DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-15, 21-27 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. Claims 4, 10, 16-20 are Cancelled. Claims 21-27 are New.
This action is in response to the “request for continued examination” filed 09/18/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 11/18/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. See annotated form 1449.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 11, 21-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US20220029182) in view of Park (US20210347265) further in view of Folick (US20190165394).
Claim 1:
Li explicitly teaches:
A method of managing thermal loads in a fuel cell electric vehicle, the method comprising:
(Li) – “A multi-environment integrative thermal management method for a fuel cell vehicle is provided. The method can ensure the accuracy and the stability of the control for a temperature of a fuel cell system of the fuel cell vehicle in a complicated and changeable environment, decrease the energy consumption of the entire vehicle, and increase the economical efficiency of the entire vehicle.” (Abstract)
measuring a coolant temperature at an outlet of a fuel cell radiator;
(Li) – “The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160, which is substantially equal to the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system at the mixing point 142, can be regulated according to the equations (3) and (4).” (Para 0053)
calculating, [by a microprocessor onboard the fuel cell electric vehicle], a fuel cell coolant flow value;
(Li) – “The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be calculated according to the equations (5) and (6). In the equations (5) and (6), Q.sub.v denotes a volume flow rate of the cooling liquid input to the first valve 130 from the first pump 120. ρ denotes a density of the cooling liquid. D denotes a displacement of the first pump 120.” (Para 0055)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection. This notation will be used throughout the rejection unless otherwise noted. Li does not describe the hardware used for the method.
calculating, [by the microprocessor], a fuel cell heat generation value;
(Li) – “A heat generation power of the fuel cell can be calculated according to equation (9)” (Para 0081)
“When the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 is increased to the level allowing the fuel cell system 110 to be activated by the heat generated by itself, i.e., when the quantity of heat generated by the fuel cell system 110 is larger than the quantity of heat dissipated to the external environment from the fuel cell system 110, the heat starts to accumulate in the fuel cell system 110. When the temperature of the cooling liquid in the minor circulating system or the current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc is equal to or higher than the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2, the major circulating system starts to work, and the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system is gradually increased.” (Para 0089)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
calculating, [by the microprocessor], a first error value based on a difference between the measured coolant temperature at the outlet of the fuel cell radiator and a fuel cell radiator outlet coolant temperature target value;
(Li) – “Under the initial feedforward control by controlling the control variable, the fuel cell temperature of the fuel cell system 110 can be regulated to be approximate to the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc, i.e., an actual value, can be detected in real time. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc can be compared with the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2 to acquire the difference therebetween. Through the control algorithm in the feedback control on the basis of the temperature difference, the compensation amount can be obtained. The compensation amount can be directly a compensating value of the control variable or can be a temperature value, from which a compensating value of the control variable can be obtained. That is, the compensation can be made in the feedforward control for the control variable on the basis of the feedback control, to allow the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 to reach the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2. Therefore, by using the multi-environment integrative thermal management method, the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 can be maintained in a suitable range around the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2, ensuring the stability and the accuracy of the temperature control.” (Para 0045)
“The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160, which is substantially equal to the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system at the mixing point 142, can be regulated according to the equations (3) and (4).” (Para 0053)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, difference corresponds with error.
calculating, [by the microprocessor], a feedback portion of a fuel cell radiator fan speed command using the coolant temperature at the outlet of the fuel cell radiator [and the first error value];
(Li) – “obtaining a current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc of the fuel cell system, and performing a feedback control of the fuel cell temperature according to a difference between the current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc and a target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2, to acquire a compensation amount” (Para 0014)
“Any one or a combination of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan can be adopted as the control variable. The feedforward control can be based on one, two, or all of the three control variables. The working conditions of the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel cell thermal management sub-system can be acquired in real time. The multi-environment integrative thermal management method can be performed on the basis of controlling the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel battery heat management sub-system. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc can be detected in real time and compared with the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2 to acquire the difference therebetween. Through the control algorithm in the feedback control on the basis of the temperature difference, the compensation amount can be obtained. The compensation can be made in the feedforward control for the control variable on the basis of the feedback control, to allow the temperature of the fuel cell system to reach the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2.” (Para 0017)
“The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160, which is substantially equal to the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system at the mixing point 142, can be regulated according to the equations (3) and (4).” (Para 0053)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
calculating, [by the microprocessor], a feedforward portion of the fuel cell radiator fan speed command using an ambient temperature, the fuel cell coolant flow value, and the fuel cell heat generation value;
(Li) – “performing a feedforward control of a fuel cell temperature of the fuel cell system by controlling the control variable” (Para 0013)
“Any one or a combination of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan can be adopted as the control variable. The feedforward control can be based on one, two, or all of the three control variables. The working conditions of the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel cell thermal management sub-system can be acquired in real time. The multi-environment integrative thermal management method can be performed on the basis of controlling the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel battery heat management sub-system. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc can be detected in real time and compared with the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2 to acquire the difference therebetween. Through the control algorithm in the feedback control on the basis of the temperature difference, the compensation amount can be obtained. The compensation can be made in the feedforward control for the control variable on the basis of the feedback control, to allow the temperature of the fuel cell system to reach the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2.” (Para 0017)
“A heat generation power of the fuel cell can be calculated according to equation (9)” (Para 0081)
“When the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 is increased to the level allowing the fuel cell system 110 to be activated by the heat generated by itself, i.e., when the quantity of heat generated by the fuel cell system 110 is larger than the quantity of heat dissipated to the external environment from the fuel cell system 110, the heat starts to accumulate in the fuel cell system 110. When the temperature of the cooling liquid in the minor circulating system or the current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc is equal to or higher than the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2, the major circulating system starts to work, and the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system is gradually increased.” (Para 0089)
“In the multi-environment integrative thermal management method for the fuel cell vehicle according to the present application, when the fuel cell vehicle is started, the environment temperature condition of the fuel cell vehicle can be acquired by detecting the current environment temperature T and comparing the current environment temperature T with the environment temperature threshold T.sub.1, so as to allow the fuel cell vehicle to enter the corresponding control mode.” (Para 0016)
“The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be calculated according to the equations (5) and (6). In the equations (5) and (6), Q.sub.v denotes a volume flow rate of the cooling liquid input to the first valve 130 from the first pump 120. ρ denotes a density of the cooling liquid. D denotes a displacement of the first pump 120.” (Para 0055)
“The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be regulated by controlling the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump of the first pump 12. The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160 can be regulated by controlling the on-off state u.sub.fan of the fan of the first radiator 160 and the mass flow rate W.sub.w. The temperature T.sub.w,m of the cooling liquid at the cooling liquid inlet 111 of the fuel cell system 110 can be regulated by controlling the opening degree α of the first valve 130, the mass flow rate W.sub.w, and the temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160. Thus, T.sub.w,m can be regulated by controlling the control variable selected from the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, the fan on-off state u.sub.fan, and any combination thereof. It should be noted that if any one of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan is not selected as the control variable, this factor is set to a fixed value in the feedforward control.” (Para 0057)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
calculating, [by the microprocessor], the fuel cell radiator fan speed command using the feedforward portion and the feedback portion, [wherein calculating the fuel cell radiator fan speed command comprises adding the feedforward portion and the feedback portion]; and
(Li) – “performing a feedforward control of a fuel cell temperature of the fuel cell system by controlling the control variable” (Para 0013)
“Any one or a combination of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan can be adopted as the control variable. The feedforward control can be based on one, two, or all of the three control variables. The working conditions of the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel cell thermal management sub-system can be acquired in real time. The multi-environment integrative thermal management method can be performed on the basis of controlling the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel battery heat management sub-system. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc can be detected in real time and compared with the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2 to acquire the difference therebetween. Through the control algorithm in the feedback control on the basis of the temperature difference, the compensation amount can be obtained. The compensation can be made in the feedforward control for the control variable on the basis of the feedback control, to allow the temperature of the fuel cell system to reach the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2.” (Para 0017)
“A heat generation power of the fuel cell can be calculated according to equation (9)” (Para 0081)
“When the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 is increased to the level allowing the fuel cell system 110 to be activated by the heat generated by itself, i.e., when the quantity of heat generated by the fuel cell system 110 is larger than the quantity of heat dissipated to the external environment from the fuel cell system 110, the heat starts to accumulate in the fuel cell system 110. When the temperature of the cooling liquid in the minor circulating system or the current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc is equal to or higher than the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2, the major circulating system starts to work, and the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system is gradually increased.” (Para 0089)
“In the multi-environment integrative thermal management method for the fuel cell vehicle according to the present application, when the fuel cell vehicle is started, the environment temperature condition of the fuel cell vehicle can be acquired by detecting the current environment temperature T and comparing the current environment temperature T with the environment temperature threshold T.sub.1, so as to allow the fuel cell vehicle to enter the corresponding control mode.” (Para 0016)
“The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be calculated according to the equations (5) and (6). In the equations (5) and (6), Q.sub.v denotes a volume flow rate of the cooling liquid input to the first valve 130 from the first pump 120. ρ denotes a density of the cooling liquid. D denotes a displacement of the first pump 120.” (Para 0055)
“The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be regulated by controlling the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump of the first pump 12. The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160 can be regulated by controlling the on-off state u.sub.fan of the fan of the first radiator 160 and the mass flow rate W.sub.w. The temperature T.sub.w,m of the cooling liquid at the cooling liquid inlet 111 of the fuel cell system 110 can be regulated by controlling the opening degree α of the first valve 130, the mass flow rate W.sub.w, and the temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160. Thus, T.sub.w,m can be regulated by controlling the control variable selected from the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, the fan on-off state u.sub.fan, and any combination thereof. It should be noted that if any one of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan is not selected as the control variable, this factor is set to a fixed value in the feedforward control.” (Para 0057)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
controlling a fuel cell radiator fan speed using the fuel cell radiator fan speed command.
