DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 03/17/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishimura (JP Pub No JP2020107654A) (of record; mailed 09/18/2025). *see attached translation (of record) for [paragraph] citations*
Regarding claim 1, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026], comprising:
a first conductive unit (comprising 23a2) fig. 3 [0030] (formed of conductive metal) [0030] including a first conductive part (43a) fig. 3 [0032] having a first front surface (top of 43a) and a second conductive part (41a) fig. 3 [0031] having a second front surface (top of 41a), the second conductive part (41a) being separate from the first conductive part (43a) in a first (horizontal) direction parallel to the first (top of 43a) and second (top of 41a) front surfaces;
a first wire (54a) fig. 4 [0031-0033] connecting the first front surface (top of 43a) to the second front surface (top of 41a), the first wire (54a; see annotated fig. 3 below) extending (upward) away from the first front surface (top of 43a) and the second front surface (top of 41a) and being curved at a first peak point thereof (top of 54a in fig. 3);
a second conductive unit (comprising 23b3) fig. 3 [0030] located on a (right) side of the first conductive unit (comprising 23a2), the second conductive unit including a third conductive part (43b) fig. 3 [0032] having a third front surface (top of 43b), and a fourth conductive part (41b) fig. 3 [0032] having a fourth front surface (top of 41b), the fourth conductive part (41b) being separate from the third conductive part (43b) in the first (horizontal) direction;
a second wire (54b) fig. 4 [0031-0033] connecting the third front surface (top of 43b) to the fourth front surface (top of 41b), the second wire (54b; see annotated fig. 3 below) extending away from the third front surface (top of 43b) and the fourth front surface (top of 41a) and being curved at a second peak point thereof (top of 54b in fig. 3);
a housing (comprising 60, 61) (acting to house enclosed conductive units 23), including:
a case (60) fig. 3 [0026] (60 encasing/holding units 23) forming a frame (comprising 60) to define a housing space (inside 60) to accommodate therein the first conductive unit (comprising 23a2) and the second conductive unit (comprising 23b3), and
lid (61) fig. 3 [0026] (acting as top of 60, 61 container) covering an opening (gap in 60) of the case (60);
a sealing material (80) fig. 3 [0027] sealing the housing space (inside 60) and having a sealing surface (top of 80) located above the first peak point (top of 54a) and the second peak point (top of 54b); and
a buffering member (comprising 72 with 56 with 73 with 62) fig. 4 [0026] (adjoined member acting as a physical buffer between opposing lateral sidewalls of 60 material) (formed/defined as a single unit integral to the package 10; further, Nishimura explicitly discloses that 72, 73 are “integrally-formed” with 62 [0026]) on an inner surface of the housing (60) and extending (comprising 56 extending horizontally) in the first (horizontal) direction in a plan view (fig. 4) of the power conversion device (10), the buffering member (comprising 72 with 56 with 73 with 62) having a bottom end (underside of upper portion of 73; see annotated fig. 3 below) that, in a side view (fig. 3) of the power conversion device (10), is located above the first peak point (top of 54a) and the second peak point (top of 54b) and under the sealing surface (top of 80),
wherein the buffering member (comprising 72 with 56 with 73 with 62) is integrally formed with the lid (61) (both buffering member (72 with 56 with 73 with 62) and the lid (61) are formed/defined as a single unit integral to the package 10) on (supported by) an inner surface thereof ([0026] of Nishimura explicitly discloses that “71, 72, 73 are attached to … the lid portion 61” – hence an inner sidewall surface of lid 61 of supports 72, hence they are “on” each other).
[AltContent: textbox (72 ‘on’ inner surface of lid 61; inner sidewall surface of 61 supports buffering member comprising 72)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (‘Bottom’ end of 73 )][AltContent: textbox (2nd wire(s) 54b )][AltContent: textbox (1st wire(s) 54a )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated figures. 3 and 4 of Nishimura
Regarding claim 2, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 1. Nishimura also teaches wherein the buffering member (comprising 72 with 56 with 73) fig. 3 [0026] is located between the first wire (54a) fig. 4 [0031-0033] and the second wire (54b) fig. 4 [0031-0033] in the plan view (see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 2. Nishimura also teaches wherein the buffering member (comprising 72 with 73) fig. 3 [0026] has a flat plate shape with a first buffering surface (vertically-extending left sidewall of 72) facing the first conductive unit (comprising 23a2 with 41a’s) fig. 3 [0030-0033] and a second buffering surface (vertically-extending right sidewall of 73) facing the second conductive unit (comprising 23b3 with 41b’s) fig. 3 [0030-0033].
