first extension pipeline”, whereas in claim 11, the “first quick connector” is now part of “the first extension pipeline” (note: “a first extension pipeline” of claim 1 appears to be supported by element 232 and a first quick disconnector is supported by element 233 and “the first extension pipeline” of claim 11 appears to be supported by element 230 (because element 230 includes elements 232 and 233).
Claim 11, line 8 requires “the second quick connector” as being part of “the first extension pipeline” and Claim 1, line 28 requires “a second quick connector coupled to the first extension pipeline.” The “second quick connector” of claim 1 is a separately claimed element. In claim 1, the “second quick connector” is not part of “the first extension pipeline”, whereas in claim 11, the “second quick connector” is now part of “the first extension pipeline” (note: “a first extension pipeline” of claim 1 appears to be supported by element 232 and a second quick disconnector is supported by element 234 and “the first extension pipeline” of claim 11 appears to be supported by element 230 (because element 230 includes elements 232 and 234); and
Claim 18, lines 1-2 requires “a first plate surface” and Claim 15, line 13 requires “a first surface” (Claim 19 line 2 requires “the first plate surface”). Both of these elements appear to be supported by disclosed element 351. Are these the same or different elements being claimed?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koizumi (US 5,323,847), Hodges (US 2018/0062347) and Tsay (US 5,401,000).
With respect to Claim 1, Koizumi teaches a heat dissipation apparatus (fig. 1) comprising: a housing (fig. 1, portion of 50 [including 51] to left of 51; fig. 2, portion of 50 [including 51] on near side of 51); a liquid storage tank (42) configured to store a liquid coolant (col. 5, l. 23, water); a first liquid cooling pipe (44 between 42 and 43); a liquid pump (43) externally (see fig. 1) coupled to the liquid storage tank through the first liquid cooling pipe; a first extension pipeline (fig. 1, 35 between lower 34 and lower 52); a first heat exchanger (32) disposed away (32 is away from portion of 50 to left of 51 [see fig. 1] because it is on the right side of 51) from the housing, coupled to the liquid pump through the first extension pipeline, and the first heat exchanger configured to: be in contact with a heat source (31); absorb heat (col. 5, ll. 12-13) from the heat source; and transfer (col. 5, ll. 12-13) the heat to the liquid coolant flowing through the first heat exchanger; a second extension pipeline (33,34,36); a second liquid cooling pipe (connection between 41 and 42); a second heat exchanger (41) disposed inside (see fig. 1) the housing coupled to the first heat exchanger through the second extension pipeline and further coupled to the liquid storage tank through the second liquid cooling pipe, wherein the second heat exchanger is configured to: absorb (col. 5, l. 21) the heat from the liquid coolant flowing through the second heat exchanger; and release (col. 5, l. 46) the heat into an environment (fig. 1, environment surrounding 41; col. 5, l. 22, “air”) external to the second heat exchanger, and wherein the liquid pump is configured to: receive (see fig. 1) the liquid coolant from the liquid storage tank via the first liquid cooling pipe; and pressurize (col. 6, ll. 9-10) the liquid coolant to cause the liquid coolant to flow into the first heat exchanger, out of the first heat exchanger into the second heat exchanger, and out of the second heat exchanger into the liquid storage tank; a first connector (lower 52 at 44) coupled to (see fig. 1) the housing and to the liquid pump; a second connector (fig. 1, lower 33 at lower 52) coupled to the first extension pipeline, wherein in a connected condition (see fig. 1), the second connector is configured to couple to the first connector and cause the liquid coolant to flow into the first heat exchanger via the first extension pipeline, and wherein in a disconnected condition (when 35 is disconnected from 52), the first connector is configured to decouple from the second connector and prevent the liquid coolant from flowing (when decoupled, the fluid cannot pass to the first heat exchanger 32) into the first heat exchanger via the first extension pipeline and leaking from the liquid pump; and a heat dissipation fan (45) facing (see fig. 1; col. 5, ll. 44-45) the second heat exchanger and configured to generate cooling air (fig. 1, airflow arrows below 45s) from the environment for the second heat exchanger to accelerate airflow around the second heat exchanger. Koizumi fails