(Li) – “performing a feedforward control of a fuel cell temperature of the fuel cell system by controlling the control variable” (Para 0013)
“The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160 can be regulated by controlling the on-off state u.sub.fan of the fan of the first radiator 160 and the mass flow rate W.sub.w… Thus, T.sub.w,m can be regulated by controlling the control variable selected from the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, the fan on-off state u.sub.fan, and any combination thereof.” (Para 0057)
Li does not explicitly teach:
by a microprocessor onboard the fuel cell electric vehicle…by the microprocessor… by the microprocessor… and the first error value …by the microprocessor…by the microprocessor…by the microprocessor… wherein calculating the fuel cell radiator fan speed command comprises adding the feedforward portion and the feedback portion
Park, in the same field of endeavor of fuel cell vehicles, teaches:
by a microprocessor onboard the fuel cell electric vehicle…by the microprocessor…by the microprocessor…by the microprocessor…by the microprocessor
(Park) – “Further, the control logic of the present disclosure may be embodied as non-transitory computer readable media on a computer readable medium containing executable program instructions executed by a processor, controller or the like.” (Para 0055)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the thermal management method of Li with the control system of Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order “to obtain an interior heating effect by using thermal energy converted by the brake resistor and the heater as heat source for interior heating without discharging the thermal energy to the outside” (Park Abstract)
Park does not explicitly teach:
and the first error value … wherein calculating the fuel cell radiator fan speed command comprises adding the feedforward portion and the feedback portion
Folick, in the same field of endeavor of fuel cell vehicles, teaches:
and the first error value
(Folick) – “The temperature difference determined in block 1208 may correspond to a temperature error. Stated differently, the temperature difference corresponds to an error because it is the difference between a desired temperature at the location and the actual temperature at the location. In that regard and in block 1214, the sensitivity may be applied to the temperature difference in order to determine an error signal. The error signal may correspond to, or indicate, an error in the actuator position or an error in the parameter used to calculate the actuator position that caused the temperature difference.” (Para 0172)
“In block 1216, the ECU may pass the error signal through a proportional-integral-derivative (PID, or PI) controller to generate a feedback control signal. The PID controller may analyze past and present values of the error signal and generate the feedback control signal based on present error values, past error values, and potential future errors of the error signal.” (Para 0173)
“For example, the actuator may include the fan such that the control signal corresponds to a fan speed of the fan or a power signal for powering the fan.” (Para 0201)
“The actuator control 330 may receive the feedforward control signals 314 and the feedback control signals 318 and generate actuator control signals 334 based on the combination of the feedforward control signals 314 and the feedback control signals 318. One or more of the actuator control signals 334 may be transmitted to each of the actuators 332. For example, the actuator control signals 334 may include a first signal that controls a valve position of the three-way valve 204, a second signal that controls a fan speed of the fan 218, and a third signal that controls a pump speed of the pump 220. In some embodiments, the actuator control 330 may generate the actuator control signals 334 by adding the feedforward control signals 314 and the feedback control signals 318.” (Para 0067)
wherein calculating the fuel cell radiator fan speed command comprises adding the feedforward portion and the feedback portion
(Folick) – “The actuator control 330 may receive the feedforward control signals 314 and the feedback control signals 318 and generate actuator control signals 334 based on the combination of the feedforward control signals 314 and the feedback control signals 318. One or more of the actuator control signals 334 may be transmitted to each of the actuators 332. For example, the actuator control signals 334 may include a first signal that controls a valve position of the three-way valve 204, a second signal that controls a fan speed of the fan 218, and a third signal that controls a pump speed of the pump 220. In some embodiments, the actuator control 330 may generate the actuator control signals 334 by adding the feedforward control signals 314 and the feedback control signals 318.” (Para 0067)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the thermal management method of Li with the system for heating or cooling a fuel cell of Folick. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “there is a need in the art for systems and methods for accurately controlling a temperature of a fuel cell stack use in a vehicle.” (Folick Para 0005)
Claim 2:
Li in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Li further teaches:
wherein the fuel cell coolant flow value is calculated using a pump speed, a first valve position, a second valve position, and a coolant temperature at an outlet of a fuel cell system.
(Li) – “The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be calculated according to the equations (5) and (6). In the equations (5) and (6), Q.sub.v denotes a volume flow rate of the cooling liquid input to the first valve 130 from the first pump 120. ρ denotes a density of the cooling liquid. D denotes a displacement of the first pump 120.” (Para 0055)
“The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be regulated by controlling the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump of the first pump 12. The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160 can be regulated by controlling the on-off state u.sub.fan of the fan of the first radiator 160 and the mass flow rate W.sub.w. The temperature T.sub.w,m of the cooling liquid at the cooling liquid inlet 111 of the fuel cell system 110 can be regulated by controlling the opening degree α of the first valve 130, the mass flow rate W.sub.w, and the temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160. Thus, T.sub.w,m can be regulated by controlling the control variable selected from the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, the fan on-off state u.sub.fan, and any combination thereof. It should be noted that if any one of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan is not selected as the control variable, this factor is set to a fixed value in the feedforward control.” (Para 0057)
“The cooling liquid inlet 111 is in fluid communication with an output end of the first radiator 160. An input end of the first radiator 160 is in fluid communication with a first end of the second valve 150. A second end of the second valve 150 is in fluid communication with a third end of the first valve 130. The first heater 140, the first valve 130, the first pump 120, and the fuel cell system 110 collectively form a minor circulating system for the cooling liquid circulation. The first radiator 160, the second valve 150, the first valve 130, the first pump 120, and the fuel cell system 110 collectively form a major circulating system for the cooling liquid circulation. The cooling liquid can flow through the first radiator 160 from the input end to the output end. The first radiator 160 can dissipate heat carried by the cooling liquid through a fan.” (Para 0026)
Claim 3:
Li in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Li further teaches:
wherein the fuel cell heat generation value is calculated using the fuel cell coolant flow value, a coolant temperature at an inlet of a fuel cell system, and a coolant temperature at an outlet of the fuel cell system.
