DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 5-15 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. Claims 4, 16-20 are Cancelled.
This action is made FINAL in response to the “amendment” and “remarks” filed 1/20/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 11/18/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. See annotated form 1449.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5: Dependency was not updated to reflect cancellation of Claim 4. Amend to correct dependency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US20220029182) in view of Park (US20210347265) further in view of Folick (US20190165394).
Claim 1:
Li explicitly teaches:
A method of managing thermal loads in a fuel cell electric vehicle, the method comprising:
(Li) – “A multi-environment integrative thermal management method for a fuel cell vehicle is provided. The method can ensure the accuracy and the stability of the control for a temperature of a fuel cell system of the fuel cell vehicle in a complicated and changeable environment, decrease the energy consumption of the entire vehicle, and increase the economical efficiency of the entire vehicle.” (Abstract)
measuring a coolant temperature at an outlet of a fuel cell radiator;
(Li) – “The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160, which is substantially equal to the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system at the mixing point 142, can be regulated according to the equations (3) and (4).” (Para 0053)
calculating, [by a microprocessor onboard the fuel cell electric vehicle], a fuel cell coolant flow value;
(Li) – “The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be calculated according to the equations (5) and (6). In the equations (5) and (6), Q.sub.v denotes a volume flow rate of the cooling liquid input to the first valve 130 from the first pump 120. ρ denotes a density of the cooling liquid. D denotes a displacement of the first pump 120.” (Para 0055)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection. This notation will be used throughout the rejection unless otherwise noted. Li does not describe the hardware used for the method.
calculating, [by the microprocessor], a fuel cell heat generation value;
(Li) – “A heat generation power of the fuel cell can be calculated according to equation (9)” (Para 0081)
“When the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 is increased to the level allowing the fuel cell system 110 to be activated by the heat generated by itself, i.e., when the quantity of heat generated by the fuel cell system 110 is larger than the quantity of heat dissipated to the external environment from the fuel cell system 110, the heat starts to accumulate in the fuel cell system 110. When the temperature of the cooling liquid in the minor circulating system or the current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc is equal to or higher than the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2, the major circulating system starts to work, and the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system is gradually increased.” (Para 0089)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
calculating, [by the microprocessor], a first error value based on a difference between the measured coolant temperature at the outlet of the fuel cell radiator and a fuel cell radiator outlet coolant temperature target value;
(Li) – “Under the initial feedforward control by controlling the control variable, the fuel cell temperature of the fuel cell system 110 can be regulated to be approximate to the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc, i.e., an actual value, can be detected in real time. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc can be compared with the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2 to acquire the difference therebetween. Through the control algorithm in the feedback control on the basis of the temperature difference, the compensation amount can be obtained. The compensation amount can be directly a compensating value of the control variable or can be a temperature value, from which a compensating value of the control variable can be obtained. That is, the compensation can be made in the feedforward control for the control variable on the basis of the feedback control, to allow the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 to reach the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2. Therefore, by using the multi-environment integrative thermal management method, the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 can be maintained in a suitable range around the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2, ensuring the stability and the accuracy of the temperature control.” (Para 0045)
“The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160, which is substantially equal to the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system at the mixing point 142, can be regulated according to the equations (3) and (4).” (Para 0053)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, difference corresponds with error.
calculating, [by the microprocessor], a feedback portion of a fuel cell radiator fan speed command using the coolant temperature at the outlet of the fuel cell radiator [and the first error value];
(Li) – “obtaining a current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc of the fuel cell system, and performing a feedback control of the fuel cell temperature according to a difference between the current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc and a target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2, to acquire a compensation amount” (Para 0014)
“Any one or a combination of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan can be adopted as the control variable. The feedforward control can be based on one, two, or all of the three control variables. The working conditions of the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel cell thermal management sub-system can be acquired in real time. The multi-environment integrative thermal management method can be performed on the basis of controlling the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel battery heat management sub-system. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc can be detected in real time and compared with the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2 to acquire the difference therebetween. Through the control algorithm in the feedback control on the basis of the temperature difference, the compensation amount can be obtained. The compensation can be made in the feedforward control for the control variable on the basis of the feedback control, to allow the temperature of the fuel cell system to reach the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2.” (Para 0017)
“The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160, which is substantially equal to the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system at the mixing point 142, can be regulated according to the equations (3) and (4).” (Para 0053)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
calculating, [by the microprocessor], a feedforward portion of the fuel cell radiator fan speed command using an ambient temperature, the fuel cell coolant flow value, and the fuel cell heat generation value;
(Li) – “performing a feedforward control of a fuel cell temperature of the fuel cell system by controlling the control variable” (Para 0013)