to disclose a first heat exchanger comprising a first surface and a pipe, wherein the pipe comprises a pipe wall that is partially exposed through the first surface, and wherein the pipe wall is configured to: be in contact with a heat source; absorb heat from the heat source; and transfer the heat to the liquid coolant flowing through the first heat exchanger, and first and second quick connectors, the second quick connector is configured to decouple from the first quick connector and prevent the liquid coolant from flowing into the first heat exchanger via the first extension pipeline. Admitted prior art that it is well known in the art to have first and second quick connectors (since the applicant’s transverse of the rejection does not specifically address the examiner’s assertion of official notice, the transverse is not adequate and is taken as admitted prior art. MPEP 2144.03). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Koizumi with well-known first quick connector for the purpose of allowing the pipes to quickly connected and disconnected from each other. Hodges teaches a first heat exchanger (fig. 2C, 202,204) comprising a first surface (fig. 2C, surface at 213) and a pipe (206), wherein the pipe comprises a pipe wall (203) that is partially exposed (see fig, 2C) through the first surface, and wherein the pipe wall is configured to: be in contact with a heat source (130A,130B and ¶[0032], ll. 19-20); absorb heat (¶[0028], ll. 7-8) from the heat source; and transfer the heat to the liquid coolant (150) flowing through the first heat exchanger. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the first heat exchanger of Koizumi for that of Hodges for the purpose of providing “a flush or flat horizontal surface upon which to mount components over tubing 206” (¶[0032], ll. 18-20) for increased thermal management of the heat source. Tsay teaches a second quick connector (fig. 2-B, 3), wherein in a connected condition (see fig. 2-B), the second quick connector is configured to couple to the first quick connector (10) and cause the coolant (col. 1, ll. 23 and 37) to flow (col. 3, l. 3), and wherein in a disconnected condition (see fig. 2-A), the second quick connector is configured to decouple (see fig. 2=A and col. 2, l. 60) from the first quick connector and prevent the coolant from flowing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Koizumi with the second quick connector of Tsay for the purpose of providing “under normal condition, . . . to seal the gap between the inlet chamber 62 and the outlet chamber 63 . . . [and] when the matched male connector 10 is inserted into the outlet chamber 63, the slide valve 4 to be is moved backwards, causing . . . the slide valve 4 moved away from the gap between the inlet chamber 62 and the outlet chamber 63 permitting a gas to pass from the inlet chamber 62 . . . into the outlet chamber 63” (col. 2, l. 59 – co. 3, l. 5).
With respect to Claim 14, Koizumi further teaches the liquid pump (43) is configured to: extract (see fig, 1, liquid taken from 42) the liquid coolant from the liquid storage tank (42); and pressurize (pumps create a pressure to draw the liquid from 42) the liquid coolant to enable the liquid coolant to circulate sequentially along (see fig. 1) the liquid storage tank (42), the first heat exchanger (32), and the second heat exchanger (41).
Claims 2, 4, 5, and 7-12, as best understood, are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koizumi (US 5,323,847), Hodges (US 2018/0062347), Tsay (US 5,401,000).and Cheon (US 2004/0008483).
With respect to Claim 2, Koizumi further teaches the liquid storage tank, the liquid pump, the heat dissipation fan, and the second heat exchanger are disposed inside (see fig. 1) the housing, and wherein the first heat exchanger is disposed outside (see fig. 1, outside by being on right side of 51; fig. 2, outside by being on far side of 51) the housing. Koizumi, Hodges and Tsay fail to disclose the first heat exchanger is independent of the housing. Cheon teaches the first heat exchanger (fig. 1, 11) is independent (see fig. 1) of the housing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Koizumi, Hodges and Tsay with the independent first heat exchanger of Cheon for the purpose of “provid[ing] a water cooling type cooling system for an electronic device, which can facilitate assembling and maintenance works by simplifying internal components of the electronic device by separately installing water cooling type components outside the electronic device, and can reduce an internal temperature, noise and vibration of the electronic device” (¶[0006], ll. 3-9).
