DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . If status of the application as subject to 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-27 & 29 are pending in the application and are presently examined. Claims 1-30 were rejected in the 4/21/2026 office action. Applicant cancelled claims 28 & 30.
Response to Amendment / Arguments
The 6/12/2026 amendment, in response to the 4/21/2026 office action, has been entered. Applicant’s claim amendments overcame the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections; nevertheless, the claims remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 due to additional prior art.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities. Claim 17 depends from claim 16. The following were introduced in claim 16: “a thickness H”, “a single-sided negative electrode film layer”, and “a volume average particle size Dv50”. Examiner suggests the following amendment to claim 17 for proper antecedent basis:
“the thickness H of the single-sided negative electrode film layer satisfies ≥60μm; the volume average particle size Dv50 of the negative electrode active material satisfies ≤18μm”
Claim Interpretation
Claim 18 recites a “compaction density”. This term is Examined according to its definition in the present specification, paragraph 134.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor(s) regard as the invention. Claim 21 states “A powered device, comprising… the battery pack according to claim 21”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the battery pack”, and it is unclear how claim 21 comprises the battery pack of claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d), as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Dependent claim 4 improperly attempts to broaden the subject matter of independent claim 1. Claim 4 presents Compound 1-5 with R1=C1 alkyl for the first organic solvent. Claim 4 Compound 1-5, with R1=C1 alkyl, contradicts the requirements of claim 1 for R1 (R1 is C3 alkyl, C1 haloalkyl, or C3 haloalkyl in claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
The claims are in bold font, the prior art is in parentheses.
Claims 1-5, 13-15, 19, & 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN111129498A machine translation (Wang) in view of US20200136187A1 (Juzkow).
Wang teaches the following claim 1 limitations:
An electrolyte solution (claim 6, page 2), comprising an organic solvent and an additive…
the additive comprises a first additive selected from one or more of compounds represented by Formula 2A and Formula 2B,
Formula 2A, and Formula 2B,
in Formula 2A, R21, R22, R23 and R24 are each independently one of a single bond and methylene,
in Formula 2B, R31, R32, R33 and R34 are each independently one of a single bond and methylene, and
R4 is one of a single bond, -O-, C1-C3 alkylene, C1-C3 haloalkylene, and C1-C3 oxaalkylene.
(claim 7, page 2: Wang 1-4, R21-R24 are single bonds)
Claim 1 also states:
the organic solvent comprises a first organic solvent shown in Formula 1,
in Formula 1, R1 is selected from one of C3 alkyl, C1 haloalkyl, or C3 haloalkyl, R2 is selected from one of C1-C3 alkyl and C1-C3 haloalkyl
Wang teaches methyl propionate (claim 8, pages 2-3), which has R1=C2 alkyl and R2=C1 alkyl in presently-claimed Formula 1. Thus, Wang fails to meet the claimed requirement for R1.
Juzkow is directed to an organic solvent mixture, for a lithium-ion cell electrolyte, for reduced viscosity and low flammability (abstract; paragraphs 3-8). Juzkow’s organic solvent can include methyl fluoroacetate (Table 1; claims 6 & 16), which is the same as Formula 1 with R1=C1 haloalkyl and R2=C1 alkyl. It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, to replace Wang’s methyl propionate with methyl fluoroacetate, as taught by Juzkow, as part of an electrolyte with reduced viscosity and low flammability.
With regard to claim 2, modified Wang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Wang fails to teach the following claim 2 limitation, which is taught by Juzkow:
R1 is selected from one of propyl, fluoromethyl, and fluoropropyl, R2 is selected from one of methyl, ethyl, propyl, fluoromethyl, fluoroethyl, and fluoropropyl (Table 1; claims 6 & 16: methyl fluoroacetate has R1=fluoromethyl & R2=methyl)
With regard to claim 3, modified Wang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Claim 3 further defines Formula 2B, which is an alternative to Formula 2A. Wang teaches Formula 2A, so Wang doesn’t need to teach Formula 2B.