Regarding claim 4, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 3. Nishimura also teaches wherein the bottom end (‘Bottom’ end /underside of 73) of the buffering member (comprising 72 with 56 with 73) fig. 3 [0026] faces (downward toward) the first peak point (top of 54a) of the first wire (54a) [0031-0033] in the side view (see annotated fig. 3 above).
Regarding claim 5, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 4. Nishimura also teaches wherein a width in the first (horizontal) direction of the bottom end (‘Bottom’ end /underside of 73) (see annotated fig. 3 above) of the buffering member (comprising 72 with 56 with 73) fig. 3 [0026] is at least 10% (at least 100% > 10%) of a distance between connection points of the first wire (width of a single 41a) to the first front surface (top of 43a) and the second front surface (top of 41a) (see annotated fig. 3 above) (because bottom portion of 73 is wider in the horizontal direction than a single 41a – a width is greater than 100% of a distance between connection points of a single wire 41a, and therefore, greater than at least 10% of said distance).
Regarding claim 6, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 3. Nishimura also teaches wherein the first buffering surface (vertically-extending left sidewall of 72) fig. 3 [0026] is perpendicular to (horizontally-extending) the first front surface (top of 43a) and the second front surface (top of 41a).
Regarding claim 7, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 3. Nishimura also teaches wherein the first buffering surface (comprising vertically-extending left sidewall of 72) fig. 3 [0026] includes (further comprises) a portion (upper-underside of 72 facing downward) inclined (relative to sidewalls of 72) to face (downward toward) the first front surface (top of 43a) and the second front surface (top of 41a).
Regarding claim 8, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 3. Nishimura also teaches wherein the first buffering surface (comprising vertically-extending left sidewall of 72) fig. 3 [0026] includes (further comprises) a portion with a curved surface (attached 56) fig. 3 [0026] recessed toward an inside of the buffering member (inner-underside of 72).
Regarding claim 9, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 3. Nishimura also teaches wherein the second buffering surface (comprising vertically-extending right sidewall of 73) fig. 3 [0026] includes (further comprises) a portion inclined (upper-underside of 73 facing downward) to face the third front surface (top of 43b) and the fourth front surface (top of 41b).
Regarding claim 10, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 3. Nishimura also teaches wherein the second buffering surface (comprising vertically-extending right sidewall of 73) fig. 3 [0026] includes (further comprises) a portion (attached 56) fig. 3 [0026] with a curved surface recessed toward an inside of the buffering member (inner-underside of 73).
Regarding claim 11, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 1. Nishimura also teaches wherein the first wire (54a) fig. 4 [0031-0033] is provided in plurality (see also annotated fig. 3 above), and each of the plurality of first wires (54a) connects (is connected to at least one of - and thereby both of) the first front surface (top of 43a) to the second front surface (top of 41a).
Regarding claim 12, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 1. Nishimura also teaches wherein the second wire (54b) fig. 4 [0031-0033] is provided in plurality (see also annotated fig. 3 above), and each of the plurality of second wires (54b) connects (is connected to at least one of - and thereby both of) the third front surface (top of 43b) to the fourth front surface (top of 41b).
Regarding claim 13, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 1. Nishimura also teaches wherein the buffering member (comprising 72 with 56 with 73) fig. 4 [0026] is provided on (supported by) a (bottom) surface of the lid (61) that faces the sealing surface (top of 80) fig. 3 [0027].
Regarding claim 14, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 1. Nishimura also teaches wherein the buffering member (comprising 72 with 56 with 73) fig. 4 [0026] is provided on (supported by) an inner wall of the case (60) fig. 3 [0026] and extends in the first (horizontal) direction.
