DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 4, 2026, with respect to claims 1-10 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, previously cited paragraph [0054] of previously cited US 2011/0058764 (“KIM”) explicitly teaches the claimed junction between the first doping region D1 and the second doping region 50.
Applicant’s arguments filed February 4, 2026, with respect to claims 11-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 11-14, 16, 17, and 19, and the objection to claims 15, 18, and 20 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KIM.
Regarding claim 1, KIM teaches a semiconductor structure (FIG. 1A), comprising: a waveguide structure (WG) on a substrate (10), wherein the waveguide structure comprises a first doping region (D1, D2) having a first type of dopant and a second doping region (50) having a second type of dopant different from the first type (par. [0053]); a photoelectric material proximal to a junction of the first doping region and the second doping region (par. [0054]); and a transistor on the substrate at a level same as a level of the waveguide structure (par. [0055]).
Regarding claim 3, KIM teaches that the photoelectric material has a crystalline structure over or surrounding the junction of the first doping region and the second doping region (par. [0052]).
Regarding claim 4, KIM teaches that the photoelectric material extends within the waveguide structure over or between the junction of the first doping region and the second doping region (FIG. 1A; par. [0054]).
Regarding claim 5, KIM teaches that the photoelectric material defines a third doping region in the waveguide structure, and the third doping region is separated from the first doping region or the second doping region (FIG. 1A; par. [0054]).
Regarding claim 7, KIM teaches that an area of overlap, in a cross- sectional view, of the photoelectric material and the first doping region having a p-type conductivity is greater than an area of overlap of the photoelectric material and the second doping region having an n-type conductivity (FIG. 1A; par. [0053]).
Regarding claim 9, KIM teaches an interconnect structure (C1, C2) over the waveguide structure and the transistor, wherein the first doping region is electrically connected to a first conductive line (92a, 92b) of the interconnect structure, and the second doping region is electrically connected to a second conductive line (91) of the interconnect structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM in view of US 2017/0069769 (“USAMI”).
KIM teaches the limitations of the base claim 1. KIM does not teach that the photoelectric material includes germanium. USAMI teaches a photoelectric material that includes germanium (par. [0151]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the photoelectric material of KIM so as to include germanium, as taught by USAMI. The motivation would have been to improve the photoelectric conversion efficiency (par. [0151]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM in view of US 2014/0314374 (“FATTAL”).
KIM teaches the limitations of the base claim 4. KIM does not teach a grating structure, configured to receive an optical signal; and a transition structure having a strip configuration, wherein the transition structure is configured to transmit the optical signal to the waveguide structure, and the transition structure extends toward the third doping region. FATTAL teaches a grating structure (104), configured to receive an optical signal; and a transition structure (102) having a strip configuration, wherein the transition structure is configured to transmit the optical signal to a waveguide structure (106; FIGs. 1-3; par. [0015]). Furthermore, when implementing the structure of FATTAL in the structure of KIM, the transition structure would extend toward the third doping region. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the structure of KIM so as to include the structure of FATTAL. The motivation would have been to achieve efficient coupling (par. [0014]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 10, 15, 18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record, whether taken individually or in combination, when considered in light of the claimed subject matter as a whole, as interpreted in light of the Specification as originally filed, fails to disclose or render obvious a high-k layer formed so as to surround and be conformed to the waveguide structure and the photoelectric material.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record, whether taken individually or in combination, when considered in light of the claimed subject matter as a whole, as interpreted in light of the Specification as originally filed, fails to disclose or render obvious a second waveguide structure on the substrate at a level same as the level of the first waveguide structure, wherein an orientation of the second waveguide structure is different from an orientation of the first waveguide structure; and a first conductive pad and a second conductive pad surrounded by a passivation layer above the interconnect structure, wherein the first conductive pad is configured to provide an electrical path of a first electrical signal to the first waveguide structure and the second waveguide structure, and the second conductive pad is configured to provide an electrical path of a second electrical signal from the first waveguide structure and the second waveguide structure.
Regarding claims 11-16, the prior art of record, whether taken individually or in combination, when considered in light of the claimed subject matter as a whole, as interpreted in light of the Specification as originally filed, fails to disclose or render obvious first and second waveguides, each extending individually along first and second directions, respectively, from a top-view perspective and comprising first and second input terminals, respectively, and first and second output terminals, respectively; and the first and second photoelectric layers being between the first and second input terminals and the first and second output terminals, respectively.
Regarding claims 17-20, the prior art of record, whether taken individually or in combination, when considered in light of the claimed subject matter as a whole, as interpreted in light of the Specification as originally filed, fails to disclose or render obvious the step of forming a first doping region, a second doping region and a third doping region in the substrate, wherein the first doping region is disposed in the optical structure, the second doping region is disposed adjacent to the first doping region in the optical structure, and the third doping region of a transistor is disposed in the semiconductor layer separated from the optical structure
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JERRY M BLEVINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874