DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim of domestic priority to PCT/CN2021/116735 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS)’s submitted on 05/24/2023, 09/08/2023, 1/10/2024, 05/06/2024, 08/12/2024, 11/12/2024, 04/01/2025, 09/26/2025, and 01/22/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6 and 16 recite the limitation "one terminal of the in Lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2 and 12 introduce a charging apparatus; however, Claims 6 and 16 are not dependent on said claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8-11, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN. Pat. No. 212587580 U) in view of Yamamoto et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20140358352 A1) as further evidenced by Gross (U.S. Pat. No. 20140287293 A1).
[AltContent: textbox (Wang et al. (Fig. 3))]
Regarding Claim 1, Wang et al. discloses a battery heating apparatus (battery oscillating heating circuit, para. 8) configured to be connected to a vehicle battery (para. 82) and heat the vehicle battery, the battery heating apparatus comprising:
a heating module comprising a first leg (second phase bridge arm 106), a second leg (first phase bridge arm 105) (para. 50-54), and an energy storage element (inductor L, para. 18) (Figs. 2-3); and
a control module configured to control the first leg and the second leg (para. 52) to form a loop via which the vehicle battery discharges to the energy storage element and a loop via which the energy storage element charges the vehicle battery (para. 67 teaches a first heating loop in which the battery is in a discharge state and a second heating loop in which the battery is in a charging state; and the battery and inductance are cyclically charged and discharged to heat the battery cells), so as to heat the vehicle
[AltContent: textbox (Wang et al. (Fig. 2))]battery during discharge and charge (para. 67).
Wang et al. does not teach that the vehicle battery is a traction battery.
Yamamoto et al. teaches a vehicle battery in which is a traction battery that is connected to a drive circuit of a motor and configured to supply power to the drive circuit ([0007]). Further, it is well known in the field of endeavor that a battery heating apparatus can be used in traction batteries for temperature control as further evident by Gross (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle battery of Wang et al. to more specifically include a traction battery that is connected to a drive circuit of a motor and configured to supply power to the drive circuit as taught by Yamamoto et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification to provide the traction battery of a vehicle with improved temperature control as further evident by Gross as described above. Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._,_, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 - 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
Regarding Claim 3, Wang et al. is modified by Yamamoto et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Wang et al. teaches that a first terminal of the first leg (second phase bridge arm 106), a first terminal of the second leg (first phase bridge arm 105), and a first terminal of the traction battery are connected, and a second terminal of the first leg, a second terminal of the second leg, and a second terminal of the traction battery are connected (see annotated Figs. 2-3); and the first leg comprises a first sub-leg (upper bridge arm Q3) and a second sub-leg (lower bridge arm Q4), the second leg comprises a third sub-leg (upper bridge arm Q1) and a fourth sub-leg (lower bridge arm Q2), a first terminal of the energy storage element is connected between the first sub-leg and the second sub-leg, and a second terminal of the energy storage element is connected between the third sub-leg and the fourth sub-leg (see annotated Figs. 2-3 above).
Regarding Claim 8, Wang et al. is modified by Yamamoto et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. As applied to Claim 1, Wang et al. teaches that the energy storage element comprises an inductor (para. 18). Therefore, all claim limitations are met.
Regarding Claim 9, Wang et al. is modified by Yamamoto et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Wang et al. teaches a capacitor (C) that is connected in parallel to two terminals of the traction battery (see Figs 2-3, para. 65). Therefore, all claim limitations are met.
Regarding Claim 10, Wang et al. is modified by Yamamoto et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. As applied to Claim 1, the vehicle battery of Wang et al. is modified to include a traction battery that is connected to a drive circuit of a motor and configured to supply power to the drive circuit as taught by Yamamoto et al. Therefore, all claim limitations are met.