(Li) – “A heat generation power of the fuel cell can be calculated according to equation (9)” (Para 0081)
“When the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 is increased to the level allowing the fuel cell system 110 to be activated by the heat generated by itself, i.e., when the quantity of heat generated by the fuel cell system 110 is larger than the quantity of heat dissipated to the external environment from the fuel cell system 110, the heat starts to accumulate in the fuel cell system 110. When the temperature of the cooling liquid in the minor circulating system or the current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc is equal to or higher than the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2, the major circulating system starts to work, and the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system is gradually increased.” (Para 0089)
“The integrative thermal management system 100 includes a fuel cell thermal management sub-system 10, a power battery thermal management sub-system 20, a cabin air heating sub-system 30, and a heat exchanging sub-system 40. The fuel cell thermal management sub-system 10 includes a fuel cell system 110, a first pump 120, a first valve 130, a first heater 140, a second valve 150, a first radiator 160, and a first tank 170…The fuel cell system 110 has a cooling liquid inlet 111 and a cooling liquid outlet 112. The cooling liquid inlet 111 is in fluid communication with an output end of the first heater 140. An input end of the first heater 140 is in fluid communication with a first end of the first valve 130. The cooling liquid can flow through the first heater 140 from the input end to the output end and can be heated in the first heater 140 by a heating element such as an electric resistance wire. A second end of the first valve 130 is in fluid communication with an output end of the first pump 120. An input end of the first pump 120 is in fluid communication with the cooling liquid outlet 112.” (Para 0025)
“The isothermal bulk modulus and the isobaric thermal expansion coefficient are the physical properties of the cooling liquid ρ, p, h respectively denote the density, the pressure, and the enthalpy of the cooling liquid in a cooling liquid channel of the fuel cell in the fuel cell system 110. T denotes the temperature of the cooling liquid in the cooling liquid channel, i.e., the temperature of the fuel cell system 110. V denotes a volume of the cooling liquid channel c.sub.p denotes a heat capacity of the cooling liquid P.sub.heat,fc denotes a quantity of heat generated by the fuel cell, which is calculated according to equation (9). Σdm.sub.i denotes a sum of the mass flow rate at the cooling liquid inlet 111 and the mass flow rate at the cooling liquid outlet 112. Σdmh.sub.i denotes a sum of the enthalpy at the cooling liquid inlet 111 and the enthalpy at the cooling liquid outlet 112.” (Para 0061)
Claim 4: Canceled
Claim 5:
Li in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 4 teach those respective limitations. Li further teaches:
further comprising performing a proportional-integral- derivative (PID) control action using the first error value to determine a first output variable.
(Li) – “The fuel cell temperature can be accurately regulated via the feedback control according to the difference between the current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc and the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2. The control algorithm of the feedback control can be the PID control algorithm, the robust predictive control algorithm, the H.sub.∞ algorithm, or the like.” (Para 0069)
“Under the initial feedforward control by controlling the control variable, the fuel cell temperature of the fuel cell system 110 can be regulated to be approximate to the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc, i.e., an actual value, can be detected in real time. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc can be compared with the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2 to acquire the difference therebetween. Through the control algorithm in the feedback control on the basis of the temperature difference, the compensation amount can be obtained. The compensation amount can be directly a compensating value of the control variable or can be a temperature value, from which a compensating value of the control variable can be obtained. That is, the compensation can be made in the feedforward control for the control variable on the basis of the feedback control, to allow the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 to reach the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2. Therefore, by using the multi-environment integrative thermal management method, the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 can be maintained in a suitable range around the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2, ensuring the stability and the accuracy of the temperature control.” (Para 0045)
“The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160, which is substantially equal to the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system at the mixing point 142, can be regulated according to the equations (3) and (4).” (Para 0053)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, difference corresponds with error.
Claim 6:
Li in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Li further teaches:
further comprising calculating, [by the microprocessor], a fuel cell radiator temperature differential by calculating a difference between a fuel cell radiator inlet coolant temperature target value and the ambient temperature.
(Li) – “In the multi-environment integrative thermal management method for the fuel cell vehicle according to the present application, when the fuel cell vehicle is started, the environment temperature condition of the fuel cell vehicle can be acquired by detecting the current environment temperature T and comparing the current environment temperature T with the environment temperature threshold T.sub.1, so as to allow the fuel cell vehicle to enter the corresponding control mode.” (Para 0016)
“In the equations (3) and (4), T.sub.w,rad,in denotes a temperature of the cooling liquid at the input end of the first radiator 160. ΔT denotes a temperature decrease caused by the fan of the first radiator 160. m.sub.rad denotes a mass of the cooling liquid in the first radiator 160. k.sub.rad denotes a coefficient of the heat dissipation of the first radiator 160. T.sub.atm denotes an environment temperature. h.sub.rad denotes the time period required to allow the cooling liquid to flow through the first radiator 160.” (Para 0054)
Li does not explicitly teach:
by the microprocessor
Park, in the same field of endeavor of fuel cell vehicles, teaches:
by the microprocessor
(Park) – “Further, the control logic of the present disclosure may be embodied as non-transitory computer readable media on a computer readable medium containing executable program instructions executed by a processor, controller or the like.” (Para 0055)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the thermal management method of Li with the control system of Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order “to obtain an interior heating effect by using thermal energy converted by the brake resistor and the heater as heat source for interior heating without discharging the thermal energy to the outside” (Park Abstract)
Claim 7:
Li in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 6 teach those respective limitations. Li further teaches:
further comprising calculating, [by the microprocessor], a fuel cell air flow value using the fuel cell radiator temperature differential, the fuel cell coolant flow value, and the fuel cell heat generation value.
(Li) – “performing a feedforward control of a fuel cell temperature of the fuel cell system by controlling the control variable” (Para 0013)
“Any one or a combination of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan can be adopted as the control variable. The feedforward control can be based on one, two, or all of the three control variables. The working conditions of the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel cell thermal management sub-system can be acquired in real time. The multi-environment integrative thermal management method can be performed on the basis of controlling the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel battery heat management sub-system. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc can be detected in real time and compared with the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2 to acquire the difference therebetween. Through the control algorithm in the feedback control on the basis of the temperature difference, the compensation amount can be obtained. The compensation can be made in the feedforward control for the control variable on the basis of the feedback control, to allow the temperature of the fuel cell system to reach the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2.” (Para 0017)
“A heat generation power of the fuel cell can be calculated according to equation (9)” (Para 0081)
“When the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 is increased to the level allowing the fuel cell system 110 to be activated by the heat generated by itself, i.e., when the quantity of heat generated by the fuel cell system 110 is larger than the quantity of heat dissipated to the external environment from the fuel cell system 110, the heat starts to accumulate in the fuel cell system 110. When the temperature of the cooling liquid in the minor circulating system or the current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc is equal to or higher than the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2, the major circulating system starts to work, and the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system is gradually increased.” (Para 0089)
“In the multi-environment integrative thermal management method for the fuel cell vehicle according to the present application, when the fuel cell vehicle is started, the environment temperature condition of the fuel cell vehicle can be acquired by detecting the current environment temperature T and comparing the current environment temperature T with the environment temperature threshold T.sub.1, so as to allow the fuel cell vehicle to enter the corresponding control mode.” (Para 0016)
“The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be calculated according to the equations (5) and (6). In the equations (5) and (6), Q.sub.v denotes a volume flow rate of the cooling liquid input to the first valve 130 from the first pump 120. ρ denotes a density of the cooling liquid. D denotes a displacement of the first pump 120.” (Para 0055)
“The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be regulated by controlling the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump of the first pump 12. The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160 can be regulated by controlling the on-off state u.sub.fan of the fan of the first radiator 160 and the mass flow rate W.sub.w. The temperature T.sub.w,m of the cooling liquid at the cooling liquid inlet 111 of the fuel cell system 110 can be regulated by controlling the opening degree α of the first valve 130, the mass flow rate W.sub.w, and the temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160. Thus, T.sub.w,m can be regulated by controlling the control variable selected from the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, the fan on-off state u.sub.fan, and any combination thereof. It should be noted that if any one of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan is not selected as the control variable, this factor is set to a fixed value in the feedforward control.” (Para 0057)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, fuel cell air flow value may correspond with any value related to the flow of air. This includes the fan on-off state.
Li does not explicitly teach:
by the microprocessor
Park, in the same field of endeavor of fuel cell vehicles, teaches:
by the microprocessor
(Park) – “Further, the control logic of the present disclosure may be embodied as non-transitory computer readable media on a computer readable medium containing executable program instructions executed by a processor, controller or the like.” (Para 0055)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the thermal management method of Li with the control system of Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order “to obtain an interior heating effect by using thermal energy converted by the brake resistor and the heater as heat source for interior heating without discharging the thermal energy to the outside” (Park Abstract)
Claim 10 Canceled
Claim 11
Li in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 2 teach those respective limitations. Li further teaches:
wherein the first valve position corresponds to a valve position of a first valve upstream of a coolant-coolant heat exchanger.