With regard to claim 4, modified Wang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Wang fails to teach the following claim 4 limitation, which is taught by Juzkow:
the first organic solvent is…
Compound 1-6
As discussed under claim 1 above, Juzkow teaches methyl fluoroacetate (Table 1; claims 6 & 16), which is the same as Compound 1-6 in claim 4.
With regard to claim 5, modified Wang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Wang also teaches the following claim 5 limitation:
the first additive is selected from one or more of the following compounds:
Compound 2-1…
(claim 7, page 2: Wang 1-4, R21-R24 are single bonds)
With regard to claim 13, modified Wang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Wang also teaches the following claim 13 limitation:
the electrolyte solution further comprises a lithium salt, and the lithium salt comprises one or more of… LiPF6 (paragraph 229)
With regard to claim 14, modified Wang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Wang also teaches the following claim 14 limitation:
a conductivity of the electrolyte solution satisfies ≥ 12mS/cm
Wang fails to teach a conductivity value; however, Wang teaches the claimed electrolyte, so Wang’s electrolyte is expected to have the claimed conductivity value.
With regard to claim 15, modified Wang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Wang also teaches the following claim 14 limitation:
A secondary battery (paragraph 312), comprising the electrolyte solution according to claim 1 (see discussion under claim 1).
With regard to claim 19, modified Wang teaches the limitations of claims 1 & 15 as noted above. Wang also teaches the following claim 19 limitations:
the secondary battery comprises a positive electrode sheet, the positive electrode sheet comprises a positive electrode active material, and the positive electrode active material comprises one or more of lithium transition metal oxides (paragraphs 237 & 240)…
With regard to claim 23, modified Wang teaches the limitations of claims 1 & 2 as noted above. Wang fails to teach the following claim 23 limitation, which is taught by Juzkow:
R1 of Formula I is… fluoromethyl… (Table 1; claims 6 & 16: methyl fluoroacetate. R1=fluoromethyl.)
Claims 6 & 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN111129498A machine translation (Wang) in view of US20200136187A1 (Juzkow), with regard to claim 1, and further in view of US20210119261A1 (Sakata). Wang fails to teach the following limitations of claims 6 & 10-12, which are taught by Sakata:
Claim 6
based on a total mass of the organic solvent, a mass percentage w1 of the first organic solvent is in a range of 20% to 80% (page 7, Table 2, paragraph 87: A26 has 70 wt% g-butyrolactone (GBL) & 30 wt% methyl propionate (MP))
Claim 10
the organic solvent further comprises a second organic solvent, the second organic solvent comprises one or more of a cyclic carbonate compound and a chain carbonate compound (page 7, Table 2, paragraph 87: A22 ethylene carbonate (EC) & methyl propionate (MP))
Claim 11
the organic solvent further comprises a second organic solvent, and the second organic solvent comprises one or more of ethylene carbonate… (page 7, Table 2, paragraph 87: A22 ethylene carbonate (EC) & methyl propionate (MP))
Claim 12
based on a total mass of the organic solvent, a mass percentage w4 of the cyclic carbonate compound is in a range of 20% to 80% (page 7, Table 2, paragraph 87: A22 has 70 wt% g-butyrolactone (GBL), 20 wt% ethylene carbonate (EC), & 5 wt% methyl propionate (MP))
Sakata is directed to an electrochemical device with suppressed decline in a float property and low direct current resistance (DCR) (paragraphs 6 & 17). Trials A22 & A26 have improved DCR and float property (paragraphs 96). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for Wang’s organic solvent to have 30 wt% methyl propionate (A26), or 20 wt% ethylene carbonate and 5 wt% methyl propionate (A22), as taught by Sakata, as part of an electrochemical device with improved DCR and float property.