Regarding Claim 11, Wang et al. discloses a control method (para. 67) of a battery heating apparatus (battery oscillating heating circuit, para. 8) configured to be connected to a vehicle battery (para. 82) and configured to heat the vehicle battery, comprising:
controlling a first leg and the second leg (Wang et al. teaches a heating module comprising a first leg (second phase bridge arm 106), a second leg (first phase bridge arm 105) (para. 50-54), and an energy storage element (inductor L, para. 18)); in which is controlled to form a loop via which the vehicle battery discharges to the energy storage element and a loop via which the energy storage element charges the vehicle battery (para. 67 teaches a first heating loop in which the battery is in a discharge state and a second heating loop in which the battery is in a charging state; and the battery and inductance are cyclically charged and discharged to heat the battery cells), so as to heat the vehicle battery during discharge and charge (para. 67).
Wang et al. does not teach that the vehicle battery is a traction battery.
Yamamoto et al. teaches a vehicle battery in which is a traction battery that is connected to a drive circuit of a motor and configured to supply power to the drive circuit ([0007]). Further, it is well known in the field of endeavor that a battery heating apparatus can be used in traction batteries for temperature control as further evident by Gross (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle battery of Wang et al. to include a traction battery that is connected to a drive circuit of a motor and configured to supply power to the drive circuit as taught by Yamamoto et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification to provide the traction battery of a vehicle with improved temperature control as further evident by Gross as described above. Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._,_, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 - 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
Regarding Claim 18, Wang et al. is modified by Yamamoto et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 11 above. As applied to Claim 11, Wang et al. teaches that the energy storage element comprises an inductor (para. 18). Therefore, all claim limitations are met.
Regarding Claim 20, Wang et al. discloses a motive apparatus (vehicle) comprising a vehicle battery; a battery heating apparatus (battery oscillating heating circuit, para. 8) connected to a vehicle battery (para. 82) and configured to heat the vehicle battery, the battery heating apparatus comprising:
a heating module comprising a first leg (second phase bridge arm 106), a second leg (first phase bridge arm 105) (para. 50-54), and an energy storage element (inductor L, para. 18); and
a control module configured to control the first leg and the second leg (para. 52) to form a loop via which the vehicle battery discharges to the energy storage element and a loop via which the energy storage element charges the vehicle battery (para. 67 teaches a first heating loop in which the battery is in a discharge state and a second heating loop in which the battery is in a charging state; and the battery and inductance are cyclically charged and discharged to heat the battery cells), so as to heat the vehicle battery during discharge and charge (para. 67).
Wang et al. does not teach that the vehicle battery is a traction battery and the vehicle comprising a motor, wherein a drive circuit of the motor is connected to the traction battery, and the traction battery is configured to supply power to the drive circuit.
Yamamoto et al. teaches a vehicle battery in which is a traction battery that is connected to a drive circuit of a motor and configured to supply power to the drive circuit ([0007]). Further, it is well known in the field of endeavor that a battery heating apparatus can be used in traction batteries for temperature control as further evident by Gross (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle battery of Wang et al. to specifically include a traction battery that is connected to a drive circuit of a motor and configured to supply power to the drive circuit as taught by Yamamoto et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification to provide the traction battery of a vehicle with improved temperature control as further evident by Gross as described above. Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._,_, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 - 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN. Pat. No. 212587580 U) in view of Yamamoto et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20140358352 A1) as evidenced by Gross (U.S. Pat. No. 20140287293 A1), and further in view of Pan et al. (CN. Pat. No. 111347924 A).
Regarding Claim 2, Wang et al. is modified by Yamamoto et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 1 above.
Wang et al. does not teach that the battery heating apparatus is further connected to a charging apparatus, and the charging apparatus is configured to charge the traction battery via the battery heating apparatus; and the control module is further configured to:
in response to a voltage of the charging apparatus being lower than a voltage of the traction battery, control the first leg and the second leg to form a loop via which the charging apparatus charges the energy storage element and a loop via which the charging apparatus and the energy storage element charge the traction battery simultaneously; or
in response to the voltage of the charging apparatus being higher than the voltage of the traction battery, control the first leg and the second leg to form a loop via which the charging apparatus charges the traction battery and the energy storage element and a loop via which the energy storage element charges the traction battery.