(Li) – “The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be calculated according to the equations (5) and (6). In the equations (5) and (6), Q.sub.v denotes a volume flow rate of the cooling liquid input to the first valve 130 from the first pump 120. ρ denotes a density of the cooling liquid. D denotes a displacement of the first pump 120.” (Para 0055)
“The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be regulated by controlling the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump of the first pump 12. The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160 can be regulated by controlling the on-off state u.sub.fan of the fan of the first radiator 160 and the mass flow rate W.sub.w. The temperature T.sub.w,m of the cooling liquid at the cooling liquid inlet 111 of the fuel cell system 110 can be regulated by controlling the opening degree α of the first valve 130, the mass flow rate W.sub.w, and the temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160. Thus, T.sub.w,m can be regulated by controlling the control variable selected from the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, the fan on-off state u.sub.fan, and any combination thereof. It should be noted that if any one of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan is not selected as the control variable, this factor is set to a fixed value in the feedforward control.” (Para 0057)
“The cooling liquid inlet 111 is in fluid communication with an output end of the first radiator 160. An input end of the first radiator 160 is in fluid communication with a first end of the second valve 150. A second end of the second valve 150 is in fluid communication with a third end of the first valve 130. The first heater 140, the first valve 130, the first pump 120, and the fuel cell system 110 collectively form a minor circulating system for the cooling liquid circulation. The first radiator 160, the second valve 150, the first valve 130, the first pump 120, and the fuel cell system 110 collectively form a major circulating system for the cooling liquid circulation. The cooling liquid can flow through the first radiator 160 from the input end to the output end. The first radiator 160 can dissipate heat carried by the cooling liquid through a fan.” (Para 0026)
“A first end of the sixth valve 420 is in fluid communication with the third end of the first valve 130. A second end of the sixth valve 420 is in fluid communication with a first inlet 411 of the heat exchanger 410. A first outlet 412 of the heat exchanger 410 is in fluid communication with the input end of the first radiator 160. The cooling liquid of the fuel cell thermal management sub-system 10 can flow through the heat exchanger 410 from the first inlet 411 to the first outlet 412.” (Para 0028)
Claim 21:
Li explicitly teaches:
[A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium in electronic communication with a microprocessor onboard] a fuel cell electric vehicle, [having instructions stored thereon that, in response to execution by the microprocessor, cause the microprocessor to perform] operations comprising:
(Li) – “A multi-environment integrative thermal management method for a fuel cell vehicle is provided. The method can ensure the accuracy and the stability of the control for a temperature of a fuel cell system of the fuel cell vehicle in a complicated and changeable environment, decrease the energy consumption of the entire vehicle, and increase the economical efficiency of the entire vehicle.” (Abstract)
measuring a coolant temperature at an outlet of a fuel cell radiator;
(Li) – “The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160, which is substantially equal to the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system at the mixing point 142, can be regulated according to the equations (3) and (4).” (Para 0053)
calculating, [by the microprocessor], a fuel cell coolant flow value;
(Li) – “The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be calculated according to the equations (5) and (6). In the equations (5) and (6), Q.sub.v denotes a volume flow rate of the cooling liquid input to the first valve 130 from the first pump 120. ρ denotes a density of the cooling liquid. D denotes a displacement of the first pump 120.” (Para 0055)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection. This notation will be used throughout the rejection unless otherwise noted. Li does not describe the hardware used for the method.
calculating, [by the microprocessor], a fuel cell heat generation value;
(Li) – “A heat generation power of the fuel cell can be calculated according to equation (9)” (Para 0081)
“When the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 is increased to the level allowing the fuel cell system 110 to be activated by the heat generated by itself, i.e., when the quantity of heat generated by the fuel cell system 110 is larger than the quantity of heat dissipated to the external environment from the fuel cell system 110, the heat starts to accumulate in the fuel cell system 110. When the temperature of the cooling liquid in the minor circulating system or the current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc is equal to or higher than the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2, the major circulating system starts to work, and the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system is gradually increased.” (Para 0089)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
calculating, [by the microprocessor], a first error value based on a difference between the measured coolant temperature at the outlet of the fuel cell radiator and a fuel cell radiator outlet coolant temperature target value;
(Li) – “Under the initial feedforward control by controlling the control variable, the fuel cell temperature of the fuel cell system 110 can be regulated to be approximate to the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc, i.e., an actual value, can be detected in real time. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc can be compared with the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2 to acquire the difference therebetween. Through the control algorithm in the feedback control on the basis of the temperature difference, the compensation amount can be obtained. The compensation amount can be directly a compensating value of the control variable or can be a temperature value, from which a compensating value of the control variable can be obtained. That is, the compensation can be made in the feedforward control for the control variable on the basis of the feedback control, to allow the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 to reach the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2. Therefore, by using the multi-environment integrative thermal management method, the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 can be maintained in a suitable range around the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2, ensuring the stability and the accuracy of the temperature control.” (Para 0045)
“The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160, which is substantially equal to the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system at the mixing point 142, can be regulated according to the equations (3) and (4).” (Para 0053)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, difference corresponds with error.
calculating, [by the microprocessor], a feedback portion of a fuel cell radiator fan speed command using the coolant temperature at the outlet of the fuel cell radiator [and the first error value];
(Li) – “obtaining a current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc of the fuel cell system, and performing a feedback control of the fuel cell temperature according to a difference between the current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc and a target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2, to acquire a compensation amount” (Para 0014)
“Any one or a combination of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan can be adopted as the control variable. The feedforward control can be based on one, two, or all of the three control variables. The working conditions of the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel cell thermal management sub-system can be acquired in real time. The multi-environment integrative thermal management method can be performed on the basis of controlling the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel battery heat management sub-system. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc can be detected in real time and compared with the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2 to acquire the difference therebetween. Through the control algorithm in the feedback control on the basis of the temperature difference, the compensation amount can be obtained. The compensation can be made in the feedforward control for the control variable on the basis of the feedback control, to allow the temperature of the fuel cell system to reach the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2.” (Para 0017)
“The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160, which is substantially equal to the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system at the mixing point 142, can be regulated according to the equations (3) and (4).” (Para 0053)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
calculating, [by the microprocessor], a feedforward portion of the fuel cell radiator fan speed command using an ambient temperature, the fuel cell coolant flow value, and the fuel cell heat generation value;
(Li) – “performing a feedforward control of a fuel cell temperature of the fuel cell system by controlling the control variable” (Para 0013)
“Any one or a combination of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan can be adopted as the control variable. The feedforward control can be based on one, two, or all of the three control variables. The working conditions of the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel cell thermal management sub-system can be acquired in real time. The multi-environment integrative thermal management method can be performed on the basis of controlling the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel battery heat management sub-system. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc can be detected in real time and compared with the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2 to acquire the difference therebetween. Through the control algorithm in the feedback control on the basis of the temperature difference, the compensation amount can be obtained. The compensation can be made in the feedforward control for the control variable on the basis of the feedback control, to allow the temperature of the fuel cell system to reach the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2.” (Para 0017)
“A heat generation power of the fuel cell can be calculated according to equation (9)” (Para 0081)
“When the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 is increased to the level allowing the fuel cell system 110 to be activated by the heat generated by itself, i.e., when the quantity of heat generated by the fuel cell system 110 is larger than the quantity of heat dissipated to the external environment from the fuel cell system 110, the heat starts to accumulate in the fuel cell system 110. When the temperature of the cooling liquid in the minor circulating system or the current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc is equal to or higher than the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2, the major circulating system starts to work, and the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system is gradually increased.” (Para 0089)
