Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (US 2019/0057882).
As to claim 1, Kim et al disclose a nozzle assembly comprising:
A body with internal surface forming an internal cavity within the body
A gas inlet
A fluid inlet
A mixing chamber disposed within the internal cavity of the body, wherein the mixing chamber comprising:
A mixing body region
Gas port connecting the gas inlet
A fluid port in fluid communication with fluid inlet
An outlet port
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-9 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US ‘882) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kay et al (US 2001/0042508).
As to claim 2, Kim et al fail to teach a cap securing the mixing chamber partially within the body.
However, Kay et al disclose a cap (4, figure 2) to secure the nozzle to the mixing chamber.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a cap taught by Kay et al, into Kim et al’s nozzle for securing the nozzle assembly to the mixing body.
As to claim 3, Kim et al in view of Kay et al fail to teach the cap comprising threaded region and seals. However, since Kay et al disclose a screw and nut for tightening, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the tightening or securing method depending on the design choice.
As to claim 4, Kim et al in view of Kay et al fail to disclose the rinse ports and rinse nozzles. However, it is not clearly understood from the specification the functioning of these rinse ports and nozzles. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation that these are additional outlets. Therefore, it would have been obvious to create additional ports and nozzles, since it is merely a design choice of increasing the number of ports or nozzles for additional flow purposes.
As to claims 5-8, Kim et al disclose gas ports capable of producing swirling effects, entry body and exit body (figure 2). Kim et al in view of Kay et al fail to disclose further seals and more than one gas ports. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include additional seals and gas ports depending on the design choice, i.e. the more ports would require the more seals.
As to claims 18 and 19, Kim et al in view of Kay et al disclose:
A body with internal surface forming an internal cavity within the body
A gas inlet
A fluid inlet
A mixing chamber disposed within the internal cavity of the body, wherein the mixing chamber comprising:
A mixing body region
Gas port connecting the gas inlet
A fluid port in fluid communication with fluid inlet
An outlet port
Kim et al in view of Kay et al fail to teach the cap comprising threaded region and seals. However, since Kay et al disclose a screw and nut for tightening, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the tightening or securing method depending on the design choice.
Furthermore, Kim et al in view of Kay et al fail to disclose the rinse ports and rinse nozzles. However, it is not clearly understood from the specification the functioning of these rinse ports and nozzles. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation that these are additional outlets. Therefore, it would have been obvious to create additional ports and nozzles, since it is merely a design choice of increasing the number of ports or nozzles for additional flow purposes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Kim fails to teach “A body having an internal surface forming an internal cavity within the body; and a mixing chamber disposed within the internal cavity of the body, such that an annular gap is formed between the internal surface of the internal cavity and the exterior surface of the mixing chamber.” The examiner respectfully disagrees. The annotated figure below is to show the examiner’s interpretation as to the internal surface of the internal cavity to meet the claimed limitation.
As to applicant’s argument that it is not obvious to include the cap of Kay to improve the design of Kim. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Kim et al in view of Kay et al fail to teach the cap comprising threaded region and seals. However, since Kay et al disclose a screw and nut for tightening, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the tightening or securing method depending on the design choice.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763