Pan et al. teaches a battery heating apparatus in which is connected to a charging apparatus and the charging apparatus is configured to charge the traction battery via the battery heating apparatus (para. 105,130 teaches an external power module 101 in which charges the energy storage unit 111 and the power battery 107 via the switch modules forming the heating apparatus), and
a control module is configured to: in response to a voltage of the charging apparatus (external power module) being lower than a voltage of the power battery, control the elements (modules corresponding to the first leg and second leg of Wang et al.) to form a loop via which the charging apparatus charges the energy storage element (boost module comprising an inductor L, para. 18;62); and a loop via which the charging apparatus (external power module) and the energy storage element (inductor L) charge the power battery simultaneously (para. 18, Fig. 4);
[AltContent: textbox (Pan et al. (Fig. 4))]
Pan et al. discloses a similar method in which the control module can be configured to operate based on the voltage of the charging apparatus being higher than the voltage of the power battery (para. 147).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the battery heating apparatus for a traction battery of Wang et al. as combined with Yamamoto et al. above to be connected to a charging apparatus, and the charging apparatus is configured to charge the traction battery via the battery heating apparatus; and the control module is further configured to: in response to a voltage of the charging apparatus being lower than a voltage of the traction battery, control the first leg and the second leg to form a loop via which the charging apparatus charges the energy storage element and a loop via which the charging apparatus and the energy storage element charge the traction battery simultaneously; and to also respond similarly when a voltage of the charging apparatus is higher than the voltage of the traction battery as taught by Pan et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification to provide improved temperature control and charging/discharging capability of power batteries in cold regions or low temperature environments (Pan et al., para. 5) (similar motivation of applicant’s invention, see [0004] of the applicant’s specification).
Regarding Claim 12, Wang et al. is modified by Yamamoto et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 11 above.
Wang et al. does not teach that the battery heating apparatus is further connected to a charging apparatus, and the charging apparatus is configured to charge the traction battery via the battery heating apparatus; and the control method comprising:
in response to a voltage of the charging apparatus being lower than a voltage of the traction battery, controlling the first leg and the second leg to form a loop via which the charging apparatus charges the energy storage element and a loop via which the charging apparatus and the energy storage element charge the traction battery simultaneously; or
in response to a voltage of the charging apparatus being higher than the voltage of the traction battery, controlling the first leg and the second leg to form a loop via which the charging apparatus charges the energy storage element and a loop via which the charging apparatus and the energy storage element charge the traction battery simultaneously; or
Pan et al. teaches a battery heating apparatus in which is connected to a charging apparatus and the charging apparatus is configured to charge the traction battery via the battery heating apparatus (para. 105,130 teaches an external power module 101 in which charges the energy storage unit 111 and the power battery 107 via the switch modules forming the heating apparatus), and
a control method comprising: in response to a voltage of the charging apparatus (external power module) being lower than a voltage of the power battery, controlling the elements (modules corresponding to the first leg and second leg of Wang et al.) to form a loop via which the charging apparatus charges the energy storage element (boost module comprising an inductor L, para. 18;62); and a loop via which the charging apparatus (external power module) and the energy storage element (inductor L) charge the power battery simultaneously (para. 18, Fig. 4); and
a similar method in which the control method can be configured to operate based on the voltage of the charging apparatus being higher than the voltage of the power battery (para. 147).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the battery heating apparatus for a traction battery of Wang et al. as modified by Yamamoto et al. above to be connected to a charging apparatus, and the charging apparatus is configured to charge the traction battery via the battery heating apparatus; and the control method comprising: in response to a voltage of the charging apparatus being lower than a voltage of the traction battery, controlling the first leg and the second leg to form a loop via which the charging apparatus charges the energy storage element and a loop via which the charging apparatus and the energy storage element charge the traction battery simultaneously; and to also respond similarly when a voltage of the charging apparatus is higher than the voltage of the traction battery as taught by Pan et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification to provide improved temperature control and charging/discharging capability of power batteries in cold regions (Pan et al., para. 5).
