DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
2. The Amendments filed November 5th, 2025 are noted. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification to overcome the objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 09/18/2025 are noted. Applicant’s amendment(s) to the Specification have overcome the objection(s) to the Title previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 09/18/2025, so the objection(s) to the Title has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are noted.
3. Claims 15-18 are newly-added; Claims 1-18 remain pending in the application.
4. Claims 1-18 have been fully considered in examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishimura (JP Pub No JP2020107654A) (of record). *see attached translation (of record) for [paragraph] citations*
Regarding claim 1, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026], comprising:
a first conductive unit (comprising 23a2) fig. 3 [0030] including a first conductive part (43a) fig. 3 [0032] having a first front surface (top of 43a) and a second conductive part (41a) fig. 3 [0031] having a second front surface (top of 41a), the second conductive part (41a) being separate from the first conductive part (43a) in a first (horizontal) direction parallel to the first (top of 43a) and second (top of 41a) front surfaces;
a first wire (54a) fig. 4 [0031-0033] connecting the first front surface (top of 43a) to the second front surface (top of 41a), the first wire (54a; see annotated fig. 3 below) extending (upward) away from the first front surface (top of 43a) and the second front surface (top of 41a) and being curved at a first peak point thereof (top of 54a in fig. 3);
a second conductive unit (comprising 23b3) fig. 3 [0030] located on a (right) side of the first conductive unit (comprising 23a2), the second conductive unit including a third conductive part (43b) fig. 3 [0032] having a third front surface (top of 43b), and a fourth conductive part (41b) fig. 3 [0032] having a fourth front surface (top of 41b), the fourth conductive part (41b) being separate from the third conductive part (43b) in the first (horizontal) direction;
a second wire (54b) fig. 4 [0031-0033] connecting the third front surface (top of 43b) to the fourth front surface (top of 41b), the second wire (54b; see annotated fig. 3 below) extending away from the third front surface (top of 43b) and the fourth front surface (top of 41a) and being curved at a second peak point thereof (top of 54b in fig. 3);
a housing (comprising 60, 61), including:
a case (60) fig. 3 [0026] forming a frame (comprising 60) to define a housing space (inside 60) to accommodate therein the first conductive unit (comprising 23a2) and the second conductive unit (comprising 23b3), and
lid (61) fig. 3 [0026] covering an opening (gap in 60) of the case (60);
a sealing material (80) fig. 3 [0027] sealing the housing space (inside 60) and having a sealing surface (top of 80) located above the first peak point (top of 54a) and the second peak point (top of 54b); and
a buffering member (comprising 72 with 56 with 73 with 62) fig. 4 [0026] integrally formed (formed/defined as a single unit integral to the package 10; further, Nishimura explicitly discloses that 72, 73 are “integrally-formed” with 62 [0026]) on an inner surface of the housing (60) and extending (comprising 56 extending horizontally) in the first (horizontal) direction in a plan view (fig. 4) of the power conversion device (10), the buffering member (comprising 72 with 56 with 73 with 62) having a bottom end (underside of upper portion of 73; see annotated fig. 3 below) that, in a side view (fig. 3) of the power conversion device (10), is located above the first peak point (top of 54a) and the second peak point (top of 54b) and under the sealing surface (top of 80).
[AltContent: oval][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (‘Bottom’ end of 73 )][AltContent: textbox (2nd wire(s) 54b )][AltContent: textbox (1st wire(s) 54a )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated figures. 3 and 4 of Nishimura
Regarding claim 2, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 1. Nishimura also teaches wherein the buffering member (comprising 72 with 56 with 73) fig. 3 [0026] is located between the first wire (54a) fig. 4 [0031-0033] and the second wire (54b) fig. 4 [0031-0033] in the plan view (see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 2. Nishimura also teaches wherein the buffering member (comprising 72 with 73) fig. 3 [0026] has a flat plate shape with a first buffering surface (vertically-extending left sidewall of 72) facing the first conductive unit (comprising 23a2 with 41a’s) fig. 3 [0030-0033] and a second buffering surface (vertically-extending right sidewall of 73) facing the second conductive unit (comprising 23b3 with 41b’s) fig. 3 [0030-0033].
Regarding claim 4, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 3. Nishimura also teaches wherein the bottom end (‘Bottom’ end /underside of 73) of the buffering member (comprising 72 with 56 with 73) fig. 3 [0026] faces (downward toward) the first peak point (top of 54a) of the first wire (54a) [0031-0033] in the side view (see annotated fig. 3 above).