Sakata teaches methyl propionate, but Juzkow teaches methyl fluoroacetate (Table 1; claims 6 & 16), as discussed under claim 1 above. It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to substitute Sakata’s methyl propionate with Juzkow’s methyl fluoroacetate for the reasons discussed under claim 1.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN111129498A machine translation (Wang) in view of US20200136187A1 (Juzkow), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of KR20180119842A machine translation (Bang). Wang fails to teach the following limitations of claims 7-9, which are taught by Bang:
Claim 7
based on a total mass of the electrolyte solution, a mass percentage w2 of the first additive is in a range of 0.1 % to 10% (claim 1: formula 1; claim 5: 0.1 to 10 wt% formula 1)
Claim 8
the additive further comprises a second additive, and the second additive comprises one or more of… sulfate compounds (claim 1: formula 2)
Claim 9
based on a total mass of the electrolyte solution, a mass percentage w3 of the second additive is ≤ 10% (claim 5: 0.05 to 10 wt% formula 2)
Bang’s formula 1 is the same as Wang’s formula 1-4, and is equivalent to the claimed first additive. Bang’s formulas 1 & 2 are the following:
formula 1 formula 2
Bang is directed to a secondary battery electrolyte with stable high temperature characteristics (abstract). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for Wang’s electrolyte to include 0.1 to 10 wt% formula 1 and 0.05 to 10 wt% formula 2, as taught by Bang, for a secondary battery electrolyte with stable high temperature characteristics.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN111129498A machine translation (Wang) in view of US20200136187A1 (Juzkow), as applied to claims 1 & 15, and further in view of US20210203006A1 (Omori). Wang fails to teach the following limitations of claims 16-17, which are taught by Omori.
Claim 16 recites:
the secondary battery comprises a negative electrode sheet, and the negative electrode sheet comprises a negative electrode current collector and a negative electrode film layer provided on at least one surface of the negative electrode current collector and comprising a negative electrode active material, a ratio H/Dv50 of a thickness H of a single-sided negative electrode film layer to a volume average particle size Dv50 of the negative electrode active material satisfies ≥3
Omori teaches 10 nm (0.01 μm) anode active material average particle size (paragraph 33) and 0.3 μm to 1000 μm anode active material layer thickness (paragraph 52). 0.3/0.01=30 & 1000/0.01=100,000, both of which are > 3.
Claim 17 recites:
a thickness H of a single-sided negative electrode film layer satisfies ≥60μm; a volume average particle size Dv50 of the negative electrode active material satisfies ≤18μm
Omori teaches 0.3 μm to 1000 μm anode active material layer thickness (paragraph 52). Omori’s 0.3 μm to 1000 μm range overlaps the claimed ≥60μm range. MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A) provides the law for this issue:
“In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)”
Given that Omori’s range is similar to and substantially overlaps the claimed range, and further given the fact that no criticality is disclosed for the claimed range, the thickness range in claim 17 is an obvious variant of Omori’s range.
Omori also teaches 10 nm (0.01 μm) anode active material average particle size (paragraph 33), which falls within the claimed ≤18μm range.
Omori is directed to a battery capable of reducing a confining pressure (abstract). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for Wang’s battery to have a negative electrode with the size and thickness ranges taught by Omori, for a secondary battery capable of reducing a confining pressure.
Claims 18 & 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN111129498A machine translation (Wang) in view of US20200136187A1 (Juzkow), and US20210203006A1 (Omori) as applied to claims 1 & 15-16, and further in view of US20210210763A1 (Li). Wang fails to teach the following limitations of claim 18 & 20-21, which are taught by Li.
Wang fails to teach the following teaches the following claim 18 limitation, which is taught by Li:
a compaction density of the negative electrode film layer is 1.4g/cm3 to 1.85g/cm3 (paragraph 198: negative electrode plate compaction density is 1.6 g/cm3)
Li is directed to an electrochemical device with increased energy density (paragraphs 6-8 & 10). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for Wang’s battery to have a negative electrode with 1.6 g/cm3 compaction density, as taught by Li, for an electrochemical device with increased energy density.