“In the multi-environment integrative thermal management method for the fuel cell vehicle according to the present application, when the fuel cell vehicle is started, the environment temperature condition of the fuel cell vehicle can be acquired by detecting the current environment temperature T and comparing the current environment temperature T with the environment temperature threshold T.sub.1, so as to allow the fuel cell vehicle to enter the corresponding control mode.” (Para 0016)
“The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be calculated according to the equations (5) and (6). In the equations (5) and (6), Q.sub.v denotes a volume flow rate of the cooling liquid input to the first valve 130 from the first pump 120. ρ denotes a density of the cooling liquid. D denotes a displacement of the first pump 120.” (Para 0055)
“The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be regulated by controlling the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump of the first pump 12. The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160 can be regulated by controlling the on-off state u.sub.fan of the fan of the first radiator 160 and the mass flow rate W.sub.w. The temperature T.sub.w,m of the cooling liquid at the cooling liquid inlet 111 of the fuel cell system 110 can be regulated by controlling the opening degree α of the first valve 130, the mass flow rate W.sub.w, and the temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160. Thus, T.sub.w,m can be regulated by controlling the control variable selected from the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, the fan on-off state u.sub.fan, and any combination thereof. It should be noted that if any one of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan is not selected as the control variable, this factor is set to a fixed value in the feedforward control.” (Para 0057)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
calculating, [by the microprocessor], the fuel cell radiator fan speed command using the feedforward portion and the feedback portion, [wherein calculating the fuel cell radiator fan speed command comprises adding the feedforward portion and the feedback portion]; and
(Li) – “performing a feedforward control of a fuel cell temperature of the fuel cell system by controlling the control variable” (Para 0013)
“Any one or a combination of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan can be adopted as the control variable. The feedforward control can be based on one, two, or all of the three control variables. The working conditions of the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel cell thermal management sub-system can be acquired in real time. The multi-environment integrative thermal management method can be performed on the basis of controlling the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel battery heat management sub-system. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc can be detected in real time and compared with the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2 to acquire the difference therebetween. Through the control algorithm in the feedback control on the basis of the temperature difference, the compensation amount can be obtained. The compensation can be made in the feedforward control for the control variable on the basis of the feedback control, to allow the temperature of the fuel cell system to reach the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2.” (Para 0017)
“A heat generation power of the fuel cell can be calculated according to equation (9)” (Para 0081)
“When the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 is increased to the level allowing the fuel cell system 110 to be activated by the heat generated by itself, i.e., when the quantity of heat generated by the fuel cell system 110 is larger than the quantity of heat dissipated to the external environment from the fuel cell system 110, the heat starts to accumulate in the fuel cell system 110. When the temperature of the cooling liquid in the minor circulating system or the current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc is equal to or higher than the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2, the major circulating system starts to work, and the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system is gradually increased.” (Para 0089)
“In the multi-environment integrative thermal management method for the fuel cell vehicle according to the present application, when the fuel cell vehicle is started, the environment temperature condition of the fuel cell vehicle can be acquired by detecting the current environment temperature T and comparing the current environment temperature T with the environment temperature threshold T.sub.1, so as to allow the fuel cell vehicle to enter the corresponding control mode.” (Para 0016)
“The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be calculated according to the equations (5) and (6). In the equations (5) and (6), Q.sub.v denotes a volume flow rate of the cooling liquid input to the first valve 130 from the first pump 120. ρ denotes a density of the cooling liquid. D denotes a displacement of the first pump 120.” (Para 0055)
“The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be regulated by controlling the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump of the first pump 12. The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160 can be regulated by controlling the on-off state u.sub.fan of the fan of the first radiator 160 and the mass flow rate W.sub.w. The temperature T.sub.w,m of the cooling liquid at the cooling liquid inlet 111 of the fuel cell system 110 can be regulated by controlling the opening degree α of the first valve 130, the mass flow rate W.sub.w, and the temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160. Thus, T.sub.w,m can be regulated by controlling the control variable selected from the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, the fan on-off state u.sub.fan, and any combination thereof. It should be noted that if any one of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan is not selected as the control variable, this factor is set to a fixed value in the feedforward control.” (Para 0057)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
controlling a fuel cell radiator fan speed using the fuel cell radiator fan speed command.
(Li) – “performing a feedforward control of a fuel cell temperature of the fuel cell system by controlling the control variable” (Para 0013)
“The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160 can be regulated by controlling the on-off state u.sub.fan of the fan of the first radiator 160 and the mass flow rate W.sub.w… Thus, T.sub.w,m can be regulated by controlling the control variable selected from the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, the fan on-off state u.sub.fan, and any combination thereof.” (Para 0057)
Li does not explicitly teach:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium in electronic communication with a microprocessor onboard…having instructions stored thereon that, in response to execution by the microprocessor, cause the microprocessor to perform…by a microprocessor onboard the fuel cell electric vehicle…by the microprocessor… by the microprocessor… and the first error value …by the microprocessor…by the microprocessor…by the microprocessor… wherein calculating the fuel cell radiator fan speed command comprises adding the feedforward portion and the feedback portion
Park, in the same field of endeavor of fuel cell vehicles, teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium in electronic communication with a microprocessor onboard…having instructions stored thereon that, in response to execution by the microprocessor, cause the microprocessor to perform…by the microprocessor …by the microprocessor…by the microprocessor…by the microprocessor…by the microprocessor
(Park) – “Further, the control logic of the present disclosure may be embodied as non-transitory computer readable media on a computer readable medium containing executable program instructions executed by a processor, controller or the like.” (Para 0055)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the thermal management method of Li with the control system of Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order “to obtain an interior heating effect by using thermal energy converted by the brake resistor and the heater as heat source for interior heating without discharging the thermal energy to the outside” (Park Abstract)
Park does not explicitly teach:
and the first error value … wherein calculating the fuel cell radiator fan speed command comprises adding the feedforward portion and the feedback portion
Folick, in the same field of endeavor of fuel cell vehicles, teaches:
and the first error value
(Folick) – “The temperature difference determined in block 1208 may correspond to a temperature error. Stated differently, the temperature difference corresponds to an error because it is the difference between a desired temperature at the location and the actual temperature at the location. In that regard and in block 1214, the sensitivity may be applied to the temperature difference in order to determine an error signal. The error signal may correspond to, or indicate, an error in the actuator position or an error in the parameter used to calculate the actuator position that caused the temperature difference.” (Para 0172)
“In block 1216, the ECU may pass the error signal through a proportional-integral-derivative (PID, or PI) controller to generate a feedback control signal. The PID controller may analyze past and present values of the error signal and generate the feedback control signal based on present error values, past error values, and potential future errors of the error signal.” (Para 0173)
“For example, the actuator may include the fan such that the control signal corresponds to a fan speed of the fan or a power signal for powering the fan.” (Para 0201)
wherein calculating the fuel cell radiator fan speed command comprises adding the feedforward portion and the feedback portion
(Folick) – “The actuator control 330 may receive the feedforward control signals 314 and the feedback control signals 318 and generate actuator control signals 334 based on the combination of the feedforward control signals 314 and the feedback control signals 318. One or more of the actuator control signals 334 may be transmitted to each of the actuators 332. For example, the actuator control signals 334 may include a first signal that controls a valve position of the three-way valve 204, a second signal that controls a fan speed of the fan 218, and a third signal that controls a pump speed of the pump 220. In some embodiments, the actuator control 330 may generate the actuator control signals 334 by adding the feedforward control signals 314 and the feedback control signals 318.” (Para 0067)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the thermal management method of Li with the system for heating or cooling a fuel cell of Folick. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “there is a need in the art for systems and methods for accurately controlling a temperature of a fuel cell stack use in a vehicle.” (Folick Para 0005)
Claim 22
Rejected based on the same rationale as Claim 2
Claim 23
Rejected based on the same rationale as Claim 3
Claim 24
Rejected based on the same rationale as Claim 5
Claim 25
Rejected based on the same rationale as Claim 6
Claim 26
Rejected based on the same rationale as Claim 7
Claim(s) 8-9, 12-15, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US20220029182) in view of Park (US20210347265) further in view of Folick (US20190165394) further in view of Farnsworth (US20190165387).
Claim 8
Li in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 7 teach those respective limitations. Li further teaches:
wherein the feedforward portion of the fuel cell radiator fan speed command is calculated using the fuel cell air flow value [and a vehicle speed].