With respect to Claims 4 and 5 (see 35 USC 112b rejections above), Koizumi and Tsay disclose the claimed invention except for the first heat exchanger comprises: a heat exchange plate comprising a second surface; and a first thermally conductive pipeline disposed inside the heat exchange plate and comprising: a first end that is a first liquid inlet of the first heat exchanger; and a second end that is a first liquid outlet of the first heat exchanger, wherein the first end and the second end are located on the second surface, and wherein the heat exchange plate is configured to: be in contact with the heat source; absorb the heat from the heat source; and transfer the heat to the liquid coolant in the first thermally conductive pipeline (claim 4). Hodges teaches the first heat exchanger (fig. 3C, 202,204) comprises: a heat exchange plate (202) comprising a second surface (fig. 2B,left side of 202); and a first thermally conductive (¶[0032], ll. 9-10) pipeline (204) disposed inside (see fig. 2C) the heat exchange plate and comprising: a first end (fig. 2B, 208) that is a first liquid inlet (¶[0032], l. 34) of the first heat exchanger; and a second end (210) that is a first liquid outlet (¶[0032], l. 35) of the first heat exchanger, wherein the first end and the second end are located on (see fig. 2B) the second surface, and wherein the heat exchange plate is configured to: be in contact with the heat source (130A,130B and ¶[0032], ll. 19-20); absorb (¶[0028], ll. 7-8) the heat from the heat source; and transfer the heat to the liquid coolant (150) in the first thermally conductive pipeline (claim 4) the heat exchange plate further comprises a third surface (213) of a planar structure (see fig. 2C), and wherein the third surface is configured to be in contact with the heat source (130A,130B and ¶[0032], ll. 19-20) (claim 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the first heat exchanger of Koizumi for that of Hodges for the purpose of providing “a flush or flat horizontal surface upon which to mount components over tubing 206” (¶[0032], ll. 18-20) for increased thermal management of the heat source.
With respect to Claims 7 and 8, Koizumi further teaches the second heat exchanger (41) comprises: a fin structure (col. 5, l. 41) formed by stacking a plurality of sheets (see fig. 1), comprising a gap (see fig. 1) between two adjacent sheets of the sheets; and a second thermally conductive pipeline (fig. 1, pipe within 41) configured to shuttle back and forth (see fig. 1) between the sheets and comprising: a third end (fig. 1, 41, near 52) that is a second liquid inlet (fig. 1, side of 41 connected to 52) of the second heat exchanger; and a fourth end (fig. 1, 41 near 42) that is a second liquid outlet of the second heat exchanger, wherein the fin structure is configured to: absorb the heat of the liquid coolant in the second thermally conductive pipeline; and release (col. 5, ll. 22-23) the heat into the environment (claim 7) and the sheets are disposed in parallel (see fig. 1) with an air duct direction (see air flow arrows of fig. 1) of the heat dissipation fan (45) (claim 8).
With respect to Claims 9 and 10, Koizumi further teaches the second extension pipeline (fig. 1, 33,34,36,52, and pipe between upper 52 and 41) comprises: a third liquid cooling pipe (fig. 1, pipe between upper 52 and 41) comprising: a fifth end (fig. 1, end of pipe between upper 52 and 41 at 41) coupled to the second liquid inlet (fig. 1, side of 41 connected to upper 52); and a sixth end (fig. 1, end of pipe between upper 52 and 41 at upper 52) comprising a third connector (upper 52); and an extension pipe (33,34,36) comprising: a seventh end (fig. 1, end of 33 at 32) coupled to the first liquid outlet (fig. 1, side of 32 at 33); and an eighth end (fig. 1, side of 36 at upper 52) comprising a fourth connector (fig. 1, adapted to connect to upper 52), wherein the third liquid cooling pipe is coupled to (see fig. 1) the extension pipe through the third connector and the fourth connector (claim 9) and the housing (fig. 1, portion of 50 [including 51] to left of 50; fig. 2, portion of 50 [including 51] on near side of 51) comprises an outer side (fig. 1, right side of 51), and wherein the third connector (fig. 1, lower 52) is disposed on (see fig. 1) the housing and is located on (see fig. 1 and col. 5, ll. 35-39) the outer side (claim 10). Koizumi and Hodge fails to disclose third and fourth quick connectors. Admitted prior art that it is well known in the art to have quick connectors (since the applicant’s transverse of the rejection does not specifically address the examiner’s assertion of official notice, the transverse is not adequate and is taken as admitted prior art. MPEP 2144.03). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Koizumi with well-known quick connectors for the purpose of allowing the pipes to quickly connected and disconnected from each other.