Claims 4-7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN. Pat. No. 212587580 U) in view of Yamamoto et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20140358352 A1) as further evidenced by Gross (U.S. Pat. No. 20140287293 A1), and further in view of Sumiya et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20210143684 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Wang et al. is modified by Yamamoto et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 3 above.
[AltContent: textbox (Sumiya et al. (Fig. 6B))]
Wang et al. does not clearly teach that wherein: the first sub-leg comprises a first switch transistor and a first freewheeling diode connected in parallel to the first switch transistor; the second sub-leg comprises a second switch transistor and a second freewheeling diode connected in parallel to the second switch transistor; the third sub-leg comprises a third switch transistor and a third freewheeling diode connected in parallel to the third switch transistor; and the fourth sub-leg comprises a fourth switch transistor and a fourth freewheeling diode connected in parallel to the fourth switch transistor.
Sumiya et al. teaches that a first sub-leg comprises a first switch transistor and a first freewheeling diode connected in parallel to the first switch transistor ([0059]; the second sub-leg comprises a second switch transistor and a second freewheeling diode connected in parallel to the second switch transistor; the third sub-leg comprises a third switch transistor and a third freewheeling diode connected in parallel to the third switch transistor; and the fourth sub-leg comprises a fourth switch transistor and a fourth freewheeling diode connected in parallel to the fourth switch transistor ([0059], Fig. 6B teaches four switches 21-24, positionally and functionally corresponding to the first, second, third, and fourth sub-leg of the claimed invention, each comprising a transistor with a freewheeling diode connected parallel thereto forming a first, second, third, and fourth freewheeling diode/switch transistor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the battery heating apparatus of Wang et al. by Sumiya et al. wherein the first sub-leg comprises a first switch transistor and a first freewheeling diode connected in parallel to the first switch transistor; the second sub-leg comprises a second switch transistor and a second freewheeling diode connected in parallel to the second switch transistor; the third sub-leg comprises a third switch transistor and a third freewheeling diode connected in parallel to the third switch transistor; and the fourth sub-leg comprises a fourth switch transistor and a fourth freewheeling diode connected in parallel to the fourth switch transistor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification to provide a suitable construction and configuration of the first leg and second leg in which allows the switches to function effectively. "Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.)."
Regarding Claim 5, Wang et al. is modified by Yamamoto et al. and Sumiya et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 4 above. Wang et al. teaches that the control module is further configured to: control the first switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor to turn on (para. 67 of Wang et al. teaches controlling Q2 and Q3 (corresponding to the first and fourth sub-leg in which respectively comprises a first switch transistor and a fourth switch transistor as modified by Sumiya et al. as applied to Claim 4) to be turned on) and the second switch transistor and the third switch transistor to turn off (para. 67 of Wang et al. teaches controlling Q1 and Q4 (corresponding to the second and third sub-leg in which respectively comprises a second switch transistor and a third switch transistor as modified by Sumiya et al. as applied to Claim 4) to be turned off); and vice versa as claimed (control the second switch transistor and the third switch transistor to turn on and the first switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor to turn off) so as to heat the battery in relation to charging/discharging.
All structural limitations of the battery heating apparatus are disclosed by the prior art including the battery heating apparatus, the control module, the four sub-legs each comprising a switch transistor with a freewheeling diode configuration, and in which the battery and inductance are cyclically charged and discharged to heat the battery cells (para. 67). As described above, Wang et al. as modified by Yamamoto et al. and Sumiya et al. discloses that the control module is configured to control the first leg and second leg so as to heat the traction battery during charge and discharge. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control the switches/components individually or simultaneously in relation to charging/discharging so as to heat the traction battery.