(Li) – “performing a feedforward control of a fuel cell temperature of the fuel cell system by controlling the control variable” (Para 0013)
“Any one or a combination of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan can be adopted as the control variable. The feedforward control can be based on one, two, or all of the three control variables. The working conditions of the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel cell thermal management sub-system can be acquired in real time. The multi-environment integrative thermal management method can be performed on the basis of controlling the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel battery heat management sub-system. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc can be detected in real time and compared with the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2 to acquire the difference therebetween. Through the control algorithm in the feedback control on the basis of the temperature difference, the compensation amount can be obtained. The compensation can be made in the feedforward control for the control variable on the basis of the feedback control, to allow the temperature of the fuel cell system to reach the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2.” (Para 0017)
“A heat generation power of the fuel cell can be calculated according to equation (9)” (Para 0081)
“When the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 is increased to the level allowing the fuel cell system 110 to be activated by the heat generated by itself, i.e., when the quantity of heat generated by the fuel cell system 110 is larger than the quantity of heat dissipated to the external environment from the fuel cell system 110, the heat starts to accumulate in the fuel cell system 110. When the temperature of the cooling liquid in the minor circulating system or the current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc is equal to or higher than the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2, the major circulating system starts to work, and the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system is gradually increased.” (Para 0089)
“In the multi-environment integrative thermal management method for the fuel cell vehicle according to the present application, when the fuel cell vehicle is started, the environment temperature condition of the fuel cell vehicle can be acquired by detecting the current environment temperature T and comparing the current environment temperature T with the environment temperature threshold T.sub.1, so as to allow the fuel cell vehicle to enter the corresponding control mode.” (Para 0016)
“The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be calculated according to the equations (5) and (6). In the equations (5) and (6), Q.sub.v denotes a volume flow rate of the cooling liquid input to the first valve 130 from the first pump 120. ρ denotes a density of the cooling liquid. D denotes a displacement of the first pump 120.” (Para 0055)
“The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be regulated by controlling the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump of the first pump 12. The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160 can be regulated by controlling the on-off state u.sub.fan of the fan of the first radiator 160 and the mass flow rate W.sub.w. The temperature T.sub.w,m of the cooling liquid at the cooling liquid inlet 111 of the fuel cell system 110 can be regulated by controlling the opening degree α of the first valve 130, the mass flow rate W.sub.w, and the temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160. Thus, T.sub.w,m can be regulated by controlling the control variable selected from the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, the fan on-off state u.sub.fan, and any combination thereof. It should be noted that if any one of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan is not selected as the control variable, this factor is set to a fixed value in the feedforward control.” (Para 0057)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
Li does not explicitly teach:
and a vehicle speed
Farnsworth, in the same field of endeavor of fuel cell vehicles, teaches:
and a vehicle speed
(Farnsworth) – “The speed sensor 106 may be any speed sensor capable of detecting data usable to determine a speed of the vehicle 100.” (Para 0033)
“The body of the vehicle 100 may include a grill 120 located at a front of the vehicle 100. The grill 120 may receive an airflow 122. The speed of the airflow 122 may directly correspond to the speed of the vehicle 100. For example, if a headwind of 5 miles per hour (mph) exists outside of the vehicle 100 and the vehicle is traveling at 50 mph then the speed of the airflow 122 will be approximately 55 mph.” (Para 0039)
“Referring briefly to FIGS. 1 and 2, one or more of the radiators 210 may further receive the airflow 122 received via the grill 120 of the vehicle 100. As mentioned above, the velocity of the airflow 122 corresponds to a speed of the vehicle 100. As the speed of the vehicle 100 increases, the velocity of the airflow 122 further increases, thus increasing the transfer of heat away from the fluid.” (Para 0049)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the thermal management method of Li with the methods for controlling a temperature of a fluid of Farnsworth. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “there is a need in the art for systems and methods for accurately controlling a temperature of a fuel cell stack use in a vehicle.” (Farnsworth Para 0005)
Claim 9
Li in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Li further teaches:
further comprising [filtering] the feedforward portion of the fuel cell radiator fan speed command [using a low pass filter].
(Li) – “performing a feedforward control of a fuel cell temperature of the fuel cell system by controlling the control variable” (Para 0013)
“Any one or a combination of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan can be adopted as the control variable. The feedforward control can be based on one, two, or all of the three control variables. The working conditions of the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel cell thermal management sub-system can be acquired in real time. The multi-environment integrative thermal management method can be performed on the basis of controlling the first pump, the first valve, and the first radiator of the fuel battery heat management sub-system. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc can be detected in real time and compared with the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2 to acquire the difference therebetween. Through the control algorithm in the feedback control on the basis of the temperature difference, the compensation amount can be obtained. The compensation can be made in the feedforward control for the control variable on the basis of the feedback control, to allow the temperature of the fuel cell system to reach the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2.” (Para 0017)
“The mass flow rate W.sub.w of the cooling liquid can be regulated by controlling the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump of the first pump 12. The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160 can be regulated by controlling the on-off state u.sub.fan of the fan of the first radiator 160 and the mass flow rate W.sub.w. The temperature T.sub.w,m of the cooling liquid at the cooling liquid inlet 111 of the fuel cell system 110 can be regulated by controlling the opening degree α of the first valve 130, the mass flow rate W.sub.w, and the temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160. Thus, T.sub.w,m can be regulated by controlling the control variable selected from the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, the fan on-off state u.sub.fan, and any combination thereof. It should be noted that if any one of the pump rotational speed n.sub.pump, the opening degree α, and the fan on-off state u.sub.fan is not selected as the control variable, this factor is set to a fixed value in the feedforward control.” (Para 0057)
Li does not explicitly teach:
filtering…using a low pass filter
Farnsworth, in the same field of endeavor of fuel cell vehicles, teaches:
filtering…using a low pass filter
(Farnsworth) – “The state mediator 304 may receive the unfiltered target fuel cell temperature 302. The state mediator 304 may filter the received signal and output a target fuel cell temperature 306. The state mediator 304 may filter the unfiltered target fuel cell temperature 302 for various reasons. For example, the filtering may remove noise on the signal, may act as a bandpass filter to ensure that the target fuel cell temperature 306 is within a safe temperature range, or the like.” (Para 0061)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the thermal management method of Li with the methods for controlling a temperature of a fluid of Farnsworth. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “there is a need in the art for systems and methods for accurately controlling a temperature of a fuel cell stack use in a vehicle.” (Farnsworth Para 0005)
Claim 12
Li in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 8 teach those respective limitations. Li further teaches:
further comprising: measuring a first coolant temperature;
(Li) – “The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160, which is substantially equal to the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system at the mixing point 142, can be regulated according to the equations (3) and (4).” (Para 0053)
Li does not explicitly teach:
calculating a brake resistor power command using a second coolant temperature;
calculating a brake resistor radiator fan speed command using a third coolant temperature;
controlling a brake resistor power using the brake resistor power command; and
controlling a brake resistor radiator fan speed using the brake resistor radiator fan speed command.