With respect to Claims 11 and 12, Koizumi further teaches the first extension pipeline (44 between 43 and 32) comprises: a third liquid cooling pipe (44 between 43 and lower 52) comprising: a third end (fig. 1, 44 at 43) coupled to the liquid pump (43); and a fourth end (44 at lower 52) comprising the first connector (lower 52 at 44); and an extension pipe (fig. 1, lower 33) comprising: a fifth end (fig. 1, 33 at 32) coupled to the first liquid inlet (fig. 1, 32 at lower 33); and a sixth end (fig. 1, lower 33 at lower 52) comprising the second connector (fig. 1, lower 33 at lower 52), wherein the third liquid cooling pipe is coupled to (see fig. 1) the extension pipe through the first connector and the second connector (claim 11) and the housing (fig. 1, portion of 50 [including 51] to left of 50; fig. 2, portion of 50 [including 51] on near side of 51) comprises an outer side (fig. 1, right side of 51), and wherein the first connector (fig. 1, lower 52) is disposed on (see fig. 1) the housing and is located on (see fig. 1 and col. 5, ll. 35-39) the outer side (claim 12). Koizumi fails to disclose first and second quick connectors. Admitted prior art that it is well known in the art to have quick connectors (since the applicant’s transverse of the rejection does not specifically address the examiner’s assertion of official notice, the transverse is not adequate and is taken as admitted prior art. MPEP 2144.03). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Koizumi with well-known quick connectors for the purpose of allowing the pipes to quickly connected and disconnected from each other.
Claim 3 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koizumi (US 5,323,847), Hodges (US 2018/0062347), Tsay (US 5,401,000).and Malone (US 7,002,799).
Koizumi, Hodge and Tsay disclose the claimed invention except for the second heat exchanger is a part of the housing. Malone teaches the second heat exchanger (fig. 7, 710) is a part of the housing (704). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of electronic device design before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have substituted the housing as disclosed in Koizumi with the housing and second heat exchanger as disclosed by Malone. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have substituted the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the substitution would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The use of the housing with the second heat exchanger allows for the heat to be released directly to the exterior of the housing.
Claim 6 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koizumi (US 5,323,847), Hodges (US 2018/0062347), Tsay (US 5,401,000) and Karrer (US 7,272,015).
Koizumi, Hodges and Tsay disclose the claimed invention including the heat exchange plate includes a fourth surface (Hodges, fig. 2C, bottom surface of 202).located opposite to the third surface (213). Koizumi, Hodges and Tsay fails to disclose the second plate surface comprises a plurality of heat sink fins disposed at intervals. Karrer teaches the heat exchange plate (fig. 4, 28b) further comprises a second plate surface (fig. 4, bottom of 28b) located opposite to the first plate surface (fig. 4, top of 28b), and wherein the second plate surface comprises a plurality of heat sink fins (fins of 28b) disposed at intervals (see fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Koizumi, Hodges and Tsay with the fins of Karrer for the purpose of enlarging the surface area for increased release of the heat to the adjacent environment.
Claim 13 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koizumi (US 5,323,847), Hodges (US 2018/0062347), Tsay (US 5,401,000) and Stefanoski (US 11,324,144).
Koizumi further teaches the heat source comprises at least one heat-emitting component (col. 5, l. 8, integrated circuits) on a printed circuit board (col. 5, l. 7, substrate) of a computing platform (col. 2, l. 57), wherein the printed circuit board comprises at least one heat-emitting component (col. 5, l. 8, integrated circuits), and wherein the first heat exchanger (32) is configured to be in contact with (see fig. 1, and col. 5, l. 10, intimately mounted) the heat source. Koizumi, Hodges, and Tsay fail to disclose an autonomous driving computing platform. Stefanoski teaches a printed circuit board (col. 7, l. 6) of an autonomous driving computing platform (see title). It would have been an obvious matter of choice to for the printed circuit board to be part of any type of application including an autonomous driving computing platform, since applicant has not disclosed that the autonomous driving computing platform solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with any type of printed circuit board assembly that requires thermal management.