“Any one or a combination of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan can be adopted as the control variable. The feedforward control can be based on one, two, or all of the three control variables. The working conditions of the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel cell thermal management sub-system can be acquired in real time. The multi-environment integrative thermal management method can be performed on the basis of controlling the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel battery heat management sub-system. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc can be detected in real time and compared with the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2 to acquire the difference therebetween. Through the control algorithm in the feedback control on the basis of the temperature difference, the compensation amount can be obtained. The compensation can be made in the feedforward control for the control variable on the basis of the feedback control, to allow the temperature of the fuel cell system to reach the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2.” (Para 0017)
“A heat generation power of the fuel cell can be calculated according to equation (9)” (Para 0081)
“When the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 is increased to the level allowing the fuel cell system 110 to be activated by the heat generated by itself, i.e., when the quantity of heat generated by the fuel cell system 110 is larger than the quantity of heat dissipated to the external environment from the fuel cell system 110, the heat starts to accumulate in the fuel cell system 110. When the temperature of the cooling liquid in the minor circulating system or the current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc is equal to or higher than the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2, the major circulating system starts to work, and the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system is gradually increased.” (Para 0089)
“In the multi-environment integrative thermal management method for the fuel cell vehicle according to the present application, when the fuel cell vehicle is started, the environment temperature condition of the fuel cell vehicle can be acquired by detecting the current environment temperature T and comparing the current environment temperature T with the environment temperature threshold T.sub.1, so as to allow the fuel cell vehicle to enter the corresponding control mode.” (Para 0016)
“The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be calculated according to the equations (5) and (6). In the equations (5) and (6), Q.sub.v denotes a volume flow rate of the cooling liquid input to the first valve 130 from the first pump 120. ρ denotes a density of the cooling liquid. D denotes a displacement of the first pump 120.” (Para 0055)
“The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be regulated by controlling the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump of the first pump 12. The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160 can be regulated by controlling the on-off state u.sub.fan of the fan of the first radiator 160 and the mass flow rate W.sub.w. The temperature T.sub.w,m of the cooling liquid at the cooling liquid inlet 111 of the fuel cell system 110 can be regulated by controlling the opening degree α of the first valve 130, the mass flow rate W.sub.w, and the temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160. Thus, T.sub.w,m can be regulated by controlling the control variable selected from the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, the fan on-off state u.sub.fan, and any combination thereof. It should be noted that if any one of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan is not selected as the control variable, this factor is set to a fixed value in the feedforward control.” (Para 0057)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
calculating, [by the microprocessor], the fuel cell radiator fan speed command using the feedforward portion and the feedback portion; and
(Li) – “performing a feedforward control of a fuel cell temperature of the fuel cell system by controlling the control variable” (Para 0013)
“Any one or a combination of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan can be adopted as the control variable. The feedforward control can be based on one, two, or all of the three control variables. The working conditions of the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel cell thermal management sub-system can be acquired in real time. The multi-environment integrative thermal management method can be performed on the basis of controlling the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel battery heat management sub-system. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc can be detected in real time and compared with the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2 to acquire the difference therebetween. Through the control algorithm in the feedback control on the basis of the temperature difference, the compensation amount can be obtained. The compensation can be made in the feedforward control for the control variable on the basis of the feedback control, to allow the temperature of the fuel cell system to reach the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2.” (Para 0017)
“A heat generation power of the fuel cell can be calculated according to equation (9)” (Para 0081)
“When the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 is increased to the level allowing the fuel cell system 110 to be activated by the heat generated by itself, i.e., when the quantity of heat generated by the fuel cell system 110 is larger than the quantity of heat dissipated to the external environment from the fuel cell system 110, the heat starts to accumulate in the fuel cell system 110. When the temperature of the cooling liquid in the minor circulating system or the current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc is equal to or higher than the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2, the major circulating system starts to work, and the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system is gradually increased.” (Para 0089)
“In the multi-environment integrative thermal management method for the fuel cell vehicle according to the present application, when the fuel cell vehicle is started, the environment temperature condition of the fuel cell vehicle can be acquired by detecting the current environment temperature T and comparing the current environment temperature T with the environment temperature threshold T.sub.1, so as to allow the fuel cell vehicle to enter the corresponding control mode.” (Para 0016)
“The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be calculated according to the equations (5) and (6). In the equations (5) and (6), Q.sub.v denotes a volume flow rate of the cooling liquid input to the first valve 130 from the first pump 120. ρ denotes a density of the cooling liquid. D denotes a displacement of the first pump 120.” (Para 0055)
“The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be regulated by controlling the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump of the first pump 12. The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160 can be regulated by controlling the on-off state u.sub.fan of the fan of the first radiator 160 and the mass flow rate W.sub.w. The temperature T.sub.w,m of the cooling liquid at the cooling liquid inlet 111 of the fuel cell system 110 can be regulated by controlling the opening degree α of the first valve 130, the mass flow rate W.sub.w, and the temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160. Thus, T.sub.w,m can be regulated by controlling the control variable selected from the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, the fan on-off state u.sub.fan, and any combination thereof. It should be noted that if any one of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan is not selected as the control variable, this factor is set to a fixed value in the feedforward control.” (Para 0057)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
controlling a fuel cell radiator fan speed using the fuel cell radiator fan speed command.