Regarding claim 15, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 1. Nishimura also teaches wherein the second conductive unit (comprising 23b3) fig. 3 [0030] and the second wire (54b) fig. 4 [0031-0033] are disposed on (supported by connected components on) the side of the first conductive unit (comprising 23a2) fig. 3 [0030] and the first wire (54a) fig. 4 [0031-0033] in a second (vertical; at least partially above) direction perpendicular to the first (horizontal) direction.
Regarding claim 16, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 1. Nishimura also teaches wherein the buffering member (comprising 72 with 56 with 73 with 62) fig. 4 [0026] is (partially) formed of a thermoplastic resin [0036] (62-portion formed of thermoplastic resin [0036]).
Regarding claim 17, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 1. Nishimura also teaches wherein the buffering member (comprising 72 with 56 with 73) fig. 4 [0026] has a side surface (top side of 56) that faces (partially curves toward) each of side surfaces of the first (54a) fig. 4 [0031-0033] and the second (54b) fig. 4 [0031-0033] wires in the plan view (fig. 4) of the power conversion device (10) (56 upper surface shown in plan view of device).
Claims 1, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishimura (JP Pub No JP2020107654A) (of record; mailed 09/18/2025). *see attached translation (of record) for [paragraph] citations*
Regarding claim 1, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026], comprising:
a first conductive unit (comprising 23a2) fig. 3 [0030] (formed of conductive metal) [0030] including a first conductive part (43a) fig. 3 [0032] having a first front surface (top of 43a) and a second conductive part (41a) fig. 3 [0031] having a second front surface (top of 41a), the second conductive part (41a) being separate from the first conductive part (43a) in a first (horizontal) direction parallel to the first (top of 43a) and second (top of 41a) front surfaces;
a first wire (54a) fig. 4 [0031-0033] connecting the first front surface (top of 43a) to the second front surface (top of 41a), the first wire (54a; see annotated fig. 3 below) extending (upward) away from the first front surface (top of 43a) and the second front surface (top of 41a) and being curved at a first peak point thereof (top of 54a in fig. 3);
a second conductive unit (comprising 23b3) fig. 3 [0030] located on a (right) side of the first conductive unit (comprising 23a2), the second conductive unit including a third conductive part (43b) fig. 3 [0032] having a third front surface (top of 43b), and a fourth conductive part (41b) fig. 3 [0032] having a fourth front surface (top of 41b), the fourth conductive part (41b) being separate from the third conductive part (43b) in the first (horizontal) direction;
a second wire (54b) fig. 4 [0031-0033] connecting the third front surface (top of 43b) to the fourth front surface (top of 41b), the second wire (54b; see annotated fig. 3 below) extending away from the third front surface (top of 43b) and the fourth front surface (top of 41a) and being curved at a second peak point thereof (top of 54b in fig. 3);
a housing (comprising 60, 61) (acting to house enclosed conductive units 23), including:
a case (60) fig. 3 [0026] (60 encasing/holding units 23) forming a frame (comprising 60) to define a housing space (inside 60) to accommodate therein the first conductive unit (comprising 23a2) and the second conductive unit (comprising 23b3), and
lid (61) fig. 3 [0026] (acting as top of 60, 61 container) covering an opening (gap in 60) of the case (60);
a sealing material (80) fig. 3 [0027] sealing the housing space (inside 60) and having a sealing surface (top of 80) located above the first peak point (top of 54a) and the second peak point (top of 54b); and
a buffering member (62) fig. 3 [0026] (62 acting as a physical buffer between opposing lateral sidewalls of 60 material) integrally formed (formed/defined as a single unit integral to the package 10) on (supported by) an inner surface of the housing (60) and extending (horizontally) in the first (horizontal) direction in (within) a plan view (fig. 4; see also fig. 3) of the power conversion device (10), the buffering member (62) having a bottom end (underside of 62; see annotated fig. 3 below) that, in a side view (fig. 3) of the power conversion device (10), is located above the first peak point (top of 54a) and the second peak point (top of 54b) and under the sealing surface (top of 80),
wherein the buffering member (62) is integrally formed with the lid (61) (both buffering member (62) and the lid (61) are formed/defined as a single unit integral to the package 10) on (supported by) an inner surface thereof (inner surface of lid 61 being bottom of lid 61 facing inner region of package 10) (inner bottom surface of lid 61 supports 72 which supports buffering member 62, hence, 62 is indirectly ‘on’ as in supported by a bottom surface of lid 61).