Specifically, it would be obvious to form a loop comprising the traction battery, the first and fourth switch transistor, and the energy storage element to discharge to the energy storage element, and control the first, second, third, and fourth switch transistor to turn off so as to charge the traction battery; and/or to form a loop comprising the traction battery, the second and third switch transistor, the energy storage element, to discharge to the energy storage element, and control the first, second, third, and fourth switch transistor, to turn off, so as to charge the traction battery. Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._,_, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 - 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
Regarding Claim 6, Wang et al. is modified by Yamamoto et al. and Sumiya et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 5 above. As applied to Claim 2, the battery heating apparatus for a traction battery of Wang et al. in view of Yamamoto et al. is modified by Pan et al. to be connected to a charging apparatus, and the charging apparatus is configured to charge the traction battery via the battery heating apparatus; and the control module is further configured to: in response to a voltage of the charging apparatus being lower than a voltage of the traction battery, control the first leg and the second leg to form a loop via which the charging apparatus charges the energy storage element and a loop via which the charging apparatus and the energy storage element charge the traction battery simultaneously; and to also respond similarly when a voltage of the charging apparatus is higher than the voltage of the traction battery. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification to provide improved temperature control and charging/discharging capability of power batteries in cold regions (para. 5).
As all structural limitations of the battery heating apparatus are disclosed by the prior art (battery heating apparatus, heating module, first second leg, energy storage element, a control module, a charging apparatus, a first terminal, and a second terminal, four switch transistors each comprising a freewheeling diode), it would be obvious to duplicate the transistors to include a fifth switch transistor to establish connection between the energy storage element and the charging apparatus and to allow independent control. The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
As described above, Wang et al. as modified by Yamamoto et al. and Sumiya et al. discloses that the control module is configured to control the first leg and second leg so as to heat the traction battery in relation to charge and discharge in response to a voltage. Therefore, it is within the capabilities and functions of the control module to allow configuration of the particular switch transistors to turn on or off individually or simultaneously in relation to the traction battery and energy storage elements in response to a voltage by charging/discharging.
Specifically, it would be obvious to configure the control module to control the third sub-leg to turn off; in response to a voltage of the charging apparatus being lower than a voltage of the traction battery, control the second and fifth switch transistor to turn on and the first and fourth switch transistor to turn off to charge the energy storage element; and control the first and fifth switch transistor to turn on and the second and fourth switch transistor to turn off to charge the traction battery simultaneously. Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._,_, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 - 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
Regarding Claim 7, Wang et al. is modified by Yamamoto et al. and Sumiya et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 6 above. As applied to Claim 2, the battery heating apparatus for a traction battery of Wang et al. in view of Yamamoto et al. is modified by Pan et al. to be connected to a charging apparatus, and the charging apparatus is configured to charge the traction battery via the battery heating apparatus; and the control module is further configured to: in response to a voltage of the charging apparatus being lower than a voltage of the traction battery, control the first leg and the second leg to form a loop via which the charging apparatus charges the energy storage element and a loop via which the charging apparatus and the energy storage element charge the traction battery simultaneously; and to also respond similarly when a voltage of the charging apparatus is higher than the voltage of the traction battery. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification to provide improved temperature control and charging/discharging capability of power batteries in cold regions (para. 5).
As applied to Claim 6, all structural limitations of the battery heating apparatus are disclosed by the prior art (battery heating apparatus, heating module, first second leg, energy storage element, a control module, a charging apparatus, a first terminal, and a second terminal, four switch transistors each comprising a freewheeling diode), it would be obvious to duplicate the transistors to include a fifth switch transistor to establish connection between the energy storage element and the charging apparatus and to allow independent control. The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
As described above, Wang et al. as modified by Yamamoto et al. and Sumiya et al. discloses that the control module is configured to control the first leg and second leg comprising the transistors and freewheeling diode in response to a voltage so as to heat the traction battery by charging/discharging. Therefore, it is within the capabilities and functions of the control module to allow configuration of the particular switch transistors to turn on or off individually or simultaneously in relation to the traction battery and energy storage elements so as to heat in response to a voltage by charging/discharging.