Park, in the same field of endeavor of fuel cell vehicles, teaches:
calculating a brake resistor power command using a second coolant temperature;
(Park) – “Referring to FIG. 2, a high-voltage connector 15-1 for connection with the electric motor 13 is formed at a side of the brake resistor 15, and a cooling water inlet 15-2 and a cooling water outlet 15-3 that are connected to a cooling water circulation line 20 is formed at another side of the brake resistor 15 to circulate cooling water through the brake resistor 15.” (Para 0013)
“a controller configured to control the brake resistor and the heater to be turned on and off on the basis of charged amount information of the battery so that a heating mode, a regenerative braking mode, a heating and regenerative braking mode, and a maximum regenerative braking mode are performed.” (Para 0026)
“Further, medium-temperature cooling water heated by the heater 30 flows to the brake resistor 15 through the first cooling water return line 22 by the operation of the electric water pump 42 and high-temperature cooling water that has cooled the brake resistor 15 flows into the radiator 18 for cooling.” (Para 0104)
calculating a brake resistor radiator fan speed command using a third coolant temperature;
(Park) – “Referring to FIG. 2, a high-voltage connector 15-1 for connection with the electric motor 13 is formed at a side of the brake resistor 15, and a cooling water inlet 15-2 and a cooling water outlet 15-3 that are connected to a cooling water circulation line 20 is formed at another side of the brake resistor 15 to circulate cooling water through the brake resistor 15.” (Para 0013)
“Further, medium-temperature cooling water heated by the heater 30 flows to the brake resistor 15 through the first cooling water return line 22 by the operation of the electric water pump 42 and high-temperature cooling water that has cooled the brake resistor 15 flows into the radiator 18 for cooling.” (Para 0104)
“The heater 30 is also used, other than the brake resistor 1, to convert the surplus electrical energy produced by the electric motor 13 into thermal energy in the above description. However, as shown in FIG. 5, it is possible to consume the surplus electrical energy produced by the electric motor 13 by sequentially operating an electric water pump 42, and an electric cooling fan 18-1 of a radiator 18 before operating the heater 30, thereby being able to secure an assistant braking force by continuous reverse torque of the electric motor 13.” (Para 0066)
“The brake resistor 15, heater 30, heater blower 32, electric water pump 42, etc. connected to each other by the cooling water circulation line so that cooling water can circulate are controlled to be turned on/off by the controller 50 on the basis of the charged amount information of the battery in interior hating and regenerative braking.” (Para 0073)
controlling a brake resistor power using the brake resistor power command; and
(Park) – “Referring to FIG. 2, a high-voltage connector 15-1 for connection with the electric motor 13 is formed at a side of the brake resistor 15, and a cooling water inlet 15-2 and a cooling water outlet 15-3 that are connected to a cooling water circulation line 20 is formed at another side of the brake resistor 15 to circulate cooling water through the brake resistor 15.” (Para 0013)
“a controller configured to control the brake resistor and the heater to be turned on and off on the basis of charged amount information of the battery so that a heating mode, a regenerative braking mode, a heating and regenerative braking mode, and a maximum regenerative braking mode are performed.” (Para 0026)
“Further, medium-temperature cooling water heated by the heater 30 flows to the brake resistor 15 through the first cooling water return line 22 by the operation of the electric water pump 42 and high-temperature cooling water that has cooled the brake resistor 15 flows into the radiator 18 for cooling.” (Para 0104)
controlling a brake resistor radiator fan speed using the brake resistor radiator fan speed command.
(Park) – “Further, medium-temperature cooling water heated by the heater 30 flows to the brake resistor 15 through the first cooling water return line 22 by the operation of the electric water pump 42 and high-temperature cooling water that has cooled the brake resistor 15 flows into the radiator 18 for cooling.” (Para 0104)
“The heater 30 is also used, other than the brake resistor 1, to convert the surplus electrical energy produced by the electric motor 13 into thermal energy in the above description. However, as shown in FIG. 5, it is possible to consume the surplus electrical energy produced by the electric motor 13 by sequentially operating an electric water pump 42, and an electric cooling fan 18-1 of a radiator 18 before operating the heater 30, thereby being able to secure an assistant braking force by continuous reverse torque of the electric motor 13.” (Para 0066)
“The brake resistor 15, heater 30, heater blower 32, electric water pump 42, etc. connected to each other by the cooling water circulation line so that cooling water can circulate are controlled to be turned on/off by the controller 50 on the basis of the charged amount information of the battery in interior hating and regenerative braking.” (Para 0073)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the thermal management method of Li with the control system of Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order “to obtain an interior heating effect by using thermal energy converted by the brake resistor and the heater as heat source for interior heating without discharging the thermal energy to the outside” (Park Abstract)
Claim 13
Li in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 12 teach those respective limitations. Li further teaches:
wherein the first coolant temperature is associated with a first coolant and
(Li) – “The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160, which is substantially equal to the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system at the mixing point 142, can be regulated according to the equations (3) and (4).” (Para 0053)
Li does not explicitly teach:
the second coolant temperature and the third coolant temperature are associated with a second coolant.
Park, in the same field of endeavor of fuel cell vehicles, teaches:
the second coolant temperature and the third coolant temperature are associated with a second coolant.
(Park) – “Referring to FIG. 2, a high-voltage connector 15-1 for connection with the electric motor 13 is formed at a side of the brake resistor 15, and a cooling water inlet 15-2 and a cooling water outlet 15-3 that are connected to a cooling water circulation line 20 is formed at another side of the brake resistor 15 to circulate cooling water through the brake resistor 15.” (Para 0013)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the thermal management method of Li with the control system of Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order “to obtain an interior heating effect by using thermal energy converted by the brake resistor and the heater as heat source for interior heating without discharging the thermal energy to the outside” (Park Abstract)
Claim 14
Li in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 12 teach those respective limitations. Li further teaches:
wherein the first coolant temperature is measured at an outlet of a fuel cell radiator,
(Li) – “The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160, which is substantially equal to the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system at the mixing point 142, can be regulated according to the equations (3) and (4).” (Para 0053)
Li does not explicitly teach:
the second coolant temperature is measured at an outlet of a brake resistor, and the third coolant temperature is measured at a pump inlet.
Park, in the same field of endeavor of fuel cell vehicles, teaches:
the second coolant temperature is measured at an outlet of a brake resistor, and the third coolant temperature is measured at a pump inlet.
(Park) – “Referring to FIG. 2, a high-voltage connector 15-1 for connection with the electric motor 13 is formed at a side of the brake resistor 15, and a cooling water inlet 15-2 and a cooling water outlet 15-3 that are connected to a cooling water circulation line 20 is formed at another side of the brake resistor 15 to circulate cooling water through the brake resistor 15.” (Para 0013)
“Further, medium-temperature cooling water heated by the heater 30 flows to the brake resistor 15 through the first cooling water return line 22 by the operation of the electric water pump 42 and high-temperature cooling water that has cooled the brake resistor 15 flows into the radiator 18 for cooling.” (Para 0104)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the thermal management method of Li with the control system of Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order “to obtain an interior heating effect by using thermal energy converted by the brake resistor and the heater as heat source for interior heating without discharging the thermal energy to the outside” (Park Abstract)
Claim 15
Li in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 12 teach those respective limitations. Li further teaches:
wherein a proportional-integral-derivative (PID) control action is used to calculate [the brake resistor power command and the brake resistor radiator fan speed command].
(Li) – “The fuel cell temperature can be accurately regulated via the feedback control according to the difference between the current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc and the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2. The control algorithm of the feedback control can be the PID control algorithm, the robust predictive control algorithm, the H.sub.∞ algorithm, or the like.” (Para 0069)
“Under the initial feedforward control by controlling the control variable, the fuel cell temperature of the fuel cell system 110 can be regulated to be approximate to the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc, i.e., an actual value, can be detected in real time. The current fuel cell temperature T.sub.fc can be compared with the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2 to acquire the difference therebetween. Through the control algorithm in the feedback control on the basis of the temperature difference, the compensation amount can be obtained. The compensation amount can be directly a compensating value of the control variable or can be a temperature value, from which a compensating value of the control variable can be obtained. That is, the compensation can be made in the feedforward control for the control variable on the basis of the feedback control, to allow the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 to reach the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2. Therefore, by using the multi-environment integrative thermal management method, the temperature of the fuel cell system 110 can be maintained in a suitable range around the target fuel cell temperature T.sub.2, ensuring the stability and the accuracy of the temperature control.” (Para 0045)
“The temperature T.sub.w,rad,out of the cooling liquid at the output end of the first radiator 160, which is substantially equal to the temperature of the cooling liquid in the major circulating system at the mixing point 142, can be regulated according to the equations (3) and (4).” (Para 0053)
Li does not explicitly teach:
the brake resistor power command and the brake resistor radiator fan speed command
Park, in the same field of endeavor of fuel cell vehicles, teaches:
the brake resistor power command and the brake resistor radiator fan speed command
(Park) – “Further, medium-temperature cooling water heated by the heater 30 flows to the brake resistor 15 through the first cooling water return line 22 by the operation of the electric water pump 42 and high-temperature cooling water that has cooled the brake resistor 15 flows into the radiator 18 for cooling.” (Para 0104)
“The heater 30 is also used, other than the brake resistor 1, to convert the surplus electrical energy produced by the electric motor 13 into thermal energy in the above description. However, as shown in FIG. 5, it is possible to consume the surplus electrical energy produced by the electric motor 13 by sequentially operating an electric water pump 42, and an electric cooling fan 18-1 of a radiator 18 before operating the heater 30, thereby being able to secure an assistant braking force by continuous reverse torque of the electric motor 13.” (Para 0066)
“The brake resistor 15, heater 30, heater blower 32, electric water pump 42, etc. connected to each other by the cooling water circulation line so that cooling water can circulate are controlled to be turned on/off by the controller 50 on the basis of the charged amount information of the battery in interior hating and regenerative braking.” (Para 0073)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the thermal management method of Li with the control system of Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order “to obtain an interior heating effect by using thermal energy converted by the brake resistor and the heater as heat source for interior heating without discharging the thermal energy to the outside” (Park Abstract)
Claim 27
Rejected based on the same rationale as Claim 8
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections mailed 03/30/2026 have been considered but are not convincing.