[AltContent: textbox (‘Bottom’ / bottommost end of 62 )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (2nd wire(s) 54b )][AltContent: textbox (1st wire(s) 54a )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated figures. 3 and 4 of Nishimura
Regarding claim 16, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 1. Nishimura also teaches wherein the buffering member (62) fig. 3 [0026] is formed (entirely) of a thermoplastic resin [0036].
Regarding claim 18, Nishimura teaches a power conversion device (10) fig. 3 [0002, 0026] of claim 1. Nishimura also teaches wherein in the side view (fig. 3) of the power conversion device (10), a bottommost end of the buffering member (62) fig. 3 [0026] is located above the first peak point (top of 54a) and the second peak point (top of 54b) (see annotated fig. 3 above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to Applicant’s argument(s) of claim 1 and the term “integrally formed” that “… However, as is clear from an annotated Fig. 3 of Nishimura below, the "72 with 56 with 73 with 62" of Nishimura (the alleged "buffering member"; see the blue and red portions) neither is integrally formed with the lid 61 (see the green portion) on an inner surface thereof, nor is integrally formed with an inner wall of the case 60 (see the yellow portions). Thus, Nishimura does not reach that "the buffering member is integrally formed with the lid on an inner surface thereof or an inner wall of the case," as required by amended claim 1” – and with regards to the second rejection of claim 1 that “the wiring holding portion 62 (the alleged "buffering member") clearly is not integrally formed with the lid 61 on an inner surface thereof. Nor is it integrally formed with an inner wall of the case 60. Thus, Nishimura does not reach that "the buffering member is integrally formed with the lid on an inner surface thereof or an inner wall of the case," as required by amended claim 1”- it is noted, as was also stated in the Final Rejection mailed 01/16/2026, “The instant application fails to define the term “integrally formed”. Therefore, as was applied in the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1 above, “integrally-formed” has been interpreted as “formed/defined as a single unit” relative to another object – for example, the buffering member (comprising 62) fig. 4 [0026] is integrally formed with relative to the entire package 10.”
Neither the instant application’s Specification nor the Remarks filed 04/09/2026 provide any definition of the term “integrally formed” which prevent this interpretation. Further, Applicant’s arguments filed 04/09/2026 have not specifically addressed this broad, but reasonable, interpretation of the term “integrally formed”, which is supported by, for example, the Merriam-Webster Dictionary Definition of the term “integral”, reproduced below:
“Integral: formed as a unit with another part”
That is, all component-parts of the configuration shown in fig. 3 of Nishimura are assumed to be “integrally formed” with each other to define a single “semiconductor device 10” unit [see fig. 3, 0026 Nishimura]. Therefore, more specifically, all parts of the mapped “buffering member” (72 with 56 with 73 with 62) in the interpretation set forth in the first 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, and all parts of the mapped “buffering member” (62) in the interpretation set forth in the second 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, are integrally formed with all parts of the mapped lid (61) and case (62) in so far that they are ‘all parts of a semiconductor device unit 10’, as shown in fig. 3 of Nishimura. Again, neither the instant application’s Specification nor the Remarks filed 04/09/2026 provide any definition or explanation of the term “integrally formed” which prevent, or counter, this interpretation of “integrally formed”, previously set forth in the Final Rejection mailed 01/16/2026.
Seeing as the instant application fails to support any particular definition of the term “integrally formed”, different from what one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude from the standard, dictionary definition of “integral/ integrally formed” set forth above, it is recommended that independent claim 1 be amended to distinguish over Nishimura (JP Pub No JP2020107654A) (of record) with a more specific structural limitation that does not recite the term “integrally formed” – as Examiner’s interpretation of “integrally formed” broadly applied to all elements of semiconductor device 10 in fig. 3 of Nishimura. For example, Applicant could specify “direct contact” between components clearly not in direct, physical contact in fig. 3 of Nishimura rather than broad terminology like “integrally formed” and “on”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Remaining references made available on the PTO-892 form (of record) are considered relevant to the present disclosure because they all feature power conversion devices with conductive structures.
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 05/22/2026