Specifically, it would be obvious in response to the voltage of the charging apparatus being lower than voltage of the traction battery, control the first and fifth switch transistor to turn on and the second and fourth switch transistor to turn off to charge the traction battery and the energy storage element; and control the first switch transistor to turn on and the second, fourth, and fifth switch transistor to turn off to charge the traction battery. Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._,_, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 - 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
Regarding Claim 13, Wang et al. is modified by Yamamoto et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 11 above. Wang et al. teaches that a first terminal of the first leg (second phase bridge arm 106), a first terminal of the second leg (first phase bridge arm 105), and a first terminal of the traction battery are connected, and a second terminal of the first leg, a second terminal of the second leg, and a second terminal of the traction battery are connected (see annotated Fig. 3); and the first leg comprises a first sub-leg (upper bridge arm Q3) and a second sub-leg (lower bridge arm Q4), the second leg comprises a third sub-leg (upper bridge arm Q1) and a fourth sub-leg (lower bridge arm Q2), a first terminal of the energy storage element is connected between the first sub-leg and the second sub-leg, and a second terminal of the energy storage element is connected between the third sub-leg and the fourth sub-leg (see annotated Figs. 2-3).
Wang et al. does not clearly teach that wherein: the first sub-leg comprises a first switch transistor and a first freewheeling diode connected in parallel to the first switch transistor; the second sub-leg comprises a second switch transistor and a second freewheeling diode connected in parallel to the second switch transistor; the third sub-leg comprises a third switch transistor and a third freewheeling diode connected in parallel to the third switch transistor; and the fourth sub-leg comprises a fourth switch transistor and a fourth freewheeling diode connected in parallel to the fourth switch transistor.
Sumiya et al. teaches a first sub-leg comprises a first switch transistor and a first freewheeling diode connected in parallel to the first switch transistor ([0059]; the second sub-leg comprises a second switch transistor and a second freewheeling diode connected in parallel to the second switch transistor; the third sub-leg comprises a third switch transistor and a third freewheeling diode connected in parallel to the third switch transistor; and the fourth sub-leg comprises a fourth switch transistor and a fourth freewheeling diode connected in parallel to the fourth switch transistor ([0059], Fig. 6B teaches four switches 21-24, positionally and functionally corresponding to the first, second, third, and fourth sub-leg of the claimed invention, each comprising a transistor with a freewheeling diode connected parallel thereto forming a first, second, third, and fourth freewheeling diode/switch transistor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the battery heating apparatus of Wang et al. by Sumiya et al. wherein the first sub-leg comprises a first switch transistor and a first freewheeling diode connected in parallel to the first switch transistor; the second sub-leg comprises a second switch transistor and a second freewheeling diode connected in parallel to the second switch transistor; the third sub-leg comprises a third switch transistor and a third freewheeling diode connected in parallel to the third switch transistor; and the fourth sub-leg comprises a fourth switch transistor and a fourth freewheeling diode connected in parallel to the fourth switch transistor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification to provide a suitable construction and configuration of the first leg and second leg in which allows the switches to function effectively. "Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.)."
Claims 14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN. Pat. No. 212587580 U) in view of Yamamoto et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20140358352 A1) as further evidenced by Gross (U.S. Pat. No. 20140287293 A1), and further in view of Sumiya et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20210143684 A1), and further evidenced by Hettrich (U.S. Pat. No. 20200168959 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Wang et al. is modified by Yamamoto et al. and Sumiya et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 13 above. As applied to Claim 11, Wang et al. in view of Yamamoto et al. teaches a control method of controlling the first leg, the second leg, and the traction battery to heat the battery. A control module is inherently design to comprise a control method in which is capable of receiving input signals and produce output signals in response in order to function. In particular, a skilled artisan would understand that a control method for heating a battery would be designed to control heating by receiving a heating request message by input signals and to send output control signals in response as further evident by Hettrich ([0166]).