Specifically, regarding Claim 1, Applicant argues:
“The Final Office Action concedes that Li does not teach use of the first error value as claimed, and cites Folick for this deficiency (Office Action, page 12.) However, even if the Office uses Folick merely to show that calculating a local error value at a radiator is a known concept, grafting that "first error value" into Li's system does not result in the invention recited in independent claim 1. Li uses the fuel cell stack temperature error (Tfc -T2) to drive its feedback compensation. The modified Li system proposed in the Final Office Action would still fail to teach calculating the feedback portion of the fan speed command using the first error value derived from the radiator outlet.
Stated another way, even if the Office's hindsight combination of Li and Folick is permissible (which Applicant does not concede), the resulting hybrid system still fails to disclose each and every element of claim 1. Li's core architecture acquires a compensation amount based on the difference between the current fuel cell temperature (Tfc) and the target fuel cell temperature (T2). Folick's generic disclosure of an error signal provides no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to fundamentally change Li's feedback loop to be driven by a local radiator outlet temperature error rather than the fuel cell stack temperature error, nor can such be found in Li itself or any other of the cited references. Thus, Folick does not cure the deficiencies of Li identified by the Office in the Final Office Action. For this reason alone, this rejection should be withdrawn.”
However, this is unconvincing. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Examiner recited the motivation to combine the references using teachings directly quoted from Folick (Para 0005). Applicant fails to refute this motivation or indeed acknowledge its existence. As such, Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Applicant further argues:
“Yet further, in light of the amendment to independent claim 1 set forth herein, Applicant notes that method 1500 of Folick produces as single feedforward output, not a sum. Accordingly, Folick does not disclose or contemplate, alone or in combination, "wherein calculating the fuel cell radiator fan speed command comprises adding the feedforward portion and the feedback portion" as recited in amended independent claim 1 (and as similarly recited in new independent claim 21). None of the other cited references, alone or in combination, remedy this deficiency of Folick. More specifically, the proposed Li + Park + Folick combination does not disclose or contemplate such an approach in connection with controlling a fan. Withdrawal of this rejection is respectfully requested.”
However, this is unconvincing. Folick, indeed does teach “calculating the fuel cell radiator fan speed command comprises adding the feedforward portion and the feedback portion” as clearly recited in Folick Para 0067. The combination is obvious based on the recited rationale.
Furthermore, Applicant alleges that the rejection is based upon impermissible hindsight.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). At no point was the Applicant’s disclosure referenced in providing rationale for the combination of references.
Furthermore, the arguments in relation to the alleged hindsight reasoning are directed exclusively to the Folick reference and only makes passing reference to the other references. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Furthermore, still yet in relation to the alleged hindsight reasoning, Applicant presents arguments which apparently ignore the teachings of Folick. For example, Applicant alleges “As can be seen, because Folick's feedback loop merely updates a variable used inside the feedforward equation, Folick completely recalculates a new overall feedforward command. Put simply, Folick never calculates a feedback command for a fan. Moreover, with respect to the actual control of a fan actuator, Folick does not disclose calculating a discrete feedback fan speed command (let alone combining such command with a feedforward fan speed command).” (underlining is original to arguments). This is demonstrably untrue as is clearly evidenced in at least Folick Paras 0067, 0173.
Furthermore, still yet in relation to the alleged hindsight reasoning, Applicant bases large portions of the argument on objections to the applicability of Fig. 13 and 14 related to a three way valve and pump and their alleged exclusive equivalence to method 1200. This is demonstrably false. Method 1200 is explicitly presented in relation to Figs. 12A & B. Figs. 13 & 14 are subsequently presented as examples of using a method similar to method 1200 in the context of those optional actuator configurations. No cited paragraphs in the rejection are in relation to either Figs. 13 & 14. Throughout the disclosure of Folick, it is repeated that the “actuator control” is intended to be used in multiple contexts including fan speed control (see at least Folick 0067).
Furthermore, Applicant alleges:
“In addition to the hindsight issue, Folick expressly teaches away from a combination with a system such as Li. Folick cannot cure Li's failure to calculate a feedback portion for a fan because Folick expressly teaches away from using feedback control for a fan. As discussed above, one of ordinary skill in the art looking to Folick for fan control would be directed to method 1500, which explicitly states the ECU determines the actuator control signal in a purely feedforward control. Generating a feedback control signal for a fan would require impermissibly destroying Folick's dedicated fan control architecture (method 1500) and replacing it with the valve control architecture (method 1200). Nothing in Folick teaches or suggests such an approach, or that there would be any expectation of success in doing so.”
However, this repeats the false assertions regarding Folick presented in relation to the alleged hindsight reasoning and is unpersuasive for similar reasons.
Furthermore, regarding Claim 6, Applicant alleges:
“For example, with respect to claim 6, the Final Office Action alleges that Li discloses "calculating, by the microprocessor, a fuel cell radiator temperature differential by calculating a difference between a fuel cell radiator inlet coolant temperature target value and the ambient temperature" as recited in claim 6 (Final Office Action, pp. 18-19). However, the cited portion of Li (para 0054) is reproduced in full below:… As seen above, Li merely discloses using the ambient temperature (Tartn) in Equation (4) to calculate a temperature decrease (AT) caused by the radiator fan. Li's Equation (4) relies on the variable Tw,radjn, which Li expressly defines as the actual temperature of the cooling liquid at the input end of the radiator, rather than a predetermined target value. Therefore, Li lacks a calculation determining a differential between a target setpoint and ambient temperature, and thus does not disclose or contemplate the recited elements of claim 6. None of the other cited references, alone or in combination, cure this deficiency of Li. Withdrawal of this rejection is respectfully requested.”
However, this is unconvincing. Specifically, applicant explicitly states that “the cited portion of Li (para 0054) is reproduced in full below,” however this is in fact only half of the recited passages and completely ignores Para 0016 which is not unrelated to the rejection. More particularly, Applicant’s argument hinges upon an alleged lack of teaching of “a predetermined target value.” This recitation is more specific than the claimed “a fuel cell radiator inlet coolant temperature target value” which may correspond with any fuel cell radiator inlet coolant temperature when interpreted per BRI. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “a predetermined target value”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Furthermore, regarding Claim 12, Applicant alleges:
“However, Park's regenerative braking control system operates a brake resistor and heater based on the "charged amount information of the battery" (i.e., State of Charge or SOC) (Park, para. 0026)6. Park teaches turning the brake resistor on or off to consume surplus electrical energy when the battery is fully charged. Thus, for example, Park does not teach calculating a "brake resistor power command" based on a measured "second coolant temperature," or calculating a "brake resistor radiator fan speed" based on a measured "third coolant temperature," as required by Claim 12, and the portions of Park cited for these propositions (at least paras. 0013, 0026, 0064, 0066, 0073, 0104) are actually silent regarding any such elements. None of the other cited references, alone or in combination, cure these deficiencies of Park. Withdrawal of this rejection is respectfully requested.”
However, this is unconvincing. Applicant merely alleges that Park does not teach elements which have specific teaching recited therefor. Instead, Applicant generically states that “the portions of Park cited for these propositions (at least paras. 0013, 0026, 0064, 0066, 0073, 0104) are actually silent regarding any such elements” without providing any reasoning for why the recited paragraphs should not apply. It is demonstrably untrue that Park is “silent” to these features given the plurality of passages presented therefor.
Therefore, all outstanding claims remain rejected over the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kwon (US20180114998) teaches a thermal management system for a fuel cell vehicle.
Riley (US20180019485) teaches a cooling system for cooling the fuel cell stack.
/DAVID RUBEN PEDERSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3658