Wang fails to teach the following limitations of claims 20-21, which are taught by Li (paragraph 156):
20. A battery module, comprising the secondary battery according to claim 15.
21. A powered device, comprising at least one of the secondary batteries according to claim 15.
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use Wang’s battery in a module, in a pack, and for powering a device, in order to find a practical use for the battery.
Claims 22 & 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over CN111129498A machine translation (Wang) in view of US20200136187A1 (Juzkow), with regard to claim 1, and further in view of US20200313237A1 (Hu). Wang fails to teach the following limitations of claims 22 & 24, which are taught by Hu:
Claim 22
the first additive comprises a compound represented by Formula 2B, in Formula 2B, R4 is… C1-C3 oxaalkylene
Claim 24
first additive selected from…
Hu is directed to an electrolyte for battery high-temperature storage & cycle performance (abstract). Hu’s electrolyte can include the following Compound 13 (paragraph 41), which is equivalent to the first additive of claims 22 & 24:
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for Wang’s electrolyte to include Hu’s Compound 13, for an electrolyte for battery high-temperature storage & cycle performance.
Claims 25 & 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN111129498A machine translation (Wang) in view of US20200136187A1 (Juzkow), US20210119261A1 (Sakata), and KR20180119842A machine translation (Bang).
Wang teaches the following claim 25 limitations:
An electrolyte solution (claim 6, page 2), comprising…
a first additive selected from…
(claim 6, page 2: In the formula below, L at the top can be single bonds, L at the bottom can be methylene, and W is shown below with p=0)
W=
Wang fails to teach the following claim 25 limitation, which is taught by Bang:
based on a total mass of the electrolyte solution, a mass percentage w2 of the first additive is in a range of 0.1% to 10% (claim 1: formula 1; claim 5: 0.1 to 10 wt% formula 1)
Bang’s formula 1 is similar Wang’s claim 6 formula and claimed Compound 2-4. Bang is directed to a secondary battery electrolyte with stable high temperature characteristics (abstract). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for Wang’s electrolyte to include Wang’s claim 6 chemical at a 0.1 wt% to 10 wt% concentration as taught by Bang, for a secondary battery electrolyte with stable high temperature characteristics.
Claim 25 also states:
the first organic solvent is…
Compound 1-6
Wang teaches methyl propionate (claim 8, pages 2-3), which is different from Compound 1-6.
Juzkow is directed to an organic solvent mixture, for a lithium-ion cell electrolyte, for reduced viscosity and low flammability (abstract; paragraphs 3-8). Juzkow’s organic solvent can include methyl fluoroacetate (Table 1; claims 6 & 16), which is the same as Compound 1-6 with R1=C1 haloalkyl and R2=C1 alkyl. It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, to replace Wang’s methyl propionate with methyl fluoroacetate, as taught by Juzkow, as part of an electrolyte with reduced viscosity and low flammability.
Wang fails to teach the following limitations of claim 25, which are taught by Sakata:
the second organic solvent comprises a cyclic carbonate compound, the cyclic carbonate compound comprises… ethylene carbonate… a mass percentage w4 of the cyclic carbonate compound is in a range of 20% to 80% (page 7, Table 2, paragraph 87: A22 has 20 wt% ethylene carbonate (EC))
Wang also fails to teach the following limitation of claim 25, which is taught by Sakata:
a mass percentage w1 of the first organic solvent is in a range of 20% to 80% (page 7, Table 2, paragraph 87: A26 has 70 wt% g-butyrolactone (GBL) & 30 wt% methyl propionate (MP))
Sakata is directed to an electrochemical device with suppressed decline in a float property and low direct current resistance (DCR) (paragraphs 6 & 17). Trials A22 & A26 have improved DCR and float property (paragraphs 96). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for Wang’s organic solvent to have 30 wt% methyl propionate (A26) and 20 wt% ethylene carbonate, as taught by Sakata, as part of an electrochemical device with improved DCR and float property.
