Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11, 13, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saunamaki (US 20110057606).
With respect to claims 1, 11, 13, 16 and 18 Saunamaki teaches a wireless charging station (100) comprising: a power transmitting antenna (120); a controller (103/105); a distance-to-user tool (see 105/106) of the controller to determine a distance (paragraph 31-40) between a user and the wireless charging station; and an output power control (see 105 controls power to transmission coil 120) of the controller to adjust an output power of the power transmitting antenna based on the determined distance (paragraph 033) between the user and the wireless charging station, wherein the output power control decreases the output power as the determined distance decreases and increases the output power as the determined distance increases, including decreasing the output power to a minimum setting (see power off or smallest step 1 paragraph 0033-34) when the determined distance is within a first range closest to the wireless charging station, increasing the output power to a medium setting (see level 2, 3 and 4 paragraph 0035-36) when the determined distance is within a second range larger than the first range, and increasing the output power to a maximum setting (power level 5) when the determined distance is larger than the second range.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saunamaki in view of Leabman (US 20170077995).
With respect to claim 3, 12 and 17 Saunamaki teaches a controller and provides data (paragraph 0052-58) to the distance-to-user tool to determine the distance between the user and the wireless charging station, however, does not teach a transceiver or network interface to communicate with a set of Internet of Things (IoT) devices. Leabman teaches a transceiver or network interface (see paragraph 0093) to communicate with a set of Internet of Things (IoT) devices (see paragraphs 0114-116). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Saunamaki to include the IoT (smart sensors) for the benefit of improving coverage and providing additional distance information to increase safety.
Claims 4, 7-10, 14-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saunamaki in view of Bell et al. (US 20170077764).
With respect to claim 4, 14 and 19 Saunamaki teaches adjusting the output power control however does not teach adjusts the output power of the power transmitting antenna based on a type of the user determined to be within a risk distance of the wireless charging station. Bell teaches adjusts the output power of the power transmitting antenna based on a type (see human, child) of the user determined to be within a risk distance (see paragraph 0111) of the wireless charging station. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify to reduce power accurately and improve safety and charging.
With respect to claim 7 Saunamaki teaches the power station however does not teach a server. Bell teaches the known use of a server (paragraph 0109) in communication with the controller via a network interface, wherein the distance-to- user tool is to communicate with an information collector and engine of the server (paragraph 308-310) to determine the distance between the user and the wireless charging station and the output power control to receives instructions from the server for adjusting the output power of the power transmitting antenna. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Saunamaki to include the known use of a server for central monitoring and coordination.
With respect to claim 8 Saunamaki teaches the know use of a server. Bell teaches the known use of a server comprises a risk distance repository listing (paragraph 140 models in server) recommended safe distances for different users (paragraph 0139) and associated output power levels. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Saunamaki to include the use of server for central coordination of safety models for each user.
With respect to claims 9, 15 and 20 Saunamaki teaches the charging station however does not teach the use of profiles. Bell teaches the server comprises user profiles (see configuration files and prestored data paragraph 0083) for the different users (paragraph 0139 see classification data). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Saunamaki to include server interface to increase the identification of a user and apply safety levels quickly.
With respect to claim 10 Saunamaki teaches the charging station however does not teach the server. Bell teaches the instructions from the server includes an instruction to increase (paragraph 0310-313) the output power of the power transmitting antenna. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Saunamaki to include the use of sever for instructions for central coordination of updating and instructing models across the system.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saunamaki in view of Sherman et al. (US 20200403453).
With respect to claims 4, 14 and 19 Saunamaki teaches distance and adjusting power however does not teach the risk distance. Sherman teaches the output power control adjusts the power output of the power transmitting antenna based on a type of the user (paragraph 0057 human, pet, bodies or animal) determined to be within a risk distance of the wireless charging station. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Saunamaki to reduce power accurately and improve safety and charging.
Claim 4-5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saunamaki in view of Drucker (US 20130172039).
With respect to claims 4-5 Saunamaki teaches the adjusting the output power control however does not teach adjusts the output power of the power transmitting antenna based on a type of the user determined to be within a risk distance of the wireless charging station. Drucker teaches adjusts the output power of the power transmitting antenna based on a type (see adult, child) of the user determined to be within a risk distance (see paragraph 0046) of the wireless charging station. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Saunamaki to reduce power accurately and improve safety and charging.
With respect to claim 5 Drucker teaches a first user category has a first risk distance (adult) and a second user (child) category has a second risk distance greater than the first risk distance, the second user category having a higher sensitivity to an electromagnetic field of the wireless charging station than the first user category (paragraph 0046). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Saunamaki to provide safe levels to different user categories.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saunamaki in view of Drucker (US 20130172039) in view of Gree (CN 112485779).
With respect to claim 6 Saunamaki as modified by Drucker teaches the categories of a child and adult, however, does not teach a third user category having an even higher sensitivity to the electromagnetic field of the wireless charging station than the second user category. Gree teaches (detailed description paragraphs 14-20) a third user category (pregnant woman / non pregnant) having an even higher sensitivity to the electromagnetic field of the wireless charging station than the second user category. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Saunamaki to provide a third category as seen in Gree for the benefit of minimizing power to high risk groups.
Conclusion
MICHAEL FIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/MICHAEL R. FIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836