(Li) – “performing a feedforward control of a fuel cell temperature of the fuel cell system by controlling the control variable” (Para 0013)
“The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160 can be regulated by controlling the on-off state u.sub.fan of the fan of the first radiator 160 and the mass flow rate W.sub.w… Thus, T.sub.w,m can be regulated by controlling the control variable selected from the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, the fan on-off state u.sub.fan, and any combination thereof.” (Para 0057)
Li does not explicitly teach:
by a microprocessor onboard the fuel cell electric vehicle…by the microprocessor… by the microprocessor… and the first error value …by the microprocessor…by the microprocessor…by the microprocessor
Park, in the same field of endeavor of fuel cell vehicles, teaches:
by a microprocessor onboard the fuel cell electric vehicle…by the microprocessor…by the microprocessor…by the microprocessor…by the microprocessor
(Park) – “Further, the control logic of the present disclosure may be embodied as non-transitory computer readable media on a computer readable medium containing executable program instructions executed by a processor, controller or the like.” (Para 0055)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the thermal management method of Li with the control system of Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order “to obtain an interior heating effect by using thermal energy converted by the brake resistor and the heater as heat source for interior heating without discharging the thermal energy to the outside” (Park Abstract)
Park does not explicitly teach:
and the first error value
Folick, in the same field of endeavor of fuel cell vehicles, teaches:
and the first error value
(Folick) – “The temperature difference determined in block 1208 may correspond to a temperature error. Stated differently, the temperature difference corresponds to an error because it is the difference between a desired temperature at the location and the actual temperature at the location. In that regard and in block 1214, the sensitivity may be applied to the temperature difference in order to determine an error signal. The error signal may correspond to, or indicate, an error in the actuator position or an error in the parameter used to calculate the actuator position that caused the temperature difference.” (Para 0172)
“In block 1216, the ECU may pass the error signal through a proportional-integral-derivative (PID, or PI) controller to generate a feedback control signal. The PID controller may analyze past and present values of the error signal and generate the feedback control signal based on present error values, past error values, and potential future errors of the error signal.” (Para 0173)
“For example, the actuator may include the fan such that the control signal corresponds to a fan speed of the fan or a power signal for powering the fan.” (Para 0201)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the thermal management method of Li with the system for heating or cooling a fuel cell of Folick. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “there is a need in the art for systems and methods for accurately controlling a temperature of a fuel cell stack use in a vehicle.” (Folick Para 0005)
Claim 2:
Li in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Li further teaches:
wherein the fuel cell coolant flow value is calculated using a pump speed, a first valve position, a second valve position, and a coolant temperature at an outlet of a fuel cell system.
(Li) – “The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be calculated according to the equations (5) and (6). In the equations (5) and (6), Q.sub.v denotes a volume flow rate of the cooling liquid input to the first valve 130 from the first pump 120. ρ denotes a density of the cooling liquid. D denotes a displacement of the first pump 120.” (Para 0055)
“The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be regulated by controlling the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump of the first pump 12. The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160 can be regulated by controlling the on-off state u.sub.fan of the fan of the first radiator 160 and the mass flow rate W.sub.w. The temperature T.sub.w,m of the cooling liquid at the cooling liquid inlet 111 of the fuel cell system 110 can be regulated by controlling the opening degree α of the first valve 130, the mass flow rate W.sub.w, and the temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160. Thus, T.sub.w,m can be regulated by controlling the control variable selected from the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, the fan on-off state u.sub.fan, and any combination thereof. It should be noted that if any one of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan is not selected as the control variable, this factor is set to a fixed value in the feedforward control.” (Para 0057)
“The cooling liquid inlet 111 is in fluid communication with an output end of the first radiator 160. An input end of the first radiator 160 is in fluid communication with a first end of the second valve 150. A second end of the second valve 150 is in fluid communication with a third end of the first valve 130. The first heater 140, the first valve 130, the first pump 120, and the fuel cell system 110 collectively form a minor circulating system for the cooling liquid circulation. The first radiator 160, the second valve 150, the first valve 130, the first pump 120, and the fuel cell system 110 collectively form a major circulating system for the cooling liquid circulation. The cooling liquid can flow through the first radiator 160 from the input end to the output end. The first radiator 160 can dissipate heat carried by the cooling liquid through a fan.” (Para 0026)
Claim 3:
Li in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Li further teaches:
wherein the fuel cell heat generation value is calculated using the fuel cell coolant flow value, a coolant temperature at an inlet of a fuel cell system, and a coolant temperature at an outlet of the fuel cell system.
(Li) – “A heat generation power of the fuel cell can be calculated according to equation (9)” (Para 0081)
“When the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 is increased to the level allowing the fuel cell system 110 to be activated by the heat generated by itself, i.e., when the quantity of heat generated by the fuel cell system 110 is larger than the quantity of heat dissipated to the external environment from the fuel cell system 110, the heat starts to accumulate in the fuel cell system 110. When the temperature of the cooling liquid in the minor circulating system or the current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc is equal to or higher than the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2, the major circulating system starts to work, and the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system is gradually increased.” (Para 0089)
“The integrative thermal management system 100 includes a fuel cell thermal management sub-system 10, a power battery thermal management sub-system 20, a cabin air heating sub-system 30, and a heat exchanging sub-system 40. The fuel cell thermal management sub-system 10 includes a fuel cell system 110, a first pump 120, a first valve 130, a first heater 140, a second valve 150, a first radiator 160, and a first tank 170…The fuel cell system 110 has a cooling liquid inlet 111 and a cooling liquid outlet 112. The cooling liquid inlet 111 is in fluid communication with an output end of the first heater 140. An input end of the first heater 140 is in fluid communication with a first end of the first valve 130. The cooling liquid can flow through the first heater 140 from the input end to the output end and can be heated in the first heater 140 by a heating element such as an electric resistance wire. A second end of the first valve 130 is in fluid communication with an output end of the first pump 120. An input end of the first pump 120 is in fluid communication with the cooling liquid outlet 112.” (Para 0025)
“The isothermal bulk modulus and the isobaric thermal expansion coefficient are the physical properties of the cooling liquid ρ, p, h respectively denote the density, the pressure, and the enthalpy of the cooling liquid in a cooling liquid channel of the fuel cell in the fuel cell system 110. T denotes the temperature of the cooling liquid in the cooling liquid channel, i.e., the temperature of the fuel cell system 110. V denotes a volume of the cooling liquid channel c.sub.p denotes a heat capacity of the cooling liquid P.sub.heat,fc denotes a quantity of heat generated by the fuel cell, which is calculated according to equation (9). Σdm.sub.i denotes a sum of the mass flow rate at the cooling liquid inlet 111 and the mass flow rate at the cooling liquid outlet 112. Σdmh.sub.i denotes a sum of the enthalpy at the cooling liquid inlet 111 and the enthalpy at the cooling liquid outlet 112.” (Para 0061)
Claim 4: Canceled
Claim 5:
Li in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 4 teach those respective limitations. Li further teaches:
further comprising performing a proportional-integral- derivative (PID) control action using the first error value to determine a first output variable.