Sakata teaches methyl propionate, but Juzkow teaches methyl fluoroacetate, as discussed above. It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to substitute Sakata’s methyl propionate with Juzkow’s methyl fluoroacetate, as part of an electrolyte with reduced viscosity and low flammability.
With regard to claim 29, modified Wang teaches the limitations of claim 25 as noted above. Wang also teaches the following claim 29 limitation:
the additive further comprises a second additive, and the second additive comprises… sultone compounds (paragraph 235: propane sultone, propene sultone) based on a total mass of the electrolyte solution, a mass percentage w3 of the second additive is ≤10% (paragraph 235: less than 5 wt%)
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN111129498A machine translation (Wang) in view of US20200136187A1 (Juzkow), US20210119261A1 (Sakata), and KR20180119842A machine translation (Bang), with regard to claim 25, and further in view of US20150171476A1 (Onozaki).
Wang teaches the following claim 26 limitation (Claim 6, page 2: See details under claim 25 above):
the second organic solvent further comprises a chain carbonate compound, the chain carbonate compound comprises… diethyl carbonate… (paragraphs 198-201: diethyl carbonate)
Claim 26 also states:
the mass percentage w4 of the cyclic carbonate compound is in a range of 20% to 30%, a mass percentage of the chain carbonate compound is in a range of 10% to 50%
Wang teaches 1 wt% to 60 wt% chained carboxylic acid ester and cyclic carboxylic acid esters (paragraph 210). Wang fails to teach a relative amount of the different types of solvent.
Onozaki provides added guidance. Onozaki is directed to an electrolyte with a chain carbonate compound and a cyclic carboxylic acid ester for excellent battery stability and to prevent thermal runaway (abstract). Onozaki teaches 4 to 60 mass% cyclic carboxylic acid ester and ≤ 30 mass% chain carboxylic acid ester (paragraph 9). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for Wang’s solvent to have 4 to 60 mass% cyclic carboxylic acid ester and ≤ 30 mass% chain carboxylic acid ester, as taught by Onozaki, for excellent battery stability and to prevent thermal runaway.
Wang’s 4% to 60% and ≤ 30% ranges overlap the claimed 20% to 30% and 10% to 50%, respectively. MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A) provides the law for this issue:
“In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)”
Given that Onozaki’s ranges are similar to and substantially overlap the claimed ranges, and further given the fact that no criticality is disclosed for the claimed ranges, the ranges in claim 26 are obvious variants of Onozaki’s ranges.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over CN111129498A machine translation (Wang) in view of US20200136187A1 (Juzkow), US20210119261A1 (Sakata), and KR20180119842A machine translation (Bang), with regard to claim 25, and further in view of US20200313237A1 (Hu). Wang fails to teach the following limitation of claim 27, which is taught by Hu:
the first additive selected from…
Hu is directed to an electrolyte for battery high-temperature storage & cycle performance (abstract). Hu’s electrolyte can include the following Compound 13 (paragraph 41), which is equivalent to Compound 2-6 of claim 27:
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for Wang’s electrolyte to include Hu’s Compound 13, for an electrolyte for battery high-temperature storage & cycle performance.
Conclusion
Prior art not relied upon, but made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US20150333373A1 (Ho) teaches methyl fluoroacetate in a battery electrolyte (Tables 1 & 2). This is the same as Compound 1-6 in claim 4.
US20240014444A1 (Chen): Chen’s organic solvent can be propyl butyrate (paragraph 19) for a battery with high temperature storage performance and cycle performance (paragraphs 4-6). This is the same as presently-claimed Formula 1 with R1=C3 alkyl and R2=C3 alkyl.
/R.G.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1721