Regarding claim 5, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 4. Nishimura also teaches wherein a width in the first (horizontal) direction of the bottom end (‘Bottom’ end /underside of 73) (see annotated fig. 3 above) of the buffering member (comprising 72 with 56 with 73) fig. 3 [0026] is at least 10% (at least 100% > 10%) of a distance between connection points of the first wire (width of a single 41a) to the first front surface (top of 43a) and the second front surface (top of 41a) (see annotated fig. 3 above) (because bottom portion of 73 is wider in the horizontal direction than a single 41a – a width is greater than 100% of a distance between connection points of a single wire 41a, and therefore, greater than at least 10% of said distance).
Regarding claim 6, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 3. Nishimura also teaches wherein the first buffering surface (vertically-extending left sidewall of 72) fig. 3 [0026] is perpendicular to (horizontally-extending) the first front surface (top of 43a) and the second front surface (top of 41a).
Regarding claim 7, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 3. Nishimura also teaches wherein the first buffering surface (comprising vertically-extending left sidewall of 72) fig. 3 [0026] includes (further comprises) a portion (upper-underside of 72 facing downward) inclined (relative to sidewalls of 72) to face (downward toward) the first front surface (top of 43a) and the second front surface (top of 41a).
Regarding claim 8, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 3. Nishimura also teaches wherein the first buffering surface (comprising vertically-extending left sidewall of 72) fig. 3 [0026] includes (further comprises) a portion with a curved surface (attached 56) fig. 3 [0026] recessed toward an inside of the buffering member (inner-underside of 72).
Regarding claim 9, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 3. Nishimura also teaches wherein the second buffering surface (comprising vertically-extending right sidewall of 73) fig. 3 [0026] includes (further comprises) a portion inclined (upper-underside of 73 facing downward) to face the third front surface (top of 43b) and the fourth front surface (top of 41b).
Regarding claim 10, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 3. Nishimura also teaches wherein the second buffering surface (comprising vertically-extending right sidewall of 73) fig. 3 [0026] includes (further comprises) a portion (attached 56) fig. 3 [0026] with a curved surface recessed toward an inside of the buffering member (inner-underside of 73).
Regarding claim 11, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 1. Nishimura also teaches wherein the first wire (54a) fig. 4 [0031-0033] is provided in plurality (see also annotated fig. 3 above), and each of the plurality of first wires (54a) connects (is connected to at least one of - and thereby both of) the first front surface (top of 43a) to the second front surface (top of 41a).
Regarding claim 12, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 1. Nishimura also teaches wherein the second wire (54b) fig. 4 [0031-0033] is provided in plurality (see also annotated fig. 3 above), and each of the plurality of second wires (54b) connects (is connected to at least one of - and thereby both of) the third front surface (top of 43b) to the fourth front surface (top of 41b).
Regarding claim 13, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 1. Nishimura also teaches wherein the buffering member (comprising 72 with 56 with 73) fig. 4 [0026] is provided on (supported by) a (bottom) surface of the lid (61) that faces the sealing surface (top of 80) fig. 3 [0027].
Regarding claim 14, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 1. Nishimura also teaches wherein the buffering member (comprising 72 with 56 with 73) fig. 4 [0026] is provided on (supported by) an inner wall of the case (60) fig. 3 [0026] and extends in the first (horizontal) direction.
Regarding claim 15, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 1. Nishimura also teaches wherein the second conductive unit (comprising 23b3) fig. 3 [0030] and the second wire (54b) fig. 4 [0031-0033] are disposed on (supported by connected components on) the side of the first conductive unit (comprising 23a2) fig. 3 [0030] and the first wire (54a) fig. 4 [0031-0033] in a second (vertical; at least partially above) direction perpendicular to the first (horizontal) direction.
Regarding claim 16, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 1. Nishimura also teaches wherein the buffering member (comprising 72 with 56 with 73 with 62) fig. 4 [0026] is (partially) formed of a thermoplastic resin [0036] (62-portion formed of thermoplastic resin [0036]).
Regarding claim 17, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 1. Nishimura also teaches wherein the buffering member (comprising 72 with 56 with 73) fig. 4 [0026] has a side surface (top side of 56) that faces (partially curves toward) each of side surfaces of the first (54a) fig. 4 [0031-0033] and the second (54b) fig. 4 [0031-0033] wires in the plan view (fig. 4) of the power conversion device (10) (56 upper surface shown in plan view of device).