(Li) – “The fuel cell temperature can be accurately regulated via the feedback control according to the difference between the current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc and the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2. The control algorithm of the feedback control can be the PID control algorithm, the robust predictive control algorithm, the H.sub.∞ algorithm, or the like.” (Para 0069)
“Under the initial feedforward control by controlling the control variable, the fuel cell temperature of the fuel cell system 110 can be regulated to be approximate to the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc, i.e., an actual value, can be detected in real time. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc can be compared with the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2 to acquire the difference therebetween. Through the control algorithm in the feedback control on the basis of the temperature difference, the compensation amount can be obtained. The compensation amount can be directly a compensating value of the control variable or can be a temperature value, from which a compensating value of the control variable can be obtained. That is, the compensation can be made in the feedforward control for the control variable on the basis of the feedback control, to allow the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 to reach the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2. Therefore, by using the multi-environment integrative thermal management method, the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 can be maintained in a suitable range around the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2, ensuring the stability and the accuracy of the temperature control.” (Para 0045)
“The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160, which is substantially equal to the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system at the mixing point 142, can be regulated according to the equations (3) and (4).” (Para 0053)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, difference corresponds with error.
Claim 6:
Li in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Li further teaches:
further comprising calculating, [by the microprocessor], a fuel cell radiator temperature differential by calculating a difference between a fuel cell radiator inlet coolant temperature setpoint and the ambient temperature.
(Li) – “In the multi-environment integrative thermal management method for the fuel cell vehicle according to the present application, when the fuel cell vehicle is started, the environment temperature condition of the fuel cell vehicle can be acquired by detecting the current environment temperature T and comparing the current environment temperature T with the environment temperature threshold T.sub.1, so as to allow the fuel cell vehicle to enter the corresponding control mode.” (Para 0016)
“In the equations (3) and (4), T.sub.w,rad,in denotes a temperature of the cooling liquid at the input end of the first radiator 160. ΔT denotes a temperature decrease caused by the fan of the first radiator 160. m.sub.rad denotes a mass of the cooling liquid in the first radiator 160. k.sub.rad denotes a coefficient of the heat dissipation of the first radiator 160. T.sub.atm denotes an environment temperature. h.sub.rad denotes the time period required to allow the cooling liquid to flow through the first radiator 160.” (Para 0054)
Li does not explicitly teach:
by the microprocessor
Park, in the same field of endeavor of fuel cell vehicles, teaches:
by the microprocessor
(Park) – “Further, the control logic of the present disclosure may be embodied as non-transitory computer readable media on a computer readable medium containing executable program instructions executed by a processor, controller or the like.” (Para 0055)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the thermal management method of Li with the control system of Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order “to obtain an interior heating effect by using thermal energy converted by the brake resistor and the heater as heat source for interior heating without discharging the thermal energy to the outside” (Park Abstract)
Claim 7:
Li in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 6 teach those respective limitations. Li further teaches:
further comprising calculating, [by the microprocessor], a fuel cell air flow value using the fuel cell radiator temperature differential, the fuel cell coolant flow value, and the fuel cell heat generation value.
(Li) – “performing a feedforward control of a fuel cell temperature of the fuel cell system by controlling the control variable” (Para 0013)
“Any one or a combination of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan can be adopted as the control variable. The feedforward control can be based on one, two, or all of the three control variables. The working conditions of the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel cell thermal management sub-system can be acquired in real time. The multi-environment integrative thermal management method can be performed on the basis of controlling the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel battery heat management sub-system. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc can be detected in real time and compared with the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2 to acquire the difference therebetween. Through the control algorithm in the feedback control on the basis of the temperature difference, the compensation amount can be obtained. The compensation can be made in the feedforward control for the control variable on the basis of the feedback control, to allow the temperature of the fuel cell system to reach the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2.” (Para 0017)
“A heat generation power of the fuel cell can be calculated according to equation (9)” (Para 0081)
“When the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 is increased to the level allowing the fuel cell system 110 to be activated by the heat generated by itself, i.e., when the quantity of heat generated by the fuel cell system 110 is larger than the quantity of heat dissipated to the external environment from the fuel cell system 110, the heat starts to accumulate in the fuel cell system 110. When the temperature of the cooling liquid in the minor circulating system or the current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc is equal to or higher than the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2, the major circulating system starts to work, and the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system is gradually increased.” (Para 0089)
“In the multi-environment integrative thermal management method for the fuel cell vehicle according to the present application, when the fuel cell vehicle is started, the environment temperature condition of the fuel cell vehicle can be acquired by detecting the current environment temperature T and comparing the current environment temperature T with the environment temperature threshold T.sub.1, so as to allow the fuel cell vehicle to enter the corresponding control mode.” (Para 0016)
“The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be calculated according to the equations (5) and (6). In the equations (5) and (6), Q.sub.v denotes a volume flow rate of the cooling liquid input to the first valve 130 from the first pump 120. ρ denotes a density of the cooling liquid. D denotes a displacement of the first pump 120.” (Para 0055)
“The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be regulated by controlling the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump of the first pump 12. The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160 can be regulated by controlling the on-off state u.sub.fan of the fan of the first radiator 160 and the mass flow rate W.sub.w. The temperature T.sub.w,m of the cooling liquid at the cooling liquid inlet 111 of the fuel cell system 110 can be regulated by controlling the opening degree α of the first valve 130, the mass flow rate W.sub.w, and the temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160. Thus, T.sub.w,m can be regulated by controlling the control variable selected from the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, the fan on-off state u.sub.fan, and any combination thereof. It should be noted that if any one of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan is not selected as the control variable, this factor is set to a fixed value in the feedforward control.” (Para 0057)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, fuel cell air flow value may correspond with any value related to the flow of air. This includes the fan on-off state.