Claim 15 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koizumi (US 5,323,847), Hodges (US 2018/0062347), Tsay (US 5,401,000) and Xie (CN 209879440).
Koizumi teaches a vehicle (see fig. 1, depicts a cart with wheels) comprising a platform (30) comprising a printed circuit board (col. 5, l. 7, substrate), wherein the printed circuit board comprises a heat source (31 and col. 5, l. 8, integrated circuits); and a heat dissipation apparatus (fig. 1) comprising: a housing (fig. 1, portion of 50 [including 51] to left of 51; fig. 2, portion of 50 [including 51] on near side of 51); a liquid storage tank (42) configured to store a liquid coolant (col. 5, l. 23, water); a first liquid cooling pipe (44 between 42 and 43); a liquid pump (43) externally (see fig. 1) coupled to the liquid storage tank through the first liquid cooling pipe; a first extension pipeline (fig. 1, 35 between lower 34 and lower 52); a first heat exchanger (32) disposed inside the vehicle (see fig. 1), disposed away from (32 is away from portion of 50 to left of 51 [see fig. 1] because it is on the right side of 51) the housing, coupled to the liquid pump through the first extension pipeline and configured to: be in contact with the heat source (31); absorb heat (col. 5, ll. 12-13) from the heat source; and transfer (col. 5, ll. 12-13) the heat to the liquid coolant flowing through the first heat exchanger; a second extension pipeline (33,34,36); a second liquid cooling pipe (connection between 41 and 42); a second heat exchanger (41) coupled to the first heat exchanger through the second extension pipeline and further coupled to the liquid storage tank through the second liquid cooling pipe, wherein the second heat exchanger is configured to: absorb (col. 5, l. 21) the heat from the liquid coolant flowing through the second heat exchanger; and release (col. 5, l. 46) the heat into an environment (fig. 1, environment surrounding 41; col. 5, l. 22, “air”) external to the second heat exchanger, a first connector (lower 52 at 44) coupled to (see fig. 1) the housing and to the liquid pump; a second connector (fig. 1, lower 33 at lower 52) coupled to the first extension pipeline, wherein in a connected condition (see fig. 1), the second connector is configured to couple to the first connector and cause the liquid coolant to flow into the first heat exchanger via the first extension pipeline, and wherein in a disconnected condition (when 35 is disconnected from 52), the first connector is configured to decouple from the second connector and prevent the liquid coolant from flowing (when decoupled, the fluid cannot pass to the first heat exchanger 32) into the first heat exchanger via the first extension pipeline and leaking from the liquid pump; and a heat dissipation fan (45) facing (see fig. 1; col. 5, ll. 44-45) the second heat exchanger and configured to generate cooling air (fig. 1, airflow arrows below 45s) from the environment for the second heat exchanger to accelerate airflow around the second heat exchanger, wherein the liquid pump is configured to: receive (see fig. 1) the liquid coolant from the liquid storage tank via the first liquid cooling pipe; and pressurize (col. 6, ll. 9-10) the liquid coolant to cause the liquid coolant to flow into the first heat exchanger, out of the first heat exchanger into the second heat exchanger, and out of the second heat exchanger into the liquid storage tank; and a heat dissipation fan (45) facing (see fig. 1; col. 5, ll. 44-45) the second heat exchanger and configured to generate cooling air (fig. 1, airflow arrows below 45s) below for the second heat exchanger to accelerate airflow around the second heat exchanger, and a printed circuit board (col. 5, l. 7, substrate), wherein the printed circuit board comprises a heat source (col. 5, l. 8, integrated circuits) that is in contact with the first heat exchanger (32). Koizumi fails to disclose comprising a first surface and a pipe, wherein the pipe comprises a pipe wall that is partially exposed through the first surface, and wherein the pipe wall is configured to: be in contact with a heat source; absorb heat from the heat source; and transfer the heat to the liquid coolant flowing through the first heat exchanger, first and second quick connectors, the second quick connector is configured to decouple from the first quick connector and prevent the liquid coolant from flowing into the first heat exchanger via the first extension pipeline, and the liquid storage tank, the liquid pump, the second heat exchanger, and the heat dissipation fan are disposed outside the vehicle; and an autonomous driving computing platform. Admitted prior art that it is well known in the art to have first and second quick connectors (since the applicant’s transverse of the rejection does not specifically address the examiner’s assertion of official notice, the transverse is not adequate and is taken as admitted prior art. MPEP 2144.03). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Koizumi with well-known first quick connector for the purpose of allowing the pipes to quickly connected and disconnected from each other. Tsay teaches a second quick connector (fig. 2-B, 3), wherein in a connected condition (see fig. 2-B), the second quick connector is configured to couple to the first quick connector (10) and cause the coolant (col. 1, ll. 23 and 37) to flow (col. 3, l. 3), and wherein in a disconnected condition (see fig. 2-A), the second quick connector is configured to decouple (see fig. 2=A and col. 2, l. 60) from the first quick connector and prevent the coolant from flowing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Koizumi with the second quick connector of Tsay for the purpose of providing “under normal condition, . . . to seal the gap between the inlet chamber 62 and the outlet chamber 63 . . . [and] when the matched male connector 10 is inserted into the outlet chamber 63, the slide valve 4 to be is moved backwards, causing . . . the slide valve 4 moved away from the gap between the inlet chamber 62 and the outlet chamber 63 permitting a gas to pass from the inlet chamber 62 . . . into the outlet chamber 63” (col. 2, l. 59 – co. 3, l. 5). Xie teaches a first heat exchanger (fig. 7, 112) disposed inside the vehicle (fig. 9, 102) and an autonomous driving computing platform (fig. 9, 10; ¶[0004])) and the liquid storage tank (21), the liquid pump (13), the second heat exchanger (22), and the heat dissipation fan (23) are disposed remote from the first heat exchanger, and an autonomous driving computing platform comprising a printed circuit board (154 and ¶[0088], central processing unit), wherein the printed circuit board comprises a heat source (¶[0088], central processing unit) that is in contact (¶[0088]) with the first heat exchanger (112). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Koizumi and Tsay with the heat dissipating apparatus of Xie for the purpose of having “the second heat exchange part exchanges heat with the outside to cool the heat source” (¶[0009]) to prevent the exhaust heat from affecting the housing containing the first heat exchanger and the heat source. Xie fails to disclose the liquid storage tank, the liquid pump, the second heat exchanger, and the heat dissipation fan are disposed outside the vehicle. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to rearrange the elements so that the liquid storage tank, the liquid pump, the second heat exchanger, and the heat dissipation fan are disposed outside the vehicle, so that the heat is release external to the vehicle so that the heat does not affect other components with the vehicle, since it has been held that a mere rearrangement of the essential working parts of a device which does not modify the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019 (CCPA 1950). Note that the structure of the preamble of “a vehicle” is defined by the body of the claim. No specific structure relating specifically to a vehicle per se has been claimed.
Claims 16-18 and 20, as best understood, are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koizumi (US 5,323,847), Hodges (US 2018/0062347), Tsay (US 5,401,000), Xie (CN 209879440) and Cheon (US 2004/0008483).
With respect to Claim 16, Koizumi further teaches the heat dissipation apparatus further comprises the liquid storage tank, the liquid pump, the heat dissipation fan, and the second heat exchanger are disposed inside (see fig. 1) the housing, and wherein the first heat exchanger is disposed outside (see fig. 1, outside by being on right side of 51; fig. 2, outside by being on far side of 51) the housing. Koizumi, Hodges, Tsay and Xie fail to disclose the first heat exchanger is independent of the housing. Cheon teaches the first heat exchanger (fig. 1, 11) is independent (see fig. 1) of the housing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Koizumi, Hodges, Tsay and Xie with the independent first heat exchanger of Cheon for the purpose of “provid[ing] a water cooling type cooling system for an electronic device, which can facilitate assembling and maintenance works by simplifying internal components of the electronic device by separately installing water cooling type components outside the electronic device, and can reduce an internal temperature, noise and vibration of the electronic device” (¶[0006], ll. 3-9).