Claims 1, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishimura (JP Pub No JP2020107654A) (of record). *see attached translation (of record) for [paragraph] citations*
Regarding claim 1, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026], comprising:
a first conductive unit (comprising 23a2) fig. 3 [0030] including a first conductive part (43a) fig. 3 [0032] having a first front surface (top of 43a) and a second conductive part (41a) fig. 3 [0031] having a second front surface (top of 41a), the second conductive part (41a) being separate from the first conductive part (43a) in a first (horizontal) direction parallel to the first (top of 43a) and second (top of 41a) front surfaces;
a first wire (54a) fig. 4 [0031-0033] connecting the first front surface (top of 43a) to the second front surface (top of 41a), the first wire (54a; see annotated fig. 3 below) extending (upward) away from the first front surface (top of 43a) and the second front surface (top of 41a) and being curved at a first peak point thereof (top of 54a in fig. 3); f
a second conductive unit (comprising 23b3) fig. 3 [0030] located on a (right) side of the first conductive unit (comprising 23a2), the second conductive unit including a third conductive part (43b) fig. 3 [0032] having a third front surface (top of 43b), and a fourth conductive part (41b) fig. 3 [0032] having a fourth front surface (top of 41b), the fourth conductive part (41b) being separate from the third conductive part (43b) in the first (horizontal) direction;
a second wire (54b) fig. 4 [0031-0033] connecting the third front surface (top of 43b) to the fourth front surface (top of 41b), the second wire (54b; see annotated fig. 3 below) extending away from the third front surface (top of 43b) and the fourth front surface (top of 41a) and being curved at a second peak point thereof (top of 54b in fig. 3);
a housing (comprising 60, 61), including:
a case (60) fig. 3 [0026] forming a frame (comprising 60) to define a housing space (inside 60) to accommodate therein the first conductive unit (comprising 23a2) and the second conductive unit (comprising 23b3), and
lid (61) fig. 3 [0026] covering an opening (gap in 60) of the case (60);
a sealing material (80) fig. 3 [0027] sealing the housing space (inside 60) and having a sealing surface (top of 80) located above the first peak point (top of 54a) and the second peak point (top of 54b); and
a buffering member (62) fig. 3 [0026] integrally formed (formed/defined as a single unit integral to the package 10) on (supported by) an inner surface of the housing (60) and extending (horizontally) in the first (horizontal) direction in (within) a plan view (fig. 4; see also fig. 3) of the power conversion device (10), the buffering member (62) having a bottom end (underside of 62; see annotated fig. 3 below) that, in a side view (fig. 3) of the power conversion device (10), is located above the first peak point (top of 54a) and the second peak point (top of 54b) and under the sealing surface (top of 80).
[AltContent: textbox (‘Bottom’ / bottommost end of 62 )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (2nd wire(s) 54b )][AltContent: textbox (1st wire(s) 54a )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated figures. 3 and 4 of Nishimura
Regarding claim 16, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 1. Nishimura also teaches wherein the buffering member (62) fig. 3 [0026] is formed (entirely) of a thermoplastic resin [0036].
Regarding claim 18, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 1. Nishimura also teaches wherein in the side view (fig. 3) of the power conversion device (10), a bottommost end of the buffering member (62) fig. 3 [0026] is located above the first peak point (top of 54a) and the second peak point (top of 54b) (see annotated fig. 3 above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to Applicant’s argument(s) of claim 1 and the term “integrally formed” that “… Nishimura at least fails to teach "a buffering member integrally formed on an inner surface of the housing and extending in the first direction in a plan view of the power conversion device," as required by amended claim 1” – it is noted that the instant application fails to define the term “integrally formed”. Therefore, as was applied in the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1 above, “integrally-formed” has been interpreted as “formed/defined as a single unit” relative to another object – for example, the buffering member (comprising 72 with 56 with 73 with 62) fig. 4 [0026] is integrally formed relative to the entire package 10. Further, the buffering member has been reinterpreted to include element 62, which is explicitly taught as “integrally formed” [0026 Nishimura] with respect to elements 72 and 73.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 16, and 18 have been considered but are rendered moot because the new ground of rejection relies upon a reinterpretation of the “buffering” member to consist of element 62 [0026, 0036] of Nishimura. It is emphasized that this “buffering” member 62 is entirely above wires 54a-b having first and second peak points, respectively, and is formed of a thermoplastic resin material [0036].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Remaining references made available on the PTO-892 form are considered relevant to the present disclosure because they all feature power conversion devices with conductive structures.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 01/14/2026
/LEX H MALSAWMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892