Li does not explicitly teach:
by the microprocessor
Park, in the same field of endeavor of fuel cell vehicles, teaches:
by the microprocessor
(Park) – “Further, the control logic of the present disclosure may be embodied as non-transitory computer readable media on a computer readable medium containing executable program instructions executed by a processor, controller or the like.” (Para 0055)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the thermal management method of Li with the control system of Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order “to obtain an interior heating effect by using thermal energy converted by the brake resistor and the heater as heat source for interior heating without discharging the thermal energy to the outside” (Park Abstract)
Claim 10
Li in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Li further teaches:
wherein calculating the fuel cell radiator fan speed command comprises adding the feedforward portion and the feedback portion.
(Li) – “obtaining a current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc of the fuel cell system, and performing a feedback control of the fuel cell temperature according to a difference between the current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc and a target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2, to acquire a compensation amount” (Para 0014)
“Any one or a combination of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan can be adopted as the control variable. The feedforward control can be based on one, two, or all of the three control variables. The working conditions of the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel cell thermal management sub-system can be acquired in real time. The multi-environment integrative thermal management method can be performed on the basis of controlling the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel battery heat management sub-system. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc can be detected in real time and compared with the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2 to acquire the difference therebetween. Through the control algorithm in the feedback control on the basis of the temperature difference, the compensation amount can be obtained. The compensation can be made in the feedforward control for the control variable on the basis of the feedback control, to allow the temperature of the fuel cell system to reach the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2.” (Para 0017)
Claim 11
Li in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 2 teach those respective limitations. Li further teaches:
wherein the first valve position corresponds to a valve position of a first valve upstream of a coolant-coolant heat exchanger.
(Li) – “The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be calculated according to the equations (5) and (6). In the equations (5) and (6), Q.sub.v denotes a volume flow rate of the cooling liquid input to the first valve 130 from the first pump 120. ρ denotes a density of the cooling liquid. D denotes a displacement of the first pump 120.” (Para 0055)
“The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be regulated by controlling the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump of the first pump 12. The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160 can be regulated by controlling the on-off state u.sub.fan of the fan of the first radiator 160 and the mass flow rate W.sub.w. The temperature T.sub.w,m of the cooling liquid at the cooling liquid inlet 111 of the fuel cell system 110 can be regulated by controlling the opening degree α of the first valve 130, the mass flow rate W.sub.w, and the temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160. Thus, T.sub.w,m can be regulated by controlling the control variable selected from the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, the fan on-off state u.sub.fan, and any combination thereof. It should be noted that if any one of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan is not selected as the control variable, this factor is set to a fixed value in the feedforward control.” (Para 0057)
“The cooling liquid inlet 111 is in fluid communication with an output end of the first radiator 160. An input end of the first radiator 160 is in fluid communication with a first end of the second valve 150. A second end of the second valve 150 is in fluid communication with a third end of the first valve 130. The first heater 140, the first valve 130, the first pump 120, and the fuel cell system 110 collectively form a minor circulating system for the cooling liquid circulation. The first radiator 160, the second valve 150, the first valve 130, the first pump 120, and the fuel cell system 110 collectively form a major circulating system for the cooling liquid circulation. The cooling liquid can flow through the first radiator 160 from the input end to the output end. The first radiator 160 can dissipate heat carried by the cooling liquid through a fan.” (Para 0026)
“A first end of the sixth valve 420 is in fluid communication with the third end of the first valve 130. A second end of the sixth valve 420 is in fluid communication with a first inlet 411 of the heat exchanger 410. A first outlet 412 of the heat exchanger 410 is in fluid communication with the input end of the first radiator 160. The cooling liquid of the fuel cell thermal management sub-system 10 can flow through the heat exchanger 410 from the first inlet 411 to the first outlet 412.” (Para 0028)
Claim(s) 8-9, 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US20220029182) in view of Park (US20210347265) further in view of Folick (US20190165394) further in view of Farnsworth (US20190165387).
Claim 8
Li in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 7 teach those respective limitations. Li further teaches:
wherein the feedforward portion of the fuel cell radiator fan speed command is calculated using the fuel cell air flow value [and a vehicle speed].