With respect to Claims 17 and 18 (see 35 USC 112b rejections above), Koizumi, Tsay and Xie disclose the claimed invention except for the first heat exchanger comprises: a heat exchange plate comprising a second surface; and a first thermally conductive pipeline disposed inside the heat exchange plate and comprising: a first end that is a first liquid inlet of the first heat exchanger; and a second end that is a first liquid outlet of the first heat exchanger, wherein the first end and the second end are located on the second surface, and wherein the heat exchange plate is configured to: be in contact with the heat source; absorb the heat from the heat source; and transfer the heat to the liquid coolant in the first thermally conductive pipeline (claim 4). Hodges teaches the first heat exchanger (fig. 3C, 202,204) comprises: a heat exchange plate (202) comprising a second surface (fig. 2B,left side of 202); and a first thermally conductive (¶[0032], ll. 9-10) pipeline (204) disposed inside (see fig. 2C) the heat exchange plate and comprising: a first end (fig. 2B, 208) that is a first liquid inlet (¶[0032], l. 34) of the first heat exchanger; and a second end (210) that is a first liquid outlet (¶[0032], l. 35) of the first heat exchanger, wherein the first end and the second end are located on (see fig. 2B) the second surface, and wherein the heat exchange plate is configured to: be in contact with the heat source (130A,130B and ¶[0032], ll. 19-20); absorb (¶[0028], ll. 7-8) the heat from the heat source; and transfer the heat to the liquid coolant (150) in the first thermally conductive pipeline (claim 4) the heat exchange plate further comprises a first plate surface (213) of a planar structure (see fig. 2C), and wherein the first plate surface is configured to be in contact with the heat source (130A,130B and ¶[0032], ll. 19-20) (claim 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the first heat exchanger of Koizumi for that of Hodges for the purpose of providing “a flush or flat horizontal surface upon which to mount components over tubing 206” (¶[0032], ll. 18-20) for increased thermal management of the heat source.
With respect to Claim 20, Koizumi further teaches the second heat exchanger (41) comprises: a fin structure (col. 5, l. 41) formed by stacking a plurality of sheets (see fig. 1), comprising a gap (see fig. 1) between two adjacent sheets of the sheets; and a second thermally conductive pipeline (fig. 1, pipe within 41) configured to shuttle back and forth (see fig. 1) between the sheets and comprising: a third end (fig. 1, 41, near 52) that is a second liquid inlet (fig. 1, side of 41 connected to 52) of the second heat exchanger; and a fourth end (fig. 1, 41 near 42) that is a second liquid outlet of the second heat exchanger, wherein the fin structure is configured to: absorb the heat of the liquid coolant in the second thermally conductive pipeline; and release (col. 5, ll. 22-23) the heat into the environment.
Claim 19 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koizumi (US 5,323,847), Hodges (US 2018/0062347), Tsay (US 5,401,000), Xie (CN 209879440), and Karrer (US 7,272,015).
Koizumi, Hodges, Tsay, and Xie disclose the claimed invention except for the heat exchange plate further comprises a second plate surface located opposite to the first plate surface, and wherein the second plate surface comprises a plurality of heat sink fins disposed at intervals. Karrer teaches the heat exchange plate (fig. 4, 28b) further comprises a second plate surface (fig. 4, bottom of 28b) located opposite to the first plate surface (fig. 4, top of 28b), and wherein the second plate surface comprises a plurality of heat sink fins (fins of 28b) disposed at intervals (see fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Koizumi, Hodges, Tsay, and Xie with the fins of Karrer for the purpose of enlarging the surface area for increased release of the heat to the adjacent environment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 11,025,034 is the issued patent of US 2018/0062347.
.US 5,829,516, 6,802,366 6,853,55 and H239 disclose a heat exchanger having a surface and a pipe, wherein the pipe comprises a pipe wall that is partially exposed through the surface, and the pipe us configured to be contact with a heat source.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RJH 1/15/2026
/ROBERT J HOFFBERG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835