Wang et al. teaches that the control signal comprises: controlling the first switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor to turn on (para. 67 of Wang et al. teaches controlling Q2 and Q3 (corresponding to the first and fourth sub-leg in which respectively comprises a first switch transistor and a fourth switch transistor as modified by Sumiya et al. as applied to Claim 4) to be turned on) and the second switch transistor and the third switch transistor to turn off (para. 67 of Wang et al. teaches controlling Q1 and Q4 (corresponding to the second and third sub-leg in which respectively comprises a second switch transistor and a third switch transistor as modified by Sumiya et al. as applied to Claim 4) to be turned off); and vice versa as claimed (control the second switch transistor and the third switch transistor to turn on and the first switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor to turn off), so as to heat the battery in relation to charging/discharging.
All structural limitations of the battery heating apparatus are disclosed by the prior art including the battery heating apparatus, the control module and method, the four sub-legs each comprising a switch transistor with a freewheeling diode configuration, and in which the battery and inductance are cyclically charged and discharged to heat the battery cells (para. 67). As described above, Wang et al. as modified by Yamamoto et al. and Sumiya et al. discloses that the control method of the control module comprises controlling the first leg and second leg so as to heat the traction battery during charge and discharge. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control the switches/components individually or simultaneously in relation to charging/discharging so as to heat the traction battery.
Specifically, it would be obvious to form a loop comprising the traction battery, the first and fourth switch transistor, and the energy storage element to discharge to the energy storage element, and control the first, second, third, and fourth switch transistor to turn off so as to charge the traction battery; and/or to form a loop comprising the traction battery, the second and third switch transistor, the energy storage element, to discharge to the energy storage element, and control the first, second, third, and fourth switch transistor, to turn off, so as to charge the traction battery. Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._,_, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 - 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
Regarding Claim 16, Wang et al. is modified by Yamamoto et al. and Sumiya et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 14 above. As applied to Claim 12, the battery heating apparatus for a traction battery of Wang et al. in view of Yamamoto et al. is modified by Pan et al. to be connected to a charging apparatus, and the charging apparatus is configured to charge the traction battery via the battery heating apparatus; and the control method comprises: in response to a voltage of the charging apparatus being lower than a voltage of the traction battery, control the first leg and the second leg to form a loop via which the charging apparatus charges the energy storage element and a loop via which the charging apparatus and the energy storage element charge the traction battery simultaneously; and to also respond similarly when a voltage of the charging apparatus is higher than the voltage of the traction battery. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification to provide improved temperature control and charging/discharging capability of power batteries in cold regions (para. 5).
As all structural limitations of the battery heating apparatus are disclosed by the prior art (battery heating apparatus, heating module, first second leg, energy storage element, a control module and method, a charging apparatus, a first terminal, and a second terminal, four switch transistors each comprising a freewheeling diode), it would be obvious to duplicate the transistors to include a fifth switch transistor to establish connection between the energy storage element and the charging apparatus and to allow independent control. The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
As described above, Wang et al. as modified by Yamamoto et al. and Sumiya et al. discloses that the control method comprises controlling the first leg and second leg so as to heat the traction battery in relation to charge and discharge in response to a voltage. Therefore, it is within the capabilities and functions of the control module to comprise a control method comprising controlling particular switch transistors to turn on or off individually or simultaneously in relation to the traction battery and energy storage elements so as to heat in response to a voltage by charging/discharging.