(Li) – “performing a feedforward control of a fuel cell temperature of the fuel cell system by controlling the control variable” (Para 0013)
“Any one or a combination of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan can be adopted as the control variable. The feedforward control can be based on one, two, or all of the three control variables. The working conditions of the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel cell thermal management sub-system can be acquired in real time. The multi-environment integrative thermal management method can be performed on the basis of controlling the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel battery heat management sub-system. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc can be detected in real time and compared with the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2 to acquire the difference therebetween. Through the control algorithm in the feedback control on the basis of the temperature difference, the compensation amount can be obtained. The compensation can be made in the feedforward control for the control variable on the basis of the feedback control, to allow the temperature of the fuel cell system to reach the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2.” (Para 0017)
“A heat generation power of the fuel cell can be calculated according to equation (9)” (Para 0081)
“When the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 is increased to the level allowing the fuel cell system 110 to be activated by the heat generated by itself, i.e., when the quantity of heat generated by the fuel cell system 110 is larger than the quantity of heat dissipated to the external environment from the fuel cell system 110, the heat starts to accumulate in the fuel cell system 110. When the temperature of the cooling liquid in the minor circulating system or the current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc is equal to or higher than the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2, the major circulating system starts to work, and the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system is gradually increased.” (Para 0089)
“In the multi-environment integrative thermal management method for the fuel cell vehicle according to the present application, when the fuel cell vehicle is started, the environment temperature condition of the fuel cell vehicle can be acquired by detecting the current environment temperature T and comparing the current environment temperature T with the environment temperature threshold T.sub.1, so as to allow the fuel cell vehicle to enter the corresponding control mode.” (Para 0016)
“The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be calculated according to the equations (5) and (6). In the equations (5) and (6), Q.sub.v denotes a volume flow rate of the cooling liquid input to the first valve 130 from the first pump 120. ρ denotes a density of the cooling liquid. D denotes a displacement of the first pump 120.” (Para 0055)
“The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be regulated by controlling the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump of the first pump 12. The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160 can be regulated by controlling the on-off state u.sub.fan of the fan of the first radiator 160 and the mass flow rate W.sub.w. The temperature T.sub.w,m of the cooling liquid at the cooling liquid inlet 111 of the fuel cell system 110 can be regulated by controlling the opening degree α of the first valve 130, the mass flow rate W.sub.w, and the temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160. Thus, T.sub.w,m can be regulated by controlling the control variable selected from the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, the fan on-off state u.sub.fan, and any combination thereof. It should be noted that if any one of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan is not selected as the control variable, this factor is set to a fixed value in the feedforward control.” (Para 0057)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
Li does not explicitly teach:
and a vehicle speed
Farnsworth, in the same field of endeavor of fuel cell vehicles, teaches:
and a vehicle speed
(Farnsworth) – “The speed sensor 106 may be any speed sensor capable of detecting data usable to determine a speed of the vehicle 100.” (Para 0033)
“The body of the vehicle 100 may include a grill 120 located at a front of the vehicle 100. The grill 120 may receive an airflow 122. The speed of the airflow 122 may directly correspond to the speed of the vehicle 100. For example, if a headwind of 5 miles per hour (mph) exists outside of the vehicle 100 and the vehicle is traveling at 50 mph then the speed of the airflow 122 will be approximately 55 mph.” (Para 0039)
“Referring briefly to FIGS. 1 and 2, one or more of the radiators 210 may further receive the airflow 122 received via the grill 120 of the vehicle 100. As mentioned above, the velocity of the airflow 122 corresponds to a speed of the vehicle 100. As the speed of the vehicle 100 increases, the velocity of the airflow 122 further increases, thus increasing the transfer of heat away from the fluid.” (Para 0049)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the thermal management method of Li with the methods for controlling a temperature of a fluid of Farnsworth. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “there is a need in the art for systems and methods for accurately controlling a temperature of a fuel cell stack use in a vehicle.” (Farnsworth Para 0005)
Claim 9
Li in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Li further teaches:
further comprising [filtering] the feedforward portion of the fuel cell radiator fan speed command [using a low pass filter].
(Li) – “performing a feedforward control of a fuel cell temperature of the fuel cell system by controlling the control variable” (Para 0013)
“Any one or a combination of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan can be adopted as the control variable. The feedforward control can be based on one, two, or all of the three control variables. The working conditions of the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel cell thermal management sub-system can be acquired in real time. The multi-environment integrative thermal management method can be performed on the basis of controlling the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel battery heat management sub-system. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc can be detected in real time and compared with the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2 to acquire the difference therebetween. Through the control algorithm in the feedback control on the basis of the temperature difference, the compensation amount can be obtained. The compensation can be made in the feedforward control for the control variable on the basis of the feedback control, to allow the temperature of the fuel cell system to reach the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2.” (Para 0017)
“The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be regulated by controlling the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump of the first pump 12. The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160 can be regulated by controlling the on-off state u.sub.fan of the fan of the first radiator 160 and the mass flow rate W.sub.w. The temperature T.sub.w,m of the cooling liquid at the cooling liquid inlet 111 of the fuel cell system 110 can be regulated by controlling the opening degree α of the first valve 130, the mass flow rate W.sub.w, and the temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160. Thus, T.sub.w,m can be regulated by controlling the control variable selected from the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, the fan on-off state u.sub.fan, and any combination thereof. It should be noted that if any one of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan is not selected as the control variable, this factor is set to a fixed value in the feedforward control.” (Para 0057)
Li does not explicitly teach:
filtering…using a low pass filter
Farnsworth, in the same field of endeavor of fuel cell vehicles, teaches:
filtering…using a low pass filter
(Farnsworth) – “The state mediator 304 may receive the unfiltered target fuel cell temperature 302. The state mediator 304 may filter the received signal and output a target fuel cell temperature 306. The state mediator 304 may filter the unfiltered target fuel cell temperature 302 for various reasons. For example, the filtering may remove noise on the signal, may act as a bandpass filter to ensure that the target fuel cell temperature 306 is within a safe temperature range, or the like.” (Para 0061)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the thermal management method of Li with the methods for controlling a temperature of a fluid of Farnsworth. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “there is a need in the art for systems and methods for accurately controlling a temperature of a fuel cell stack use in a vehicle.” (Farnsworth Para 0005)
Claim 12
Li in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 8 teach those respective limitations. Li further teaches:
further comprising: measuring a first coolant temperature;
(Li) – “The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160, which is substantially equal to the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system at the mixing point 142, can be regulated according to the equations (3) and (4).” (Para 0053)
Li does not explicitly teach:
calculating a brake resistor power command using a second coolant temperature;
calculating a brake resistor radiator fan speed command using a third coolant temperature;
controlling a brake resistor power using the brake resistor power command; and
controlling a brake resistor radiator fan speed using the brake resistor radiator fan speed command.
Park, in the same field of endeavor of fuel cell vehicles, teaches:
calculating a brake resistor power command using a second coolant temperature;
(Park) – “Referring to FIG. 2, a high-voltage connector 15-1 for connection with the electric motor 13 is formed at a side of the brake resistor 15, and a cooling water inlet 15-2 and a cooling water outlet 15-3 that are connected to a cooling water circulation line 20 is formed at another side of the brake resistor 15 to circulate cooling water through the brake resistor 15.” (Para 0013)
“a controller configured to control the brake resistor and the heater to be turned on and off on the basis of charged amount information of the battery so that a heating mode, a regenerative braking mode, a heating and regenerative braking mode, and a maximum regenerative braking mode are performed.” (Para 0026)
“Further, medium-temperature cooling water heated by the heater 30 flows to the brake resistor 15 through the first cooling water return line 22 by the operation of the electric water pump 42 and high-temperature cooling water that has cooled the brake resistor 15 flows into the radiator 18 for cooling.” (Para 0104)
calculating a brake resistor radiator fan speed command using a third coolant temperature;
(Park) – “Referring to FIG. 2, a high-voltage connector 15-1 for connection with the electric motor 13 is formed at a side of the brake resistor 15, and a cooling water inlet 15-2 and a cooling water outlet 15-3 that are connected to a cooling water circulation line 20 is formed at another side of the brake resistor 15 to circulate cooling water through the brake resistor 15.” (Para 0013)
“Further, medium-temperature cooling water heated by the heater 30 flows to the brake resistor 15 through the first cooling water return line 22 by the operation of the electric water pump 42 and high-temperature cooling water that has cooled the brake resistor 15 flows into the radiator 18 for cooling.” (Para 0104)
“The heater 30 is also used, other than the brake resistor 1, to convert the surplus electrical energy produced by the electric motor 13 into thermal energy in the above description. However, as shown in FIG. 5, it is possible to consume the surplus electrical energy produced by the electric motor 13 by sequentially operating an electric water pump 42, and an electric cooling fan 18-1 of a radiator 18 before operating the heater 30, thereby being able to secure an assistant braking force by continuous reverse torque of the electric motor 13.” (Para 0066)
“The brake resistor 15, heater 30, heater blower 32, electric water pump 42, etc. connected to each other by the cooling water circulation line so that cooling water can circulate are controlled to be turned on/off by the controller 50 on the basis of the charged amount information of the battery in interior hating and regenerative braking.” (Para 0073)
controlling a brake resistor power using the brake resistor power command; and
(Park) – “Referring to FIG. 2, a high-voltage connector 15-1 for connection with the electric motor 13 is formed at a side of the brake resistor 15, and a cooling water inlet 15-2 and a cooling water outlet 15-3 that are connected to a cooling water circulation line 20 is formed at another side of the brake resistor 15 to circulate cooling water through the brake resistor 15.” (Para 0013)
“a controller configured to control the brake resistor and the heater to be turned on and off on the basis of charged amount information of the battery so that a heating mode, a regenerative braking mode, a heating and regenerative braking mode, and a maximum regenerative braking mode are performed.” (Para 0026)
“Further, medium-temperature cooling water heated by the heater 30 flows to the brake resistor 15 through the first cooling water return line 22 by the operation of the electric water pump 42 and high-temperature cooling water that has cooled the brake resistor 15 flows into the radiator 18 for cooling.” (Para 0104)
controlling a brake resistor radiator fan speed using the brake resistor radiator fan speed command.
(Park) – “Further, medium-temperature cooling water heated by the heater 30 flows to the brake resistor 15 through the first cooling water return line 22 by the operation of the electric water pump 42 and high-temperature cooling water that has cooled the brake resistor 15 flows into the radiator 18 for cooling.” (Para 0104)
“The heater 30 is also used, other than the brake resistor 1, to convert the surplus electrical energy produced by the electric motor 13 into thermal energy in the above description. However, as shown in FIG. 5, it is possible to consume the surplus electrical energy produced by the electric motor 13 by sequentially operating an electric water pump 42, and an electric cooling fan 18-1 of a radiator 18 before operating the heater 30, thereby being able to secure an assistant braking force by continuous reverse torque of the electric motor 13.” (Para 0066)
“The brake resistor 15, heater 30, heater blower 32, electric water pump 42, etc. connected to each other by the cooling water circulation line so that cooling water can circulate are controlled to be turned on/off by the controller 50 on the basis of the charged amount information of the battery in interior hating and regenerative braking.” (Para 0073)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the thermal management method of Li with the control system of Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order “to obtain an interior heating effect by using thermal energy converted by the brake resistor and the heater as heat source for interior heating without discharging the thermal energy to the outside” (Park Abstract)
Claim 13
Li in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 12 teach those respective limitations. Li further teaches:
wherein the first coolant temperature is associated with a first coolant and
(Li) – “The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160, which is substantially equal to the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system at the mixing point 142, can be regulated according to the equations (3) and (4).” (Para 0053)
Li does not explicitly teach:
the second coolant temperature and the third coolant temperature are associated with a second coolant.