Specifically, it would be obvious to configure the control module to comprise a control method in which includes controlling the third sub-leg to turn off; in response to a voltage of the charging apparatus being lower than a voltage of the traction battery, controlling the second and fifth switch transistor to turn on and the first and fourth switch transistor to turn off to charge the energy storage element; and control the first and fifth switch transistor to turn on and the second and fourth switch transistor to turn off to charge the traction battery simultaneously. Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._,_, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 - 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
Regarding Claim 17, Wang et al. is modified by Yamamoto et al. and Sumiya et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 16 above. As applied to Claim 12, the battery heating apparatus for a traction battery of Wang et al. in view of Yamamoto et al. is modified by Pan et al. to be connected to a charging apparatus, and the charging apparatus is configured to charge the traction battery via the battery heating apparatus; and the control method comprises: in response to a voltage of the charging apparatus being lower than a voltage of the traction battery, control the first leg and the second leg to form a loop via which the charging apparatus charges the energy storage element and a loop via which the charging apparatus and the energy storage element charge the traction battery simultaneously; and to also respond similarly when a voltage of the charging apparatus is higher than the voltage of the traction battery. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification to provide improved temperature control and charging/discharging capability of power batteries in cold regions (para. 5).
As applied to Claim 16, all structural limitations of the battery heating apparatus are disclosed by the prior art (battery heating apparatus, heating module, first second leg, energy storage element, a control module and method thereof, a charging apparatus, a first terminal, and a second terminal, four switch transistors each comprising a freewheeling diode), it would be obvious to duplicate the transistors to include a fifth switch transistor to establish connection between the energy storage element and the charging apparatus and to allow independent control. The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
As described above, Wang et al. as modified by Yamamoto et al. and Sumiya et al. discloses that the control method comprises controlling the first leg and second leg comprising the transistors and freewheeling diode in response to a voltage so as to heat the traction battery by charging/discharging. Therefore, it is within the capabilities and functions of the control module and control method thereof to allow control of the particular switch transistors to turn on or off individually or simultaneously in relation to the traction battery and energy storage elements so as to heat in response to a voltage by charging/discharging.
Specifically, it would be obvious in response to the voltage of the charging apparatus being lower than voltage of the traction battery, control the first and fifth switch transistor to turn on and the second and fourth switch transistor to turn off to charge the traction battery and the energy storage element; and control the first switch transistor to turn on and the second, fourth, and fifth switch transistor to turn off to charge the traction battery. Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._,_, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 - 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN. Pat. No. 212587580 U) in view of Yamamoto et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20140358352 A1) and Sumiya et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20210143684 A1) as evidenced by Gross (U.S. Pat. No. 20140287293 A1) and Hettrich (U.S. Pat. No. 20200168959 A1) as applied to Claim 14 above, and further evidenced by Wu et al. (CN. Pat. No. 111446519 A).
Regarding Claim 15, Wang et al. is modified by Yamamoto et al. and Sumiya et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 14 above. As applied to Claim 11, a control method for heating a battery is inherently designed to perform a control method by receiving input signals (heating request message) and to send output control signals in response as further evident by Hettrich ([0166]). The input signal and response signal can be deemed a first and second signal respectively by a skilled artisan. Wang et al. further teaches that the control module performs a control method comprising controlling and heating. The language of the claim describes a process in which is inherently performed by a control method in order to appropriately function. As further evidence, Wu et al. teaches a control method of a control switch in which comprises receiving a signal (first signal comprising a heating stop message) and the control switch cutting off to sop heating (second signal) (“Embodiment 2”). Therefore, the limitations are not distinguishable from the prior art.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN. Pat. No. 212587580 U) in view of Yamamoto et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20140358352 A1) as further evidenced by Gross (U.S. Pat. No. 20140287293 A1) as applied to Claim 11 above, and further in view of Zeng et al. (CN. Pat. No. 107069145 A).
Regarding Claim 19, Wang et al. is modified by Yamamoto et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 11 above.
Wang et al. does not teach a control circuit of battery heating apparatus, comprising: a processor, wherein the processor is configured to perform the control method.
Zeng et al. teaches a control circuit of battery heating apparatus, comprising: a processor, wherein the processor is configured to perform a control method for heating a power battery for an electric vehicle (para. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the battery heating apparatus of Wang et al. to include a processor, wherein the processor is configured to perform the control method as taught by Zeng et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification to allow the output of a control instruction to indicate whether the control circuit needs to instruct the heating apparatus to generate heat (Abstract), providing improved temperature control within an electric vehicle.
Conclusion
/C.R.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729