Park, in the same field of endeavor of fuel cell vehicles, teaches:
the second coolant temperature and the third coolant temperature are associated with a second coolant.
(Park) – “Referring to FIG. 2, a high-voltage connector 15-1 for connection with the electric motor 13 is formed at a side of the brake resistor 15, and a cooling water inlet 15-2 and a cooling water outlet 15-3 that are connected to a cooling water circulation line 20 is formed at another side of the brake resistor 15 to circulate cooling water through the brake resistor 15.” (Para 0013)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the thermal management method of Li with the control system of Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order “to obtain an interior heating effect by using thermal energy converted by the brake resistor and the heater as heat source for interior heating without discharging the thermal energy to the outside” (Park Abstract)
Claim 14
Li in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 12 teach those respective limitations. Li further teaches:
wherein the first coolant temperature is measured at an outlet of a fuel cell radiator,
(Li) – “The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160, which is substantially equal to the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system at the mixing point 142, can be regulated according to the equations (3) and (4).” (Para 0053)
Li does not explicitly teach:
the second coolant temperature is measured at an outlet of a brake resistor, and the third coolant temperature is measured at a pump inlet.
Park, in the same field of endeavor of fuel cell vehicles, teaches:
the second coolant temperature is measured at an outlet of a brake resistor, and the third coolant temperature is measured at a pump inlet.
(Park) – “Referring to FIG. 2, a high-voltage connector 15-1 for connection with the electric motor 13 is formed at a side of the brake resistor 15, and a cooling water inlet 15-2 and a cooling water outlet 15-3 that are connected to a cooling water circulation line 20 is formed at another side of the brake resistor 15 to circulate cooling water through the brake resistor 15.” (Para 0013)
“Further, medium-temperature cooling water heated by the heater 30 flows to the brake resistor 15 through the first cooling water return line 22 by the operation of the electric water pump 42 and high-temperature cooling water that has cooled the brake resistor 15 flows into the radiator 18 for cooling.” (Para 0104)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the thermal management method of Li with the control system of Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order “to obtain an interior heating effect by using thermal energy converted by the brake resistor and the heater as heat source for interior heating without discharging the thermal energy to the outside” (Park Abstract)
Claim 15
Li in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 12 teach those respective limitations. Li further teaches:
wherein a proportional-integral-derivative (PID) control action is used to calculate [the brake resistor power command and the brake resistor radiator fan speed command].
(Li) – “The fuel cell temperature can be accurately regulated via the feedback control according to the difference between the current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc and the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2. The control algorithm of the feedback control can be the PID control algorithm, the robust predictive control algorithm, the H.sub.∞ algorithm, or the like.” (Para 0069)
“Under the initial feedforward control by controlling the control variable, the fuel cell temperature of the fuel cell system 110 can be regulated to be approximate to the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc, i.e., an actual value, can be detected in real time. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc can be compared with the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2 to acquire the difference therebetween. Through the control algorithm in the feedback control on the basis of the temperature difference, the compensation amount can be obtained. The compensation amount can be directly a compensating value of the control variable or can be a temperature value, from which a compensating value of the control variable can be obtained. That is, the compensation can be made in the feedforward control for the control variable on the basis of the feedback control, to allow the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 to reach the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2. Therefore, by using the multi-environment integrative thermal management method, the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 can be maintained in a suitable range around the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2, ensuring the stability and the accuracy of the temperature control.” (Para 0045)
“The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160, which is substantially equal to the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system at the mixing point 142, can be regulated according to the equations (3) and (4).” (Para 0053)
Li does not explicitly teach:
the brake resistor power command and the brake resistor radiator fan speed command
Park, in the same field of endeavor of fuel cell vehicles, teaches:
the brake resistor power command and the brake resistor radiator fan speed command
(Park) – “Further, medium-temperature cooling water heated by the heater 30 flows to the brake resistor 15 through the first cooling water return line 22 by the operation of the electric water pump 42 and high-temperature cooling water that has cooled the brake resistor 15 flows into the radiator 18 for cooling.” (Para 0104)
“The heater 30 is also used, other than the brake resistor 1, to convert the surplus electrical energy produced by the electric motor 13 into thermal energy in the above description. However, as shown in FIG. 5, it is possible to consume the surplus electrical energy produced by the electric motor 13 by sequentially operating an electric water pump 42, and an electric cooling fan 18-1 of a radiator 18 before operating the heater 30, thereby being able to secure an assistant braking force by continuous reverse torque of the electric motor 13.” (Para 0066)
“The brake resistor 15, heater 30, heater blower 32, electric water pump 42, etc. connected to each other by the cooling water circulation line so that cooling water can circulate are controlled to be turned on/off by the controller 50 on the basis of the charged amount information of the battery in interior hating and regenerative braking.” (Para 0073)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the thermal management method of Li with the control system of Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order “to obtain an interior heating effect by using thermal energy converted by the brake resistor and the heater as heat source for interior heating without discharging the thermal energy to the outside” (Park Abstract)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections mailed 11/18/2025 have been considered but are not convincing. Specifically, all claims are now rejected further in view of Folick as necessitated by amendment. Examiner maintains that Folick resolves any deficiencies of the previously recited prior art as evidenced in the amended rejection rationale.
Therefore, all outstanding claims remain rejected over the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID RUBEN PEDERSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658